AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

soulfly
post Mar 6 2017, 02:01 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

It seems that Joker fake his bench results for his own benefits.
soulfly
post Mar 7 2017, 07:34 PM

15,903 posts

I always enjoyed videos from Steve @ Hardware Unboxed as well as Tom @ OC3D

A nice video from AdoredTV highlighting on why low resolution benchmarking is irrelevant

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 8 2017, 10:02 AM
soulfly
post Mar 10 2017, 06:10 PM

15,903 posts

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/5wuz1..._tuning_leaked/
https://www.pcper.com/news/Processors/PSA-A...ave-Wider-Range

After reading the thread on reddit and the pcpaper article (link above), and dig a little bit more searching I have found better understanding regarding XFR
which has never been explained properly by many reviewers. And there were some misleading info reported by many Youtube reviewers too.

XFR actually works on all Ryzen chip, not just X-versions.
1800X, 1700X and 1700 all have XFR. The difference is that 1800X and 1700X has 100MHz extra over normal boost, while 1700MHz is only 50MHz.

The way a boost and XFR works on Ryzen 8-cores is something like this
1800X
Base clock: 3600MHz @ 8 cores
Boost 1 : 3700MHz @ 8 cores
Max Boost : 4000MHz @ 2 cores
XFR : 4100MHz @ 2 cores (temp <60°C, cpu power <128W)

Base clock: 3000MHz @ 8 cores
Boost 1 : 3100MHz @ 8 cores
Max Boost : 3700MHz @ 2 cores
XFR : 3750MHz @ 2 cores (temp <60°C, cpu power <128W)

Initially, early AMD reports mention that XFR is supposed to have no fixed limit, but in the end they decided to lock it at only 100MHz extra.

Some reviewers claim that max boost and XFR only works on one core, but if pcpaper article is correct then it should be 2 cores instead. One core max boost is probably due to buggy bios or unoptimized threads or something like that.

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 10 2017, 06:56 PM
soulfly
post Mar 11 2017, 07:14 PM

15,903 posts

soulfly
post Mar 16 2017, 05:21 PM

15,903 posts

R5 1600X might be a better gaming option than R7 1700 because:
- lower pricing
- much higher base clock by 600MHz
- max clock on all cores 3700MHz @ 6-cores vs 3150MHz @ 8-cores

I think the huge extra mhz at the base is enough to offset the performance from lacking 2 extra cores in terms of gaming.
soulfly
post Mar 18 2017, 05:54 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Mar 18 2017, 02:53 PM)
anyone know which shop in Selangor/KL have ready stock for Ryzen R7 1700?
some shops in lowyat have ready stocks of all the R7
it's the motherboards that's quite limited though
soulfly
post Mar 20 2017, 08:49 PM

15,903 posts

goldfries Is Ryzen bus-clocking friendly?

I mean, can you increase the bus clock without affecting the stability of other peripherals like pcie clock, sata, and all those stuff?
soulfly
post Mar 22 2017, 02:39 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Kanuki @ Mar 20 2017, 10:59 PM)
Thailand there selling around RM1.4k (using 7.8 conversion rate) for this model.

Btw... I need to ask you something.

I'm using 1700X with Crosshair VI Hero and Corsair Vengeance LED 8GBx2 3000MHz CL15.

I can't push my RAM push over 2666MHz at all.

Can you give me a bit of advise?
can you try rising the bclk to 110mhz see if it can run 2933mhz.
soulfly
post Mar 22 2017, 02:13 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Kanuki @ Mar 22 2017, 09:38 AM)
I will try to OC my CPU to 4.2GHz to night
and will try to raise my DDR speed at the same time.

I did try to raise my BCLK to 102MHz yesterday
and already had hard time to boot.
lower the cpu multiplier so that you're not clock limited. on average, R7 doesn't really like anything higher than 4ghz even if you put more voltage on it.
soulfly
post Mar 23 2017, 12:43 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Mar 22 2017, 03:56 PM)
just asking, are there any difference in durability / build quality between x370 and b350 motherboard?
The current X370 boards available right now have better power delivery than available B350 motherboards.
However a manufacturer can choose to manufacture a B350 board with similar power delivery and components as X370, but it probably won't be as cost efficient.
It's more of a marketing choice rather than chipset limitation.
soulfly
post Mar 27 2017, 04:03 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Mar 27 2017, 09:49 AM)
The only CPU I'm interested in (and probably can only afford smile.gif) is 1500X... Can't wait to see how if works in Total War games (which has never been AMD CPU friendly before).

If it performs on par with i5 7600 then it's sure buy from me. smile.gif
I'm hoping for good sub-RM400 B350 boards, that will make AMD much much more competitive in the midrange segment.

soulfly
post Mar 28 2017, 05:29 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 28 2017, 11:37 AM)
Quite worried about B350 VRM running 8 core. I think I'll stick to X370 with 16-phase VRM if I gonna buy it.
TTL @ OC3D overclocked 1800X on MSI B350 Tomahawk at 4.0GHz (1.4Vcore) without much issue. He said the voltage reading was much more stable compared to other more expensive X370 boards he had.
Other than that he just had to manually tune the RAM to run at 3200mhz.

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 28 2017, 05:30 PM
soulfly
post Mar 30 2017, 09:59 AM

15,903 posts

This is just my wild imagination and speculation.

I think Ryzen 3 will be a single CCX processor based on early Raven Ridge with iGPU and SMT disabled. Or it could have no on-die iGPU at all, since the Zen design is basically modular.
soulfly
post Apr 1 2017, 05:09 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(yoda @ Mar 31 2017, 09:46 AM)
Asrock AB350Pro4 bios 2.2
Corsair LPX 3000 c 15 (running 16 17 17 17 35 @ 2667) no luck at 2933
1.35 vcore
Corsair LPX 3000 is a problematic RAM for Ryzen, I hope people stop buying it for the moment unless you're really desperate for a DDR4 and there's no other option available for you.

Because if you guys look at most Ryzen build with that RAM, I think pretty much everyone had problem with clocks.
soulfly
post Apr 1 2017, 09:36 AM

15,903 posts

soulfly
post Apr 4 2017, 12:00 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(russell612 @ Apr 2 2017, 07:21 PM)
My bad I meant to be saying Raven Ridge.
Raven Ridge desktop will only coming out next year.
2H 2017 Raven Ridge is mobile only according to AMD roadmap

QUOTE(Kanuki @ Apr 4 2017, 11:32 AM)
There are a few people starting to put the concern about the bad memory controller
on 1700X which made in China because it can't operate RAM at 3200MHz while 1700 which
made in Malaysia can operate RAM at 3200MHz easily.
P.S. My 1700X can't be overclocked to 4.0GHz at all. 3.9GHz@1.45v only 85% stable.
And default settings will just crash without any warning at all.
Is the manufacturing country SKU specific, or is it just random? I mean for example 1700 MiM only, or also available MiC?
soulfly
post Apr 7 2017, 09:55 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 6 2017, 08:44 PM)
Just wanna confirm, do local R1800X and R1700X come with the Wraith Max cooler?
The current stocks don't come with Wraith Max.
It will be available as bundled option in the future.
soulfly
post Apr 8 2017, 11:17 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(bpc @ Apr 7 2017, 05:41 PM)
yea man just now i was thinking to switch to 1700x. I am not planning much overclock actually, even i am not a gamer, mainly photo/video editing biggrin.gif and maybe some games.
if i go for 1700 i think it will be much more cheaper.
you can overclock just fine with a B350 mobo.
the asus b350 prime seems to be quite decent
msi b350 tomahawk also not bad

the only major reason you'd want an x370 is you want to do 'extreme overclocking' because they generally provide higher spec power phase design, and SLI support.
4GHz OC with below 1.45Vcore should be fine on most current B350 mobos.
soulfly
post Apr 11 2017, 12:57 PM

15,903 posts

could have been cheaper if RM was strong dry.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Apr 11 2017, 12:57 PM
soulfly
post Apr 12 2017, 10:27 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(bpc @ Apr 12 2017, 10:01 PM)
how about this combination ? But still i need to OC rams right to get 3200?

AMD Processor AM4 RYZEN 7 Series 1700 3.7GHz
POWER COLOR VGA RX 480 8GB DDR5 256BIT RED DEVIL AXRX4808GBD5-3DH/OC
G.SKILL RAM Desktop DDR4 TRIDENTZ 2X 8GB PC3200 F4-3200C16D-8GTZB
MSI MOTHERBOARD AMD AM4 B350 TOMAHAWK
The board supports 3200mhz ram out of the box
This might be a good read for you - https://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/cpu_mai...rboard_review/1

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0313sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:33 PM