Blotter Spot Test Oil Analysis:VOA Helix HX7 5W30, 16,286 km blotter Shell Helix Ultra 5W40

Thrust
post Aug 6 2021, 07:41 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Jun 6 2021, 12:24 PM)
How much is the retail price of HX8 X 5W30 at petrol station?

My Syntium 3000 i bought at Petronas for RM180.
Really need someone to convince me if i can drag the service interval to 9 or 12 months. Nowadays, because of mco i dont drive that often and dont want to go to workshop too often. I dont mind paying a RM180+/- oil as long as the oil is good and can stretch as long as possible. But i do drive the car once a week (over 80kmph) for about 20 minutes.

I am using Syntium 3000 5w-30 also and I normally change it out when it kilometers hits 7000 - 8000 or in between 9-12 months.
Thrust
post Aug 26 2021, 08:29 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 25 2021, 10:10 PM)

New development as stated above.

The current generation of Shell HX8 X 5W30 with a newly acquired OEM MB 229.5 approval status would beat the hell out of the relatively 'lowly' Petronas Syntium 3000 5W30, in terms of performance specifications.
I believe the current HX8X in market circulation are the still old stock without the MB229.5 approval. Probably have to wait until next year before we start seeing the newly enhanced HX8X.
Thrust
post Aug 31 2021, 10:03 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 25 2021, 10:10 PM)

New development as stated above.

The current generation of Shell HX8 X 5W30 with a newly acquired OEM MB 229.5 approval status would beat the hell out of the relatively 'lowly' Petronas Syntium 3000 5W30, in terms of performance specifications.
Hi Zeng,

Do you have any info on the minimum oil specification to meet the requirement for MB229.5?

I can't find any info on the MB 229.5 minimum requirement.
Thrust
post Aug 31 2021, 11:17 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 31 2021, 10:52 AM)
Yes, it used to be very very difficult to find.
Give me sometime please, I will come back to you.
TQ Zeng.
Thrust
post Nov 11 2021, 05:04 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 31 2021, 10:52 AM)
Yes, it used to be very very difficult to find.
Give me sometime please, I will come back to you.
Hi Zeng. I think I've found the minimum spec for MB229.5 oil.

Daimler MB229.5
MB229.5 oils are Upper Mainline high SAPS¹ lubricants designed for use in high performance gasoline and light duty diesel engines without advanced aftertreatment systems such as Diesel Particulate Filters (DPFs).

MB229.5 oils are typically SAE 5W-40, 5W-30 or 0W-30 based on API Group III or a mix of API Group III and Group IV base oils.

The main physical and chemical requirements for MB229.5 are shown below:

Requirement Method Unit Limit
HTHS viscosity at 150°C CEC L-36-A-90 cP ≥ 3.5
Sulphated Ash ASTM D874 %wt > 1.0 and ≤ 1.6
Phosphorus ASTM D5185 %wt ≥ 0.05 and ≤ 0.11
Sulfur ASTM D5185 %wt ≤ 0.5
Evaporation loss (NOACK) at 250°C CEC L-40-93 % ≤ 10
Total Base Number ASTM D2896 mgKOH/g ≥ 10.0
Note 1: SAPS refers to Sulphated Ash, Phosphorus and Sulfur, the levels of which are often restricted in the latest performance specifications.

MB229.5 is usually coupled with a range of different combinations of other approvals depending on the viscosity grade of the lubricant. The most frequently seen approvals claimed in conjunction with MB229.5 being ACEA A3/B4, BMW Longlife-01, Volkswagen 50200/50500, Renault RN0710, Renault RN0700, Peugeot B71 2296 (5W-40 only) and Porsche A40 (5W-40 only).

For more information on Daimler MB229.5, contact your Lubrizol representative.

https://360.lubrizol.com/Specifications/Dai...ler-MB229,-d-,5
Thrust
post Jan 7 2022, 09:06 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

It's weird on how Shell UK can get their labelling wrong? SL ... SN...

Shell spent millions in marketing and they can't get their printing materials right? hmm.gif
Thrust
post May 19 2022, 06:19 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ May 18 2022, 09:19 AM)
Honda City GM2 year 2009
Current Odo : 162,837km
Date: 16/05/2023
Blotter time : 8:00am (picture after 48hrs)
oil age : 7,780km
Engine oil used : Honda Genuine Engine Oil Silver SP Semi Synthetic 5w30
Already 7000+ km lor.. better change if you want to have a clean engine inside.

0.0486sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:05 PM