5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V18 (welcum pascal), OH-EM-GEEE TITAN Xp way better than XP

Mubarak90
post May 9 2017, 02:40 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ May 9 2017, 02:37 PM)
Nice explanation. From my understanding, the higher the resolution, the less CPU bound it becomes and more GPU bound... That's why CPU bottlenecks "reduce" or "less likely" to occur as the resolution goes higher.  hmm.gif
Because GPU workload exponentially increase with resolution, while CPU workload is the same.
Mubarak90
post May 11 2017, 10:58 AM

482 posts

WHOA, 5120 cores~ Nvidia really is pushing the envelop over here. They surely already have ideas on what comes after Volta because that core would be huge, even on 12nm process.
Mubarak90
post May 11 2017, 01:36 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ May 11 2017, 01:28 PM)
er.... Pascal series got HBM2 meh, saw in the comparison chart btwn Kepler - Pascal - Volta.  hmm.gif
The Tesla P100 cards all are using HBM2 instead of GDDR5X.
Mubarak90
post May 12 2017, 04:51 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 12 2017, 07:35 AM)
Impressive show-off, but when real game release, graphic downgrade and full of bug  doh.gif
Well, what to do. The target is to get what they showcase, but there are constraints that aren't worth it to push through until that same visual quality is achieved. So, visual compromise is made. It's like the 2nd bridge of Penang, at first they plan to have rest stops over there, but constraints, then we have the current 2nd bridge of Penang.
Mubarak90
post May 12 2017, 06:06 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 12 2017, 05:24 PM)
Is it only me or I kinda think many PC games that have console version are mostly graphical downgrade ? Because have to cater for console's 2012 graphic ?  whistling.gif
Is it? The best looking games are currently multi-platform games such as The Witcher 3, Rise of the Tomb Raider, Battlefield 1, Ghost Recon : Wildlands. PC only game that is usually bundled up with the other multi-platform games are Crisis 3, Ashes of the Singularity.
Mubarak90
post May 16 2017, 11:17 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(sos_tiram @ May 15 2017, 07:27 PM)
Hopefully and let's just pray so that Vega can't beat 1080 Ti.
But there are lots of rumors around that Vega can beat it with lowest price. Nervous also  bangwall.gif
http://www.tweaktown.com/news/57544/amd-ra...0-ti/index.html
bangwall.gif
Best Vega would probably slightly beat 1080 Ti in Doom (Vulcan API), on par in DX12 titles (slightly losing) and lose significantly in DX11 titles. Anyway, every information is simply base on prediction currently, and most probably Vega will fit like this :
RX 580 < Vega Pro < GTX 1070 < Vega XT < GTX 1080 < Vega Dual = GTX 1080Ti
Mubarak90
post May 17 2017, 11:47 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 17 2017, 11:40 AM)
thinking to get gtx 1060 3gb but how does it fare comparing with my amd 7970m in my laptop?

my laptop died and not sure if i should go for another laptop or pc
Maybe you could repair the laptop first? Check how much the cost would be before purchasing.
Mubarak90
post May 17 2017, 11:55 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 17 2017, 11:52 AM)
my gpu died actually and replacing it will cost rm1k+
Seriously? Hurm....If such is the case, then probably nothing that could be done.
I just recently sent my laptop for repairs, and it also have a GPU issue. Thankfully, mine only costed RM450 with 6 month warranty. Maybe there could be shops that charges you less if you look more, or you could downgrade the GPU so it cost less for the replacement.
Mubarak90
post May 17 2017, 02:08 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 17 2017, 01:37 PM)
where did you send it to repair?
you replace it or it can be repair?

changing the gpu in laptop is actually costly even though my 7970m is 5 years old
I send it to REN Computers. They have HQ in KL. They usually can get the parts from supplier, as mine was also an old model. An Asus G51JX with GTS360M GPU to be exact, and they still manage to get the GPU. So just try your luck, if they can help get it replaced at around RM600 - RM800, it would still be far cheaper than getting a whole new PC.
Mubarak90
post May 17 2017, 02:45 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 17 2017, 02:37 PM)
because i was thinking if i going to replace 7970m, might as well get a new rig.

but my 5 years old laptop is still capable with the current games in medium settings if not high
Believe me, I know how it felt. I really do. Mine can only go for low for most DX11 games. But, I don't play games on my PC that much anymore, and many of the games I had are older titles, so, what the heck. Building a new PC that satisfies what I want from a PC, costs too much sweat.gif
Ryzen 1600 alone is already around 3 times the cost of repairing the laptop. biggrin.gif
Mubarak90
post May 17 2017, 03:47 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 17 2017, 03:04 PM)
yes. decision decision decision
i am not a heavy gamers but i always want to get at least future proof stuff to satisfy myself
Yup, which is why getting all the parts together directly, so you get a working computer cost so much now. You can buy older CPU, but that means you need to pair it with older mobo that supports older type of memory, which usually is DDR3. That means, if you want to upgrade, all these parts need to be replaced. Buying a budget Pentium G4560 would be kinda a miss opportunity since our broken laptop is already running 4C/8T i7 CPU. RAM price is also quite high nowadays, so getting an 8GB DDR4 stick already cost around RM300. What monitor to buy? Which PC Case? How many watts of PSU to be best so that upgrade won't be affected, and so many more questions and decisions to make. biggrin.gif
Mubarak90
post May 19 2017, 12:15 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ May 19 2017, 12:13 PM)
any rumors when volta will be release?
Next year
Mubarak90
post May 19 2017, 03:45 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ May 19 2017, 03:01 PM)
haha
though they say this year
Well, the articles I read pinpoints it to next year, since Micron GDDR6 isn't readily available. They mentioned that GPUs using GDDR6 will come next year, hence the answer. Maybe they'll go the 750 Ti route with Volta and release the slower card first this time. Who knows~

QUOTE(kcirdenk @ May 19 2017, 03:35 PM)
is this GPU good enough for movies & playing LOL?

https://www.asus.com/my/Graphics-Cards/GT730-FML-2G/

or Zotac GT 1030? Anyone can advise which is better?
Try searching Youtube for RandomGamingHD channel. He got himself a GT 1030 and he shown that it has no trouble playing even GTA 5, so LoL is probably going to hit triple digits at 1080p. He also played Overwatch and Dota2 and both can be set to maximum details at 1080p with more than 40fps on Overwatch.
Mubarak90
post May 19 2017, 04:04 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ May 19 2017, 03:49 PM)
hehe
think is this year got new gc
then i might upgrade from i7-3770 to ryzen
Well, you can always upgrade the CPU first. icon_idea.gif
Mubarak90
post May 22 2017, 04:24 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(James_yka @ May 20 2017, 10:52 AM)
I have a HD6970 which is dying very soon, im thinking of getting 1050TI 4G.
Would this be a good upgrade?

Im hoping to only get 1080p 60fps High-Ultra in most of my games.
Usually RTS (e. Starcraft), FPS (e. Battefield, DOOM), RPG (e. Tomb Raider) & Sim (City Skylines)

Or should i save up and get 1060 6G instead?
Why not upgrade to RX 580 4GB? or cheaper, the RX 570 4GB? Because you're already using high power requirement GPU, so it means that your PSU supports these GPUs.

1050Ti or GTX 1060 is a more power efficient GPU, so it's more recommended on lower spec PSU for the price, because it sacrifices some performance as a trade.
Mubarak90
post May 23 2017, 02:51 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(James_yka @ May 22 2017, 06:24 PM)
Maybe cause I'm tired of being AMD fanboy, was very disappointed with their line up for the passed few years...
Their only redeem is Vega, which still have long way before release.

Back to the point. Lower TDP & GPU boost is a great for real life performance, not to mention most of the games are optimize for nvidia.
Just how I think about Nvidia, do educate me if I'm wrong as I was away from the PC community for a long time.
I see, the performance is similar on most cases for RX 580 and GTX 1060 6GB, and price don't differ much to over here. But the 4GB should mostly sell at a lower priced compared to the 1060 though. And then, there is the new RX 570 which mostly performs similar to RX 480 but is sold at a lower price. This should be around the performance of GTX 1060 3GB.

The reason I'm recommending Radeon is because you can utilize your already pretty beefy PSU, with lower price. Else, you may try to find if there is any used 980 Ti sold around new GTX 1060 6GB price. smile.gif
Mubarak90
post May 26 2017, 11:15 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(James_yka @ May 26 2017, 01:10 AM)
Well you do have a point, AMD has always been selling better performance at lower price... If just looking at spec AMD sure has an upper hand, but Nvidia lower spec always out performed AMD...
If counting dollar per fps surely AMD win but negligible, just about +- RM 100...

But then their driver optimization is really down the drain, never beat Nvidia...

I just hope their new Vega built from scratch won't have driver issue...
Well, they're better in performance per dollar competition. Nvidia however is better in efficiency per performance. smile.gif
Mubarak90
post Jun 22 2017, 04:55 PM

482 posts

Notebookcheck did a review on GT1030, and it's not bad actually, for a replacement GPU that have the same number of cores as it's predecessor. Performance wise, is a little better than the RX 550 or around the performance of GTX 750 (non-Ti). Definitely worthy upgrade for those who are using GTX 400 / HD 5000 series card or below.
Mubarak90
post Jul 20 2017, 03:40 PM

482 posts

I thought it was only 1 unit for that price. But even if it's a few more, that price is a steal. All the best to those who que que.
Mubarak90
post Jul 20 2017, 07:14 PM

482 posts

They also should sell GT 1030 at RM249, which is also very win. biggrin.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0195sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:35 PM