I noticed my Toyota Vios has this O/D button which I don't know exactly how it's function. The sales person just told me that I should only turn it off (Indicate light on) when I'm doing sharp cornering with higher speed to cut down the speed. Hence, my O/D is always on (indicate light off) since I don't do sharp cornering or what-so-ever... until i forgot it's there.
The only thing i noticed so far is the fuel consumption of my car is very high. Full tank RM67, only run 260-280km. I thought is the gear box oil (since i didn't change gear box oil at all), so I changed my gearbox oil, yet it doesn't help at all. I've ask the mechanic to check what's wrong with my car yet they can't give me any answer, as everything seems fine.
The only thing that I could think of that cause the fuel consumption is the Overdrive. I've tried checking online, but it's very confusing, by telling on the off... you know O/D off - light on, O/D on - light off...
Could anyone help me on this? Should I turn off (light on) my overdrive all the time when I'm driving, or turn on (light off) my overdrive?
Lol...no wonder vios is named the God 's car! Tell you ah....OD is more powderful than the turbo you now! No wonder I saw a vios tapao a 328 the other day!
as far as i know, O/D means overdrive. however, i have read two different types of O/D. One is used for overtaking, i.e. it sort of shift down the gear. I had a Corona (year 1998), back in Brunei that had an O/D button on it. By using the O/D, the car would only go up to 3rd gear only (4 speed auto) - or shift down to 2 if it was in 3... something like that. But no matter how fast I was going, it never went into 4 gear - hence my logic that it only go up to 3rd.
I believe my friend's rented Vios also had this type (he rented, while I bought - both worked in Brunei at the same time). You can imagine that fuel consumption is not the best it can achieve when using this.
Another type of O/D i have read - but never came accross (in the real world) is the opposite type. It may be just a theory, well... at least for me it is. There is supposed to be like a higher gear, so that when you are cruising, the transmission would use the highest gear it can. the logic is that you can achieve better mileage.
Hope to read explanation from our sifus on this issue.
This post has been edited by abu.shofwan: Jan 11 2017, 10:27 AM
OD is indeed overdrive. It acts like another gear.
You should engage overdrive on daily driving. The engine is less stressed and fuel consumption is lower since it is effectively another gear.
If you want to drive enthusiastically, then switch it off - the car will keep the revs up and give you better pick-up (at the expense of fuel consumption). In addition, it should also be switched off for extended downhill runs, to maximise engine braking and reduce the chances of brake overheating.
you will notice when you driving and turn it off (light on), car will drop gear.
OD off (lights on) only when you want to overtake / naik bukit with low gears. if normal chill santai drive, just let it on (light off)
Hi Sifu, I left my O/D on (light off) since i got the car, my fuel consumption is like full tank running 260-280km.. is this normal? Cause mechanic can't tell whats wrong... T.T ....
as per my knowledge, the O/D i just to give you better response. It acts like a throttle control. But of course its response is not comparable to a throttle controller. Its similar stuffs. When its more responsive, surely it burns more fuel. Turning O/D off will be more fuel saving as it will be less responsive. my 2 cents.
1)overdrive gears refers to the highest or last gear(s) the tranny has... (in the case of the older vios-es, thats 4) 2)If you run around and cruise on 1-2-3.... or drive around with the lower gears alone... your rpms must be sky high.... nowonderlah your fc macam tu..... cannot imagine how stressed the engine must be....
**and no, od does not mess with the throttle in the vios... signal only hooks up to the tcu (iirc)
edit.... easy way to check.... cruise at 80 or 100... test with od on and off .... the setting that allows you to roll around with the lower rpm's is the 'correct' setting... simple? *even simpler = owner manual*
This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jan 11 2017, 10:44 AM
OD is indeed overdrive. It acts like another gear.
You should engage overdrive on daily driving. The engine is less stressed and fuel consumption is lower since it is effectively another gear.
If you want to drive enthusiastically, then switch it off - the car will keep the revs up and give you better pick-up (at the expense of fuel consumption). In addition, it should also be switched off for extended downhill runs, to maximise engine braking and reduce the chances of brake overheating.
Meaning I should switch it on(lights off) for normal driving?
O/D should't be ON/lighted during normal driving. (if ON O/D u can see the r/min speedometer will be high, and u can hear the enjin sound a bit loud and the enjin is kicking when u step your foot on the acceleration pedal)
except u wanna over take a car in short distant/ climb hill then only use O/D.
vios full tank can goes 350~400km+
This post has been edited by alexchew_2020: Jan 11 2017, 10:52 AM
Never used the function really on purpose unless a few times out of curiosity because when the engine is already in high rpm it's useless to tap into it. The other O/D switch for me is the gas pedal itself.
O/D should't be ON/lighted during normal driving. (if ON O/D u can see the r/min speedometer will be high, and u can hear the enjin sound a bit loud and the enjin is kicking when u step your foot on the acceleration pedal)
except u wanna over take a car in short distant/ climb hill then only use O/D.
vios full tank can goes 350~400km+
Usually I drive with the light off, all these while.. But I could only get 260-280km full tank...
Hi Sifu, I left my O/D on (light off) since i got the car, my fuel consumption is like full tank running 260-280km.. is this normal? Cause mechanic can't tell whats wrong... T.T ....
you did it right, just turn OD on (light off) during normal driving. but your FC is scary tho. My dad's Vios year 07 spec G, full tank can go ~380km. better ask mechanic check other things.
1)overdrive gears refers to the highest or last gear(s) the tranny has... (in the case of the older vios-es, thats 4) 2)If you run around and cruise on 1-2-3.... or drive around with the lower gears alone... your rpms must be sky high.... nowonderlah your fc macam tu..... cannot imagine how stressed the engine must be....
**and no, od does not mess with the throttle in the vios... signal only hooks up to the tcu (iirc)
edit.... easy way to check.... cruise at 80 or 100... test with od on and off .... the setting that allows you to roll around with the lower rpm's is the 'correct' setting... simple? *even simpler = owner manual*
Sorry Sifus.... I don't get the meaning of this reply... cause I'm actually a total noob... I drive only for daily normal driving, go to work, come home... erm... I don't understand how engine stress... cause I'm stress when I saw the Fuel consumption too.... how to test driving 80-100? and what should i see ? how does it works?
Your car problem since you bought 10 years ago or just happened recently?? if since you bought it, might be your car system was wrongly set up, supposedly OD on (light off), FC cantek. OD off (light on), FC high. But based on your FC experience, your car's set up OD on (light on), FC high... not sure you understand or not
So best way is, get your dad / brother / friend or whoever you think can help you to test your car. No need good pomen to recognize this OD functionality.