O/D On or Off? - Urgent, Should I Keep my O/D on? (Overdrive)

BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 11 2017, 10:27 AM

142 posts

you will notice when you driving and turn it off (light on), car will drop gear.

OD off (lights on) only when you want to overtake / naik bukit with low gears. if normal chill santai drive, just let it on (light off)
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 11 2017, 10:54 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 10:32 AM)
Hi Sifu, I left my O/D on (light off) since i got the car, my fuel consumption is like full tank running 260-280km.. is this normal? Cause mechanic can't tell whats wrong... T.T ....
you did it right, just turn OD on (light off) during normal driving. but your FC is scary tho. My dad's Vios year 07 spec G, full tank can go ~380km. better ask mechanic check other things.
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 11 2017, 11:15 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 11:07 AM)
Sorry Sifus.... I don't get the meaning of this reply... cause I'm actually a total noob... I drive only for daily normal driving, go to work, come home... erm... I don't understand how engine stress... cause I'm stress when I saw the Fuel consumption too.... how to test driving 80-100? and what should i see ? how does it works?
Your car problem since you bought 10 years ago or just happened recently?? if since you bought it, might be your car system was wrongly set up, supposedly OD on (light off), FC cantek. OD off (light on), FC high. But based on your FC experience, your car's set up OD on (light on), FC high... not sure you understand or not biggrin.gif

So best way is, get your dad / brother / friend or whoever you think can help you to test your car. No need good pomen to recognize this OD functionality.
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 11 2017, 11:36 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 11 2017, 11:23 AM)
BTW... do you know roughly what other reason that may cause high FC for vios? I change gear oil edi. Service my car too.

Mechanic said mounting rosak but will not affect anything just that the car shake badly. tyre must change, nothing else liao... no mechanic could tell what happen.. i went 2 mechanics edi/...
I'm no expert, but check these 2 basic first. If all good then it might be relating to the internal parts of your engine.

EO change on time? if use semi syn, around 5-6k odo must change. if use fully syn up to 10k odo then change. If no change on time, dalam engine sudah berat because it's not lubricating the moving parts good enough.

changed to bigger sport rim? bigger s/rim makes your car heavier

driving style? city drive everyday jam also contributes high FC

BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 12 2017, 12:42 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(amandawo @ Jan 12 2017, 12:12 PM)
I did on engine every weekdays for roughly an hour, without car moving.. Cause waiting waiting... So that's one of the factor that caused fc high too? Hmm...  Then let me try not turning on engine while waiting and see it improves the fc
wahlao engine run 1 hour without moving weh... for sure FC damn high one. try to avoid that habit, when you stop more than 5 minutes, just roll down windows and off the engine thumbsup.gif

0.0219sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:09 AM