Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center
Mar 23 2009, 02:10 PM
1,578 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Johor-Singapore |
I think actually there is medical school recognized by MMC. I don't know what though. A lot of pretty ah moi there so it's a plus!
Mar 23 2009, 08:39 PM
I think that the consultant is legit.
http://www.google.com.my/search?q=IGWY+Con...lient=firefox-a There is a lot of website referring to the consultant. But to make sure, you can call the university admission office itself regarding this. China is quite a good destination because of the language and fees. The consultant said that most student go back to Malaysia every 2 month because of the cheap AirAsia. But I think the accomodation is not that good and no nightlife. But when the fee are cheap and recognized by SMC, it quite good. |
Mar 23 2009, 10:17 PM
Wo, now that's a good researches. Let me finish reading this first...
EducationUK is at 28-29 March inKL COnvention Center. Going there to talk to the lecturer! Hopefully they got extra spot for foreigner. |
Mar 24 2009, 12:03 PM
Yep, I think they will send back the email in max. 1 week. Many of limeuu point are very true and realistic.
For example is that the requirement is kind like a shadow and lecturer is probably imported. QUOTE Zhejiang entrance requirement Admission Requirements 1) High school graduate with an average of 70% and above in Mathematics, English, Biology, Physics and Chemistry. On other website: 1) Authorized copy of TOEFL score 550 or above or IELTS score 5.0 or above. 2) Entry examination and Interview after examining application document. http://www.chinaeducenter.com/en/mbbs/zju_mbbs.php QUOTE Shanghai Medical University But its say the language is in Chinese I got this from University of Wiscousin-Madison This institutional profile has been created for use by University of Wisconsin-Madison graduate programs. Other names: Shanghai First Medical College. First degree/qualification: Bachelor's degree (5-6 years). Minimum quality for UW-Madison Graduate School admission: Overall average in B range. Minimum level for UW-Madison Graduate School admission: 4-5 year diploma from 1949-1966; 5 year bachelor's degree from 1978-present; master's degree following diploma programs from the Cultural Revolution-present. Documents required: Official transcript; official certification of degree and date awarded in Chinese and English; must have stamp/seal of school and signature of an authorized school official. http://www.grad.wisc.edu/admin/gradcoordin.../000014375.html This post has been edited by Ibrahimovic: Mar 24 2009, 12:06 PM |
Mar 25 2009, 11:24 PM
Wa, very good are you! I even stutter ot talk to university representative yet alone embassy!
I think you got evrything in check but the word from the university itself is important. Make sure the syllabus is in English. You quite lucky as be able to talk in mandarin. I can't and I better off with English-medium place until got no further option. By the way, I got a pamplet from Russia Resources stating that the cost to Nizhy Volgograd in total of 263k. Still affordable but not recognized as in China. I think Zhenjiang look much more 'modern' compare to Fudan. Best of luck! Added on March 25, 2009, 11:28 pmplease tell us the outcome as I also wanted to know the procedure This post has been edited by Ibrahimovic: Mar 25 2009, 11:28 PM |
Mar 26 2009, 06:26 PM
That's bad. I always thought if graduate from UK, I might consider working there. How about other courses like Biomedical or Pharmacy?
Mar 27 2009, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 27 2009, 06:41 AM) Come back again. Yesterday,I do call the china embassy but directly get a answer from them......."We don't know"! No confident already when I hear this answer. What? I call the university itself,I speak mandarin to him then the chinese man tell me"this programme is only open to English speaker who don know mandarin,you know mandarin so can not join". I ask agent then he say no such thing. I also call MCA to seek for help,they tell me better find the medical school currently recognized by mmc to avoid any risk which caused by changes of recognition policy by smc. Then,he recommend me Indonesia.He say the fees is affordable,quality is ok and everything is quite similar to malaysia. I have register with Medic ED,then an entrance exam will be held. Anyone here know about entrance exam.Is it hard? I think entrance exam should not be that hard like maybe they question is 'Where is our brain located' A. Inside our rib B. Near the groin C. In your head ah! D. In the foot Just my thoughts! |
Mar 27 2009, 07:06 PM
Ah ok its better than the China Embassy answered. Nut I guess that some blog I visit said that China's professor is not well versed in English and this is said by a current medical student. But I don't think you have any problem since you are fluent in Chinese language.
If I were you, I will try to bypass the agent and apply directly there. try check this possibilities. |
Mar 27 2009, 11:03 PM
So it's like entrance exam is it? That's a hassle when you are graduate from STPM. But I think we all can pass it.
Mar 30 2009, 07:06 PM
Wello MBBS siang you do a lot of research before going into that university so I give you full salute!
Hopefully you got into Indonesia. Perseverance pays off in long run. I'll thinking of applying next year after taking UKCAT. Ah, so got to go to the dreaded National Service this year... |
Mar 30 2009, 10:51 PM
nice fact. I guess at least we know a good agent for going to medicine. Well MCA is one of the best advisor in Malaysia. I somehow think they do better as welfare agent than a political system. I wonder if they give free advice to malays, I don't heard anyone go to UMNO branch to discuss education.
Mar 31 2009, 01:51 PM
Well I don't think reassessment will happen as it is not in the best interest of the government. Despite 2nd class to Western med school, our country still lack doctors and more doctor go private hence public hospital in need of more doctor irregardless of their origin.
Apr 2 2009, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(memphis @ Apr 1 2009, 11:31 PM) studying in Unpad, Bandung Indonesia now..already clinical...and its really open my eye about how lucky i am compare to my fren studying same course in berlin Hey how about you tell us the Berlin vs. Indonesia condition. I also try to look in Germany as a place to study. Like what the admission of STPM or SPM to Germany. Also is Indonesia good in teaching Medicine?QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Apr 2 2009, 08:45 AM) Hi guys, here I am again. BecauseMedicine in Russia is very unpopular as the salary and work condition is very low (limeuu said this). I think Moscow Med school according to Russian Resources I talk in edufair said that they not recommend it to other as they put 7 Malaysian student in one dorm so Nizhny is their recommendation but I think Moscow is the most 'prestige' in Russia.How's the Moscow Medical Academy? I'm not trying to compare it, just want to know what's the difference studying Medic in 3rd world Countries. Thanks Added on April 2, 2009, 8:56 amActually I just consulted a Doctor from Medic-Ed. He convinced me that Moscow Medical Academy is a good choice, has a reputable ranking, a WHO recognition. But what I'm wondering is, if it's so good, why would they care about offering seats to an average scorer of UEC (like me). Haiz, Hectic Day. |
Apr 2 2009, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(zedstat @ Apr 2 2009, 12:20 PM) Ah, a UM here. Well my tuition teacher has a daughter who just graduated from UM last year. She's said she is quite relax in the last year after getting used to the exam there. Well I think we all become used to the hussle and bussle of college life until we forgot how relax life were before I only go to Form 6 to know that! QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Apr 2 2009, 06:52 PM) okok! I will behave myself! Well it become boring if we all go serious in this thread. Nothing beat cheap laughter hopefully TS will update the first page for information to all newcomer to medschool. It's invaluable. QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Apr 2 2009, 07:06 PM) It's a good choice but the life there is not worth it unless you like white snow. Moscow or Russia university is not recognized well in world although it do recognized in EU. If I were you, I try local twinning in IMU or go straight to UK. If low on money go to India (world recognized in certain University) preferably or Indonesia (only some country recognized not Singapore despite it's good facility and teaching)QUOTE(memphis @ Apr 2 2009, 07:18 PM) my fren took A level in berlin....so i dont know how the admission of STPM. there are only 2 asian in his class and he's one of them...and he said that german people abit proud about their race...so it will be hard when doing group work...u will always be the target of the lecturers...n there is so litle patient coming there...so myb that is the cons studying there...but the best part is, u are not bonded by timelimit or semester...so u can choose when u want to study, when u want to work(illegal tho)..and u can also work as medical assistant (same payrate as DR in msia) ..so no prob with money...my fren go backpacking all over europe every year...huhu... uh, I guesss the post-Nazi is still not totally eradicated but it not as harsh as in the 40's. So I don't think that a nice place to stay for 5 years of my life. Well thanks for the detailed, I guess we still with the old school med school. at least for me. But at least you could go backpaking. |
Apr 3 2009, 11:35 AM
Hmm..I guess just about anyone would want to breeze through pre-med before starting the real thing. It still early but you might want to try out AIMST or IMU. But you might want to check Matriks first as anyone could get 4.0 there if hardworking enough.
So my recommedation is Malaysian Matriks. |
Apr 4 2009, 10:54 AM
JUst so you know, Indian doctors are one of the best in the world. If you Wiki Maulana Azad med School, there are alumni who are Harvard lecturers and many more despite is still rank 2 or 3 in India!
I always thought on going India but learning the language first is quite a hassle. It's my second-choice as to UK. |
Apr 5 2009, 11:27 PM
Don't want to be rude here but I yet to see Chinese/Indian Mat Rempit. I even get a road bully here in johor and the weird part is that he is riding a kapchai while I'm riding a car. Is he wanna see me crash into him or what?
But yep, if you wanna get better tretment go to Singapore or UK/US. There isn't much we can do in M'sia system even if we got opposition or change in government. I for one don't wanna work here in malaysia, better go elsewhere. Don't want my offspring to get discriminate or others mean stuff. |
Apr 5 2009, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 5 2009, 11:36 PM) why not?.......you will become an instant bumi here...... Yep, I know for sure I get an instant Bumi status here (I get ad offer as my dad know 'certain' people here) but I think its too late already . Now, I for sure don't want to be a Singapore citizen as they lack scholarship like in Malaysia and their strict system like NS (National Slavery). Malaysia is quite good but why not try UK? But this still remain a dream...but i must agree by definition, mat rempits are malays.......not sure what what they are called for those bikers gangs of other ethnicity..... Yeah 'Mat' in Mat Rempit refer exclusively to Malay as in Mat Tayar or Mat Satay. haha, it will be funny seeing Chinese racing in Felda estate. I gonna laugh very hard if it do happen |
Apr 8 2009, 03:20 PM
haha, same here. But NS letter already came and told me to report on June. Aiyah, soo sad. I thought they forget about me already. I guess I can only enter med school next year
Hey do you guys know how to enter Indian university recognized by SMC like Maulana Azad? I don't think agent here listed the reputable university. SMC recognized: All-India Institute of Medical Sciences Christian Medical College, Vellore Armed Forces Medical College, Maharashtra University of Health Sciences Maulana Azad Medical College, Delhi University Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research, Pondicherry University Lady Hardinge Medical College (New Delhi), University of Delhi Grant Medical College (Mumbai), Maharashtra University of Health Sciences St. John's Medical College (Bangalore), Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences Madras Medical College (Chennai), Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R. Medical University |
Apr 8 2009, 03:36 PM
Wow, but I not that suprised as the alumni even become lecturer in Harvard Medical School and many organization in USA.
Most of them I search like only admit 5% foreigner into their faculty. It does kill to try right? But I only confused on how to enter as I can't find the application only their website and they don't list A-level requirement or equivalent. |
| Change to: | 0.0410sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:57 PM |