6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

Ibrahimovic
post Apr 8 2009, 04:58 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Ah, I guess it's hard to go there. So, it's still Indonesia huh?
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 8 2009, 09:48 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Well the problem now in private clinic is definately about competition. there are too many clinics now so most go for the old establishment or the cheapest ones.

Better go to government where work and pension is taken care off. Btw, limeuu I think private doctor got more flexible work hour unless hey got too many patient. but the overhead are really a headache though..
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 9 2009, 11:29 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Yeah I also heard scholarship even got 10 year bond. blieve me that 10 year is a good time to gain experience. After 10 years, you could go private or even work abroad.

Nothing beat free education
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 9 2009, 10:36 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 9 2009, 05:37 PM)
yes

Added on April 9, 2009, 5:38 pm

they will not give you money, unless it is a new scholarship, which will add to your bond......

Added on April 9, 2009, 5:40 pm

working in other countries has nothing to do with how many years you have worked with the gov........
Huh? I just mean working 10 years should not view as a burden as the scholarship cost >300k and 10 years is actually a good sum of time to spend here before deciding on next course of action like furtheringstudies or go oversea.
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 10 2009, 02:14 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

IMU the best. Forget PMS or other. You gonna regret going to other place IF you got twinning in your mind.

Btw, anyone considering opening V2. I'm thinking to make a lots of link in the first or second post related to medicine as I think they should be some summary before they post opinion here.

Ibrahimovic
post Apr 10 2009, 07:11 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Ah, so another 50 pages more. I thought it only needed 2k post.

Pound is falling hard now but when the fee also increasing at the same time, the difference is very little.
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 11 2009, 02:05 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 10 2009, 11:42 PM)
Anyway, doing IMU-PMS or full course overseas is very expensive, and pls prepare at least RM600K. Might be more.
Yeah the funny thing is that I could do the full training in like University of Manchester with the same amount of money with the whole course spend there plus cost of living. Funny to see why some opt for IMU-PMS unless their qualification is not AAB or more.
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 11 2009, 04:15 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Yeah, I guess you could save something. But I went to edufair recently and calculate that if in Belfast, ireland for example, the cost of course plus living expenditure is around 680k excluding if we work on summer vacation which could maybe lower the cost to around 600k.

But I think this is more higher in Manchester where yearly cost of living is 6k pound.

I heard PMS stream fee could be up till RM1 million. Is this true especially when we do 3 year here in Malaysia as oppose to 600k if we do there exclusively?

Right now I'm considering St. Andrew Foundation route although it might cost RM1 million....
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 12 2009, 11:15 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Apr 12 2009, 01:12 AM)
could go up to 1 million depending on what city you are in. some people claim going to melbourne U could be as expensive as 800 to 900K. but it depends on your extra cost. do you club and spend alot of money shopping. maintaining a car etc.

so its hard to say. but the guidelines i follow would be the uni's suggest living expenses and bump it up more( maybe 20 to 30%) and think of extra expenses you might incure. alot of place dont give internet connection. and that can be hefty overseas depending on your needs. telco line fees etc.

Ibrahimovic, 680K is pretty cheap even for belfast.  hmm.gif

St.Andrew's foundation is only for a year i have a friend doing maths and physics foundation, and another who might start this sept. but if you have the money might as well, but i think your ABBB from STPM can def get you a spot in IMU. but 680K i also go already...
Well it is 680k if you eat a pittance like my elder brother who almost become a vegetarian there and buy many near expired food (70% off). This include buying food,bill shared with many friends. And he live in Edinburgh. Belfast is more cheaper. I think Muslim got free food in fasting month from mosque if we lucky.

Btw, I talk to a IMU in edufair wh said my ABBA (A for GP and Biology) cannot get into IMU. IMU is actually my choice before I know my STPM result sad.gif CAn't even get IMU on appeal huh?

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 12 2009, 06:24 PM)
yes......many of imu students are those who have applied direct to these med schools and failed to secure a place, especially to oz undergrad med schools......eg, someone with ter 94 will have no chance of getting direct entry, but after imu, have a reasonable chance of getting oz.......althought the winds of change has swept through the landscape, oz is now the fav destination, not uk anymore with the new immigrations rules.....and it becomes that much harder when almost everybody puts oz as their top choices........
Hey in Australia, is the criteria is much stricter than UK? How more expensive is it there?

Ibrahimovic
post Apr 16 2009, 10:56 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Some linkies to the ebook brows.gif

Netter's Internal Medicine

Atlas of Human Anatomy

Dental Books + Anatomy etc.

Ibrahimovic
post Apr 17 2009, 02:06 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Haha, well I guess the good thing is that you learn something about the past. After reading it, go change the book to someting else!
Ibrahimovic
post May 3 2009, 09:57 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Matriculation is more accepted to IPTA than STPM. That's a common fact to live by.

My advice is if can't get JPA to do medicine when got 4.0, better go elsewhere and never come back to Malaysia. I'm planning to do just that biggrin.gif
Ibrahimovic
post May 9 2009, 11:02 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(kaiying @ May 8 2009, 06:12 PM)
hi. just wanna ask anyone here study medic in romania?? or planning to? pls pls advise.

and also what do you guys do if the med sch you studied is not accepted in malaysia?

sorry for the troubles. thanks
If you're malay go to Indonesia but most of the time just go to MSU or other med school in Malaysia. They're cheaper than living oversea.Try Cyberjaya medschool as requirement might be as low as BBC. Never look at their official requirement. It always lower than it. smile.gif
Ibrahimovic
post May 11 2009, 12:04 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 10 2009, 01:18 PM)
Hey limeuu,

Yea, that's the problem.
It's a choice now, I have to choose upon entering, and wont be eligible for other PMS schools.
If I dont get the Bmed Second Upperclass degree, I'll be trying my luck or end up staying in Malaysia.
(Another Risk)

Thanks Hypermax, that's a strong point you got there.

Added on May 10, 2009, 1:24 pmHey limeuu,

Can you brief me on what the 9 months is about?
Like What I would be expecting for a research, and how am I assessed.

Normally people only take graduate pathway if their result in A-level etc. does not met even close to the requirement. If you get the requirement better apply Medicine rather than taking the long route. In UK, many take BMed since their requirement are AAA and BMed route is the only way.

BMed is risky but I heard getting a Upper 2nd is common is you study as hard as you did before.
Ibrahimovic
post May 11 2009, 08:47 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 11 2009, 05:54 PM)
I don't know why you're so caught up on to Romania. but basically obtaining working visa as a doctor in non-uk country is gonna be a bit difficult. having speak the language of that country. and many other factors.

be careful of agents and universities who seemingly place their living expenses so low. you might end up spending more than you can afford. so dont trust all the agents.

depending on your result, you can go to any of the IPTS in malaysia. many of them accept low grades, manipal-melaka was BCC , IMU was BBC, AIMST am not sure. so at the end of the day insurance in your degree, and you know for a fact a loan from PTPTN can be secured, malaysia sounds like a better destination rather than romania. you might not qualify for monash though, heard they have high entry results.

He's telling the truth. The agent want $$$ but Malaysia already got many IPTS. Getting job in EU is harder than you think as they want to emply their citizen than yourself. Don't go to Romania, I really hope you don't go there. If you dying to go outside Malaysia, go Russia / Indon instead. Forget about China as MBBSiang and limeuu already do the research and it tough as hell to pass. Btw, you can PM CR7, he's a really helpful guy smile.gif

QUOTE(zltan @ May 11 2009, 06:05 PM)
There, you have said it yourself.

This should have deterred you from doing med.

We don't care how passionate you are, how much you want to be a doctor or how much you want to sacrifice.. (insert some nonsense crap here)

Bad results=No go

If you can't do it in high school, you can't do it in uni. Its as simple as that.

No bullshit about how you will study hard, work hard, ask lecturers, read a lot etc. because it won't happen. I repeat, IT WON'T HAPPEN.

I'm not trying to be rude or mean. I'm just telling you the facts. Medicine is a complicated. You don't stop studying in uni, you study throughout your life.
Take the swine flu for example. Never before has the world seen a mutation of both swine and human flu.

Another example...asthma. What causes asthma?

As a lay person, you might think its just a simple disease. But in truth, WE DO NOT KNOW. We do not know what mechanisms take place. There are so many hypothesis (eg. TH2), but no one can guarantee you a 100% that asthma is caused by that. There are so many factors involved, research is going on. You might be taught something one day....and that turns out to be wrong the next day.

Another one which you might be more familiar with... Panadol. How does it cause an analgesic effect? No one is sure. There are many hypothesis, but no one definitely knows. Google it up if you don't believe me. (Look at renown websites or pharmacology books, not websites like wikipedia)

Are you willing to commit for your entire life? If you can't handle something like SPM etc, you can't handle this.
Yep, are you SPM or STPM? If SPM, please do A-level before going elsewhere. If STPM etc., if will be tough to cope with Medicine. If you got BBC or above don't get scared but if not try to do Biomedical Science or Anatomy first as it is another route to get MBBS. How about tell us your result first? Don't worry the good thing about online is no one will know who you are smile.gif
Ibrahimovic
post May 12 2009, 11:23 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(kaiying @ May 12 2009, 12:10 AM)
thank you very much for the advise!

ahh.. im feeling tense already.

at first i was so sure, yes im going romania im going romania.. i applied online and all.. now just waiting for money from my parents..

now you all really made me think am i qualify even to be a doctor..

i was reading the first post when i was overwhelmed bout heart vs brain thingy.. cuz i have a good heart.. then half way i jumped to last 30 posts.. then i felt doctors are really really realistics.. its like dreams crashers..

i might not be, ok, i am not good in academic wise but i have real strong passion towards medic. i also dunno why. and i saved.. not lifes.. but just whenever someone is feeling unwell, got cut, or whatever (during camps especially), i will be the one helping them. guess im better off being a nurse huh.. haha.

and during class, i will be the one understood what was teacher talking about.. even good students ask me.. but when it comes to what was the disease call again? im screwed.. yup, i do understand this will be another nono for me to be a doctor.

i will think twice.. whether to be a guinea pig or take another pre u..

ahh.. i copied down the book list though. will try to read and see i will still have interest on it or not.

btw, i will update some progress ya. maybe first guinea pig who succeeds! sorry sorrry.. hehehehe

Added on May 12, 2009, 2:14 ami've thought it through..

i will stil..

stil not the time to give up yet..

prob i need to be knocked down real hard real hard then only i will do something bout it..

because i went and did a bit of research, i believe i still stand a chance. slim, not a bright choice, but i will still continue..

i will not blame, will not whine, i will live my life without regrets.

is not just DR title.

to me, is much more.

kaiying, gogogo!! rclxm9.gif
Well if you want to be a doctor you can but I still think you should go through the graduate route. By getting Biomed first, you could see how could you are capable of. But the ball is still in you hand and it ultimately you're could. Do be frustrated but try to think carefully in making a decision as it affect throughout your life.

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 12 2009, 09:49 AM)
Hey chill guys,
kaiying already stated that she's not fascinated with the Dr title, yea maybe sometimes people confuse passion with compassion.

And she's well-aware of her lackluster in academic merits is a serious hindrance.

For Now, maybe she'll have to succumb to it, but I'm sure she can fullfill the passion and compassion somewhere else in the immense health science field.

Now, my ( silly question warning)

Hey, is it possible for a doctor to balance and intercalate an extra interest in his, Years of medical studies, and Voyage of medical career?

Thanks and Good Morning form an Insomniac.

Added on May 12, 2009, 9:51 amBut seriously, I thought the career wont be that demanding after the 7 years, when one's a Medical Officer.

(I'm asking this because I really think that I dont know thorough enough about a Doctor's life.)
Believe me it's demanding as hell as MO especially in Malaysia. In private clinic maybe it's more relaxing. Not sleeping 48 hours straight and looking at the person hearts in surgery for 8 hours is part of the job smile.gif But if you love the job, it don't really matter.
Ibrahimovic
post May 12 2009, 07:49 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 12 2009, 12:17 PM)
Looks like I've been naive here, after all, it's impossible to Live a Doctor's life or even live the student life without a 100% commitment and devotion.

Seriously thinking of to reject the IMU offer now. got 36 hours left. And you guys must be wondering that, a real passionate doctor wanna-be wont be in such thoughtful considerations like me now, right?

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 12 2009, 12:53 PM)
haha, but after stumbling through all the posts, I'm starting to think that, this isnt just about studies, then what happens after the housemanship?
Clearly Medicine doesnt leads to a career which one can do with a part-time attitude.

More and more I started to think that I'm entering IMU to TRY the MBBS (with dad's money, quoted) to TRY coping with my true side, not to DO the MBBS.

phew. ( needs some time to organise my thoughts)

But I'm very grateful for the existence of this thread somewhere in our bolehland. And I spent the whole night to midnight reading through the posts( Insomnia). It's warming to see the right people embarking on the rightest dreams, and people who crossed the paths, made their faithful decisions. Feels like everyone's moving on with time in their place.

And limeuu, Hypermax, Chika138...for the continuous support devoted into this thread.

Added on May 12, 2009, 3:03 pmDont get me wrong, I'm not blindly obsessed with Th honorable Dr  title, but when it comes to pinpoints of life, sometimes it really makes me wonder If the achievement I wanted out of life is in order, thus making me feel like I cant commit fully into the medical studies
Huh? You got IMU offer? Well your result must be good to be offered a seat. Anyway, don't give up quickly. A lot of people are in the same situation as yourself. But it is true that 100% devotion is required from your med school days to the day you retire as Dr.

btw, I also find this thread highly useful. Somehow I wonder how limeuu and other could spend so much time here. Don't tell me they got internet in hospital tongue.gif

Ibrahimovic
post May 13 2009, 11:45 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Yep, some school leaver still cannot decide which one is the best for them. most of my friend just go to the course they accepted without proper research. Most say they regret after taking the course which is them to blame on.

I think you should discuss with parent and if all your family agree and yourself, then you should accept it. how about you Google some medical anatomy etc. on the wikipedia or internet just to see if you could study it and enjoy it.
Ibrahimovic
post May 13 2009, 03:42 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(haya @ May 13 2009, 01:00 PM)
Why not? Hospitals are just like any other place, with telecommunication infrastructure. Probably more than the average place.
Yeah but he spend TOO much time here. not that I'm complaining wink.gif

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 13 2009, 01:01 PM)
Tried that one, hmm, maybe I should try to find medic books in MPH, and give it a little study.

Besides that, is there anyway I can see a Doctor's life in a more realistic view? Rather than Watching House or ER...

Yeah but try read anatomy on wiki first. If you can do it smoothly why not join IMU? Anyway, House is like magician, no doctor could posiiblity solve cases like him smile.gif
Ibrahimovic
post May 14 2009, 01:07 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ May 13 2009, 11:00 PM)
Try entering either IMU or Melaka-Manipal with BBC now tongue.gif

By meeting the min requirement doesn't mean that one has secured a place in that particular school.

Added on May 13, 2009, 11:02 pm
Can a specialist spend so much time on an internet forum while working in hospital? If i am not mistaken, limeuu is a surgeon.
But MSU or CUCMS or UCSI accept BBC tongue.gif Anyway, I think may doctor using internet to connect to other doctor in the world. I just saw on TV a doctor typing in some forum on swine flu. I guess modern age doctor also keep up with the trend on between their patient.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0598sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:40 PM