131 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.29

SilentVampire
post Apr 26 2017, 12:42 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Apr 25 2017, 07:47 PM)
wrong,

lenovo ideapad 700-R1MJ, price slightly over rm 3k

i7-6700HQ
4GB D4
1TB
NV GTX950 4GB
15.6"FHD
W10

this is sufficient enough for CAM/CAD
Yes, for basic CAM/CAD. However, as mentioned below by pandera999, it's better to get something that is more powerful for work. It will help in the long run and save time and productivity. He have already explain below so no point on me going on about the same thing.

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 25 2017, 11:14 PM)
got joker dun even understand the photoshop pro requirment n come simply mis lead ppl liao... he jus reply to ur msg...if gtx 950m can run without giv headache....dell long time come out wif gtx 950m model laptop de lo...

notice only lukewarm water brand come out wif gtx 950m models
To be fair on him, the person wants something near the budget of 3k so he's just suggesting something around that price range. Good to have a different perspective on things.

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 26 2017, 01:07 AM)
you might consider the laptop that within the budget range +400 to get gtx graphic card since you afford to increase it... as these graphic card will at least give you advantage to run CAD/CAM. choosing HQ processor is also giving you advantage.. some seller will recommend you certain model.. if its good deal, you can consider for it..

if she really need for design and not much moving around.... i suggest.. building a desktop (custom) cheaper and able to deliver better performance and output... as for laptop, it has limitation. so, i guess, there could be Asus FX for you to consider. you only need spend more $ on storage type like ssd/m2.sata, ram... and it will at least helps the programs runs smoothly...

alternative : laptop is portable, so it gives advantage in terms of portability. if she doesn't really need portability (some 15" quite heavy), i think building desktop is the best.. laugh.gif i guess, her office will provide the pc.. hopefully.. those MACs with tracking ball.. especially..
3k can run CAM/CAD. no issue... even M processor can ply games like dota 2, or cs go.. but of cz run on low settings.... but of course for best experience and performance, a true card is essential for CAD/CAM. as CAM/CAD  require extremely graphics intensive, even without rendering.

things that the user experience, slow load, slow rendering (not really slow), but took awhile only  sweat.gif  well, of coz.... we have ssd to help our system as well..

and yes.. 3k.. probably for uni level is ok.. since it for work.. rendering heavily...  maybe can invest more.. since its job related.. and the jobs need it  sweat.gif  jobs is killing sometimes

========================================
I hope LYY no more trolling and keep reporting in the thread that i create...

EL, if you have personal issue, settle it with PM. No need do Flaming/trolling/harassment report type.

Isnt it just enough to correct the mislead info.  smile.gif  [/b]
Thank you for clarifying the issue thumbup.gif

QUOTE(tengcm @ Apr 26 2017, 12:30 PM)
anyone can suggest? Please help
Looks good if only for online and word processing. You can actually get a cheaper model if you're only interested in both of that so will let the resellers on here offer you something better hopefully tongue.gif

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Apr 26 2017, 12:43 PM
myway1985
post Apr 26 2017, 12:57 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(jeffseaw @ Apr 26 2017, 11:58 AM)
is dell xps13 going to have upgrade this year? current xpx13 9360 is from last year?
Next batch going to be 2018 de.. wif another processor... Tbh the previous batch wif iris 540 r better.. can play dota mid high...Intel 620/630 lose to iris 540
lolful
post Apr 26 2017, 01:17 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 25 2017, 11:10 PM)
tbh.. ur budget stick to rig... ur rig can handle quite a big number of coding work... laptop is for wat? rebuild ur rig into new silverstone mini atx casing n bring to coll..then ur 3000 laptop for carry around
Yep, true will be enough, but my hostel wouldn't have enough space I think, only have a table for me.
Thanks for the input, I'll consider this as well, need to see the size of the table first

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 26 2017, 01:12 AM)
yes.. it can... dont worry.... i also more or less same field with you.... if you have good deal... you can consider the laptop. please check if the laptop have bad feedback or not..
It's going for only around 2k, so it should be quite alright.

myway1985
post Apr 26 2017, 02:12 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(lolful @ Apr 26 2017, 01:17 PM)
Yep, true will be enough, but my hostel wouldn't have enough space I think, only have a table for me.
Thanks for the input, I'll consider this as well, need to see the size of the table first
google the new silverstone mini casing... like a NAS storage size only
onn1017
post Apr 26 2017, 02:50 PM

22 posts

HI ALL, i m looking for a new laptop as my laptop is broken.

1. Preferred brand : Any brand
2. Budget : RM 2000-2500k
3. Screen Size : 15"
4. Usage : Dota2, movie, NBA2k16, FIFA, microsoft

Thank you.
TSpandera999
post Apr 26 2017, 03:29 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Apr 26 2017, 12:42 PM)
Yes, for basic CAM/CAD. However, as mentioned below by pandera999, it's better to get something that is more powerful for work. It will help in the long run and save time and productivity. He have already explain below so no point on me going on about the same thing.
To be fair on him, the person wants something near the budget of 3k so he's just suggesting something around that price range. Good to have a different perspective on things.
Thank you for clarifying the issue thumbup.gif
Looks good if only for online and word processing. You can actually get a cheaper model if you're only interested in both of that so will let the resellers on here offer you something better hopefully  tongue.gif
welcome.. nod.gif

QUOTE(lolful @ Apr 26 2017, 01:17 PM)
around that.. yeah.. no worries.. you only need more ram if only if you running virtual machines
TSpandera999
post Apr 26 2017, 03:34 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(onn1017 @ Apr 26 2017, 02:50 PM)
HI ALL, i m looking for a new laptop as my laptop is broken.

1. Preferred brand : Any brand
2. Budget :  RM 2000-2500k
3. Screen Size : 15"
4. Usage : Dota2, movie, NBA2k16, FIFA, microsoft

Thank you.
Asus A556U-QDM1071T A-Series 15.6" i5-7200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GT940MX, W10H
HP Pavilion 15-au103TX 15.6" i5-7200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV 940MX, W10H
cloudinaflask
post Apr 26 2017, 06:43 PM

33 posts

1. Preferred brand : Any
2. Budget : RM2000 max
3. Usage : digital painting/coding, with occasional light gaming(don't think this really matters)
4. Screen Size : Preferably 13" or above Must have good screen (IPS?)
5. video card : Anything will do
6. dvd\cd tray: Nice to have but not necessary
7. RAM : 8GB

Will go to uni for comp. sci course this year, would like to know what good options are available out there. I was planning to get a 2nd hand Thinkpad but it's quite hard to find one with good screen.

Alternatively, should I get a MiniATX case for my PC instead? If that's the case I will upgrade the CPU and monitor too but I'm afraid it's too much of a hassle to bring a PC to uni. I do have a slow laptop (Pentium Sandy Bridge) which might be ok for coding but struggles to run digital painting software.

This post has been edited by cloudinaflask: Apr 26 2017, 06:44 PM
Mubarak90
post Apr 26 2017, 07:08 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(cloudinaflask @ Apr 26 2017, 06:43 PM)
3. Usage : digital painting/coding, with occasional light gaming(don't think this really matters)

Will go to uni for comp. sci course this year, would like to know what good options are available out there. I was planning to get a 2nd hand Thinkpad but it's quite hard to find one with good screen.

Alternatively, should I get a MiniATX case for my PC instead? If that's the case I will upgrade the CPU and monitor too but I'm afraid it's too much of a hassle to bring a PC to uni. I do have a slow laptop (Pentium Sandy Bridge) which might be ok for coding but struggles to run digital painting software.
Should be fine with notebooks using i3 / i5 U-series CPU.
myway1985
post Apr 26 2017, 11:16 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(cloudinaflask @ Apr 26 2017, 06:43 PM)

keep ur sandy bridge.. change to ssd for ur laptop will do...2k cant really get any intel laptop... performance more or less like a pentium.. so no point.. add ssd... cheapest way to do thing and increase ur ram..
as for ur PC i suggest silverstone new mini atx casing.. like a NAS storage size only
ttmm2016
post Apr 27 2017, 12:22 AM

98 posts

I'm thinking to buy a new laptop

1, i5 7th gen
2, 8GB RAM
3, SSD 256gb
4, under 14-inch, nice screen

Please advise TQ

infiniteclicker
post Apr 27 2017, 12:45 PM

48 posts

I am considering either one of these 2 laptops.

Lenovo Legion Y520-50MJ
RM2,980
i5-7300HQ
4GB DDR4
1TB
NV GTX1050 2GB
15.6"FHD
W10
2 YRS ONSITE + 1 YR ACC DMG
45 WATT BATTERY
2.4 KG

Or

Dell Inspiron 7566-30414G-W10
RM3,030
i5-6300HQ
4GB DDR4
1TB
NV GTX960 4GB
15.6"FHD
W10
2 YRS PREMIUM
74 WATT BATTERY
2.62 KG

Im stuck in deciding between these 2.
The downside of the Lenovo is the small battery.. which is almost half the battery life of the Dell.
Im currently leaning towards the Dell because of it's longer battery life.
But, I've also heard some feedbacks from others that it is much better to get the GTX 10-series compared to the 9-Series..

Is the GTX 1050 and the 7th gen processor that much of a jump in terms of performance for my usage?
My Usage : Mainly Programming and Coding (CS Student), MS Office, Browsing and Gaming (Overwatch, Dota2, CSGO)

I need help from help from all the experts here to make the best possible purchase. Appreciate all your feedbacks and opinions. smile.gif

SilentVampire
post Apr 27 2017, 01:02 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(infiniteclicker @ Apr 27 2017, 12:45 PM)

Lenovo Legion Y520-50MJ
RM2,980
i5-7300HQ
4GB DDR4
1TB
NV GTX1050 2GB
15.6"FHD
W10
45 WATT BATTERY
2.4 KG

Or

RM3,030
i5-6300HQ
4GB DDR4
1TB
NV GTX960 4GB
15.6"FHD
W10
2 YRS PREMIUM
74 WATT BATTERY
2.62 KG

The downside of the Lenovo is the small battery.. which is almost half the battery life of the Dell.
But, I've also heard some feedbacks from others that it is much better to get the GTX 10-series compared to the 9-Series..

Is the GTX 1050 and the 7th gen processor that much of a jump in terms of performance for my usage?
My Usage : Mainly Programming and Coding (CS Student), MS Office, Browsing and Gaming (Overwatch, Dota2, CSGO)

I need help from help from all the experts here to make the best possible purchase. Appreciate all your feedbacks and opinions. smile.gif
I'm no expert lol but on paper and for what you need to do (programming and coding and gaming being the main ones that need more processing strength and higher end video card), I would go for the Lenovo Legion Y520.

Different written and video reviews online have shown that there is not much difference between Skylake and Kabylake but there is a slight improvement nonetheless, which would be good for you. However, the video card difference between the Pascal architecture and Maxwell architecture is quite significant. I would say that the GTX1050 is much better than the GTX960, even though the VRAM of the GTX1050 is less than the GTX960, as the GPU and memory speed is better. Hope that helps and if I miss anything or is wrong, hope someone will let me know.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Apr 27 2017, 04:12 PM
myway1985
post Apr 27 2017, 01:04 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(ttmm2016 @ Apr 27 2017, 12:22 AM)
I'm thinking to buy a new laptop

1, i5 7th gen
2, 8GB RAM
3, SSD 256gb
4, under 14-inch, nice screen

Please advise TQ
budget?
Mubarak90
post Apr 27 2017, 01:29 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(infiniteclicker @ Apr 27 2017, 12:45 PM)

Lenovo Legion Y520-50MJ
RM2,980
i5-7300HQ
4GB DDR4
1TB
NV GTX1050 2GB
15.6"FHD
W10
45 WATT BATTERY
2.4 KG

Or

RM3,030
i5-6300HQ
4GB DDR4
1TB
NV GTX960 4GB
15.6"FHD
W10
2 YRS PREMIUM
74 WATT BATTERY
2.62 KG

Geforce GTX 1050 should be around 40% - 50% better than the Geforce GTX 960M.
infiniteclicker
post Apr 27 2017, 05:33 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Apr 27 2017, 01:02 PM)
I'm no expert lol but on paper and for what you need to do (programming and coding and gaming being the main ones that need more processing strength and higher end video card), I would go for the Lenovo Legion Y520.

Different written and video reviews online have shown that there is not much difference between Skylake and Kabylake but there is a slight improvement nonetheless, which would be good for you. However, the video card difference between the Pascal architecture and Maxwell architecture is quite significant. I would say that the GTX1050 is much better than the GTX960, even though the VRAM of the GTX1050 is less than the GTX960, as the GPU and memory speed is better. Hope that helps and if I miss anything or is wrong, hope someone will let me know.
In terms of after sales service, which brand is better in Malaysia? Lenovo or Dell?

TSpandera999
post Apr 27 2017, 05:56 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(infiniteclicker @ Apr 27 2017, 05:33 PM)
In terms of after sales service, which brand is better in Malaysia? Lenovo or Dell?
dell
myway1985
post Apr 27 2017, 06:07 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 27 2017, 05:56 PM)
dell
will be doing a review for aw13 r3 OLED soon... DFO....hehe
PenangBuyer
post Apr 27 2017, 06:15 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 27 2017, 06:07 PM)
will be doing a review for aw13 r3 OLED soon... DFO....hehe
mind me asking what's DFO, been seeing it around and have no clue, can't wait for the review !
LeonWong24
post Apr 27 2017, 06:31 PM

19 posts

Hi sifu need recommendation for my friend

1. Preferred brand : Dell, asus
2. Budget : below RM 3K
3. Usage : normal office usage + browsing
4. Screen Size : 13''-15''
5. video card : no need
6. storage : prefer ssd, 256gb if budget can fit
7. RAM : at least 4gb

thank you !!!