goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 05:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 31 2016, 04:59 PM)
goldfries Walao yourself all using prime but you discourage ppl from using it. I'll say if i have the money i'll go for the prime as well with the any entry level camera and DITCH the kit. I'll rather learn how to walk and get the shot that to rely on Zooming in and out. Once you are too used to zoom the moment you get a camera with a prime.. you will feel the cacat-ness.
Wah dude you don't simply twist my words leh.

You read my post, I didn't discourage people from using prime.

I'm saying to use the basic kit lens and find out the preference first before getting the lens of choice, be it prime or zoom.

I have prime lenses for the purpose I need, and that's the way to go with camera. Buy the prime lens that you want, not the one that people think that you want.

You are not him, you can't just shove a 50mm to him just because you like.

goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 05:42 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 31 2016, 04:59 PM)
when i notice the 40mm is not my cup of tea.. i tune it down to 22mm f2.8.

Exactly. smile.gif That's why they can go zoom first and see the range they like. Primes can come in later.

I'm not a Prime vs Zoom person, it doesn't make sense. I love both primes and zoom.

My favorite Canon primes are 28mm f1.8, 50mm f1.4 and 85mm f1.8, not forgetting the 100mm f2.8 macro. Affordable and superb image quality. I won 3 out of 4 of them before. biggrin.gif Now I'm left with a 50mm f1.8 because too cheap and no takers.

For my work I use zoom for events, zoom for wide shots too because between 12 to 24mm - a single lens does the job, need not bring 3 primes (or heck, 3 bodies with 3 primes)

For product shoot or portraits, primes are great for the IQ, need not worry about barrel distortion and the length doesn't change.

In the end zoom or prime, both serve their purpose and both are great. Just a matter of preference.
kidmad
post Dec 31 2016, 05:48 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 31 2016, 05:42 PM)
Exactly. smile.gif

I'm not a Prime vs Zoom person, it doesn't make sense. I love both primes and zoom.

My favorite Canon primes are 28mm f1.8, 50mm f1.4 and 85mm f1.8, not forgetting the 100mm f2.8 macro. Affordable and superb image quality. I won 3 out of 4 of them before. biggrin.gif Now I'm left with a 50mm f1.8 because too cheap and no takers.
haha prime is the way to go. Well for me i know ppl still love their 20-70. 70-200 but for someone who travels 3 - 5 time a year ive really learnt alot by move your body to focus.. even for kits.. i doubt you will have time to "let me try 35mm", "ok now let me try 50mm", what about "22mm"?

I have a principal of learn with what you have.. until a certain point you know there's something you need then get it lo.. Anyway for someone who have the budget why not the extra lens right? someone with rm4k in hand you don't expend them to go shop for something that cost @ rm2k and be happy with it. biggrin.gif

That's not the pleasure of spending money. LOL
goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 05:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Sorry edited my post for more stuff.

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 31 2016, 05:48 PM)
haha prime is the way to go. Well for me i know ppl still love their 20-70. 70-200 but for someone who travels 3 - 5 time a year ive really learnt alot by move your body to focus.. even for kits.. i doubt you will have time to "let me try 35mm", "ok now let me try 50mm", what about "22mm"?

leg zoom is not the same as zooming with a 70-200. The perspective changes, you can't always leg zoom.

I have a principal of learn with what you have.. until a certain point you know there's something you need then get it lo..

Yeah that's why that 18-55 kit is good. Learn with what they have.

I started with 18-55 anyway, no big deal. I eventually tried out 50mm and other lens when I have the opportunity.

Anyway for someone who have the budget why not the extra lens right? someone with rm4k in hand you don't expend them to go shop for something that cost @ rm2k and be happy with it.  biggrin.gif

When someone with limited budget, asking them to get an additional lens that may or may not suit their preference is just a huge gamble. sad.gif Don't waste people's money la.
DaddyO
post Dec 31 2016, 06:08 PM

1,255 posts

Meh. Either zoom or prime, both are equally ok. Just go with whatever you are comfortable with within budget. I go for prime primarily cause its cheaper and fast. If don't like the prime's constraint, just save enough and get a good zoom cause it ain't cheap, or just stick with kit if you cannot tell the difference. Good Photography does not necessary means it has to be sharp if you plan for photos with story behind.

To TS, camera choice will depend on your shooting style. Even smartphone camera is good enough, if you only plan to upload your life story to instagram. For high autofocus hit rate on formula 1 car or sports, fast APSC like D500. If you like those creamy bokeh in portrait shots, FF camera. If you r into street shots and travelling light, m43 will do just fine. If you want to look hip to impress your girlfriend, Fuji (sony a6XXX is ugly).
TStechfreakguy
post Dec 31 2016, 06:20 PM

36 posts

This post has been edited by techfreakguy: Dec 31 2016, 06:21 PM
goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 06:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Dec 31 2016, 06:08 PM)
Meh. Either zoom or prime, both are equally ok. Just go with whatever you are comfortable with within budget. I go for prime primarily cause its cheaper and fast. If don't like the prime's constraint, just save enough and get a good zoom cause it ain't cheap, or just stick with kit if you cannot tell the difference. Good Photography does not necessary means it has to be sharp if you plan for photos with story behind.
eh most expensive lenses are prime lor. sad.gif

btw kit lens term - there are really good kit lenses too.
TStechfreakguy
post Dec 31 2016, 06:22 PM

36 posts

@kidmad
@goldfries
@DaddyO

Thank you so much for the additional insights!

I guees I'll start with entry-level camera with kits, figuring out the best lense to be used by experimenting with the provided kits.

My desire to take photography as a hobby is driven by the fact I enjoy looking at pictures like @goldfries took and a bit of natures as well. Hopefully step by step I'll get there soon. Thanks again everyone.
goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 06:22 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Good Photography does not necessary means it has to be sharp if you plan for photos with story behind.
This one. biggrin.gif

If your photos aren't good, upgrading to better body and better lens just means you'll have a better gear to take higher quality garbage.
goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 06:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I do interior photography, product photography and figurine photography too. biggrin.gif

Photography is fun, just go out and have a blast.
DaddyO
post Dec 31 2016, 06:32 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 31 2016, 06:21 PM)
eh most expensive lenses are prime lor. sad.gif

btw kit lens term - there are really good kit lenses too.
...............I'm talking about standard prime lens, not primes like Zeiss and comparing to zooms with similar f stops like f2.8.
goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 06:34 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Dec 31 2016, 06:32 PM)
...............I'm talking about standard prime lens, not primes like Zeiss and comparing to zooms with similar f stops like f2.8.
What's standard primes? biggrin.gif

To some people their standard primes are Canon L, Nikon gold ring, Zeiss and whatever those I can't even think of.

Oh not forgetting those 400mm primes and so on.

ianho
post Dec 31 2016, 06:48 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Just buy a Leica M with 2 lenses. 35mm Summilux n 24mm Summilux. No more problems. Hehehe
DaddyO
post Dec 31 2016, 07:20 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 31 2016, 06:34 PM)
What's standard primes? biggrin.gif

To some people their standard primes are Canon L, Nikon gold ring, Zeiss and whatever those I can't even think of.

Oh not forgetting those 400mm primes and so on.
Dude..... doh.gif If you are dont know what Im talking about it, then why you giving advice for beginners. Who tells beginner to start of with Canon L or Zeiss? I'm talking about the cheap standard 50mm lens or 30mm which can cost less than RM1k or RM2k depending on brand or second hand use.

Unless you think TS so noob that he straight jump to L or Zeiss lens without comparing price simply basing his choice on wild recommendation.

This post has been edited by DaddyO: Dec 31 2016, 07:27 PM
OOtaii
post Dec 31 2016, 07:50 PM

576 posts

Can't help myself from chiming in brows.gif
For portrait I use Nikon FF with 58mm + 70-200,
Lanscape , Nikon + 14-24
Jalan2/personal gathering/event, Sony A7s

Now in process shifting to Sony ... smile.gif

Both prime & zoom are great.

This post has been edited by OOtaii: Dec 31 2016, 07:55 PM
goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 08:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Dec 31 2016, 07:20 PM)
Dude..... doh.gif If you are dont know what Im talking about it, then why you giving advice for beginners. Who tells beginner to start of with Canon L or Zeiss? I'm talking about the cheap standard 50mm lens or 30mm which can cost less than RM1k or RM2k depending on brand or second hand use.
I know what you talking about aaaaahhhh, I was just responding to this part.

I go for prime primarily cause its cheaper and fast.
biggrin.gif When you say prime without being specific, I add on lor say that primes are the ones that cost more. What to do, you don't put more details later people 'prime is always cheaper' so I chip in lor.

Where got such thing as 'standard' prime wan la? Your standard is not other people's standard what.

Furthermore normally when people stay 'standard' when it comes to lens it refers to a certain focal length. https://www.sigmaphoto.com/lenses/standard-lenses
DaddyO
post Dec 31 2016, 09:15 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 31 2016, 08:15 PM)
I know what you talking about aaaaahhhh, I was just responding to this part.
biggrin.gif When you say prime without being specific, I add on lor say that primes are the ones that cost more. What to do, you don't put more details later people 'prime is always cheaper' so I chip in lor.

Where got such thing as 'standard' prime wan la? Your standard is not other people's standard what.

Furthermore normally when people stay 'standard' when it comes to lens it refers to a certain focal length. https://www.sigmaphoto.com/lenses/standard-lenses
You are the first person that get confused by the word "standard" for whatever reason. Sure there are many ways to interpret "standard" but most people I talk too immediately think of 30-50mm focal length without resorting to too much specifics on how to correctly use the word "standard".

It's like "photoshoping" is not a verb, but people gets its meaning even if you technically misuse the word.

PS: I didn't say primes is always cheaper. I said "I go for prime primarily cause its cheaper and fast." There is a difference. Lastly, not going for anymore debate on this as I hate deviating from topics.

This post has been edited by DaddyO: Dec 31 2016, 09:21 PM
goldfries
post Dec 31 2016, 09:42 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

smile.gif Don't get worked-up by details others pointing out.

EDITED : Actually the confusion came about after you bright in the name Zeiss, long story but nmind. biggrin.gif Anyway, won't be explaining here. My apologies to you.
Lego Warfare
post Dec 31 2016, 09:57 PM

4,676 posts

Like goldfries said, there are actually many instances where you can't leg zoom. Especially landscape when travelling.
Primes have their advantages, but they can never replace zooms when it comes to landscape shots.
kingkingyyk
post Dec 31 2016, 10:04 PM

15,694 posts

You might want to consider mirrorless too. You might feel the burden of DSLR when you want to travel or walk for a long time. Sony a5100 (less lens choices and $$), Olympus E-PL7, or Panasonic GF7. The noise is more prominent on the m43 system (Olympus & Panasonic), but the cheap and small big aperture lens will bring it back. The m43 lenses are very cheap compared to APS-C lenses. wink.gif

Image quality wise, it is identical with the same sensor size DSLRs. Think them as DSLR without mirror, that's where they got their name. The downside is short battery life.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 31 2016, 10:06 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0222sec    1.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:30 AM