Credit Cards Recommendation for Credit Cards V4, Please post according to Format stated

Ramjade
post Jul 17 2024, 01:34 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Jul 17 2024, 07:56 AM)
What do you think about the Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum Card-i? https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...num_card_i.page?

- Lifetime AF waiver
- 8% CB on online spend up to RM50 (RM80 during months of Ramadan and Syawal). No weekend restriction.

At a glance, CB is higher than AFFIN Duo Visa 3%
Can you quality for it? They want RM40k in salary.
Maybank ikhwan amex doesn't give you cashback for insurance.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 17 2024, 02:11 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 17 2024, 02:11 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 17 2024, 01:58 PM)
Insurance/takaful not excluded but which insurance/takaful accept Amex?
What I meant is can get CB for insurance if you pay using affin duo. I believed the only card which give you CB for insurance.
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2024, 07:13 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Aug 1 2024, 10:18 PM)
thanks but from RM3,000 or above monthly....hmmmm
No minimum spend.
Ramjade
post Sep 20 2024, 02:03 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(rabbi08 @ Sep 18 2024, 10:17 AM)
Any good card for online purchase?
Maybank ikhwan amex
Public bank visa signature
Affin duo visa cashback

Some say UOB one is good card.

That's the only good card

Ramjade
post Sep 20 2024, 05:51 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 20 2024, 03:30 PM)
+ RHB Visa Signature (up to 6% CB)
+ RHB Shell Visa (up to 5% CB)
Really? Sure got hidden terms and conditions or min spending right?
Ramjade
post Nov 10 2024, 02:07 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Barret @ Oct 18 2024, 02:07 PM)
Hello Shifus, i need your help for credit card reccomendation

1. Annual Income: RM60K++

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: If possible Yes, but if not preferably under RM300 per annun

3. Card required for: daily spending (groceries, food, online shopping) and also overseas spending (plane ticket, retails, vendors)

4. Existing credit cards (if any): None T_T

5. Interested in CC from: UOB Prvi Miles or please give me better reccommendation

6. Others: I'm a foreigner, been working here for 5 years. The problem is, i've never had any credit card before. I plan to use my card to pay for my wedding expenses back in my country so i can collect points/miles for honeymoon.

Thank you for your help  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
Since no one replied you, I will reply you. These are basically cashback card. If miles, I don't know. Never bother with miles.
Groceries
Maybank ikhwan MasterCard
Can only spend on Friday and Saturday

Online shopping
Maybank ikhwan amex

Overseas spend
Standard charted jumpstart account
Ramjade
post May 27 2025, 04:35 PM

24,335 posts

Hi guys pls recommend:
1. Annual Income: RM120k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: waived

3. Card required for: anyday groceries shopping with mine 3% cashback. Something like Maybank visa signature 5% cashback without the fees.

4. Existing credit cards (if any):
1. Maybank ikhwan gold MasterCard
2. Maybank ikhwan platinum amex
3. Maybank 2 gold
4. Affin duo visa cash back
5. Affin duo+ visa

5. Interested in CC from: any credit card that can give min 3% cashback for anyday grocery shopping without the need for min spend.

6. Others:
Nil

Main goal: any credit card that can give min 3% cashback for anyday grocery shopping without the need for min spend.

Ramjade
post May 27 2025, 07:37 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 27 2025, 05:09 PM)
While waiting for others to reply with a better one, PBB Islamic Mastercard gives 2% capped RM15 Grocery and Departmental Store
Too low. 😅
Main reason I cut away all my PBB cards.
Ramjade
post May 28 2025, 10:15 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ May 28 2025, 08:22 AM)
The Affin DUO+ that you have basically give 3% cb for any contactless right?

Or you can consider this for low min spend:
Bank Islamic Visa Platinum - 3% cb capped at RM30 per calendar month for online, auto billings, grocery and dining, min spend RM500 per calendar month,
Yes. That's why I am looking for a better card than affin duo+
Ramjade
post May 28 2025, 08:14 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 28 2025, 01:16 PM)
Interesting, will check out the BIMB card
Interesting meh? Sounds like affin duo/duo+ wannabe/clone

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 28 2025, 08:15 PM
Ramjade
post May 29 2025, 02:48 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 28 2025, 08:22 PM)
After checking the card, I find the cashback mechanism is vague. 3% Cash Back for monthly spend from RM500 to RM1,499.99
Yeah not clear cut like affin.

The closet can find is Maybank visa signature but due to the fact need to spend RM30k/year to make it free make it not worth it.
Ramjade
post Jun 1 2025, 08:12 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Jun 1 2025, 01:09 AM)
hi all, I've been reading around on airmiles and asking chatgpt for rough calculations.

seems like for an average joe, its almost impossible to gather airmiles in the normal way unless there's a 3x or 5x kinda promotion.

the rough calculations were - if for a family of 4 - example from KL to Tokyo:
- MAS airmiles required for economy return = 360,000 Enrich miles
- using Maybank 2 Card Premier as example, local spend RM1 = 2 Treats points
- conversion: 10K Treats points = 1,000 Enrich miles
- total spending required = RM1.8 mil needed

Is there something I'm missing out on? I think my overall expenditure per annum is about RM100K, seems super far off from the above haha.

can help to recco what air miles cc I should get based on the above? initially thought can redeem free business class but i guess not. im using alot of cashback cc but feels every month RM30-50 cashback like so little.
Normally they are on business trip so they charge to their credit card and reimburse from the companies.

Also need to see your spending pattern. You cannot have cashback and miles at the same time.

You need to know how much each card is worth in terms of RM spend, watch out for promos.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 1 2025, 08:17 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 2 2025, 10:47 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 1 2025, 11:52 AM)
I don’t fly for work so much these days compared to before Covid and even that I had a company credit card to use. Ironically, all my business class tickets were redeemed from 2022 onward. laugh.gif

Every time I always redeem a single business class ticket hence it’s achievable for me. Can’t say the same if with family. So far, I have redeemed 10 times and only business class tickets ranging from Asia to Europe. To me, to redeem one economy class ticket is a waste. The strategy is you need to know how the expenses work and from there you can plan accordingly. I changed all my cash back cards (though I still have them) to airmiles cards. Cash back I only stick to Maybank. The rest I will use airmiles cards.
But the banks charge like 3% for all overseas transaction if you are chasing miles and using it for overseas transaction. So just bear with it?
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2025, 01:21 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 2 2025, 10:54 PM)
Yes. The service charge is pretty negligible vs the amount I pay for my tickets under redemption.
I was trying to avoid the charge. But if you spend like 100k, 3% it is like 3k.
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2025, 03:50 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Jun 3 2025, 03:11 PM)
Alliance Bank Visa Signature. You can easily reach the RM 2,001 to RM 3,000 spending monthly anyway, so why so care about the min spend? If you are a big spender, you can automatically cross into 0.25% category, higher a bit compares to other banks that offer unlimited cashback.

CASHBACK CATEGORY CASHBACK RATE MONTHLY CAP SPEND
Online Shopping, Groceries, Dining, Petrol, Utilities & Other Retail Spends 0.05% uncapped from RM1up to RM1,000 monthly
Online Shopping, Groceries, Dining, Petrol, Utilities & Other Retail Spends 0.5% uncapped from RM1,001up to RM2,000 monthly
Online Shopping, Groceries, Dining, Petrol, Utilities & Other Retail Spends 5% uncapped from RM2,001up to RM3,000 monthly
Online Shopping, Groceries, Dining, Petrol, Utilities & Other Retail Spends 0.25% uncapped from RM3,001 or above monthly
Serious 0.25%? I don't bother with anything below 3% cashback. Yes I capped my spending cause no point spending when they don't reward you.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0273sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:16 AM