11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

puchongite
post Dec 23 2016, 08:26 AM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Dec 22 2016, 07:41 PM)
US stock market is freaking expensive... they are already pricing in "growth" they haven't seen yet.. P/E +2 std dev above mean.. im not sure if earnings are going to grow that much.. I think correction is due.. anyone can convince me otherwise?

After so much outflow, KLSE actually starting to look attractive though.. but earnings have to deliver
Regarding the US Market, it has been dropping for 2 days, so people are profit taking ....

http://blogs.barrons.com/stockstowatchtoda...emains-a-dream/

puchongite
post Dec 23 2016, 08:51 AM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 23 2016, 08:33 AM)
People like to quote a point in time a lot.. "stocks dropped today" like it will matter in ten or twenty years' time what happened today.
If you bother to read, the author did not use the two day drops as any indicator.

I have been wanting to reply to your "famous" theory of stock prices will always be up, given long enough time. So I shall mentuon it here :-

I see that people are using the fact that a fund price will go up given long enough time as something useful.

For me that is not a useful piece of information. I can't decide to invest in a fund just based on that.

Ok say you are willing to wait that long, 10 years for example. Still there is a difference between fund A vs fund B after 10 years. Fund A may get 50% ROI, fund B may get 5% ROI.

Furthermore, everyone's time is limited. Not always one is willing to wait 10 years to find out fund X's performance. After all, past 10 years of performance is not even going to allow you to predict for sure the next year's performance.

Often we analyse, we risk, we make guesses, predictions etc etc. So investment is about using whatever means at your disposal to obtain the optimal ROI within shortest time. Not many people will feel achievement for getting 5% ROI on fund X after 10 years.

So the fact that funds prices will eventually go up after long enough time is nothing useful.
puchongite
post Dec 23 2016, 09:03 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 23 2016, 07:56 PM)
Topic for debate:

Buy & hold versus actively switching around.

Do you all remember the "Pony Express"? In those wild western days of ole, in the West side of America, before DHL or FedEx exist or even before Telegram exist, the fast courier service was called Pony Express.

Total length from start to stop for the whole journey is around 3,100 km. That is from Saint Joseph, Missouri to San Francisco, California. It took the riders 10 days to deliver letters from east to west America. The alternative is through the sea route, which takes a few weeks up to a month.

This is how it works. One rider would ride from one station to another 10 miles (eqv to 16 km) away. At each station the riders would pass the mail bag to another rider with a fresh horse, very much like a relay method.

Sometimes, a rider will ride up to seven to eight stations before changing to another. At each station a fresh horse is readied. Both the riders and horse do not stop, they will sprint to the next station and the next and the next.

How is this related to investment.

Let's say we are investing into Malaysia fund. Right now the country is suffering from some lethargy quite akin to an exhausted horse. You can let it rest and wait for it to recover some time later. Or you can mount a fresh horse (meaning transfer to another performing Unit Trust Fund) and continue your investment journey.

And when this horse / unit trust fund is exhausted, go to next and next.... eventually the original horse will recover then come back to it and recycle it.

This is how I view when switching from fund to fund.

Xuzen

p/s It helps to enjoy zero switching cost and having a working crystal-ballz™.  cool2.gif
From what have been posted, people who prefer to buy-and-stick-to-it are saying these :-

1. When you keep switching, particularly when funds are not performing, you realize the paper loss. And your capital shrinks.

2. When you switch to another horse, you still dont know it is going to be a performing horse. The new horse might be worse than the current one.

3. When you switch, often you pay switching fees. Immediate you are incurred 2% loss.

Perhaps may I invite the gurus (whose words are carrying more weight) to address these points ?

This post has been edited by puchongite: Dec 23 2016, 09:04 PM
puchongite
post Dec 24 2016, 08:11 AM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 24 2016, 02:46 AM)
#1 is dangerous because it's money that makes money, more money makes more money. If say you are in a fund that has lost 50% and you switch, you have to make double what the old fund will make in the future just be say you are in a better position. For instance if you are in fund A and it is down 50℅. Then you switch and say at the end of the year your new fund has made 8℅ and your old fund 6℅. You think you made the right decision but you didn't, because 6℅ of 100℅ is more than 8℅ of 50℅.

It just looks as if you did. So you are eroding capital, but all the time you think you are doing better.
This is a your biased comment. Yes, I have switched out non-performing funds before, eg is KGF, but when I switch it out, it was still positive due to historical gain.

Recently I also have switched out some RHB AIF to to up to some US funds. 0% SC.

So switching act itself should not be based on it be negative or positive now ( current or past performance ).

Switching out should be based on one's analysis or anticipation of the future.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Dec 24 2016, 08:21 AM
puchongite
post Dec 24 2016, 09:30 AM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 24 2016, 09:16 AM)
more .....
Will 2017 be a good year for businesses?
http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...for-businesses/

"With so much uncertainty, peering into the crystal ball will be a useless exercise. But I can certainly predict a tough survival journey for the man in the street as high inflation kicks in. Young entrepreneurs who have not experienced the currency crisis back in 97/98 will certainly get a rude awakening when the ringgit hits 5. You are advised to standby a first aid survival kit, run for cover and keep yourself lean and fit for a journey that will be rocky and strewn with danger at all junctions and corners."

console.gif
The author is not optimistic even in anticipation of the upcoming general election.
puchongite
post Jan 3 2017, 06:12 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(iampokemon @ Jan 3 2017, 05:57 PM)
Just to continue back my topic yesterday. I've just received my Citibank statement regarding the withdrawal of fund for Affin Hwang Select Bond.

As expected, there is no charges from it at the current value on 22nd Dec of 0.6622 MYR per share, with some extra income distribution as well.

The only charge by them is for the sales charge of 2% at the beginning of the placement through Citibank.

In comparison to FSM as follows:
Fundsupermart's Discounted Initial Sales Charge* 0 %
Platform Fee (%)* 0.05% per quarter
Annual Management Charge* 1.0 %
Trustee Fee* 0.07% p.a. of NAV, with the minimum of RM18,000 p.a.
Other Significant Fees* -
Annual Expense Ratio ^ 0.85% (as of March 31, 2016)

Which is 0.85% which is still considerably low, but if you're putting it for longer than 2 years it might be much more expensive than the bank rate.

Perhaps these are the pros and cons I could summarize between bank rate(Citibank) vs FSM.

But sometimes the bank rate can be negotiated until 1% for every funds, which they did offer during your birthday month from Citibank, not sure about the other banks.
The only thing you need to compare is the platform fees from FSM vs the 2% one time SC from City bank.

Others charges are transparent to you, it is already reflected in the Nav, it is the same from either FSM or City Bank.

I believe the City Bank scheme is identical as the eUnitTrust scheme. And yes, from time to time you also enjoy the additonal benefit of promotion which reduces SC to 1% or 0% for investment > 5k.
puchongite
post Jan 4 2017, 06:19 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 4 2017, 06:17 PM)
Please keep the TA European Equity Fund. It is a rising star now. Hot fund.

My view on diversification or diworsification. It depends on the investment layout. The larger the invested amount, the more funds we need.

For e.g you are investing RM400K with FSM. Are you comfortable to invest in only 4 funds for RM100K in each fund? Some people may say, "Woah, that is too much risk".

So we split it. For e.g. if we are investing in a global fund, we may split it RM50K into the CIMB Global Titans Fund and RM50K into Eastspring Global Leaders. The total is RM100K which is our targeted allocation for global fund. The balance RM300K we may divide into other geographical funds in the same manner.

Some may say that even the above is too high risk. So for global funds, they may split it 3 ways into CIMB Global Titans, Eastspring Global Leaders and Aberdeen.

My 2 cents view as usual....
Something which makes the most sense to me ! notworthy.gif
puchongite
post Jan 4 2017, 11:37 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 4 2017, 01:22 PM)
Pokémon player meh? Gotta catch em all™?

I participarte up to four unit trust fund only nia....  cry.gif

Avangelice,

I am topping up again on AM Reits & Manulife US.

Selling / taking profit on Manulife India. Using the profit from India to top up on AM Reits.

Xuzen
Hmmm how many % of your port is US focussed now ? Very tempted to follow the sifu ...
puchongite
post Jan 5 2017, 12:45 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 5 2017, 11:42 AM)
if you have diversified enough you won't have this dilemma but for argument sake, I would say US would remain strong in the next Q1 and China's defense of the yuan and exerting capital control is starting to pay off. Japan too will be doing well in this quarter. Emerging markers will continue taking a beating especially Malaysia with no catalyst present to boost it up in the near future. Maybe in Q3 and Q4 around the elections we may have a temporary breather.
There are indications now that the Malaysian focus equity funds are gaining momentum.

It's still early to tell, so it's just indication. innocent.gif
puchongite
post Jan 5 2017, 03:17 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 5 2017, 03:16 PM)
Affin Hwang Select Income Fund usual SC is 3% as per their PHS  hmm.gif

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...anceMYHWSIF.pdf
So it appears to me that this SC of 1% is its normal SC, meaning if one purchases it, he can get additional discount based on his reward tier. It isn't a promo SC.
puchongite
post Jan 5 2017, 03:25 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 5 2017, 03:19 PM)
But I remember last month when FSM reintroduce this fund along with esther bond, they were all in 0% SC because in FSM, all of them were fixed income fund hmm.gif

Apparently FSM had reclassified esther income to mixed asset and charged 1% SC  laugh.gif
Maybe back then was promotion.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 5 2017, 03:27 PM
puchongite
post Jan 5 2017, 05:11 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 5 2017, 04:55 PM)
Note to self: To continue practising asset allocation with equity and bond funds. 

For those with a small gambling portfolio like me...

1.  Gold is up. RHB Gold Fund?
2.  Asian High Yield Bond Fund?

KLCI is going up. Those investors who has stayed on with KGF and EISC will reap the benefit now.

TA European Equity Fund is rising. Not to late to jump on the bandwagon now?

CIMB Global Titans and Eastspring Global Leaders are rising. They offer better risk adjusted return compared to pure US funds?
All valid points but hope somebody who can read the crystal ball and see the future to come forward with more definitive recommendations ..... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 5 2017, 05:11 PM
puchongite
post Jan 5 2017, 08:51 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 5 2017, 08:30 PM)
Not sure if I am lucky or not but all the Asian/Malaysian funds were trending down throughout December, hit low point before the Christmas weekend. I bought it on Christmas weekend, and in just 5-6 trading days the gross portfolio returns are almost at 2%. I look at the graphs, and I think my timing was very fortunate.

January 2016 was one of the worst months ever globally since the 2008 crisis, but so far January looks good!

Also I was actually putting much hope into RHB US Focus Equity Fund (small caps focus) but sadly it's the only one with a negative performance in my portfolio. Luckily it only has a 6.7% weight.
Cannot be. Russell 2000 index just increased 2.27%, i think it will probably get booked into the fund tomorrow. Likely you will see it positive too tomorrow.
puchongite
post Jan 6 2017, 09:10 AM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 6 2017, 08:55 AM)
Eh, salah blame, just checked Kenanga online, it's updated already

p/s: must give some pressure to FSM  rclxs0.gif
By any chance you are confusing Affin Hwang with Kenanga ? I don't know why Kenanga is suddenly in the picture. confused.gif
puchongite
post Jan 6 2017, 09:52 AM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 6 2017, 09:50 AM)
But it was 3 weeks since then tongue.gif

Still awaiting tongue.gif
Hmm.. I see aminvest as one of the company in the participating booth section although not giving talk, shall see tmr how their promotion inclusion works then tongue.gif
Is TA in there ?

which is what I am most interested in.
puchongite
post Jan 6 2017, 10:30 AM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 6 2017, 09:57 AM)
TA is not tongue.gif
I saw there are lucky draws. How many lucky draws prices are there and what kind of gifts ? blush.gif
puchongite
post Jan 6 2017, 01:04 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 5 2017, 04:55 PM)
Note to self: To continue practising asset allocation with equity and bond funds. 

For those with a small gambling portfolio like me...

1.  Gold is up. RHB Gold Fund?
2.  Asian High Yield Bond Fund?

KLCI is going up. Those investors who has stayed on with KGF and EISC will reap the benefit now.

TA European Equity Fund is rising. Not to late to jump on the bandwagon now?

CIMB Global Titans and Eastspring Global Leaders are rising. They offer better risk adjusted return compared to pure US funds?
Still interested in this. So nobody is taking any moves on this ?

RHB Gold Fund, anyone ?
puchongite
post Jan 6 2017, 03:09 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 6 2017, 03:03 PM)
Better not buy bro, unless you are really feeling lucky. The roller coaster ride is quite bad.

Better stick to CIMB Global Titans, Eastspring Global Leaders, TA Global Technology or TA European Equity if you must.
Just thinking of setting aside a small budget for it. Not intending to go big on it. Already have EI GLF, TAGTF, they might be already at the highest.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 6 2017, 03:11 PM
puchongite
post Jan 6 2017, 05:41 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 6 2017, 03:26 PM)
it is better to check with forummer kimyee as he has some indicator pointers and was reported to be doing well will "gold" funds...
but since it will be just pocket money/loose change...just go in-lor, for the adrenaline rush  thumbsup.gif
I would think gold funds is one which requires active management to do well. One can't expect to do well with the buy-and-forget method.
puchongite
post Jan 6 2017, 06:04 PM

33,631 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 6 2017, 05:54 PM)
if that's the case why not just trade stocks that are in the business of gold? wouldn't that be way cheaper?
Must let sifus answer this. I was just making a guess.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1156sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:55 PM