15 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

contestchris
post Jan 24 2017, 09:10 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 24 2017, 09:02 PM)
Interested to know, if in m2u and cimbclicks, switch only means switching within the fund house, then what function in them allow you to switch across the fund house?

At least within the context of FSM (not sure about other platform so we just explain the feature available in FSM), there are 2 types of switch.

i) intra-switch : which means switch between different funds within the same fund house, usually the funds will be sell and buy into another fund within the same day, no charges except RHB and manulife funds

if equity to equity, no SC

if equity to bond, you will gain 2% of SC, for example if you sell RM1000, you will get 20 credit points, each credit point with RM1

If bond to equity, you can utilize the credit points if you have, else default SC 2% will be charged

I think this is the same as what you experience in switching in m2u and cimbclicks

p/s: this is what I understand so far, didnt actually performed intra-switch myself, kindly correct if I am wrong

ii) inter-switch  : which means switch across funds in different fund houses, and if you switch to equity, you will get charged SC, but good thing is if is within promotional period, promotional SC applies

In general, this involves disposing your fund in 2 days and immediately buy into another fund, which is faster then you sell the funds manually, wait for the money for 4 days, then buy into another fund (some funds have shorter/longer processing time, do check out their schedule before switching)
So far I have only switched in M2U. But I checked out the entire CIMB Clicks process and it is basically the same structure.

This is how it works:

1) Select "Switch" action

2) You are given a list of funds to switch to, which are only Affin Hwang funds.

3) Zero SC applies from the bank's side, however fund houses may charge their own fee. This is not highlighted to you, you need to read the fund prospectus. Like RHB RM25, no warning is given.

Maybank switch is completed (displayed in profile) by the end of the second working day. But the switch itself occurs on the same day, so you do not "lose" days.
contestchris
post Jan 24 2017, 09:12 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 24 2017, 09:09 PM)
IMO, GEM is heavy in greater china area, and if you observe, GEM and dragon performance trend are kinda similar, but dragon give you more upside

For other EM part you say, I will suggest look for funds that can heavy focus on those countries you want to diversify
Yeah sadly I am out of options. I would like a Russia/India/Brazil/SouthAmerica/EasternEurope funds.
contestchris
post Jan 24 2017, 09:43 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2017, 09:40 PM)
anyone still holding kapchai? still believe malaysia is recovering?
I am. 20% Malaysia funds, 2:1 ratio for Kapchai against KGF. I'm patriotic first and foremost. Secondly I truly believe that Malaysian markets have been battered enough for three straight years....it can't happen for another year right? So far so good, in 24 days KGF at 3.5% and Kapchai at 3% for the year.

Also another bonus is no exposure to currency risk. Which could be important as the Ringgit strengthens.
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 12:06 AM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 24 2017, 11:32 PM)
See! I always keep my port to around four unit trust fund only. Somemore a few heroes here got nine or ten funds, thinking they are playing Pokemon gotta catch em' all meh!
Wow so snide. I got 9 cause I am just a starter and I want to dip my feet in many different markets so that it will force me to keep pace and learn about those markets. Of course in the future it would be ideal to focus on just 3 or 4 funds. Common sense tells that the more the number of funds, the stabler/less variance, which lessens chances of huge losses but also lessens chances of huge gains. I know this well, but my short term goal is not profit, rather it is knowledge.

Ultimately I want to consolidate my portfolio to 1 Malaysian, 1 Asia/APAC (ex Japan), 1 Global/Developed and 1 Emerging_Markets/Sector/Country-specific fund.
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 12:12 AM

5,558 posts

In previous pages somebody said Affin Hwang Select Asia ex Japan Quantum Fund is not good..but didn't substantiate the claim. Why is it not good?
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 12:22 AM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 25 2017, 12:19 AM)
Because it's holding 31% in malaysia. Malaysia small cap sector panic easily (last year MY small cap fiasco - involve quite a few RHB MY funds)
But still returns very good what?

RHB seems to have a systematic issue, most of the worst funds on FSM platform were RHB local funds, up to -15%. The fund manager should have been kena pecat.
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 12:33 AM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 25 2017, 12:26 AM)
Well I must say compare to Ponzi 2, Ponzi 1 was affected the worst by Trump. I suspect it have something to do with it's Malaysia sector. There are times Ponzi 1 beats Ponzi 2 and vice versa. However in my short time of holding, I think Ponzi 2 is better (did not lose much during Nov-Dec period and it recovers much faster than Ponzi 1)
Well fair enough, P1 has an extreme risk level hence higher volatility, P2 is a bit more "safe" and well-balanced geographically.

What surprises me most is that P1 can challenge Kapcai fund at times.
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 08:06 PM

5,558 posts

Why the dividend for RHB Asian Income Fund still not declared yet? I thought at least the dividend amount should be known by now right?
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 08:22 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 25 2017, 08:14 PM)
I would just assume it is .9% of NAV.

Won't be too far off.
Yeah I know it dropped by that much.
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 08:36 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 25 2017, 02:31 PM)
sifus here, with TPPA dead and with RCEP a very real possibility, how do you see this would change the economic forecast made so far ? Will US or Asia be on the losing end?
My prediction is that US large caps will be on the losing end, maybe some Asian large caps as well in the short term. But US small/mid caps should see big growth as Trump looks inwards. The ones to lose out will be globalized American companies. In fact, US tech stocks could take a beating while Chinese/Asian tech stocks surge this year.

Sadly I can't trade in foreign markets...if I could I will be buying the likes of Baidu and Alibaba and Sina and Weibo.
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 10:42 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jan 25 2017, 10:40 PM)
DJIA breaks 20,000. Look's like my Manulifie US Equity fund's return should be turning green soon
As should my US Focus Equity fund! smile.gif

Btw today (and yesterday) was a good day all around. I expect 25/1 fund prices to help me get 0.7-0.9% for the day.

Also keep in mind that American funds are lagged by one day. So for American 25/1 performance it will only be published as the 26/1 NAV price on 27/1.
contestchris
post Jan 25 2017, 10:51 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jan 25 2017, 10:45 PM)
And sadly, FSM is closing half day on the 27th so the NAV would only be published on Tuesday
Eh get it on Bloomberg. It's the fastest way. Just build a watchlist with your funds.
contestchris
post Jan 26 2017, 12:13 AM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jan 26 2017, 12:07 AM)
topped up last night. 

portfolio went up 4% from dec without doing anything, not bad..

happy cny to all!
What's your port?
contestchris
post Jan 26 2017, 11:02 AM

5,558 posts

So guys, what's the story? How come 3 days in a row now stocks rising continuously all over the world? What changed? Trump didn't launch a nuclear bomb, so everything is OK?
contestchris
post Jan 26 2017, 11:10 AM

5,558 posts

Who does know when the stocks rally and when the fire dieded? It seems so unpredictable.
contestchris
post Jan 26 2017, 11:10 AM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 26 2017, 11:10 AM)
some contrarians will say this as a prelude to a mkt corrections, a euphoria trap, etc, etc....
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
If euphoria trap...the wise person will exit now right?
contestchris
post Jan 26 2017, 08:13 PM

5,558 posts

I think some people here are workers from FSM. Because when I went for the talk in Sunway Pyramid, at the account signing booth their agents were telling people to follow the Lowyat Forum thread of FSM as the FSM employees respond there.

So now the question is, which one of you is/are the FSM employee(s) here?
contestchris
post Jan 26 2017, 08:32 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 26 2017, 08:21 PM)
Good start with good diversification. Unlike some heroes who start with ten to fifteen funds.

Xuzen
Start high, go low.

Btw, I am thinking long and hard to converge my funds into the following:

40% CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income
30% RHB US Focus Equity
30% Kenanga Growth

Any thoughts?

Edit: Also a shame Taiwan, India and Australia markets were closed today. They couldn't take part in the bull run.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 26 2017, 08:40 PM
contestchris
post Jan 26 2017, 08:50 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 26 2017, 08:46 PM)
uhhhh WHAT?
The stock markets in Taiwan, Australia and India were closed today. As such they couldn't participate in the global rally. Asian stocks advanced by almost 1% today - there is no doubt these three countries would have seen great advances as well. A shame for those holding Asia/APAC portfolios.
contestchris
post Jan 26 2017, 09:01 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 26 2017, 08:52 PM)
while waiting for his response...

sorry, I potong post ....
I would suggest go for (on Equities side)
40% CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund
30% CIMB Global Titans Fund
20% Kenanga Growth Fund
10% Manulife India Equities Fund

any thought?
I don't really want to go overweight in India due to an unpredictable currency and governance they have there. As I can see, CIMB APDIF has been gradually increasing exposure to India. If India gets stronger, they will keep increasing exposure.

I also don't want CIMB Global Titans as it covers Europe and Japan. I rather go all in and go overweight on US Small Caps, since I have a long term investment horizon. Sure some years I could make negative returns, but sometimes it could be very strong double digit returns as well.

Kenanga Growth Fund or Eastspring Small Cap fund is a must for patriotic purposes, minimum of 20%.

I am also open to a 30,30,20,20 port. But I don't have a suitable 4th portfolio. I was thinking retain 20% Greater China Fund but I am not sure how much longer can that bull run. Perhaps this 20% should be a tactical allocation, where I reassess and switch between markets as I see fit from time to time. A CIMB Fund should be picked then as they have a wide breath of local, regional, country-specific and global funds to switch across (for free).

15 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.1163sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:01 AM