15 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

contestchris
post Jan 30 2017, 03:19 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(fishman @ Jan 30 2017, 02:30 PM)
I have been reading up on this forum for a while now, trying to learn & absorb the knowledge & experience that u guys r so kind to share.

I have prev invested in UTF via an agent (a relative) & I pretty much let him tell me what to do. I had no knowledge at all about UTF & how it works, & i never bothered to learn it up. He said switch, I switched & those happened rather freq. When he decided not to be an agent, he asked me to withdraw & i did. I made a profit of ~0.2%... after 3-4 yrs. 😓

The thing is, I am in my mid-40s. I have never been interested in financial stuff. M working in a MNC & felt as long as I have a job, I m OK. Then I realised that's not enough as I am not getting any younger. My time horizon is getting shorter & shorter.

So my regret is that I never took the initiative to learn & plan my financials much earlier... and I need to start now.

So I signed up with FSM a few weeks ago, and look fwd to be a "new" investor. I hope to learn from u guys, no matter your age or gender.

Thanks for all your past sharings & thanks in advance for all you future guidances.
All the best man. I'm not sure if I can give advice to someone twice my age, since my investment horizon and goals would be much more different to yours. But the key thing would be to start with a diverse portfolio. Simple recommended is to go 30/30/20/20 on Global Developed/Asia Pacific/Gloabl Emerging/Malaysia.

We live in a bit of uncertain times. If the US starts a trade war with China, China market might go down but South Korea/Taiwan/Japan may see a rise since they are US friendly, for example. Europe is very uncertain, I personally think it's a basket case in the near term with the Brexit uncertainty and upcoming French/German elections.

So best thing is just to diversify. In the short term there may be a divergence but in the long term the trend should be upwards.
contestchris
post Jan 30 2017, 11:35 PM

5,555 posts

Today it has been a humbling experience. The first time I put in lump sum into all my funds, I got very lucky with timing. But the second time, I have got beaten. Badly.

The Russell 2500 is down by nearly 2% and I tripled my US Small/Mid Cap exposure last Friday. So yeah...if only I had held out a bit longer. On the flip side had I held out and instead the Russell 2500 gained 2%, then I would have regretted my decision too.

Now just thinking if I should be getting my fingers itchy and switching out of any Global and European funds tomorrow. The futures don't look pretty anywhere, but they look worst for developed markets. I know I will regret it if I switch and instead they improve...likewise if I don't switch and they get worse.
contestchris
post Jan 31 2017, 01:05 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 31 2017, 11:29 AM)
He toped up on Friday. Assuming that he made it to 27 Nav, which is going to be reflective of 30th US stock trading. Has he made any loss yet ? Doubt so.

If the stock trading continues to go down today, then only there is a loss. Current loss is only for the fund purchased earlier than 27.
Yeah correct, but Monday US stocks lost a lot. Russell 2500 which is the benchmark down by 1.5% for the day.

Anyway today I did three switches. Finally. They have all been submitted.

TA European > SEA
CIMB Global > Australian
CIMB China > China,India,

I also wanted to switch to the RHB Gold Fund but sadly neither my Asian Income nor US Equity funds are showing my actual units due to dividend and topup. So I didn't do so.

Maybe all of this is stupid, but it's a learning experience.

Trading a US stock also not cheap, doing this nonsense is cheaper and less risky.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 31 2017, 01:15 PM
contestchris
post Jan 31 2017, 07:31 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 31 2017, 04:43 PM)
Pink STFU! FSM loves these guys.... each trade is 2%! Or MYR 25.00 or some credit points. Each trade is revenue man. FSM loves them. You want FSM to make money don't you?

I am being passive - aggresive... yeah I know. Too much heaty food laterly (Bagua + Prawn Keropok).

Xuzen
Don;t make up stories. Each trade is RM0, for me at least. Intra-house switching. No credit points nonsense.
contestchris
post Jan 31 2017, 07:33 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 31 2017, 07:09 PM)
Anyone knows why manulife US equity Nav has not changed on 26th and 27th ? They are zero % change for both days.

Pure coincidence ? But the stock market has been very volatile.
Sometimes these fellas goreng goreng lah. RHB Asian Income also a lot of goreng goreng going on.
contestchris
post Jan 31 2017, 10:12 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(opticc @ Jan 31 2017, 10:06 PM)
make up stories you  brave ahh?.

actually you switch in switch out , how you make money???
make money in 1 week, is nothing,  wait  2 years see  overall all how much money
% your return
then only laugh
Come on man. The main idea here is to outperform the "base" fund in whatever period of time (1 week, 2 week, 1 month etc). Outperform, even by just 0.5%, is good enough. Outperform can also mean negative.

Say I have a CIMB Global Titans. I switch to CIMB Australian Equity. From the time I switch out to the time I switch back in, CIMB Global Titans makes a 0.8% loss. In that same time CIMB Australian Equity makes a 0.3% loss. It means I "gained" 0.5%. It sounds like a small thing to you, but if every year I can make an additional 0.5% from switching...walao, the compounding power is huge.

Example:

RM1,000 at 9.0% for 30 years = RM13,267
RM1,000 at 9.5% for 30 years = RM15,220

Of course, today I did my first ever switching. And of course, I don't intend to just gain 0.5% only. But let's just see. This is theory for now. Can it happen? Everyone here seems to think not. I'm going against the grain, for better or for worse, and will share my experiences and outcomes.

contestchris
post Feb 1 2017, 02:33 AM

5,555 posts

Does anyone know what the below means? It is taken from their FAQ about Intra-House switching:

--------------------

The switch-sell and switch-buy orders will be transacted on the same business day the order is received before 3pm. Otherwise it will be transacted on the next business day.

However, please note that there are 2 business days lag time should you switch buy into RHB Money Market Fund, RHB Income Fund 2, RHB Institutional Islamic Money Market Fund and 1 business days lag time if you switch buy into CIMB-Principal Equity Growth & Income Fund, CIMB-Principal Greater China Equity Fund, CIMB-Principal Income Plus Balanced Fund, CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund, CIMB-Principal Australian Equity Fund, CIMB-Principal Strategic Bond Fund, CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund, AmSchroder European Equity Alpha Fund and Kenanga Asia Pacific Total Return Fund.

--------------------

What exactly is meant by "business day lag time" here? Has anyone intra-house switched into any of the funds above? Care sharing your experience?
contestchris
post Feb 1 2017, 12:39 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Feb 1 2017, 09:17 AM)
When you switch a fund, the transacted sell order is done at T+0; while the buy order is done at T+lag time. So in the case of CIMB funds, the intraswitch you do today, sell fund based on today's price, buy fund based on tomorrow's price. Get it?
Lol. You work for eUT ka? Show me some proof and I'll send you my identity for you to send me the legal letter
Well, that's then both good and bad, if used correctly. If ALL global markets are falling for two days in a row (like Monday and Tuesday) it can be used as a tool to make no losses for at least that one day.

But I think this is a FSM limitation. CIMB Clicks doesn't say anything about it and I believe they should transact the buy and sell switch order at the same time.

Also so far all three of my switches are already making money. Due to today's holidays, I can only gain control of my switch next Monday. Will switch back to Greater China and Global Titans then and let you guys know what the results are. I am still holding off on going back to TA European as there seems to be some weakness in European for now.
contestchris
post Feb 1 2017, 03:57 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Feb 1 2017, 02:31 PM)
Wouldn't you be making more money if you didn't switch? do you track switch vs don't switch? also if you are distrcted and switch to the wrong fund.. tongue.gif
No. The index in Indonesia up by 1.2%, Singapore up by 0.4%, India up by 0.9%, Australia up by 0.6%, HK down by 0.4%, US/Europe market down (for yesterday, since these are lagged by half and one day each). I think I will make some % gains, let's wait and see. I don't even know based on what day will it be transacted - if they are transacted based on the prices dated 31/1/2017, then it will be very good for me. Again, I repeat, zero fees.
contestchris
post Feb 1 2017, 04:56 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 1 2017, 04:27 PM)
UT IMHO is not an ideal vehicle for such active trading. Firstly the NAV is always forward pricing, you'll never know the current NAV. Secondly there is always a period where the money is floating and you have no control over it when switching funds, and this can take over a week!
Anyways to each his own! May you strive well scalping on UT.
Eh, I have done my research beforehand. What are my other options? Buying and selling ETFs on the US markets is very costly.

Here, at the very least my money is secure with fund managers who know what they are doing.

Sure if I was a millionaire I will cut the middle man, but with my measly thousands of ringgit I a man just a small fish.

I've spent the last month researching about Fund performance behaviour. I emailed Schroders, Principal Global and Henderson Horizon to ask about their fund pricing timing.

The money floats for 3 business days. The switching in and out is done on that same day. The valuation of the fund can be estimated based on its correlation to the benchmark and by studying stock market futures.

If my "base" and original fund portfolio makes 8% and if I can just eke out 1-2% a year, it's good enough. But based min my research even more is possible if you understand the market. Already I think based on today for the switched funds I gained about 0.7%, so there's that.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 1 2017, 04:57 PM
contestchris
post Feb 1 2017, 07:01 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 1 2017, 05:11 PM)
For very short trend, you still can't use this. The Europe case for example, it is going green today. And you have switched out already, you are unable to "harness" today's gain.
It's still going to be a loss because at mid day yesterday the Stoxx 50 was at above 3265 and the Stoxx 50 is currently only at about 3260 despite a 0.90%+ gain. So it's a net loss.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 1 2017, 07:20 PM
contestchris
post Feb 1 2017, 07:10 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Feb 1 2017, 05:34 PM)
If you can get it right most of the time, its not a measly 1-2% gain. Almost every months in a year, there are funds gainiings 2-5% easily. Get it right 10 out of 12 months, you looking at not less than 20-50% gains.

In about 2 months out of 12, all funds goes down, so no matter which fund you jump in, you will inccur lost. This is when you should stay out, putting the money in money-market funds.

With zero switching fees, this is better than having a wrap account, where you need to pay AUM fee.

If you managed to get the timing right, you gained a huge edge over passive investors. Since UT is a pool of funds, of course passive investors will not like those who trades frequently - since they provide the support and foundation to the fund, while frequent traders gets the advantage over them.

I doubt you are only frequent trader or among the first to do trading. There could be many frequent traders, and successful too.

But they are also smart lah to keep quiet and not share their success stories. Else everyone will start doiing trading too... which will cause havoc to the fund... like all go in one fund, and all pull out together... surely the fund manager will have headage to control his cash flow, and will need to sell and buy equites accordingly to the traders' tempo.

Then they (the fund company) will impose rules like charging a switching fee if it is withing 90 days, switching fee of 0.75% on the amount switched, or limit free switching to a number of times per year instead of unlimitless free switching. (All of these rules can be found in older fund companies like Public Mutual.)

So do some trading while it is still free.
I think that's a bit too much lah - the figures you have there...but who knows right. I am not attempting to speculate. Of course, out of 100 switches even getting 70% of them correct can lead to a good increase in returns. I do a lot of reading to get a handle of the market. And yes I am only doing it with a small sum at the moment. Two of the switches were short term, one is a medium term switch.

The problem is, going from equities > money market > equities will cost me 2.5%. So if I think the market is going to tank big time, I have to cash out. No other option for me. Unless I think it is only a regional crash, then I divert the funds away from that region temporarily. Which is why, one of the things I ensure is that the fund houses I buy in to have a range of offerings - local, regional, global, discrete regional/global and bonds. So that when the time to switch out comes, there are legit options available to move out without incurring costs.

If I use FSM it will be free to do equities > money market > equities, but their intra-house switching for CIMB funds have got a lag of 1 day. That lag is keeping me away for now as my CIMB funds are 50% of my portfolio and they have the most diverse range of funds regionally to effortlessly switch between.

I don't think fund managers will close it down lah. At the moment zero switching fee is the selling point for them. Plus, you need to get your timing absolutely right for this and devote time researching and following the markets, which not many may be able to do. And of course skillful traders with lots of monies will go direct into the stock exchanges.

But yeah, I may need to start deleting all my posts if I find this successful and zip my mouth. At the moment I am just excited and everything is just a theory.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 1 2017, 07:14 PM
contestchris
post Feb 1 2017, 10:44 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(opticc @ Feb 1 2017, 10:14 PM)
you kick all shifus advise here down drain?.
most people follow advise but not u superman
totally opposite what people do!! and u make how much?

over long time  shifus say you can regret one day, if not we all become millionaire easy.
I'm not saying I am correct...not at all. But in deference to everyone's advise over here, I felt strongly enough to give it a try. Why not? I may lose 1-2% AT MOST, but it's a learning experience. I respect everyone's views here and I learned a lot from the kind members. They have gone through thick and thin, I'm yet to go through those phases. I begun investing on 27 Dec 2016...still just a very small baby, a few days older than a month.
contestchris
post Feb 1 2017, 11:35 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Feb 1 2017, 11:20 PM)
i  rclxms.gif the attitude. Seriously, not being sarcastic.

if you do want to switch around, then to be remotely successful, you can only choose fund houses with free-switching AND that they have good choices of funds.

eastspring, affin hwang, kenanga. (did i miss out any fund houses?)

but i remember your portfolio being funds from a few fund houses. not cost effective...
Not sure if I get you. I had 3 CIMB, 2 RHB, 1 Eastspring/Kenanga/AffinHwang/TA. The only issue I have with switching is with RHB due to RM25, so I am not touching those until I get 20k into my RHB funds and consolidate them together. RHB actually has the most potential since it has a Gold Fund.

My Eastspring and Kenanga investments are local and I do not intend to be switching these, unless things are really bad, cause both KGF and Kapchai have a good track record of outperforming the index.

All the fund houses offer a great selection of local, regional, emerging and global funds, including discrete foreign countries. Choosing a fund house with a wide selection was an active decision I made, to be honest. And all except RHB offer free switching, but RHB is the only one with a Gold fund which will be a useful tactical weapon once I got a bigger capital in there to minimize the RM25 switching fee (in % terms).

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 1 2017, 11:35 PM)
are you able to let us know your current portfolio and how much your ROI as of now? with that many trades your returns should be more than mine which is passive.
My current ROI till 27/1/2017 (exactly one month since I started 27/12/2016) is 4.012%. In that period of time I did ZERO switching. My first switching was on 31/1/2017, so I sadly do not have any results. Not sure what you mean by "that many trades", plus "your returns should be more than mine which is passive"...the returns could also be much less.

But due to the massacre on Monday and Tuesday I expect my portfolio returns to drop substantially. Plus the US and Europe have recovered today and I missed out on it so in all probability I have made losses on my switching. So from 4% it could go down to <2% by the end of the week due to my itchy fingers. sad.gif

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 1 2017, 11:41 PM
contestchris
post Feb 2 2017, 07:49 AM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 1 2017, 11:50 PM)
Fund A(1)=3000
Fund A(2)=3000

both purchased at service charge 2%

Fund A(2) returns are not satisfactory so switch to fund A(1). here's the kicker. Switching can only be done by switching ALL units.

so fund house A(1)=6000

three weeks you want to buy into fund house A(2) you need to pay for service charge right?

also

RHB 25myr switch is nothing.

eg 25myr on 20k is just 0.125%
I don't see why there is a need for service charge? Also, on CIMB Clicks you can switch partial units. Maybe it's different on FSM. Can provide a screenshot of the switching page?
contestchris
post Feb 2 2017, 09:42 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 2 2017, 09:27 PM)
rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif  self ego boosting..... bruce.gif

1st time having this YOY 10% ROI  icon_idea.gif

just for my self ego boosting ONLY...
Queries or responses may not be reciprocated.  brows.gif

ya-hoo  tongue.gif
Do share your portfolio if you don't mind, curious to see the composition. I assume it is heavily weighted to Asian equities.

Also is this ROI based on IRR or just end/start calculation? Did you top up in between the one year period?

Btw congrats! 10% a year is very solid.
contestchris
post Feb 2 2017, 11:32 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 2 2017, 11:08 PM)
CIMB Clicks eInvest
Type of Fund  Sales Charge

Equity Funds 2.50%
Index Funds 0.75%
Bond Funds 0.0 - 2.5%
Money Market Funds 0%

https://www.cimbclicks.com.my/unittrust.html

http://www.cimbbank.com.my/en/personal/sup...ng&n=unit-trust

I will just leave this right here.

add on. sell or switch needs to go through RM or call center.

Yes, you can perform online switching of units via CIMB Clicks.
However if you wish to perform transfer and cooling-off of units, please contact or visit:

Your Personal Financial Consultant or dedicated Relationship Manager at your nearest CIMB Bank branch
Call CIMB Consumer Contact Centre at +603 6204 7788

sibeh mahuan. anyways I hope my post puts a nail to the coffin about another platform argument obviously this one sucks balls. let us not talk about it in this thread ever again. thanks
Dude, I opened my CIMB Unit Trust account in 2 minutes which is so incredibly convenient. It was instant. I didn't deal with any Relationship Managers or Agents. I have full and total control over my Unit Trust account. If you look at my portfolio, if I had waited for the account in FSM to be created I would have "lost" out on quite a substantial gain.

Plus, at that point in time I never heard about FSM and I was afraid of putting in a lump sum of money into an "unknown" entity.

Don't worry about me, I run the numbers and understand the "loss" I make on the slightly higher fees. I know when to get in to FSM.

PS: Btw please don't blame me for joining this thread. I was directed here by a few members of this thread and also the moderator, who said I shouldn't be making new threads about unit trust and should just post here. Plus, you guys are a genuinely nice and helpful lot of people. I do think FSM is superior to CIMB Clicks in almost every way, so there's that. The reason I don't want to use FSM yet is for many reasons - one of which is in the event of a financial crisis in the near term, I will cash out from CIMB Clicks, sit on the sidelines as the market crash (and at the same time create FSM account) and then take advantage of 1% or even 0% SC with my lump sum. Or alternatively do it in such a way I can maximize the 1%, I don't want to "waste" it.

I also of course am not just going in to unit trust. I am learning "value investing". Buy small/mid cap stocks after conducting extensive research, then sell them at a profit.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 2 2017, 11:41 PM
contestchris
post Feb 3 2017, 07:36 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 3 2017, 06:15 PM)
January portfolio all time high. ROI up 4%+ IRR 1%+

Same for eveyone?
Care to share portfolio? I assume it's Asian heavy. Global/US/EU didn't do well in January.
contestchris
post Feb 3 2017, 07:41 PM

5,555 posts

Probably got a bit too lucky with the magnitude of gains, but switching day one is good. Transacted on 31/1 so these gains are for 2/2 relative to that date.

CIMB Titans > Australia: Gain 1.92%

CIMB China > Ch/In/Id: Gain 0.81%

TA European > SEA: Loss 0.36%

The final switch is a long term switch. The other two, I'm not so sure. Will do research over the weekend. They were initially supposed to be short term switches only.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 3 2017, 07:43 PM
contestchris
post Feb 3 2017, 08:40 PM

5,555 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 3 2017, 08:32 PM)
In the same time, Titan gained 0.94%, so your real gain is only 1.92 less 0.94 = less than one percent.

In the same time, CIMB China gained 1.32%, so your real loss is 0.81% less 1.32% = loss of half a percent.

In the same time, TA Europe registered neither loss nor gain, so your real loss is zero minus 0.36% equal 0.36% loss.

Looks like your loss > winner.

I don't see the good. Am I missing something?

Xuzen
Your numbers are off. CIMB China lost 0.1%, Global Titans gained 0.3%. Meanwhile CII gained 0.7% and Australia gained 2.15%. TA Europe gain 0.6%, TA SEA gain 0.24%.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 3 2017, 08:42 PM

15 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.1241sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:40 PM