QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 27 2018, 09:03 AM)
looks like someone posted the answer "YES", and I deemed it to be for that questions, and TS also replied "Thanks bro for confirmation".Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
Jun 27 2018, 09:11 AM
8,188 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
Sep 15 2018, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(khuanoz @ Sep 15 2018, 02:17 AM) Funny how it's 61years and not whole number, transferred from your savings account then? any idea what should one do when these occurs?4.85% is pretty high, especially if it is compounded yearly, but not sure if offer any protection against inflation with crisis looming on the horizon better still....any idea what should one do "BEFORE" these occurs? can share what have you done now in anticipation of that occurring? any idea when this looming on the horizon be? This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 15 2018, 07:25 AM |
Sep 15 2018, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(David_Yang @ Sep 15 2018, 07:20 PM) No, but the Indos usually have this crisis first so buy deposit into foreign currencies denominated a/c and gets shitty interest rate while waiting for it to happens?Not much you can do, just don´t put all money in MYR, some EUR, USD, SGD and CNY in foreign currency account (with shitty interest rates) will help. something like these?.... https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin...nations-account This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 15 2018, 07:30 PM |
Sep 15 2018, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(Captain1 @ Sep 15 2018, 07:34 PM) Gold account is alternative since Gold is really low. so buy gold now and wait for that crisis to come? and not getting any interest returns holding gold while waiting?I know this is a FD rate only but seems like FD only has local FD or Foreign FD or hybrid with mutual fund. Mutual funds are often on stock market so, left Gold and bonds. Bonds have high cost of entry. Only one other instrument is cryptocurrency but not enough data to see how it would react to economic change. cannot buy gold when it happens as the currency I have during financial crisis would be too worthless to buy gold for safe keeping then.... |
Sep 15 2018, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(David_Yang @ Sep 15 2018, 07:50 PM) Yes, all major banks offer this with different conditions. To get good conditions you need to be preferred/premium/... customer. The interest rates are always much worse than for MYR (only CNY sometime can bring good interest), but when Malaysia get stuck in Emerging Market crisis, this is a save harbour that probably brings more than 5 or 10% return. According to my experience it is always good to mix, not bet on one thing. Stock market, FD, FX, this 3 things I need, but not more. I also have a little bit Gold investment in case all other things fail will study more on these..... for others...sorry for the off topic.... |
Dec 19 2018, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 19 2018, 01:53 PM) I think most probably this.....".....from now until 31 December 2018, receive RM188 cash reward when you open a new Preferred Current Account-i and maintain a minimum of RM10,000 fresh funds in the account on the immediate month following the month of account opening." https://www.cimbislamic.com.my/en/personal/...-account-i.html T&C https://www.cimbislamic.com.my/content/dam/...eward-RM188.pdf |
Dec 24 2018, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 24 2018, 10:04 AM) ...... good advise....Are we exposed to phishing if we keep using that shared link? How to protect ourselves form phishing? For me , I change my login password each and every time after getting that 4.5% eFD on the shared link, quite troublesome. Any better suggestion other than dont use that link? .... btw, did you change to the latest password at that site too? or change to the latest password at the normal site? |
Dec 25 2018, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Dec 25 2018, 08:28 AM) Ytd have some discussion with a old timer, uncle He said since FD for long time which usually won't use it, park the money in pb on board rate but it's compounding interest So my question, aren't much better than chasing promo rate which is definitely higher. What your guys thought on this? 100k @4.5% = 4.5k per annum (promo) 100k @3.3% = 3.3k per annum ( on board) I'm not pro in calculating compounding interest but will compounding interest exceed the promo given than in 5 years both providing same rate? just incase you are wondering, what if there are a period when no promo rate package available......well some would suggest.... ..park it in money market fund get daily interest (abt ave 3.5%~ 3.7% pa) with no lock in period, no sales charges and next day gets money back to place on the next available promo rate. This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 25 2018, 11:11 AM |
Dec 25 2018, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Dec 25 2018, 11:09 AM) Keyword is compounding, meaning interest credited monthly into capital then recalculate based on that for next month. Sometimes bank call it interest add on see my amended post....the example of the rates are definitely MORE than the 3.3%I believe the calculation is flawed but not really sure. Hence asking here |
Sep 24 2019, 09:55 AM
Bank Negara is expected to lower interest rates by 25 basis points (bp) in December, with a further 25 basis points cut in the first quarter of 2020.
“This is provided that the government will continue to focus on fiscal consolidation in the upcoming budget announcement on Oct 11, ” the report said. Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...c6CrXQ4ltU7b.99 |
Oct 31 2019, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Oct 30 2019, 05:20 PM) just went shopping for FD rate,.. UOB rate at 3.88% for 12 mth,.. Bank Rakyat at 3.8% fro 12 mth but can nego to 3.9%,.. but only last this 2 days,.. heard from them Bank Negara gonna announce new rate on Nov 5th,... probably going down again,.. US Fed lowers key interest rate a third time https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/178339...te-a-third-time |
Oct 31 2019, 12:28 PM
Nov 8 2019, 07:49 PM
will there be a reductions of numbers of incidents of "better" promotional FD rate due to this?
SRR cut part of Bank Negara's tactical manoeuvring to support growth momentum: Economists In a statement today, the central bank has announced that the SRR ratio will be lowered to 3.0 per cent from 3.5 per cent effective from Nov 16, 2019 https://www.nst.com.my/business/2019/11/536...growth-momentum |
Nov 9 2019, 04:59 AM
Dec 20 2019, 06:00 PM
NOT Reducing interest rate is not an option I guess for next year as....
Southeast Asia may soon need ‘plan B’ to deal with lowflation published : 20 Dec 2019 https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/182069...with-lowflation have to keep up with the Jones.... |
Dec 24 2019, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(dp82 @ Dec 24 2019, 11:59 AM) Hi Guys, just got the infor fr Maybank. Is this a good deal? FD tenure: 3 months FD rate: 7.30% p.a. Min investment: RM20k ASNB fund: ASN SARA Sales charge: 3.5% Min investment: RM20k QUOTE(David_Yang @ Dec 24 2019, 12:48 PM) Certainly not, you need somebody calculate 7.3-3.5=3.8 for you? YES, I would not think about it too, unless I did die must buy the ASN SARAAnd only 3 month tenure, so no even worth to think about. QUOTE(TheRant @ Dec 24 2019, 07:28 PM) this FD rate is 7.30% is patenure is 3 months thus 20k x 7.30% = RM1460 /12 x 3mths = RM365 interest earned the sales charge is 3.5% for ASN SARA 20k X 3.5% = RM700 sales charges incured. so is it still ok? |
Jan 3 2020, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(Tommylau87 @ Jan 3 2020, 05:04 PM) Does anybody which bank is the best bank to do mutual funds? Some say Maybank and some says Public Mutual only if you don't mind paying the 5~6% sales charges if you buy from themI will be quick since this is a FD thread. buying thru Maybank may gives you more choices in terms of fund houses buying thru Public mutual may limits you to Public mutual fund house. check out the numerous unit trust investment thread in LYN |
Feb 15 2020, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Feb 15 2020, 12:19 PM) Is there any specific thread or blog on the best deals in cost of various foods, canned food, household items aimed specifically at those who cannot really afford anything but the cheapest possible? Any government or consumer or foodchain marketing info? my spouse uses one from this before going for groceries shopping.Get the best deals via these 3 shopping apps in Malaysia https://www.stuff.tv/my/features/get-best-d...pps-in-malaysia but I find that times it did gives her a tendency to buy more on impulse thus may creates some cash flow incidences |
Mar 5 2020, 11:36 AM
May 20 2020, 09:29 PM
| Change to: | 0.0502sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:00 PM |