7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

okuribito
post Jan 9 2017, 12:04 PM

1,021 posts

previous years lots of cny promos. this year hardly any. gonna be a tough year i think.

btw, i just went to look at hong leong's 88888888888 counter - someone should take a video and post up, the number go up even to 2,900k & then fall back 2,400k. Up and down one hahaha laugh.gif

i wonder if Hong Leong owns FPX - they tell me must use fpx to move the money around in order to qualify for this offer

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jan 9 2017, 12:12 PM
okuribito
post Jan 9 2017, 12:26 PM

1,021 posts

hahaha definitely not real. look at the source code for the page & can see it's some javascript which does not get input from anywhere else. just random digits i think... those familiar with coding can search for efdpromocount & interpret the script
okuribito
post Jan 9 2017, 12:40 PM

1,021 posts

I called MBSB & they say max 4.1% for 12m & min 50k. Maybe those who got 4.2% is because principal is 6-digits.

I asked if interest is paid monthly & they told me only on maturity.

Anyone else got monthly interest from MBSB for 5digit placement?
okuribito
post Jan 9 2017, 03:02 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jan 9 2017, 02:22 PM)
Got into AmBank 4.1% today for 3years. Rollover from my last FD and backdated to start from last Saturday, no need to ask for weekend interest. (My last FD matured on last Saturday.)
Took 3 years, too tired to run around. So slow doing FD over the counter.
Is there a minimum amount?
okuribito
post Jan 10 2017, 07:33 AM

1,021 posts

was surprised when i went topublic bank to take out my funds which matured on sunday. after everything was done, the teller handed me some cash & said this is the non-working day interest. small amount but felt good smile.gif

okuribito
post Jan 11 2017, 07:58 AM

1,021 posts

what is "blockchain"?

okuribito
post Jan 11 2017, 11:46 PM

1,021 posts

rclxub.gif confused.gif rclxub.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif
okuribito
post Jan 26 2017, 02:56 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jan 26 2017, 10:35 AM)
br selayang is quite lonely, juz good part is it opposite tesco extra selayang, free parking

no like kl 1.50 per hour, then no space, then dbkl come saman twice per day
i'd rank free parking higher in my criteria. just one saman can blow whatever 4.xx% to pieces
okuribito
post Jan 27 2017, 09:48 AM

1,021 posts

What a shocker.

Anyone else went for BSN 4.5%12Mths offer about a year ago? I did and matured today. That's what it says on the cert. Tarikh matang 27jan 2017.

But they told me cannot take out till 24 hrs after Tarikh matang ie tomorrow or practically next Tuesday. They said this is Islamic fd rule.

I said wtf. I did islamic fd with other banks including BR and never encounter such thing.

Naturally I tiau the idiots and ask for bnm Complaint form. Also got evidence of what they told me.

Got such thing? Tarikh matang cannot take out money unless penalty? Wtf!!!
okuribito
post Jan 27 2017, 10:01 AM

1,021 posts

I can't do anything now. I'll go back on Tuesday n fuck them left n right n raise hell. What do you think I should do?

okuribito
post Jan 27 2017, 10:15 AM

1,021 posts

Hahaha actually BR memang ikut Islamic principles. Adil!!! Spoil my cny eve only. So looking forward to transferring to BR 4.08%promo today. Blardy stupid BSN

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jan 27 2017, 10:15 AM
okuribito
post Jan 27 2017, 11:28 AM

1,021 posts

Haha went to another branch try luck. The supervisor there called HQ n they say should be no issue about 24hrs bla bla

Waiting for cheque now tongue.gif

One branch will sure kena tiau by HQ soon. Die u bastards lol

One thing I discovered about bsn is u can go any branch to redeem. I think pbb also cannot

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jan 27 2017, 12:27 PM
okuribito
post Jan 29 2017, 03:05 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 27 2017, 11:10 PM)
Dude, don't let these trivial stuffs ruin the harmony.
Keep calm and gong xi fa cai  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jan 28 2017, 04:36 AM)
DO IT! Tell them you wanna see fireworks also tongue.gif LOL. Your reason in your defense, your money is sitting there stagnant, hence you should be compensated with the interest of your FD for the loss of potential gains as of 27th till Tuesday. smile.gif IN the meantime, fill up the complaint form for just heck of fun too biggrin.gif. This should compensate for your potential loss of CNY mood biggrin.gif hahaha.

Happy Chinese New Year! biggrin.gif
hehe thanks for support guys ... it ended well with the 2nd branch I tried my luck with, feeling compassionate now, no need file complaint form ... gong xi gong xi to everybody too rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jan 28 2017, 11:09 AM)
The most valuable info in a forum are the complaints and an understanding of how negative and positive situations can arise. I don't need to hear the good news only, the bad news means much more to me. So thank you for sharing your experience at BSN. notworthy.gif
you are welcome uncle. yup you never know where the next lesson or tip will come from bruce.gif whistling.gif
okuribito
post Feb 6 2017, 09:56 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(tsssusan09 @ Feb 5 2017, 07:05 PM)
If FD matured today, can uplift it tmr?
i believe the standard / default practice is that we can take out the FD + accrued interest (if not already credited to savings monthly) on the maturity date stated on the cert.

Therefore it might be more helpful to highlight the exceptions. For example, I had a run-in with BSN recently but was resolved ie i got my money on the maturity date despite initial difficulty. You can read my experience on page 30 tongue.gif
okuribito
post Feb 22 2017, 07:51 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Feb 21 2017, 05:28 PM)
Because it's 8 months @4% interest the effective rate is 2.666???  If malaysian standard of mathematics is at this level, we are doomed to be 3rd world country for a long long time  bangwall.gif
Hahaha it's not the maths that's faulty, it's the logic that's fubar smile.gif

Reminds me of the bimbo who was asked how many slices a pizza should be cut into - 8 or 12. She said she'd like 8 because she said 12 is too much to eat...Can't finish 12... LOL

This post has been edited by okuribito: Feb 22 2017, 07:52 AM
okuribito
post Feb 23 2017, 12:45 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 23 2017, 12:28 PM)
patience grows as people are aging lol. if I am a banker, I dont dare to give non 1-year-duration FD promotion anymore. biggrin.gif

It's just an online forum for learning and sharing anyway haha
good on you if you got patience.

hehehe i now wait for the inevitable ...the long, pedantic essay from you know who tongue.gif

okuribito
post Feb 23 2017, 01:19 PM

1,021 posts

actually not just lately. but everybody's entitled to what they want to write, long or short. Ppl without much patience like me... well we just gloss over & just don't respond... lest we inadvertently stimulate more literary diarrhoea

Change subject. Every morning I hear on radio that the US Fed's gonna raise interest rates soon. Does anyone think BNM will follow?

Happy lunch time cheers.gif
okuribito
post Feb 23 2017, 05:48 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 23 2017, 05:06 PM)
I cant help but to ask another question.

Why for 1 month, you calculate 4.0* 1months/12months to get effective rate
For 24 months, you did not calculate 4.0* 24months/12months to get the effective rate?

TIME is money in finance. You have to be consistent when involving time in calculation.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif your patience pays off. you got him to paint himself into a corner. let's see how skilful he is in verbal bruce.gif Will his master come to his aid? or will his master leave him there to perish? brows.gif

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 23 2017, 05:39 PM)
HOng Leong Bank promotion must be a internet savvy. Must do FPX Internet transfer, trasnfer fund from other bank. Most bank limit RM30k per day, but Maybank you can do multiple 30k a day. (meaning you have to do 27 times)

I suggest you go to OCBC, Alliance, or AmBank and negotiate rate.
With RM800K, you can easily get priority banking. If in KL, I'm sure the Bank Rakyat people will be more than willing to buy you coffee & discuss rates... I believe they have one of the best at the moment

This post has been edited by okuribito: Feb 23 2017, 05:52 PM
okuribito
post Feb 23 2017, 07:36 PM

1,021 posts

with so much bullets, you can walk into any bank with chequebook in hand and ask for manager of private banking & negotiated rates

okuribito
post Mar 8 2017, 07:54 AM

1,021 posts

" the next 10 years, return is 33% (1188.00) per year."

Where got? The principal u put in already 36k! What's 1188/36000 as a percentage? Less than 4% only.

Do the same for 1st 10yrs...ie principal increasing every year but return fixed at 620. By 10th yr, return less than 2%

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2077sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:53 AM