Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

chinkw1
post Jan 3 2017, 02:59 PM

3,155 posts

Maybank's General Investment Account-i (GIA-i) now is only 3.55%/pa.

Last year its much higher.
chinkw1
post Apr 4 2017, 02:53 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 4 2017, 01:50 PM)
Tough work getting the HL Tuesday 4.15% with monthly interest:

[attachmentid=8686310]
HLB FD needs to use FPX from (example Maybank2U).
And must ensure Maybank2U fund transfer limit is sufficient.

Let say I want to open HLB FD with RM20K. I need to ensure my Maybank2U fund transfer limit is RM20K/day. So troublesome?

chinkw1
post Apr 12 2017, 01:06 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Apr 11 2017, 09:16 AM)
Is FPX from Maybank any different from other banks? I have done multiple FPX within a day, all from Maybank. Even though my transfer limit is RM30k, FPX allows for multiple within the same day. Only IBT or IBG has limit per day.[attachmentid=8720379]
I also intend to open HLB eFD by FPX transfer from MBB. I turn away because I thought the FPX transfer from MBB has a daily limit.

So its confirmed that the FPX transfer from MBB has no limit ya ?

chinkw1
post Apr 12 2017, 08:09 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 12 2017, 01:38 PM)
Up to last week Tuesday still true. U can do multiple FPX from MBB to HL to place the eFD. Each time max 30k. MBB seems to be the only bank that allowed multiple FPX xfer with no daily limits ( tongue.gif up to what u want to xfer  devil.gif ).  biggrin.gif
@bbgoat,
Thank you very much for your kind confirmation. Appreciate it very much..smile.gif

Btw, for this HLB eFD placement:
a) How is the interest being paid? Monthly debit into our saving ac?
b) On maturity (9 months later), the principle will debit into our saving ac? Or it will auto renew at board rate?

chinkw1
post Apr 13 2017, 03:16 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 13 2017, 08:46 AM)
U need to change the word "debit" to "credit".

During placement, there are choice for monthly interest or interest paid on maturity. On maturity, u can choose not to renew if u want. So during placement time, choose carefully the options presented.  biggrin.gif

In fact, all my placement I choose monthly interest and no renewal. No renewal is to plan to hunt for next FD promo.  thumbup.gif
@bbgoat,

Thanks for your help.

The option: Islamic FD vs Conventional FD, which to select pls?
chinkw1
post Apr 18 2017, 10:59 AM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 18 2017, 10:33 AM)
For 12 mth, CIMB would be the best. HL eFD Tuesday 9 mth 4.15% with monthly interest. I am going for it afterwards.  biggrin.gif
bbgoat is sifu in FD..smile.gif

I also baru do placement in HLB using FPX, quite convenient.
Interest will credit monthly into our account.
Principle i choose NO autorenew. I guess by so doing, the principle will be credited into our savings account automatically on maturity date ??

chinkw1
post Apr 18 2017, 11:08 AM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 18 2017, 11:03 AM)
There are other more knowledgeable sifu's in this thread.  smile.gif

Yes, if choose no auto renew, the principal sum on maturity will go into the SA, the one during placement that we choose. Or rather the one that monthly interest go into. So far I chose all the HL eFD to be no auto renew. So no need to terminate it on day of maturity and can immediately go hunting for another FD promo.  biggrin.gif
Agree.

But I still got 1 FD open last year during Maybank promotion, that one need to go to Maybank to open, and its terms is MUST auto renew.

So need to go to Maybank again on maturity date to take out. leceh
chinkw1
post Apr 18 2017, 11:11 AM

3,155 posts

CIMB FD is good. But need to go to CIMB personally to open, and some more, need to open another savings account in CIMB. A bit troublesome.

I prefer Maybank or HLB..smile.gif
chinkw1
post Apr 18 2017, 03:23 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 18 2017, 11:25 AM)
Some of the banks FD promo stated that on maturity, the FD will auto renew into board rate. Can't help it.  dry.gif

I am immune on the banks requirement for SA. Already has SA for those banks that I have FD with.  biggrin.gif
Mr bbgoat,

When you placed FD in a new bank, upon maturity of the FD, which are the best ways to take the money out and move to other banks?
chinkw1
post Jul 6 2017, 02:40 PM

3,155 posts

My mum's FD matured on 18 July (this month).

Any good promotions FD currently?
chinkw1
post Jul 6 2017, 07:01 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 6 2017, 06:07 PM)
Depends on few factors like amt, any bank preference, tenure etc.

For 12 mth, Bank Muamalat 4.3% is the highest so far. Min. 100k.
Tq bro for response.

I cannot find any information on fd promotion in Maybank, HLB, Ambank website.
Must walk in bank counter to ask right?

Let say amount rm10k

This post has been edited by chinkw1: Jul 6 2017, 07:02 PM
chinkw1
post Nov 28 2017, 03:32 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(poor man @ Nov 28 2017, 08:38 AM)
hl e fd 13 mth 4.2%
Did not see this promo in their website one?
chinkw1
post Nov 28 2017, 04:32 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(Milo_O @ Nov 28 2017, 03:54 PM)
Thanks brother.smile.gif

chinkw1
post Dec 4 2017, 03:17 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 4 2017, 03:11 PM)
Haha, u also kena OCBC's love letter. My relatives receiving letters as well to top up. Recently OCBC FD rate not that good and lose out even to UOB. Though both of them used to fight head to head previously.

I am also thinking of either AmBank or UOB for the OCBC fund this week. Probably AmBank for the 0.05% more.  biggrin.gif
Ambank promotional FD is until which date?
Cannot find any info in Ambank website.
chinkw1
post Dec 6 2017, 10:44 AM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 6 2017, 10:34 AM)
Hot, hot !  devil.gif

MBB FD promo from 5/12 to 5/1/2018:

15 mth 4.3% min 10k fresh fund

6 mth 4% fresh fund, 3.9% non fresh, min 10k

3 mth 3.88% min 25k

Looks like MBB wanted to capture the FD market !!

So tomorrow looks like I have to move my OCBC fund to MBB !! Instead of AmBank or UOB !!  biggrin.gif
Aiyo, my FD matured 20 Jan 2018, looks like i m going to miss this boat lor..sad.gif
chinkw1
post Dec 8 2017, 09:16 AM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 7 2017, 07:30 PM)
This morning went to OCBC PB centre to withdraw FD. Parking is a nightmare, their PB centre limited parking, circle round and round ! vmad.gif @gsc probably has same problem as well !

Finally park in the open air area. The PB leng lui passed my FD cert to RM who spent 30 minutes talking to me to go for UT !  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

Anyway still get myself out with cashier's cheque from OCBC.  biggrin.gif

When to MBB after 3pm. The counter girl called my name despite I have not been there for >1 year.  blush.gif

Was told they met their quota this morning. Then 3pm re-open again ! This one gives monthly interest, forgot to ask if it applies to all. But I think it would be so, one forummer asked this question yesterday.

At the back of the cert, the step up rate was printed.

The leng lui told me they may open up Islamic FD for this to continue the FD promo. It is a bit strange that MBB reach the quota so soon after they started 2 days ago. Either their quota is low or too many people going for it.  biggrin.gif
MBB promo fd until Jan 2018 ?

chinkw1
post Dec 8 2017, 09:39 AM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 8 2017, 09:30 AM)
Bro, please understand that bank always have T & C on FD promo. Yes stated till Jan 2018 BUT if quota or limit met, then STOP.  biggrin.gif
Thanks bro.
Surprisingly, banks usually does not update their web site for FD promo. Need insider news hahahahhah
chinkw1
post Jan 3 2018, 12:01 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Jan 2 2018, 08:27 PM)
RHB Bank Fixed Deposit Promotion. Valid until 31 March 2018

3 months - 3.80% p.a. (Minimum Fresh Fund RM10K)
13 months - 4.25% p.a. (Minimum Fresh Fund RM25K with CASA/CASA-i balances more than RM20K)

Terms And Conditions for 3.80% p.a. | Terms And Conditions for 4.25% p.a.

the wording "13 months - 4.25% p.a. (Minimum Fresh Fund RM25K with CASA/CASA-i balances more than RM20K)" , CASA/CASA-i balances more than RM20K what does it mean?

chinkw1
post Jan 3 2018, 01:46 PM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Jan 3 2018, 12:55 PM)
I'm a bit late,
The MBB 4.3% @ 15months FD promo just quota finished when my turn..  Sigh.

Called this morning told still available,
But over the counter time got informed the quota finished,
Offer me 4.1% @ 15months..
Haihz.
I intend to place fd in MBB around Jan 15, i guess the quota is finish oledi sad.gif

chinkw1
post Jan 4 2018, 02:16 PM

3,155 posts

My existing HLB FD matured on Jan 19th.

Wonder MBB got nice promo at that time?

If HLB promo fresh fund, I need to withdraw from HLB FD, put into my MBB, and then transfer back to HLB ?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:33 AM