269 posts

FD promo rates at UOB till 31/5

7 months 2.6%pa
9 months 2.75% pa
babysotong
post May 26 2020, 10:53 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 26 2020, 07:56 PM)
eFD at PIB?
The promo rates are for placement OTC only.

As for the other question, I think it has been answered - can withdraw online at the Internet Banking. Can withdraw on the same day as the FD mature without any penalty.

One thing to be aware, when place FD at promo rate (OTC), was told it will be automatically renew when mature. So, either have to withdraw manually using their Internet Banking when mature or amend FD instruction in the Internet Banking before it mature so that the funds will automatically credit to your savings account upon maturity.

If not, banyak rugi kena renew at board rate if we don't notice it.
babysotong
post May 27 2020, 11:04 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 26 2020, 10:15 PM)
Thanks for all the replies. Just realized that still need to go UOB this week to withdraw cash OTC to avoid CASA being dormant.
June will be a heartache month as few FD maturing. Will divert a bulk of them into BR as their 2.75% 12m is the best bet for now.
Actually, no need to go to the branch. Withdrawal online when mature or set instruction to credit Casa upon maturity. Then, transfer out using IBG or DuitNow. Savings account will not considered as dormant as long as there is a credit to the account - you will achieve this when FD amount is transferred to your Casa. If want to be sure, just transfer rm1 from other bank account to this UOB Casa.

This will avoid u to travel all the way to the branch during MCO or CMCO period.
babysotong
post May 27 2020, 01:40 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 27 2020, 01:08 PM)
I didn't receive SMS from UOB regarding any FD promo.

But yesterday somebody has shared for UOB OTC FD:
I checked, the UOB promo is applicable to all branches till 31 May or when fund size are fully size. However, it is not listed in their website. Dunno why.
babysotong
post May 30 2020, 12:29 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(hwachong @ May 28 2020, 02:35 PM)
UOB taipan 3.39% 12m with 10% in casa
The UOB RM told me this promotion is only for New-To-Bank people. Not applicable for existing customers. Even that, there is a cap a new customer can put.
babysotong
post May 31 2020, 01:13 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Tobyby @ May 30 2020, 03:33 PM)
New-to-bank customer have to do it over the counter?
I believe so as New-To-Bank customers would have to open a new FD and CASA. So, there would be paperwork and documents to verify.

Anyway, UOB doesn't have eFD in this digital arena... 😂
babysotong
post May 31 2020, 10:53 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 31 2020, 08:50 AM)
UOB got eFD but they have don't eFD promo and placement via FPX.
True, but well, that is as good as not having eFD or FPX placement . What's the point of having eFD went there is no eFD promotion or placement via FPX and can only placed at board rates.
babysotong
post Jun 2 2020, 09:41 AM

269 posts

Just got this info from the RM.
Not publish on website but it is valid at the branch; i.e. OTC

UOB June FD promo
7 months 2.65%pa
9 months 2.75% pa
babysotong
post Jun 3 2020, 01:20 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(buddy @ Jun 3 2020, 09:01 AM)
if i m using uob credit card..but without any savings acc or fd with uob..m i still eligible for 3.30% with 10% casa?
Good question. You mean you only have UOB credit card and no FD/CASA account. You might want to contact any of the UOB branches to clarify before dropping by, if and when you decide to.

Some banks, NTB means totally new to the bank
Some banks, NTB depends on each segments like credit card one segment, FD/Casa one segment, loan one segment.

So, differs from bank to bank.
babysotong
post Jun 6 2020, 12:03 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jun 5 2020, 03:25 PM)
Thanks bro.

I was just planning to go OTC for that 2.7%

sweat.gif
If OTC, u should consider the one I posted on UOB - 9 months 2.75% pa.

Higher return by 0.05% but shorter tenure.
babysotong
post Jun 8 2020, 04:43 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 8 2020, 10:06 AM)
My FD will mature in Bank A.
I want to renew this FD in Bank A.
But Bank A says to renew this FD, it has to be fresh fund.

So, in order to renew FD in Bank A on the same day,
can I do all these by noon time on the same day (so that do not lose any interest)?
(1) I rentas this FD from Bank A to Bank B early in the morning.
(2) Rush to Bank B.
(3) Rentas back to Bank A from Bank B
(4) Bank A receives fund from Bank B as fresh fund.

Is this method possible?
Or do you guys have any better ideas? Thanks
Quicker way is to transfer to another bank account, where you have cheque book.

For example:
1) FD in Bank A mature
2) Go to Bank A and rentas or IBG to Bank B (current account with cheque book)
3) Place FD at Bank A with your cheque (drawn on Bank B current account)
4) Remember that there will 50sen charge to your Bank B current account for cheque processing fee. Keep in this in mind so that you don't "over-drawn" in Bank B current account

In summary, you just need to go one bank; i.e. Bank A.
babysotong
post Jun 8 2020, 04:48 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(klks34 @ Jun 8 2020, 04:03 PM)

Let say if I put an amount into FD for a period of 6 months. Then after 3 months I withdraw out the FD, will I be able to get the interest for the 3 months? Or the interest will be forfeited and I will get nothing?
If you prematurely withdrawl all your FD amount, then interest accrued will be forfeited. If interest is credited monthly to your CASA, then there will be a claw back.

However, some banks offer partial withdrawal and it depends on the type of FD.

For example:
FD amount is rm100k for 12 months @ xxx%
After a few months, you need to withdraw rm30k

In this case, no interest for rm30k but the remaining rm70k will continue to earn interest till its maturity.

babysotong
post Jun 10 2020, 10:57 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 8 2020, 08:28 PM)
Mind asking which bank & type?
icon_question.gif
Almost all banks. You just have to ask the features of the FD.
babysotong
post Jun 10 2020, 10:59 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 9 2020, 09:57 PM)
Thank you for all of you's reply.

Actually I figure out the only solution is to do double rentas.

Because Bank A will use at least 2 working day for check clearance.
I do not want to lose 2 days interest, so I have to do 2 times of rentas in the morning like below.
And I need to make sure Bank A will receive "fresh fund" from rentas on the same day.

(1) Bank A rentas to Bank B
(2) Quick quick rush to Bank B
(3) Rentas back to Bank A from Bank B
(4) Bank A received "fresh fund" from Bank B on the same day.

But the big risk is that cannot guarantee if can do 2 rentas successfully in the morning before noon cut off time.
Bank A is MBxB which needs 2 working days for check clearance.
No, placement with cheque is counted on the date u placed the cheque and NOT cheque clearance date.

This save work from travelling to and fro from Bank A and B.
babysotong
post Jun 10 2020, 12:17 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 10 2020, 11:31 AM)
MBSB needs two working days to clear cheque a
Oh i c. So far, I have no issue at HLB, MBB, Ambank and UOB.

Maybe it is because MBSB is not a commercial bank per say.
babysotong
post Jun 14 2020, 09:49 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(David_Yang @ Jun 14 2020, 01:11 AM)
I would not call it savings plan, I would call it sales charges plan cool2.gif

The 3.00 from BR are pretty hot. If only I would not have placed so much $$$ already at BR. And if they would be a PIDM member.
Bear in mind that PIDM only covers rm250k per person per bank (conventional and Islamic treated separately).
babysotong
post Jun 24 2020, 08:41 AM

269 posts

Summary - seems the best rates so far:

2 months - MBB (online) - 2. 43%

3 months - CIMB (online) - 2.45%

6 months - Ambank (online) - 2.65%

7 months - UOB (OTC) - 2.65%

9 months - BR (OTC) - 2.80% (no PIDM)
9 months - UOB (OTC) - 2.75%

11 months - BR (OTC) - 3.00% (no PIDM)

12 months - RHB (online) - 2.80%

babysotong
post Jun 24 2020, 12:40 PM

269 posts

Updated

Summary - seems the best rates so far:

3 months - HLB (online) - 2.60%

6 months - Ambank (online) - 2.65%

babysotong
post Jun 24 2020, 10:12 PM

269 posts

Updated

Summary - BEST rates so far:

3 months - Affin (online) - 2.68%

5 months - Alliance (not too sure online or OTC) - 3.00%

6 months - Affin (online) - 2.88%

babysotong
post Jul 1 2020, 04:07 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Jun 29 2020, 10:57 PM)
i want to ask - possible to buy shares that give good dividend and stil dont have capital loss? no gain nvm but just want to make sure no capital loss saja
any suggestion?
as now the rate really headache
There is no such thing as share with no gain no loss. Shares are not capital guarantee.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0569sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:34 AM