81 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

bbgoat
post Jun 14 2017, 04:35 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 14 2017, 01:45 PM)
UOB having this FD Plus promo till 30 June 2016

4mth = 3.7%
6mth = 3.9%
8mth = 4.0%
12mth = 4.08%

Interest credited monthly to SA

Min 10k
Received SMS 2 hrs back on the above promo.

UOB FD promo has been at 12 mth 4% for quite some time. Now raising it to 4.08%. But still losing out to some other banks like CIMB and Bank Muamalat.

Just curious with BR. Still having lots of cash and no FD promo for few mths now.
bbgoat
post Jun 15 2017, 06:28 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Jun 15 2017, 05:01 PM)
My experience is.....all banks can uplift on maturity date except PBB.

I think the counter staff treat me like a luku....
I have not encountered the issue with PBB. Even interest over weekend can get as well. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 18 2017, 09:41 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 18 2017, 11:26 AM)
If I instant transfer fund from UOB to Bank CIMB, and the next day instant transfer back to UOB with a few hundred difference in amount, will UOB consider this as a fresh fund?
Few yrs back I OTC RENTAS fund from matured FD out from UOB and used cheque to place new FD to promo rate. All at the same counter, same time. The counter lady did not say anything about that. This may or may not work now.

In early May, I uplift FD from UOB and was offered FD promo rate. I declined as I wanted to move to CIMB for the 4.2% FD. So u can ask UOB if they can offer u the promo rate also.

But unless u wanted to do online termination and xfer funds out. Which I have done before as it is convenience for FD lower than say 50k. No need to go to UOB to do it. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nakedtruth @ Jun 18 2017, 06:57 PM)
when is the bank muamalat promo ends?
is it PIDM protected?
Suppose to be 2/10 but they could terminate it earlier. PIDM protected. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 18 2017, 09:42 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 18 2017, 10:13 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 18 2017, 09:47 PM)
I have asked several times if I can get the promo rate for uplifted amount, answer is always no even if I offer to top up by 10k  sad.gif  So yeah, trying out the second method that you said above, online termination and instant transfer the next day or so  biggrin.gif
Ya, UOB branch depends on how eager they are to want to retain the fund. At one time even for a large 6 digit fund, they still won't allow going for FD promo rate. Then as I said, in May they offered the FD promo to me, then at another time said can top up 10k can do. (above talking about matured FD) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 18 2017, 10:13 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 19 2017, 05:05 PM

6,614 posts

Planning for another Bank Muamalat 12 mth 4.5% FD on Wed. Called their CS, if use personal or banker's cheque, still FD eff date 1 day later. He can deliver the cert to me on Friday.

Thinking of opening SA to resolve this eff date and collecting of FD cert issue. Lets see.

Hopefully not opening a can of worms again ! devil.gif Have been seeing diff version of this Bank Muamalat FD eff date, monthly interest etc. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 19 2017, 05:06 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 19 2017, 09:56 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 19 2017, 09:05 PM)
Somehow i hesitate to place more in Bank Muamalat even though the difference is big.

Has placed in Cimb for its flexibility on withdrawal and today UOB FD Plus 12 months at 4.08% for its monthly interest.  It is quite straight forward to place FD Plus for UOB existing FD customer who has a saving account. 
I was told that this new rate was only available on 15 June and will end by June 30th.
UOB's 4.08% with monthly interest is attractive. But for every 100k, in Bank Muamalat, the diff is RM420 in 1 year, minus 1 day interest lost and no monthly interest etc.

I think I will still cap putting FD in Muamalat. Anyway still plan to put the third one in this Wed. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 20 2017, 10:37 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jun 20 2017, 09:30 AM)
uob have a 3.25% promo with RM7,888 deposits and a free condotti trolley bag.

it comes with a little terms and condition such as using your debit cards and using their online platform for a minimum of 3 online payment and etc.
For FD of how long ? Any link on their website ?

Thanks !
bbgoat
post Jun 20 2017, 10:59 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jun 20 2017, 10:40 AM)
Not FD, Saving Plus acct. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 21 2017, 06:57 PM

6,614 posts

In Affin Bank to terminate 4.5% FD and move over for another 4.5% FD in Bank Muamalat. rclxms.gif

Actually not enough and was planning slightly later placement but saved by dividend paid from 5.5% CIMB bond ! thumbup.gif

Affin still having the 4.3% that I mentioned before. Only selected branch has it as I mentioned before. Min is 80k but could be as low as 50k, need to talk to them and see. As I wanted to move to Bank Muamalat, so did not pursue any further on their 4.3% promo.

Went to Bank Muamalat for 4.5% FD with personal cheque. Eff date the next day. They will send the FD cert to my house. biggrin.gif

Opened SA with RM20, to plan for next placement with RENTAS xfer ! biggrin.gif

Below Affin Bank promo flyer taken while terminating FD:

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 21 2017, 06:59 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 22 2017, 11:57 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(joeduff @ Jun 21 2017, 09:38 PM)
today my father went to Bank Muamalat Alam Damai branch to place FD with 4.5% promotion rate without open saving account, however, he issued cheque to place it and he received the FD cert which valid date start from tomorrow, may i know is it usual? thanks....
Well, can be unusual or usual depending on how u look at it. For Muamalat using personal cheque is "usual". Best is to open SA then can do RENTAS xfer and will not loss interest 1 or 3 (over Sat to Monday) days. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 22 2017, 11:58 AM
bbgoat
post Jun 22 2017, 12:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(babysiew @ Jun 22 2017, 12:02 PM)
For Affin bank, i used personal cheque, effective that day itself. Maybe diff banks diff methods
So far all the banks that I use, even for personal cheque, FD eff date same day of placement. Only Bank Muamalat has this issue.

The last time I encountered it is with HL Islamic FD, gave FD cert same day, but eff date 2 days later. That was 3 yrs ago. Heard someone commented that HL Islamic FD now has same day eff date already. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 23 2017, 11:09 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jun 23 2017, 10:16 AM)
BANK MUAMALAT today i went to collect my FD CHIT.. They say no more the 4.5%

now its 4.3% for 12 months....
Good info ! rclxms.gif

I checked with the officer, he said just received memo from HQ. If want the 4.5% rate, need to bring cash BEFORE 2.30pm TODAY !! After that the rate is 4.3% !!!

Shxx, just opened SA, thinking can do RENTAS for next placement, now have to look for a better rate elsewhere. But the 12 mth 4.3% looks like still the best for 12 mth FD !! biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 23 2017, 12:04 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 23 2017, 11:09 AM)
Good info !  rclxms.gif

I checked with the officer, he said just received memo from HQ. If want the 4.5% rate, need to bring cash BEFORE 2.30pm TODAY !! After that the rate is 4.3% !!!

Shxx, just opened SA, thinking can do RENTAS for next placement, now have to look for a better rate elsewhere. But the 12 mth 4.3% looks like still the best for 12 mth FD !!  biggrin.gif
New info from Muamalat officer. Customer can request top up for the 4.5% FD, min still 100k. So for those guys who has placed for the 4.5%, can call to get approval first. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 23 2017, 02:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Jun 23 2017, 02:33 PM)
I was at Muamulat Bank Johor branch this morning, they told me no more 4.5%!  vmad.gif  So I called HQ, and they gave me different answer, says 4.5% valid till October..
Asked them to check with officer and call Johor branch to confirm.

In the end, they gave me 4.5% for $400K placement but says it's only valid till today before 2.30pm. Maybe they get complaints from other banks, as many of us withdraw from other banks to place at Muamalat  rclxs0.gif

Info flow down may not reach some staff, even in HQ. The memo came out this morning so some HQ staff did not even know about it. tongue.gif

Haha, Like yesterday Affin Bank asked where I was placing the new FD, told them Muamalat ! laugh.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 23 2017, 07:22 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Jun 23 2017, 06:38 PM)
Wah can top up?   So fresh fund + old existing FD fund in same FD cert?
He used the term top up in WhatsApp. But I believe he is referring to NEW FD of >100k, for those who has previously placed FD.
devil.gif

Have to call first make sure get approval before u go there. But not sure this will last for how long ??? laugh.gif

So how is your plan of putting in for the FD there (after getting the big bucks), enough time to get the fund there ? Probably can talk to them about it. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 23 2017, 08:11 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 28 2017, 10:06 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Jun 28 2017, 09:39 AM)
My money will only come in end of July .. by then ... promo change again lor.  hahahaha
Even my plan for next week in Muamalat may change as well. Opened SA thinking can use it but 2 days later, they pulled the brake. Can ask for approval but not sure next week still can do or not. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 28 2017, 12:25 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 28 2017, 10:20 AM)
Bank Muamalat new 4.3% still need RM100k deposit or they accept lesser amount?
Checked with the officer, still need 100k and above.
bbgoat
post Jun 28 2017, 12:31 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 28 2017, 11:37 AM)
I called up the hotline, apparently even top-up is also 4.3% & they don't allow connecting directly to the branch level.
I think chances of getting 4.5% is quite slim, will visit the branch see how.
We normally liaise with the branch, how can the HQ don't allow? tongue.gif

The officer just replied saying can try next week but no promises.

Anyway it is dynamic situation. I have to prepare for what if situation. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 28 2017, 03:29 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Jun 28 2017, 02:51 PM)
Perhaps the next best FD after bank Mualamat is CIMB Unfixed Deposit, 4.1% I think. Still shopping for better kangtao~~
Affin Bank also can be considered. Except the 4.3% is for 2 years and for selected branch only, min 80k. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 28 2017, 05:43 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 28 2017, 04:01 PM)
Confirmed Muamalat only left 4.3% 12 months min 100k from the branch manager.

For Affin, there's some confusion on my end. Affin Islamic bank is 4.25% for 24 months with interest credited every 6 months but with HQ approval & RM 100k, 3%
For the Affin bank outlet, is 4.3% 24 months min RM 50k. tongue.gif
For Affin, my earlier post did say could ask if 50k and above for the 24 mth 4.3% deal. But the official answer is 80k and above for the deal. tongue.gif

"but with HQ approval & RM 100k, 3%", u mean 4.3% ?? The branch that told me also said interest every 6 mths, as I reported >2 weeks ago. But I did not ask whether it is Islamic or conventional FD. biggrin.gif

See some big shot said about Bank Muamalat's 4.5% deal ? brows.gif Same as I said, can get 4.5% with approval. devil.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 28 2017, 05:56 PM

81 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.6916sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:11 AM