Is it worth money and for long term use?
Anyone use induction cooker before, can advise any good brand?
Thanks Captain!
Induction Cooker, is it worth to get one nowdays?, Gas stove or Induction cooker Chat
Dec 21 2016, 11:09 AM, updated 9y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1 posts Joined: Jun 2016 |
Moving to new house soon, we are thinking either to have normal gas stove or new tech Induction cooker.
Is it worth money and for long term use? Anyone use induction cooker before, can advise any good brand? Thanks Captain! |
Dec 21 2016, 11:16 AM
710 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In the backyard. Up to no good! |
i'd go with gas... food taste better, induction good is can control many presets
Dec 21 2016, 11:17 AM
214 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
Hi
I sell gas stove X makan gas x apa Induction makan letrik |
Dec 21 2016, 11:18 AM
28 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
no, the electricity is more expensive than gas.
Dec 21 2016, 11:18 AM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2016 |
for malaysian style cooking best using gas stove..
Dec 21 2016, 11:21 AM
886 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Induction is better, much more efficient.
Those who used to gas will feel that the wok or pan got fried easily, because they can't feel the heat at the surrounding like gas, and over cooked their food. My experience with Philips, built in cook top, and china brand selling at Tesco. You better go with those china brand. Last longer, cheap and better control. |
Dec 21 2016, 11:22 AM
869 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: S.Damansara |
induction cooker requires metal base cookware (test with magnets whether can stick at the bottom)
if your current pots and pans are not, then you will need to get a new set as well. Been using induction cooker all along, so far no issue with it, some comes with safety feature will auto turn off if there's something burning |
366 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Sin City |
1,197 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Can get 2 in 1. Gas and Electric together 1 set
Dec 21 2016, 11:24 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
81 posts Joined: Apr 2014 From: Bora-Bora Island |
You want last long then gas cooker it is.
Dec 21 2016, 11:24 AM
99 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Induction cooker more or less same cost as the gas stove. The advantage of induction over gas stove is easier to clean up and no gas leaking. I suggest go for it.
Dec 21 2016, 11:25 AM
Dec 21 2016, 11:27 AM
1,197 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Dec 21 2016, 11:28 AM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Dec 21 2016, 11:29 AM
Dec 21 2016, 11:30 AM
5,614 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Cyberjaya, Shah Alam, Ipoh |
I used induction oreviously and now gas stove...
Both oso good...electricity normal only where got so high....electricity guzzler is aircond... But my wife whose the chef says for malaysian cooking is better with gas stove |
Dec 21 2016, 11:30 AM
223 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Totally not suitable for our Malaysian style cooking.
Dec 21 2016, 11:33 AM
22 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
gas. ran out go buy at mini market.
no electric, no cooking |
Dec 21 2016, 11:33 AM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
Induction is for safety issue.
I have switched from gas to induction + radiant combo. Induction Pros: 1. Safety 2. Heat up very fast Cons: 1. Won't taste nice if you want "wok hei" chinese fried style. 2. Electric sure cost lot more than gas. Which is why i bought a combo package. The "radiant" (means plate heater) is better for Chinese style fried although it is still not as good as a real gas stove. Basically, if you want safety (especially if you got kids at home and maybe you want elder kids to learn to cook), then induction+radiant is a good option. If you want taste the best possible and cheap to run, it's gas stove. |
Dec 21 2016, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 21 2016, 11:33 AM) Induction is for safety issue. http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/07/156462/...xplodes-kitchenI have switched from gas to induction + radiant combo. Induction Pros: 1. Safety 2. Heat up very fast Cons: 1. Won't taste nice if you want "wok hei" chinese fried style. 2. Electric sure cost lot more than gas. Which is why i bought a combo package. The "radiant" (means plate heater) is better for Chinese style fried although it is still not as good as a real gas stove. Basically, if you want safety (especially if you got kids at home and maybe you want elder kids to learn to cook), then induction+radiant is a good option. If you want taste the best possible and cheap to run, it's gas stove. This news scared me. There's another one incident quite recent, couldn't find it. |
Dec 21 2016, 11:36 AM
269 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
I'd choose gas.
Soup tastes better with fire. |
Dec 21 2016, 11:37 AM
279 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: KL |
QUOTE(edwardstevens @ Dec 21 2016, 11:22 AM) just saw this yersterday, this one not gimmick? |
Dec 21 2016, 11:40 AM
8,275 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Induction
Pros:- - Guai Lou food, you want pan sear, perfect omelette kinda stuff? - Clean, wipe settle - Easy to use , no need find gas tong, worry gas habis, put spot for spare gas etc etc. Cons :- - sucks at asian cooking, stir fry vege is shit - slightly more expensive than gas - some units may need to pre-heat and take longer time Gas Pro:- - Asian cooking ftw - Slightly Cheaper - Fast, on an settle Cons - Cleaning - Need to put space for gas, eating up valuable space in kitchen - western cooking? pifft it largely depends on how anal you are with what you cook, if you want to cook asian shit with the best wok hei and flavour, cant beat gas |
Dec 21 2016, 11:40 AM
575 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
chinese food, definitely gas stove.
induction cooker cant do much |
Dec 21 2016, 11:58 AM
4,166 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras, KL |
Dec 21 2016, 12:03 PM
Cannot understand why not suitable for Asian cooing. Heat is just heat. Taste better? It is the smell of gas, I'd say. If you use wood to cook rice, it got wood smell. If you use kerosene stove, food smell kerosene.
I cooked on all kind of stove and the reason it taste different because the smell also affect taste to certain extend. Gas has the most energy wasted. Then it go to heat plate/infra red and the most efficient is induction. For those who said induction is slower is just because the power is not equivalent to the gas stove used for comparison. |
Dec 21 2016, 12:05 PM
If you want to use traditional shaped wok (not flat bottom), then get the induction with curve surface.
Dec 21 2016, 12:06 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
Don't bother using induction cooker. Myself have gotten 3 induction cookers of different brands in 4 years.
U can't cook good fried rice with induction cooker. Not to mention the way u fry is limited. Ayam can keep flipping and control faiyaaaa easily in gas stove. Efficiency wise almost similar. I cook dinner almost everyday and I only need to buy the gas once in around half a month. Unker charged me rm30 only |
Dec 21 2016, 12:07 PM
1,177 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
We use an induction cooker. The problem I guess is that there isn't a wide range of models available and they are rather expensive. They might also develop unpredictable problems, such as coil whine. I had one die due to a lightning strike.
Dec 21 2016, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 21 2016, 12:03 PM) Cannot understand why not suitable for Asian cooing. Heat is just heat. Taste better? It is the smell of gas, I'd say. If you use wood to cook rice, it got wood smell. If you use kerosene stove, food smell kerosene. It's true that it is slower what. Tell me which restaurant use induction cooker to prepare the food? I cooked on all kind of stove and the reason it taste different because the smell also affect taste to certain extend. Gas has the most energy wasted. Then it go to heat plate/infra red and the most efficient is induction. For those who said induction is slower is just because the power is not equivalent to the gas stove used for comparison. |
Dec 21 2016, 12:10 PM
9,338 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Dec 21 2016, 12:18 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
QUOTE(CKKwan @ Dec 21 2016, 11:21 AM) Induction is better, much more efficient. Agreed! Philip don't last long. Been using induction for almost 10yrs now. Very negligable electric consumption b4 & after switching. Initially new users might not use to it but very fast to control thereafter.Those who used to gas will feel that the wok or pan got fried easily, because they can't feel the heat at the surrounding like gas, and over cooked their food. My experience with Philips, built in cook top, and china brand selling at Tesco. You better go with those china brand. Last longer, cheap and better control. The only problem- all wok must be steel bottom & once black-out...hv to eat outside |
Dec 21 2016, 12:21 PM
157 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Dec 21 2016, 12:24 PM
Dec 21 2016, 12:28 PM
1,242 posts Joined: Sep 2013 From: Quantum Universe |
Used induction cooker for around 4 years during uni life, still prefer gas stove for cooking
Dec 21 2016, 12:34 PM
Dec 21 2016, 12:44 PM
366 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Sin City |
Dec 21 2016, 12:47 PM
722 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
if you are a real cook, then induction cooker will not cut it for you. induction cooker is only for simple and light cooking.
the saving part is not important because end of the day it depends whether if you use it or not. |
Dec 21 2016, 01:24 PM
53 posts Joined: May 2015 |
QUOTE(edwardstevens @ Dec 21 2016, 11:22 AM) This one looks quite good. Less usage of gas too. |
Dec 21 2016, 01:30 PM
1,902 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Dec 21 2016, 01:32 PM
2,329 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
induction cooker consumes a lot of electricity...
think before you decide |
Dec 21 2016, 01:33 PM
17 posts Joined: May 2016 |
QUOTE(zanzerk @ Dec 21 2016, 11:09 AM) Moving to new house soon, we are thinking either to have normal gas stove or new tech Induction cooker. Dapur induksi tidak bagus untuk kegunaan harian. Bill elektrik lebih tinggi, kalau tiada elektrik kamu kena berlapar, perlukan masa untuk menyesuaikan diri dengan cara pembakaran dapurIs it worth money and for long term use? Anyone use induction cooker before, can advise any good brand? Thanks Captain! Nampak menarik tetapi menyusahkan sebenarnya. Mahu cantik, beli dapur gas rinai. This post has been edited by sultanmurka: Dec 21 2016, 01:33 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 01:35 PM
93 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Been using induction cooker for more many years now.
I'm using air fryer too. No problem since my wife is a good cook. |
Dec 21 2016, 01:39 PM
Whoever say induction cooker consume a lot electricity, either they are using very old type cooker or just lying.
Dec 21 2016, 01:43 PM
647 posts Joined: Jun 2016 |
Its good if you can work with the rapid heat. I find it difficult to work with, once you set the heat too high, you wanna lower it down, its too late..some induction cooker also has the minimum heat too high. Cant really control heat manually like normal gas stove..i personally dislike it.
Dec 21 2016, 01:44 PM
93 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Dec 21 2016, 01:39 PM) Whoever say induction cooker consume a lot electricity, either they are using very old type cooker or just lying. Kinda agree with you. I don't see much difference with or without induction cooker. But again, we only cooks twice a day - morning and evening. Maybe they cook more than that. |
Dec 21 2016, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Dec 21 2016, 01:39 PM) Whoever say induction cooker consume a lot electricity, either they are using very old type cooker or just lying. It does. Mine is brand new model.Easily added RM80 to RM100 to electric bill monthly. And we only cook for dinner and weekend. gas 1 tong=RM3x, 1 month also cannot finish. This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 21 2016, 01:46 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 01:48 PM
2,746 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: 21st century |
QUOTE(zanzerk @ Dec 21 2016, 11:09 AM) Moving to new house soon, we are thinking either to have normal gas stove or new tech Induction cooker. Depends.Is it worth money and for long term use? Anyone use induction cooker before, can advise any good brand? Thanks Captain! Im doing R&D cooking for company. cause office cannot use fire. For boiling water, cook instant noodles, perfect combination. If to cook curry, fried fish. Fire the best, cause consistent heat |
279 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: Subang Jaya SS15 |
QUOTE(10996455 @ Dec 21 2016, 11:12 AM) have you really try before? i been using induction for 4 years now...cook what also no problem even can make bolognese spaghetti , can steam bun (pau), can deep fry food...fry egg, soft boiled egg all no problem..... |
Dec 21 2016, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 21 2016, 01:46 PM) It does. Mine is brand new model. Every night air con, everyday cook 2 times with induction cooker, oven, fridge, tv, home theater, etc, monthly tnb bill < rm50.Easily added RM80 to RM100 to electric bill monthly. And we only cook for dinner and weekend. gas 1 tong=RM3x, 1 month also cannot finish. |
Dec 21 2016, 01:58 PM
67 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Dec 21 2016, 01:53 PM) Every night air con, everyday cook 2 times with induction cooker, oven, fridge, tv, home theater, etc, monthly tnb bill < rm50. bro, your meter "rosak" but i agree that induction cooker is energy efficient, does not consume big amounts of electricity. This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Dec 21 2016, 01:59 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 02:01 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:03 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(makiyo1608 @ Dec 21 2016, 11:39 AM) This one looks very tempting. Providing a flameless, smokeless, toxic gas free, safe and hygienic food preparation environment. http://sugawa.co/en/products/smart-cooker |
Dec 21 2016, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(Amy09 @ Dec 21 2016, 01:48 PM) have you really try before? i been using induction for 4 years now...cook what also no problem even can make bolognese spaghetti , can steam bun (pau), can deep fry food...fry egg, soft boiled egg all no problem..... Western food sure no problem. But if chinese stir fry style?U know why good fried rice can't be done with induction cooker? Because the heat not high and consistent enough. |
Dec 21 2016, 02:05 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:06 PM
92 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
next year gas price gonna go up. better get one of those cooker, just for standby. shit, might as well convert my kitchen into open air type and revert back to kayu api cooking.
Dec 21 2016, 02:07 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:09 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:10 PM
4,649 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Tāmaki Makaurau |
Do you love planet Earth? If no then go with gas stove.
Dec 21 2016, 02:10 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Dec 21 2016, 02:04 PM) Western food sure no problem. But if chinese stir fry style? i also stir fry what...onions...ginger..minced meat...U know why good fried rice can't be done with induction cooker? Because the heat not high and consistent enough. not sure what induction u use la..the one i use max heat up to 400 degree boiled water less than 5 minutes already boiled with max heat |
Dec 21 2016, 02:15 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:18 PM
310 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(Amy09 @ Dec 21 2016, 01:48 PM) have you really try before? i been using induction for 4 years now...cook what also no problem even can make bolognese spaghetti , can steam bun (pau), can deep fry food...fry egg, soft boiled egg all no problem..... i think he still haven't learn how to use it well.when using gas , we usually put the wok on the stove and heat it up.after tht only put in oil/water ... induction tak bulih , cause they heat up very fast , so u must put the oil in the wok then only switch it on. actually induction easy to use. just when stir fry need sometime to get used to it and how to adjust the heat. well , a lot ask heat is heat , y gas n induction different. 1)ok,gas stove control knob it round and circle , u turn to whatever position you want. but induction is button control.so every degree/number u choose is preset with specific heat output. example , u want to braise pork using induction , u choose indicator 1 the power is too low but indicator 2 is too high. u cant get 1.5 but with gas stove , no prob. 2)the heat consistency. in gas stove especially u turn to the lowest flame to simmer something. u will c the soup keep on heating.(how to c? c the bubbles in the soup) but induction works in a way where is u want a low heat , they supply electricity 1sec then stop 1 sec. something like tht , which means heat>stop>heat>stop. so there is no consistency in overall heating. thus this does effect some cooking. 3)induction is very power saving and efficient as it only heats up base on how big your pot is.and the heat supply is very balance around the pot. but this is where gas stove wins especially in chinese cooking where we need the whole wok is heated up and heat concentrate in the middle of the wok. this is what we call wok hei.furthermore with tnb rates , using gas stil cheaper. 4)safety wise i think is the same. depends how to take care and which product u use. if u say gas leaking might meletup. induction oso might leak electricity and kill u or burn down your house. and those marketing ppl say induction safe because after cook , the plate wont be hot. who in the sane mind will touch the burner stove right after cooking? i found this benefit really irrelevant. and 1 more point is check your area for gas delivery. last time i move to new area. no gas delivery nearby. have to angkut sendiri from kedai runcit. damn heavy i tell u. used induction during my apartment days for 5yrs. still missed gas.new place already use back gas. at the end , if u seldom do chinese style cooking , go for induction. if u like me cina apek style , definitely gas. |
Dec 21 2016, 02:18 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:23 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:33 PM
2,926 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Try halogen cooktop
Dec 21 2016, 02:33 PM
Dec 21 2016, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 21 2016, 02:10 PM) That is because you never see how rural people who cook with wood. .... Yes not fastest but taste and smell are different. Yeah I do sometimes when I have to eat alone. Anyway, did you ever cook rice using gas stove? QUOTE(Amy09 @ Dec 21 2016, 02:11 PM) i also stir fry what...onions...ginger..minced meat... Maybe I am bad in convey message my own opinion. not sure what induction u use la..the one i use max heat up to 400 degree boiled water less than 5 minutes already boiled with max heat Refer the quote below. QUOTE(santaclaus @ Dec 21 2016, 02:18 PM) i think he still haven't learn how to use it well. Finally someone who appreciates cainisss apek styleee! when using gas , we usually put the wok on the stove and heat it up.after tht only put in oil/water ... induction tak bulih , cause they heat up very fast , so u must put the oil in the wok then only switch it on. actually induction easy to use. just when stir fry need sometime to get used to it and how to adjust the heat. well , a lot ask heat is heat , y gas n induction different. 1)ok,gas stove control knob it round and circle , u turn to whatever position you want. but induction is button control.so every degree/number u choose is preset with specific heat output. example , u want to braise pork using induction , u choose indicator 1 the power is too low but indicator 2 is too high. u cant get 1.5 but with gas stove , no prob. 2)the heat consistency. in gas stove especially u turn to the lowest flame to simmer something. u will c the soup keep on heating.(how to c? c the bubbles in the soup) but induction works in a way where is u want a low heat , they supply electricity 1sec then stop 1 sec. something like tht , which means heat>stop>heat>stop. so there is no consistency in overall heating. thus this does effect some cooking. 3)induction is very power saving and efficient as it only heats up base on how big your pot is.and the heat supply is very balance around the pot. but this is where gas stove wins especially in chinese cooking where we need the whole wok is heated up and heat concentrate in the middle of the wok. this is what we call wok hei.furthermore with tnb rates , using gas stil cheaper. 4)safety wise i think is the same. depends how to take care and which product u use. if u say gas leaking might meletup. induction oso might leak electricity and kill u or burn down your house. and those marketing ppl say induction safe because after cook , the plate wont be hot. who in the sane mind will touch the burner stove right after cooking? i found this benefit really irrelevant. and 1 more point is check your area for gas delivery. last time i move to new area. no gas delivery nearby. have to angkut sendiri from kedai runcit. damn heavy i tell u. used induction during my apartment days for 5yrs. still missed gas.new place already use back gas. at the end , if u seldom do chinese style cooking , go for induction. if u like me cina apek style , definitely gas. |
Dec 21 2016, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(santaclaus @ Dec 21 2016, 02:18 PM) i think he still haven't learn how to use it well. for long cooking or stew food still can do but vary from brand and provide different function...so when you buy that time you can check the function...the one i using got timer...just set how many minute once reach then it will stop, and i live in condo no gas delivery which not convenience then use to using induction no problem on control heatwhen using gas , we usually put the wok on the stove and heat it up.after tht only put in oil/water ... induction tak bulih , cause they heat up very fast , so u must put the oil in the wok then only switch it on. actually induction easy to use. just when stir fry need sometime to get used to it and how to adjust the heat. well , a lot ask heat is heat , y gas n induction different. 1)ok,gas stove control knob it round and circle , u turn to whatever position you want. but induction is button control.so every degree/number u choose is preset with specific heat output. example , u want to braise pork using induction , u choose indicator 1 the power is too low but indicator 2 is too high. u cant get 1.5 but with gas stove , no prob. 2)the heat consistency. in gas stove especially u turn to the lowest flame to simmer something. u will c the soup keep on heating.(how to c? c the bubbles in the soup) but induction works in a way where is u want a low heat , they supply electricity 1sec then stop 1 sec. something like tht , which means heat>stop>heat>stop. so there is no consistency in overall heating. thus this does effect some cooking. 3)induction is very power saving and efficient as it only heats up base on how big your pot is.and the heat supply is very balance around the pot. but this is where gas stove wins especially in chinese cooking where we need the whole wok is heated up and heat concentrate in the middle of the wok. this is what we call wok hei.furthermore with tnb rates , using gas stil cheaper. 4)safety wise i think is the same. depends how to take care and which product u use. if u say gas leaking might meletup. induction oso might leak electricity and kill u or burn down your house. and those marketing ppl say induction safe because after cook , the plate wont be hot. who in the sane mind will touch the burner stove right after cooking? i found this benefit really irrelevant. and 1 more point is check your area for gas delivery. last time i move to new area. no gas delivery nearby. have to angkut sendiri from kedai runcit. damn heavy i tell u. used induction during my apartment days for 5yrs. still missed gas.new place already use back gas. at the end , if u seldom do chinese style cooking , go for induction. if u like me cina apek style , definitely gas. This post has been edited by Amy09: Dec 21 2016, 02:46 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 02:48 PM
279 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: KL |
Dec 21 2016, 02:50 PM
17,022 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Dec 21 2016, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 21 2016, 12:21 PM) not all heat are equal... my point is induction cooker are not designed for things with non-inductive bottomed pans/pots and wok. The heat will not travel thru. Also round bottom things like wok also cannot work properly with induction as the surface is flat. Got flat bottomed wok but i never triedI have both and to me, food taste better with gas cooker... i think becoz of uneven distribution of heat into the cooking that my household does. again this is my opinion. |
Dec 21 2016, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Dec 21 2016, 02:58 PM) not all heat are equal... my point is induction cooker are not designed for things with non-inductive bottomed pans/pots and wok. The heat will not travel thru. Also round bottom things like wok also cannot work properly with induction as the surface is flat. Got flat bottomed wok but i never tried ya things is induction you need pan or pot that can work with indcution,...normal gas wok type wont work as no heatI have both and to me, food taste better with gas cooker... i think becoz of uneven distribution of heat into the cooking that my household does. again this is my opinion. |
Dec 21 2016, 03:02 PM
It's a matter of preference.
Induction cookers can cook with wok la, got wok hei la Just that pipul mostly buy/use light-duty induction cookers and not heavy-duty/commercial ones. Miss the flames? no flames is not "real cooking"? can use this This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Dec 21 2016, 03:06 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 03:10 PM
brudder.... u look at d size of the commercial induction cooker la dei.
420sqft rumah how to muat... masuk bedroom ka? |
Dec 21 2016, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Dec 21 2016, 03:10 PM) brudder.... u look at d size of the commercial induction cooker la dei. The cooker itself is the same / almost same size as gas cooker la420sqft rumah how to muat... masuk bedroom ka? u tengok baik2 dun tengok the entire cooking area la - if u look at entire cooking area, use gas cooker pun same big2 This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Dec 21 2016, 03:18 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 03:23 PM
70 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
QUOTE(edwardstevens @ Dec 21 2016, 11:22 AM) Looking good man |
Dec 21 2016, 03:25 PM
anyway ape nak gaduh sgt, just use whatever type of stove /cooker u prefer la
u see this woman, few batu n kayu, she can cook so many things (even turkey nearlee as big as her, she kasi mati herself even), look damn sedap oso Put Gordon Ramsay in that enviroment, 100% he This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Dec 21 2016, 03:26 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 03:28 PM
2,499 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Tyneside |
Been using Sugawa Induction + Radiant for 3 years now.
Do agree that certain part like Chinese WOK style of frying still better using gas but if you are a competent cook, it doesn't taste much difference. As for electricity, my bills were below RM100 a month with just one A/C. After the whole house were installed with A/C (6 in total) then only my bill shoot up to RM400 / month. So claims that induction cooker take a lot of electric is kinda BS if u ask me. Pro - Save Space - Easy to Clean - Certain type of boiling / cooking is faster Cons - Fried type of cooking especially using WOK would not taste as nice as using gas stove - Electricity bill might be expensive if only u exceed RM1xx a month because of subsidy and GST charges. |
Dec 21 2016, 03:57 PM
234 posts Joined: May 2013 |
QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Dec 21 2016, 03:25 PM) anyway ape nak gaduh sgt, just use whatever type of stove /cooker u prefer la u see this woman, few batu n kayu, she can cook so many things (even turkey nearlee as big as her, she kasi mati herself even), look damn sedap oso Put Gordon Ramsay in that enviroment, 100% he |
Dec 21 2016, 04:34 PM
123 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Gas stove still best in heat control ,
I don't like induction especially cook complicated stuff, Example to cook nice salmon fillet , If using gas stove , ur pan u cooked ur salmon and u take put the pan with salmon aside and use new pan for cooking taste/ sauce. If u use induction , u cook ur salmon u must put the salmon onto a plate, because if u leave at the pan aside u will overcooked , induction cooker heat up very fast but heat down blardy slow. Then u can use the same pan to cook ur sauce and slide back ur salmon on the the pan. But ur salmon doesn't look pretty anymore , If u don't do that then the salmon doesn't absorb the sauce into the meat , so it taste abit off, This post has been edited by mars2003: Dec 21 2016, 04:36 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 04:38 PM
92 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
get this two combination; induction cooker plus a steamer, for induction cooker get a good quality thick bottom flat pan , thinner bottom harder to control the heat
Dec 21 2016, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(mars2003 @ Dec 21 2016, 04:34 PM) Gas stove still best in heat control , induction can tilt....fun fact i tilt when cooking fry egg... just not as high as gas stoveI don't like induction especially cook complicated stuff, Example to cook nice salmon fillet , If using gas stove , ur pan u cooked ur salmon and u take put the pan with salmon aside and use new pan for cooking taste/ sauce. If u use induction , u cook ur salmon u must put the salmon onto a plate, because if u leave at the pan aside u will overcooked , induction cooker heat up very fast but heat down blardy slow. Then u can use the same pan to cook ur sauce and slide back ur salmon on the the pan. But ur salmon doesn't look pretty anymore , If u don't do that then the salmon doesn't absorb the sauce into the meat , so it taste abit off, |
Dec 21 2016, 04:41 PM
5,650 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
get both
gas permanently installed , and induction portable. |
Dec 21 2016, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Dec 21 2016, 02:58 PM) not all heat are equal... my point is induction cooker are not designed for things with non-inductive bottomed pans/pots and wok. The heat will not travel thru. Also round bottom things like wok also cannot work properly with induction as the surface is flat. Got flat bottomed wok but i never tried I cannot picture what you are saying.I have both and to me, food taste better with gas cooker... i think becoz of uneven distribution of heat into the cooking that my household does. again this is my opinion. Better you invite me to your place and let me try your cooking using fire and induction. Then I see the difference. Thank you. |
Dec 21 2016, 05:21 PM
2 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
Rinnai gas stove is the best
Dec 21 2016, 06:10 PM
Dec 21 2016, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(CKKwan @ Dec 21 2016, 06:10 PM) I don't believe anyone who says their bill with aircond, water heater induction and a few person in the family with RM50 bill, unless the meter's RIGGED.Nuff said. This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 21 2016, 06:16 PM |
Dec 21 2016, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 21 2016, 06:16 PM) I don't believe anyone who says their bill with aircond, water heater induction and a few person in the family with RM50 bill, unless the meter's RIGGED. I said when I am not around.Nuff said. Even if I am around (away for 1 week only), at home only during night time, my electricity for this month only RM120+. TNB did came and check my meter. They stick a green label on it after that. No issue! |
Dec 21 2016, 06:29 PM
Dec 21 2016, 06:47 PM
Jan 10 2017, 04:01 PM
424 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Petaling Jaya |
Read all posts and very few actually mentions the brand of their induction cooker. Let alone picture. ;P
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0267sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:49 PM |