5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V39

SUSadvocado
post Aug 22 2017, 10:30 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 22 2017, 10:25 AM)
Judging by your history of being jack of all trades in every subject,

just have a quick chat with the shop keepers next time you walk into gamers arena or other shops. an easy question would be "Boss Price Up Again ah". they will tell you yen going up can't do anything. sure maybe they are lying but why would they?

unless the shop is busy most of them are more than happy for quick chat.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 23 2017, 10:10 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 23 2017, 09:38 AM)
ok noted thanks.

guys im back with question, i just finish sanding n building the skirt part last night and the ball joints there r really loose. one touch and it might fall off, wats the best way to tighten it? i read some ppl use mr cement some use super glue but from my understanding, mr cement melt the plastic to hold it together wit another parts so super glue is a better choice if i wan to tighten it n still able to move it around?
if you read cement, i think i know who wrote that. he is a famous gundam collector who never builds his gundams, but can provide alot of professional advise on how to build gundams.

if you follow his guidelines it will ensure chaos & battle damage effects on your gundam. some say it will look like someone used a hammer to hit it.

what you want is something that doesn't corrode the plastic but hardens and leaves a thin layer to increase the grip.

Super Glue is hard to control and when dry it becomes really hard. So if you only have access to Super Glue, do it moderately.

I would recommend something like Pledge Future Floor Care. it is acrylic and leaves thin layer, does corrode and can be easily removed with alcohol wipes. and if you need a gloss finish esp small parts & transparent canopies, they are great compared to spraying.

rm60+- at Ace Hardware.

also wait for it to fully dry before you put the joints back. if it's ball joint and already connected, you have to keep moving the part until it dries. in this case super glue pose a high risk of permanently fixing the joints.

another alternate low cost method would be put a small piece of tissue paper between the joints...

This post has been edited by advocado: Aug 23 2017, 10:11 PM
SUSadvocado
post Aug 23 2017, 10:16 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 23 2017, 10:10 AM)
You apply the cement or glue, let it dry before you attach it to the peg.
you only apply cement when you want to attach 2 bare plastic parts permanently.

please don't give wrong info as people have damaged their model kits this way because someone on the internet told them it works.

well another purpose for using cement is if you want to damage the part for some reason, like melting damage effects.

SUSadvocado
post Aug 23 2017, 10:18 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 23 2017, 10:13 AM)
oh ok, thanks. i read so much comments on people saying RG rx-78-2 is flimsy but so far i built the legs and skirt, they seems fine to me  hmm.gif
did you paint the joints? if you did, maybe it added thickness to the joints so they are more sturdy.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 23 2017, 10:19 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 23 2017, 10:21 AM)
could be, time to go buy more sand papers  biggrin.gif
is gundam cheap in HK? im going there next months and i read many ppl saying its cheap
not cheap. even cheap, only abit, sometimes, more exp after conversion.

want real cheap, have to go Japan. buy 2nd hand unbuilt kits.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 23 2017, 10:21 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 23 2017, 06:42 PM)
Not much different but some can be good deal
I bought metal composite Phenex for 999hkd around 500-600 here while most starting as much as 700-900 in our market
model kit not cheap. but toys are cheaper. can even find some legendary toys not many people actually get a chance to see in actual. God status vintage toys. God price too.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 23 2017, 10:21 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 23 2017, 10:18 PM)
Ok, real life Meijin Kawaguchi 4.
people give you correction you want to be sarcastic.

hai...
SUSadvocado
post Aug 23 2017, 10:26 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 23 2017, 10:23 PM)
Like I said, OK.

Looks like I have been doing the wrong thing for the past 15 years although the cement-reinforced joints turned absolutely the way I wanted them to.

Cement =/ corrosive acid.

But then again you're the Master.
OK whatever works for you.

I retract my words regarding using cement to reinforce joints then.

I apologize for my mistake.

Sorry.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 24 2017, 10:19 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 24 2017, 06:48 PM)
Did it myself. It is become not so hard layer and probably will use more cement than needed to get the thick layer.

Also the extra thin type cement cant use to fix loose joint at all. It will evaporate like water when it dries.
u use cement it will melt the surface of the joint to form a thicker layer, by doing so you reduce the integrity of the joint. sure you can put more cement to melt more plastic to add thickness but the joints will become even more brittle.

on ball joint it's even harder to control the flow.

adding putty is the troublesome way to fix it you end up have to sand it down.

adding super glue is a quick fix but you risk over pouring and gluing the joint permanent.

paint will make the joint look ugly.

future floor care is the best as it dries quick, leaves a transparent coat, easy to loosen even if it sticks, and can be easily removed with alcohol wipes, only downside is it leaves a gloss finish, which can be top coated with flat. however you probably wouldn't want to use this method.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 25 2017, 12:18 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 24 2017, 11:15 AM)
RG is made from abs?

ah shit last night sand too much when trying to remove the nub mark, ended up some details lost and the nub mark still there n wont go away  cry.gif
you can recarve or deepen the details lost if you know how they look like. with a hobby knife.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 25 2017, 12:39 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 25 2017, 12:22 PM)
the 1 lost is the detail tht pop out >< meaning i flatten it, i guess i will just make it as battle damage
putty, recarve & sand, if you know how.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 25 2017, 08:25 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(onnylam @ Aug 25 2017, 07:31 PM)
Nope, they only deliver within Singapore, registering requires a valid Singapore address.
ask nearlee to help you guys lo. belanja him makan when he comes kl.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 28 2017, 11:07 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Aug 27 2017, 02:25 PM)
Hi

I am trying to build Sazabi Ver Ka using metalic colour. Any advice? This will be my first build. Appreciate all the guidance.

Thansk
hi, i'm doing 1st time on metallic color.

here's my finding:

1.Need to sand nub marks & uneven surface down as much as you can from 200-1500 sandpaper.

2.Wash the parts with soap water and dry, ensure minimal dust. Wash hand with soap before handling parts.

3.Stick them on satay sticks with blutac and poke the sticks onto a box.

4.Prime the parts using high grit primers (eg Surfacer 1000). Make sure the priming is smooth & even. Leave it dry. Any uneven surface needs to be sanded down with 600-1500 grit sandpapers.

5.Spray the now primed parts with Gloss Black and ensure it's smooth & even. Gloss Black is essential when spraying metallic paints on. I don't know the science behind it but i tried spraying Chrome Silver on grey prime the paint just stays very thin and not shinny. Leave it dry.

6.Spray the metallic coated parts with semi-clear color of your choice. make sure it's even & smooth. Wait for dry.

7.Apply a Gloss Coat on the parts to seal & protect the paint.

always start with a test part to see if you do anything wrong.

before you start handling or applying decals i suggest leave the parts cure for 1 week.

and don't forget to constantly dust off the dusts each time you start working on it.

and make sure the pegs aren't painted, if you did, you need to scrap the paint off or else the parts might not fit well.

if you need to seal off any seam lines, you should do it before you start painting because metallic involves multiple stages of painting you not easy to touch up.

and of course, handle with care when assembling.

you can do it, if you be careful and always work on a test part 1st.

SUSadvocado
post Aug 30 2017, 02:30 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Amy09 @ Aug 29 2017, 04:25 PM)
can anyone intro any cheap yet not bad quality for air brush?
how cheap is cheap?

to some Sparmax 0.3D is cheap. >rm200.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 30 2017, 02:32 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Amy09 @ Aug 30 2017, 01:31 PM)
painted metallic top to toe Kamiki burning Gundam

note: the front skirt will fix by this weekend

method: tamiya spray can

color: Gloss Alluminium (white part also double layer under red)
          Metallic Red (red part)
          Gold (V fin and chest part)
        Light Gun metal (all grey part "joints"  and the thruster also use as double layer cover purple)
          Metallic Blue:  cover the part suppose to be purple

next will be  kamiki 2.0 will be using air brush (which why i looking for one now)
did you prime & black gloss it before the metallic? metallic doesn't look as shiny uness the surface is Gloss, black is a plus.

Now Prime+Black Gloss only rm40+ per can. Tamiya, not cheap lo.

SUSadvocado
post Aug 30 2017, 02:36 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 30 2017, 09:09 AM)
cant decide on my 2nd gunpla, MG acguy or z'gok or any other gunpla to recommend? prefer something tht looks kinda fat instead of cool looking gundam. my RG RX-78-2 almost done building
Gelgoog, Dom, Acguy, Zgok & their marine relatives.

or those grunts in Ironblood.

or the Golden robot in Turn A.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 30 2017, 02:37 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(guarayakha @ Aug 30 2017, 10:23 AM)
Personally, I'd recommend MG Acguy simply because he's HUGE, and looks cool even in his "depressed, sits in a corner" pose laugh.gif

obviously you haven't seen him lying on his tatami watching TV.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 30 2017, 02:38 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 30 2017, 11:11 AM)
think will get MG acguy
i use elephant super glue, left it overnight, when push the joint inside, some of it peeled off
when you are using permanent adhesive you suppose to keep moving the joints for 15 minutes.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 30 2017, 02:40 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 30 2017, 11:40 AM)
What is not elephant glue end with whitish residue? I found a selley glue which bind plastic together and does not turn white, however it takes longer to dry compare to elephant

i use the Elephant picture glue sold in Mr.DIY, rm0.70 though, they upped the price. last time rm0.50. all glue will leave white residue if you touch or rub it before it dries out.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 30 2017, 03:51 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 30 2017, 02:55 PM)
But I tried this and it's clear after drying, elephant even if it's clear after dry, when u try to move area like joints around it will turn into sandy white residue and sometime crack if it's thick

I don't attach the joint and move around before drying anyway, usually file it when its dry then only I attach the joint togethsf
yes most glue will white if you rub/sand it.

if it's separate joint you don't need to move it. but if it's assembled joints like ball you need to keep moving it.

how bout try Future Floor Care or any clear paint?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:52 PM