126 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Cycling, Any cyclist here??

H2D
post Jul 10 2011, 01:14 AM

598 posts

well tough n reliable very hard to say....
1k bike, the parts are all very entry level,...
as long as u dun thrash it off road, mebe can tahan very long,
u wana go off road once a week,,, duno can tahan how long..

earlier post got this bike mar.... just what u r looking for...

http://www.mudah.my/Nexus+Element+Elite+Bi...ke-10171348.htm

hydraulic disbrek summore....
pooh88
post Jul 10 2011, 02:25 AM

Malaysia Tennis Enthusiast
2,367 posts

Bro,

This brand below MTB is it consider ok or not?
I not a MTB expert,need ur advice if possible nod.gif

http://www.usjcycles.com/value-buy-exitway-xcr-ex

VALUE BUY! Exitway XCR EX (NEW)

Specifications:

Frame size: 16.5”
Frame Tubing Exitway Aluminum Frame
Front Fork SR Suntour XCT 80mm travel adjustable
Rear Shock none
Headset Integrated head set
Crankarms CW10-XCT-V3-T312-PB
Pedals Nylon Bearing Pedals
Crank SR Suntour 42/32/22T
B/B *Ball bearings bottom bracket
Front derailleur Shimano Tourney
Rear derailleur Shimano Altus
Shifters Shimano Acera SL-M360 Rapidfire
Cassette Shimano 8spd (Mega Range)
Chain KMC
Front hub 36h (with quick release)
Rear hub 36h (with quick release)
Rims Alloy double wall rim
Tires KENDA Semi-slick tires
Brake set Tektro Draco Hydraulic Brake system
Brake levers Tektro Draco Hydraulic Brake Lever
Handlebar Oversized alloy handle bar
Stem Oversized handlebar stem
Tape/grip Comfort rubber grip
Saddle Exitway Saddle
Seat post Kalloy 27.2
Seat clamp Exitway seat clamp
Color(s) White (red decal) , White (blue decal) as shown picture above
Weight(kg) estimate 15*
Price RRP Rm1299

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 10 2011, 01:14 AM)
u wana go off road once a week,,, duno can tahan how long..[SIZE=14]

This post has been edited by pooh88: Jul 10 2011, 02:57 AM
H2D
post Jul 10 2011, 02:28 AM

598 posts

i'm not expert oso..

but i read the mtb thread....

they say if around 1k or below.... no nid look at the spec in detail...
cos all kinda same same wan...
if u like the bike, buy it, price ngam.... buy it... thats all.....
pooh88
post Jul 10 2011, 02:29 AM

2,367 posts

Bro,

Nexus Bike the link u send me is it consider average bike or could be consider a bigginer MTB at tis range?

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 10 2011, 01:14 AM)
u wana go off road once a week,,, duno can tahan how long..

H2D
post Jul 10 2011, 02:32 AM

598 posts

both oso can lar....
i c u frm klang ar?> there got a lot bike shop mar... go look see look see lor,,,
wht u intend to use the bike for?

pooh88
post Jul 10 2011, 02:35 AM

2,367 posts

Bro,

Thanks for your advice.
Maybe i will look at the USJ Cycle shop see what they sell 1st ?
See got any value MTB special offer tongue.gif

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 10 2011, 02:28 AM)
i'm not expert oso..

but i read the mtb thread....

they say if around 1k or below.... no nid look at the spec in detail...
cos all kinda same same wan...
if u like the bike, buy it, price ngam.... buy it... thats all.....
H2D
post Jul 10 2011, 02:38 AM

598 posts

but i always tot thing are cheaper in klang...
hv a look around.....

Added on July 10, 2011, 2:40 amone more, there's a few bike shop in subang area... if u look hard enuff, u can find them all... so u can compare more..
raleigh bikes are oso around 1k punya.....

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 10 2011, 02:40 AM
pooh88
post Jul 10 2011, 02:43 AM

2,367 posts

Klang also got few MTB shops,maybe i thought can ask the expert here can recommend me a few better options beside Klang. laugh.gif

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 10 2011, 02:38 AM)
but i always tot thing are cheaper in klang...
hv a look around.....

Added on July 10, 2011, 2:40 amone more, there's a few bike shop in subang area... if u look hard enuff, u can find them all... so u can compare more..
raleigh bikes are oso around 1k punya.....
H2D
post Jul 13 2011, 12:29 AM

598 posts

come everyone! more the merrier..

http://www.ocbc.cyclemalaysia.com.my/
steveysl
post Jul 13 2011, 12:17 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 13 2011, 12:29 AM)
come everyone! more the merrier..

http://www.ocbc.cyclemalaysia.com.my/
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
thanks for sharing. another riding event. will go for 48k.
sleepygeepy
post Jul 14 2011, 03:20 PM

Hello Guys,

I've been a long time lurker but this is my first post so I hope it's ok smile.gif

I've been doing some research on entry level mountain bikes for the past 2 weeks. There are so many brands and models but so far those that stand out in terms of "bang-for-buck" are the ones from XDS, Exitway, Raleigh and Volcano. If you are planning to buy a mountain bike with a limited budget (RM1K to RM2K) I suggest you check these models out first before you go with the big name brands (Trek, Giant, Cannondale, Specialized etc).

My budget was only RM 1.5K max, but I was able to get the following bike:

Exitway Team 512 (or Team SL2)
Frame: 6066 Alloy Hydroforming Tubing
Fork: Suntour XCT V2 120mm Travel(Lockout,preload)
Cranks: Suntour XCP PPF 44/32/22T
Front Derailleur: Shimano Alivio
Rear Derailleur: Shimano Alivio 9 Speed
Shifters: Shimano Alivio
Chain: KMC
Rims: Mavic 117X Double Wall
Hub :KT Seal Bearing 32H
Tyre : Kenda Kobra 26 x 2.0
Brake: Tektro Draco Hydraulic Disc
Handlebar: Exitway Alloy Riser Bar
Stem: Alloy
Saddle: WTB Pure V
Seat Post: Alloy
Seat Clamp: Aluminium QR

For the parts alone this bike is a very good deal. If you have the shop build a bike with the same parts it will probably cost you more than RM 2K. What most people do is buy these bikes for the parts then later on upgrade the frame and fork to something lighter.

If you are looking for "bang-for-buck" bikes with very good components do check out the following models:

XDS MX 8.5 (Hydraulic Discs and Shimano Alivio 27 speed drivetrain)
XDS Team 512 (Hydraulic Discs and Shimano Alivio 27 speed drivetrain)
XDS 29477 "CROSSRIDE" (New 29-inch model from XDS)
Volcano Cyclone (Hydraulic Discs and Shimano Alivio 27 speed drivetrain)
EXITWAY KSX (Hydraulic Discs, Shimano 2012 Deore 30 speed drivetrain, Rockshox Fork)
EXITWAY S9 SL V00 (Hydraulic Discs, SRAM X9 30 speed drivetrain, Suntour Epicon Fork)

Buy these bikes for the parts then when you have more budget later on, you can change the fork or the frame to improve the bike's weight and handling.

Hope this Helps
sleepygeepy

This post has been edited by sleepygeepy: Jul 14 2011, 06:32 PM
Asrat
post Jul 14 2011, 03:38 PM

18 posts

What's up guys,

Anybody going to Ipoh this Sunday for Century Ride.

Hope to see you there. smile.gif
pooh88
post Jul 14 2011, 03:54 PM

2,367 posts

Bro

Can i ask u how much is below bikes retail price if u don mind to share with me nod.gif

XDS MX 8.5 (Hydraulic Discs and Shimano Alivio 27 speed drivetrain)
XDS Team 512 (Hydraulic Discs and Shimano Alivio 27 speed drivetrain)
XDS 29477 "CROSSRIDE" (New 29-inch model from XDS)
Volcano Cyclone (Hydraulic Discs and Shimano Alivio 27 speed drivetrain)
EXITWAY KSX (Hydraulic Discs, Shimano 2012 Deore 30 speed drivetrain, Rockshox Fork)
EXITWAY S9 SL V00 (Hydraulic Discs, SRAM X9 30 speed drivetrain, Suntour Epicon Fork)

Buy these bikes for the parts then when you have more budget later on, you can change the fork or the frame to improve the bike's weight and handling.

Hope this Helps
sleepygeepy

[/quote]

H2D
post Jul 14 2011, 04:14 PM

598 posts

thanks sleepy, for sharing these infos..

as suggested, these bikes should be no more than 2k?

to get the exact price u need to check out bike shops, call them and ask.
those bike shop in klang valley suburbs , or outstation should have these.
there is a whole list in the lerun website link i posted above.

[quote=pooh88,Jul 14 2011, 03:54 PM]
Bro

Can i ask u how much is below bikes retail price if u don mind to share with me nod.gif

Hope this Helps
sleepygeepy

[/quote]

[/quote]

pooh88
post Jul 14 2011, 04:31 PM

2,367 posts

Bro,

U heard of Hasa MTB before ? rolleyes.gif

[quote=H2D,Jul 14 2011, 04:14 PM]
thanks sleepy, for sharing these infos..

as suggested, these bikes should be no more than 2k?

to get the exact price u need to check out bike shops, call them and ask.
those bike shop in klang valley suburbs , or outstation should have these.
there is a whole list in the lerun website link i posted above.

[/quote]

[/quote]

sleepygeepy
post Jul 14 2011, 04:32 PM

Hi pooh88,

Sure bro no problem. Here are the quoted prices I got from the bike shops I went to:

Note that these are the quoted prices of the bikes if paid in cash, and are subject to change...

EXITWAY X9 SL V00 = RM 2500
EXITWAY KSX = RM 1750
XDS Team 512 = RM 1300 ~ RM 1450 (lowest quote I got was RM 1300)
XDS 29477 CROSSRIDE = RM 2300
Volcano Cyclone = RM 1300

Other models that might interest you...
XDS MX 9.0 = RM 2300 (Hydraulic Discs, Shimano SLX 30 speed drivetrain, Rockshox Fork)
XDS Zero38 = RM 1300 (Hydraulic Discs, Shimano Altus/Acera 24 speed drive train)

I'm sure if you are a local and have good haggling skills you can get a much lower price. I will not mention the names of the shops (to be fair to them), but this will give you a good idea of how much the bikes will cost when paid in cash.

I highly suggest that you visit the bike shops first and make sure the bike you want is in stock. Then go there and check the size of the frame if it is the correct one for you. Note that for these "available-only-in-Malaysia" brand bikes (XDS, Exitway, Nexus, RBS etc.) they are only produced in limited numbers, so stocks are usually very very limited. If you can't find the model you want, sometimes it is better to wait for the next batch or shipment of new models to arrive in the bike shops.

You might also want to check the HASA brand of bikes. These have frames made in Taiwan and are (supposedly) of better quality. Unfortunately I was not able to do much research on the HASA brand of mountain bikes.

sleepygeepy

pooh88
post Jul 14 2011, 04:49 PM

2,367 posts

Bro Sleepy,

I when to 1 of the shop they recommend me to get the Hasa Bike cost more than 3K. rclxms.gif
The gears they used for this bike below parts: cool2.gif

http://www.hasabike.co.uk/bikes/hasa-mountain-bike-race-7/

ROCH SHOX DART2 (RMT)

ALLOY
7005DB CARBON H/T

MAVIC
XM317
W/CNC

SHIMANO
RD-M662SGS (SLX)

QUOTE(sleepygeepy @ Jul 14 2011, 04:32 PM)
Hi pooh88,

Sure bro no problem.  Here are the quoted prices I got from the bike shops I went to:

Note that these are the quoted prices of the bikes if paid in cash, and are subject to change...

EXITWAY X9 SL V00 = RM 2500
EXITWAY KSX = RM 1750
XDS Team 512 = RM 1300 ~ RM 1450 (lowest quote I got was RM 1300)
XDS 29477 CROSSRIDE = RM 2300
Volcano Cyclone = RM 1300

Other models that might interest you...
XDS MX 9.0 = RM 2300 (Hydraulic Discs, Shimano SLX 30 speed drivetrain, Rockshox Fork)
XDS Zero38 = RM 1300 (Hydraulic Discs, Shimano Altus/Acera 24 speed drive train)

I'm sure if you are a local and have good haggling skills you can get a much lower price.  I will not mention the names of the shops (to be fair to them), but this will give you a good idea of how much the bikes will cost when paid in cash. 

I highly suggest that you visit the bike shops first and make sure the bike you want is in stock.  Then go there and check the size of the frame if it is the correct one for you.  Note that for these "available-only-in-Malaysia" brand bikes (XDS, Exitway, Nexus, RBS etc.) they are only produced in limited numbers, so stocks are usually very very limited.  If you can't find the model you want, sometimes it is better to wait for the next batch or shipment of new models to arrive in the bike shops.

You might also want to check the HASA brand of bikes.  These have frames made in Taiwan and are (supposedly) of better quality. Unfortunately I was not able to do much research on the HASA brand of mountain bikes.

sleepygeepy
This post has been edited by pooh88: Jul 14 2011, 04:56 PM
sleepygeepy
post Jul 14 2011, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jul 14 2011, 04:49 PM)
Bro Sleepy,

I when to 1 of the shop they recommend be the Hasa Bike cost more than 3K. rclxms.gif
The gear they used for this bike is below parts: cool2.gif

http://www.hasabike.co.uk/bikes/hasa-mountain-bike-race-7/

ROCH SHOX DART2 (RMT)

ALLOY
7005DB CARBON H/T

MAVIC
XM317
W/CNC

SHIMANO
RD-M662SGS (SLX)
Bro pooh88

At more than RM 3K I would say that is already a high-end mountain bike! rclxms.gif From the parts alone I'm sure it will be expensive...

- Rock Shox Dart2
- Frame with Carbon Fiber?
- Shimano SLX groupset

With a budget of RM 3K there are so many choices already including the well known brands. You can also purchase a full suspension bike with that budget.

Try also looking at this website for XDS brand bikes:

Evanda-RMB
www.evanda-rmb.com

H2D
post Jul 14 2011, 06:02 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(sleepygeepy @ Jul 14 2011, 05:47 PM)
thanks for the infos,
its impossible to find website like these using google..
cos its using flash...
pooh88
post Jul 14 2011, 06:26 PM

2,367 posts

Bro Sleepy,

Thanks for the info.
I might get tis bike becos the taukeh throw me many freebies i cannot resist!! brows.gif
The boss gave me a very good discount for me tis Hasa MTB.
Where r u base,maybe we can meet up to talk about MTB 1 day nod.gif

QUOTE(sleepygeepy @ Jul 14 2011, 05:47 PM)
Bro pooh88

At more than RM 3K I would say that is already a high-end mountain bike! rclxms.gif  From the parts alone I'm sure it will be expensive...

- Rock Shox Dart2
- Frame with Carbon Fiber?
- Shimano SLX groupset

With a budget of RM 3K there are so many choices already including the well known brands.  You can also purchase a full suspension bike with that budget.

Try also looking at this website for XDS brand bikes:

Evanda-RMB
www.evanda-rmb.com

126 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:29 PM