6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Official Honda BR-V Owners' LYN Forum V1, Only the BRaVe...

PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 16 2017, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(reddevil04 @ Feb 16 2017, 06:36 AM)
NVH of a vehicle is normally measured with analytical tools and the results may differ from human impression as each human expectation differs from one to another, hence the mixed feelings.
the imoact is already very ibvious..no need complex tool.
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 16 2017, 01:15 PM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Feb 16 2017, 10:48 AM)
In that case, I'm thinking it's the case of either these:
- Suspension setup/types of suspension used(soft, firm, hard)
- The torsion beam for the rear suspension. Multi-linked is better but more expensive.
doubt how come others didnt have this issue, not to compare to sedan but avanza is far more better and very confident with uneven road or potholes.
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 16 2017, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(wayne @ Feb 16 2017, 02:55 PM)
hmm, u mentioned able to hear/feel the absorbers and dashboard while going over uneven roads/potholes? as in noise or rattling or just impact?
never drove an avanza before but comparing against vios and myvi, i guess its about same.
but again, suspension setup and tyres are different. imho from my driving experience, brv setup is a littler firmer but i like the stiffness though.
i do concur that NVH could do better then what honda said of improvements based on models from indo/thai.
probably cant feel the difference already with the amount of uneven roads and potholes i go thru everyday.lol
noise like local manufacturer car dashboard sound..afraid it will tanggal. Light uneven road still did the good job.
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 16 2017, 08:26 PM

QUOTE(wayne @ Feb 16 2017, 04:41 PM)
shouldnt be noisy or rattling, sounds like something is loose,clip or something.
just report it during 1k checkup or just walk in to check with honda. make them rectify it till you are satisfied.
u mean slightly uneven road is still ok?
Yes
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 16 2017, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(veron4best @ Feb 16 2017, 09:27 PM)
dry.gif

This is what I feel when I test drive it. Scare will tanggal.
maybe sound too over but this is the feeling... overall BRV is good, fun and pickup/ power is not an issue...

This post has been edited by PotatoChipSnack: Feb 16 2017, 09:49 PM
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 19 2017, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Feb 18 2017, 09:30 PM)
I dun use the radio at all. How about switching mode?
Hold the mode button on steering till silent activated.
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 21 2017, 03:50 PM

anyone did the online survey by receiving sms. After the survey you will have rm40 for your service..validity for 1 year the rm40 rebate.
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 23 2017, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(mistabean @ Feb 23 2017, 10:46 AM)
Nothing beats test drive on your own and feel the difference. In fact, if you a car savvy person, you might test this more than what I am doing.

But I have test-driven both, and if you want, I can share with you my experience. Keep in mind though, response and power I cannot feel any difference.

1. I am a light-footed person when it comes to city driving, and thus I do not exceed 60-70km/h when I was testing it, nor the roads were bumpy enough. I can not feel any difference with the handling or the pickup or the suspension. Noise and whatsnot, I did not notice any difference.

2. One thing I do note is the feeling in the driver seat. I usually tend to have a low tilt on my steering wheel and a semi high seat as my driving setup. With Sienta, I got the feeling that I am driving a van (thus, the MPV class), while on BR-V the feeling was I am driving something sporty (the SUV/MPV crossover)

3. Another thing is the gearbox. Sienta have the Option to drop to "manual mode", thus make you change your own gear. While BR-V have the "S" gear, which I think will make you drop a gear and have more power. This is quite important, as I have to travel on Kulim-Gerik-Jeli road, and there are many lorries to overtake and a mountain to climb. I am more comfortable with BR-V one because I come from a Myvi, though I haven't got the chance to do this just yet (just got the car yesterday).

4. Tech-wise. Sienta > BR-V. This is apparent. For high-spec: Dual sliding doors, Optitron Meter with MID, DVR, Disc Brakes for both front and rear, cooler box, security tint included (though I do believe you want to do your own?). I would suggest if you go for Sienta, you upgrade to DVD-AVN. The reverse camera is much cooler in that version.

5. Interior-wise,  BR-V highspec is leather while Sienta is fabric. One thing that needs to be commented is how much the Shotgun seat can be retracted to the back. BR-V can retract much more than Sienta, giving more legspace for my missus and the kid (yes, it's dangerous sad.gif) The feeling inside BR-V is also much roomier than Sienta. I did not test the third row seating though.

6. However, it needs to be said. Sienta's third row folds much more neatly than BR-V, as it stores under the 2nd row seat. For BR-V, the 3rd row is upright with a hook to secure it on the 2nd row seat. If you need the whole back space for cargo (2nd and 3rd row folded), Sienta also folds more neatly with 2nd row upright, 3rd row under 2nd row seat. For BR-V, I think you need to flatten 2nd and 3rd row.

Ultimately, I choose BR-V over Sienta because of Point (2) (sporty feeling vs van feeling), (3) (gearbox familiarity) and (5) (roomier, BR-V is bigger dimension-wise). But the rebate Toyota gave at that time (difference between BR-V and Sienta after rebate highspec is only 2-3k...) did made me torn up for a bit. 

PS:- As you can see, it is more towards "how am I feeling driving this" rather than "how does the car feel/reacts/noise level" review.
How am I feeling driving this? I feeling noise from outside and not confident on thise lines at toll...hahah..
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 27 2017, 09:35 AM

servicing and complaint the smell from outside bt the branch said need leave my car for inspection till 3-4pm as need to wait special foreman to inspect. Seriously, I'm here since early morning.
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 27 2017, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Feb 27 2017, 11:13 AM)
Hmmm... not very efficient are they. Which branch are you at now?
Puchong, will go glenmarie branch.
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 27 2017, 12:38 PM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Feb 27 2017, 11:27 AM)
In the meantime, did they do any work on your car?
Yes, 1st service only....30mins kaotim..
PotatoChipSnack
post Feb 27 2017, 09:25 PM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Feb 27 2017, 12:43 PM)
Ic ok... so now it's just left with the smell problem?
Yup
PotatoChipSnack
post Mar 14 2017, 10:25 PM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 14 2017, 11:57 AM)
Ic ok... I've yet to use usb drive since I find it very convenient to stream straight from my phone. I get into the car and a short moment and bam! my music comes on. Since I store my favourite music on my phone, it's easy to use that than carrying any other media.
When using waze at same time it might be not convenient.. the waze alert sound will interrupt the song playing..prefer usb drive as it stay in the usb port..
PotatoChipSnack
post Mar 16 2017, 03:17 AM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 15 2017, 11:48 AM)
Yup, I do agree whether waze or other notification will kacau the music but I don't mind for waze to do so coz I need audio notification when I'm driving and unable to look at the phone screen.

On the side note since you are using the usb for music, what happens if there is a call? Will that interrupt the music?
Will interrupt music inorder to answer call..
PotatoChipSnack
post Mar 16 2017, 01:09 PM

How to trigger alarm?
PotatoChipSnack
post Mar 16 2017, 04:50 PM

Went to glenmarie branch fixed smell from outsude issue. Free ride to nearest mall by honda insight shuttle.
PotatoChipSnack
post Mar 16 2017, 05:53 PM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 16 2017, 05:08 PM)
Nice. The Insight shuttle service was something recent to me when my relative told me about it.

Btw, managed to fix the air vent problem?
But the insight shuttle car is old 1, not spacious and alot dashboard sound... still testing tge aircond if smell still coming in..
PotatoChipSnack
post Mar 16 2017, 07:39 PM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 16 2017, 05:56 PM)
Haven't sat in one so I can't comment on that. It's just that I've been to the SC for years and only recently I discovered they offered this service. It's only one way, right?

If you can find a lorry or bus, that's the best benchmark.  biggrin.gif
2 ways..call driver anytimes ..

This post has been edited by PotatoChipSnack: Mar 16 2017, 07:40 PM
PotatoChipSnack
post Mar 17 2017, 11:41 PM

QUOTE(pulsepul @ Mar 17 2017, 09:18 AM)
Just ask the service rep there that u want to ho to the mall...
go to the glass room next to cashier, thy will call up the driver for u. Around 5-15muns depends on the availability..
PotatoChipSnack
post Mar 17 2017, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 16 2017, 05:56 PM)
Haven't sat in one so I can't comment on that. It's just that I've been to the SC for years and only recently I discovered they offered this service. It's only one way, right?

If you can find a lorry or bus, that's the best benchmark.  biggrin.gif
no more smell coming from outside..

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0880sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:54 PM