32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Collectibles The Ultimate Comics Thread, Not Manga, sorry...

eric.tangps
post Nov 10 2007, 06:36 AM

640 posts

Wolverine? Beautiful Art? Lemm think.. hmmm.

http://bookweb.kinokuniya.co.jp/guest/cgi-...2405336&AREA=05

There, Devil Reign Crossover between Top Cow and Marvel. Includes Witchblade, Weapon Zero, Cyberforce, Elektra, Wolverine, ... etc.

Check it out, might interest you since it is 11 issues cost way below its individual issues price.
eric.tangps
post Nov 11 2007, 12:03 AM

640 posts

Spider-Man "One More Day" Hmmm. I am kinda interested in the story-line but obligations to X-Men Run kinda deterred me from pursuing it altogether. Keep me posted on what is happening to Peter Parker and I hope they don't wave a wand to keep the marriage apart.

Well, PC Games / Online Games / PS dominated the new blood plus the stiff price of the comics is the root cause of the decline in readers. Or else The Mind Shop would still have more branches and a recent comic shop would not be closed last month.
eric.tangps
post Nov 11 2007, 08:27 AM

640 posts

Thanks for the sypnosis, as much as I like Spider-Man, I find that you had to be a brave and talented writer to continue the marriage rather than takes up a wand and change it. True Spider-Man becomes a bore or maybe harder to write but that is a challenge. Remember the Spider-Clones fiasco when they decided to take out Peter Parker??? Since it is still unknown, I hope Marvel have the guts to keep the status quo.

Maybe being part of New Avengers is stalling his progress.

I am not into Torrent as I kinda love to have a comic on the hand to read, DVD to watch on TV not PC. Maybe this is a part of me that is not techie but I prefer it that way.

eric.tangps
post Nov 12 2007, 12:26 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(thewayiam @ Nov 11 2007, 09:59 PM)
lol...i actually read ultimate spiderman..the art there is great...i find most ultimate comics have great art...spiderman is definitely a cool character..but a newbie gotta start at ultimate tho....hard 2 keep up with the current one...i dont even noe if he's with mary jane or the other lady
As I had mentioned earlier, Ultimate line is the new line bringing the characters into the new age minus the long history. Though this is a good and ideal starting point for new reader, long history of character/story would make the comic richful. Hehe.. For Spider-Man, Uncle Ben... Gwen Stacy.. the marriage of Peter & Mary Jane... etc making Spider-Man more colourful. For X-Men, Dark Phoenix Sage, Fall of the Mutants, X-Tinction Agenda, etc..

Ultimate Spider-Man got the most longest Writer & Artist in the team thus making it ideal for good continuity.
eric.tangps
post Nov 13 2007, 09:51 PM

640 posts

LOL.. Oddly I never like SPAWN. He is supposed to be like using all his powers up by now right?
eric.tangps
post Nov 14 2007, 10:16 PM

640 posts

SPAWN early issues would fetch quite a value. Imagine if you can get a hand on # 1 Spider-Man or # 1 Superman in Near-Mint Condition.

It seems that this Forum has lack of participation. At this rate it gonna be a long time before a new Forum can be set-up.
eric.tangps
post Nov 15 2007, 06:14 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Nov 15 2007, 12:06 AM)
WTA

the Death of CA.  Omnibus/TPB sudah keluar ke?
Capt America Omnibus is out the last I check. Since it is around RM300-00, dont think the shops will carry a lot of them. Happy hunting.
eric.tangps
post Nov 15 2007, 08:50 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Nov 15 2007, 04:30 PM)
Care to elaborate which shops?  thanks mate!
Last I check, I noted that it was listed in Kinokuniya Website but now I am not sure since I can't find it anymore. Borders would be a good choice too since I can find New X-Men Omnibus there.

QUOTE(thewayiam @ Nov 15 2007, 06:44 PM)
....omg..why is it so expensive?
its TPB right?
usually around rm50-rm100 oni wad?
Omnibus is a huge collection set. Capt America Omnibus collects # 1 - 25 issues worth plus Annual.

New X-Men Omnibus collects New X-Men # 114 - 154 plus Annual. So technically it is cheaper than individual issues.

More infos about New X-Men Omnibus : http://www.amazon.com/New-X-Men-Omnibus-Gr...95130859&sr=8-1

Capt America Omnibus : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/078512866...VP98BT8H1169TMR
eric.tangps
post Nov 16 2007, 11:22 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(thewayiam @ Nov 15 2007, 10:44 PM)
ahh...icic...wei...u like a comics sifu a[/B]h...akkakaa..
i think the cap america omnibus is worth it...it includes the dude's death right?
imho, the new x-men omnibus....starting at 114...it would make me feel kinda lost
Not a true God of Comics as my scope is not covering all bases of Comics. I limit myself to X-Titles and few facourites. Anyway it would be a great joy to help right as much as I can.

New X-Men Omnibus by Grant Morrison depends on your appetite. Anyway it is louded by all on his approach on X-Men where they sport the movie black spandex. The art is inconsistent until the last arc but buy for the story. If you like good artwork, try X-Men : Messiah Complex One-Shot by Marc Silvestri.

QUOTE(aw13 @ Nov 16 2007, 12:11 AM)
yea, wanted to know if this Omnibus includes the Death series?  Cos from the reviews, looks like not included lah...thanks mate!
Captain America is killed on # 25. So he should be dead on that issue. Alas, it is not the death that would be interesting but rather what is the follow-up on the issue without Steve Rogers.

Book Description
Collecting Eisner Award-nominated Best Writer Ed Brubaker's first 25 landmark issues of Captain America in one titanic tome, plus the Captain America 65th Anniversary Special and Winter Soldier: Winter Kills one-shots! This deluxe hardcover, fat-packed with extras, features the story that stunned readers worldwide and sent shockwaves through the entire Marvel Universe: [B]the death of Captain America![cool.gif Also including the return of Cap's wartime partner, Bucky Barnes, as the Winter Soldier; the death and life of his greatest enemy, the Red Skull; and the emergences of a new threat, General Aleksander Lukin, the head of one of the most powerful corporations in the world! Collecting Captain America #1-25, Captain America 65th Anniversary Special and Winter Soldier: Winter Kills.

eric.tangps
post Nov 17 2007, 12:04 AM

640 posts

No experience with Amazon. I prefer to buy from local comic shop since I can get it when it arrives. In comic shop, you could find others, chat and mingle around.
eric.tangps
post Nov 18 2007, 09:00 AM

640 posts

I notice there is few type of Shipping in Amazon. It is you use the cheapest one? USD 5.00???
eric.tangps
post Nov 19 2007, 06:15 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Nov 19 2007, 01:06 AM)
thanks mate, saw the omnibus @ Borders BTS cost a whopping RM254.80.  rclxub.gif

will have to reconsider...semiretired comic collector mah... biggrin.gif
Well the plus point if you purchase from Borders / Kino is that at times there will be offer. I believe that there will be a discount if you ask the store for Omnibus title since it is expensive or you can wait till Christmas when there would be normally discount offer for all books.

As for the price at RM254-80, since it is 26 issues of comic -- and per comic is normally RM12-00. It is consider a bargain. Unless of course plus 20% discounts on RM254-80, it woule be so much cheaper.
eric.tangps
post Nov 20 2007, 06:36 AM

640 posts

I had check e-bay MY before and it is quite limited plus the pricing is kinda high. As for e-bay international, would they be trust-worthy?
eric.tangps
post Nov 21 2007, 09:32 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Nov 20 2007, 05:16 PM)
very true.  i asked for whether is there a promo, of which there is none for the time being.  and they only have about 3 copies.  decisions, decisions.

however, did see another collection though, titled Fallen Son.  collects the reaction of some of the heroes after Capt died.  worth getting as well?  this one is quite cheap comparatively, RM85 i think.
Fallen Son is the reaction on Capt America's death, so if you did purchase the Omnibus it would be ideal follow-up. BTW, it seems that Capt # 26 onwards is quite interesting read.

As for 3 copies left, hmmmm.. to buy or not to buy? That would be your choice as I had urm. unfortunate incident of waiting for offer rates while pondering the same on Uncanny X-Men Omnibus.

As for my New X-Men Omnibus, I was fortunate enought to enjoy substantial discount. It seems to be on timing and luck. LOL!

QUOTE(madstone @ Nov 20 2007, 08:56 PM)
One main thing i bought HC is because of the extra thing inside it
normally sketches, letter from the writer/s or sometimes from the artist
and the main attraction is the covers, past covers
HC reminds me of the special DVD collection with makings, inserts, etc. Slightly expensive but sometimes it collects all variant cover plus sketches. Worth for collectors to ponder into.
eric.tangps
post Nov 21 2007, 11:11 PM

640 posts

I am going to KL myself by mid of December, hopefully got time to check out Kino.

Anyway what is on my list is Elektra Omnibus coming in Feb 08.
eric.tangps
post Nov 22 2007, 11:07 PM

640 posts

Omnibus is kinda like HC Collected Edition except it is more issues compared to typical HC Books.

Elektra Omnibus collects Elektra Assassin # 1 - 8 which is hard to find nowadays.

BTW, do Kastam guys check out Books imported from Amazon??? Worry my Elektra kena sangkut.

Added on November 22, 2007, 11:26 pmhttp://www.comicscontinuum.com/stories/0711/20/marveltrades.htm

Few Notable Trades up for grabs :-

1. Ultimate Power HC
2. Clandestine Classic Premiere HC
3. X-Men : Supernovas Tpbk
4. Shanna : She Devil - Survival of Fittest Tpbk

This post has been edited by eric.tangps: Nov 22 2007, 11:26 PM
eric.tangps
post Nov 23 2007, 10:23 PM

640 posts

Heroes HC. Anybody interested ????

http://bookweb.kinokuniya.co.jp/guest/cgi-...1217052&AREA=05
eric.tangps
post Nov 24 2007, 11:24 AM

640 posts

Maybe I will get my hands on Heroes HC - Claire before you do. MWahahahaha.
eric.tangps
post Nov 24 2007, 07:51 PM

640 posts

Mid Next Month when I am having an exam trip in KL.

Just bought Dewi Tpbk and Gunsmith Cats Omnibus # 3 from Borders in Queensbay Penang.

Also targetting Top Cow / Marvel, Heroes HC plus Anita Blake HC when in Kino next month.
eric.tangps
post Dec 5 2007, 07:11 AM

640 posts

Hulk is the best story so far with Planet Hulk running into World War Hulk.

The other notable story is Green Lantern, Captain America and the X-Men Messiah Complex storyline.

Convention ??? Where will it be held?

32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0388sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:16 AM