9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

T231H
post Nov 4 2016, 04:11 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 4 2016, 03:58 PM)
aussie property cannot leh..

not recommended  cool2.gif
I think fsm did hv a new fund that focused on islamic property in australia.....from KAF.....

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 4 2016, 04:14 PM
T231H
post Nov 4 2016, 04:28 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 4 2016, 04:20 PM)
I thought I did bring this up few posts above: KAF Australia Islamic Property Fund
Then?
So?
What is the consensus?
How is the opinion? Including your take on tis?
T231H
post Nov 4 2016, 09:34 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Nov 4 2016, 08:36 PM)
Will topup on the day of election next week. If go down some more after POTUS is decided, will topup again. yay
Me too......was planning to switch some bond funds to cmf next week.......standby some additional bullets for China; india & global tech......but looking at the chart....it is still not at a good discount yet.
hmm.gif

T231H
post Nov 4 2016, 09:41 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Nov 4 2016, 09:37 PM)
thats why dont put all bullets in yet.. im also saving some bullets for rate hike later
Oh-yah..... doh.gif forgotten and the rate hike noises.
T231H
post Nov 9 2016, 06:56 PM

5,143 posts

Trump victory: after initial boost, weaker growth and higher inflation likely..
Donald Trump's victory in the US presidential election could lead to trade wars, with tariffs likely to rise.
Congratulations to Donald Trump who has defied the odds and the naysayers to become the oldest elected president of the US. This is an extraordinary achievement for a Washington outsider who had to beat 16 others for the Republican nomination, as well as a seasoned politician like Hillary Clinton for the presidency. 
Investors must now absorb the reality of a president who has promised to create 25 million jobs and build a wall across the border with Mexico.
1) High probability of trade wars
2) Volatility likely as low rate environment unwinds
3) Safe havens in demand but dollar outlook uncertain
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...on-Likely-12759

any tips/inspiration can get out of this?.... biggrin.gif
T231H
post Nov 9 2016, 07:03 PM

5,143 posts

3 Things You Need To Know About Gold Investments
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Sep-2016--7484

T231H
post Nov 10 2016, 03:57 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(jishu @ Nov 10 2016, 03:53 PM)
Wow reaading all this made me really interested.

Other than the FAQ page, what else can I read to begin my investment? (On which UT should I buy, this and that)
try the links from these article...would be a good start....
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/school/school.svdo
T231H
post Nov 11 2016, 02:31 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Nov 11 2016, 02:23 PM)
Sometimes i read i don't know if you all really so naive or being sarcastic.

Please note that when ringgit drop, your relative wealth drop. So no, i don't really earn much by holding non-Malaysia portfolios.
rclxms.gif well thought...
cry.gif with this rises, my net worth in USD terms (& my buying power) from my EPF contribution for the past many months are going back to square one.... doh.gif
T231H
post Nov 11 2016, 06:58 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Nov 11 2016, 06:49 PM)
Yeah.. Buying power drop, imported items prices increase, ppl will increase price for many items be it imported or non imported, etc.. In other words everyday spending up.

Not worth it.. Vs seeing $$ increase on foreign invested funds that i am holding
Just imaging....no foreign holdings ....lagi rugi...ha-ha
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 10:38 AM

5,143 posts

read tis on thestar today...
if you want to know and would like to believe a factor in why the sudden yesterday's RM drops .....

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016...-central-banks/
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 11:02 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Nov 12 2016, 10:53 AM)
Thanks. I know that my cash injection would instantly affect the value of the fund's assets as a whole but I wondered if any currency exchange decisions they make with my money would affect only my part of the money or everyone's money.
if I remembered correctly....
for foreign exposed funds...
the FM will hold a baskets of currencies reserves denominations....
they will do some hedging with it depending and based on the situations/environment...they will raise or reduce the % of the individual basket of individual currency....at any time they deemed fits.

depending on the amount of your buy.......they may just dump your provided ringgit in to the RM denomination basket.

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 12 2016, 11:03 AM
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 11:11 AM

5,143 posts

noises are saying the India latest control of "Black money" will hurt the growth of the economy.....
"what the Government has done is that it has made sure that ~85% of the total currency in circulation has become defunct since 9 Nov 2016.This measure will certainly have a negative impact on certain sectors in the next few quarters like real estate, infrastructure and the rural economy which relies on cash for most of its transactions."

the "experts" are saying it will be good for the long terms.....
"However; these sectors would recover in the long term as the interest rates are expected to come down and the government's tax kitty would see an increase, because the high denomination notes held in the hands of people will have to be deposited in banks which would either find its way into Government bonds or would lead to more credit growth in the system.. This will in turn lead to more spending by the government and ultimately benefit the economy".

so INDIA lovers.....will you reduce your holding now (to reduce volatility and loses from the slowing down of the economy) and come back later (maybe after 2 yrs?)

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 12 2016, 11:22 AM
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 12:09 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 12 2016, 11:43 AM)
Hi all sifus,

Due to uncertainties in current equities market, I have actually sold all my funds and current waiting on the sidelines and reading up as much as I can about what to do next.

What are your advices at the moment?

Should I park my funds in FD and wait?

Or should I move into Bond fund?

With current strengthening on USD, and recommended funds that can help capitalize on this?

Thank you very much for any feedback.
Investment Opportunities Amidst The Volatility
We cannot exactly predict when the correction in equity markets will end. The duration of such corrections is also difficult to predict; it can last from a couple of weeks, or even up to two to three months. However, we think that market fundamentals still remain sound and the markets are more attractive after the correction. In fact, it may even be an opportunity to invest in markets that were reasonably priced previously, but which have become more attractive after the correction – such as the Asia ex-Japan, HK/China regions. (see the FSM Stars regions/countries)

If that is the case, what can investors do if they have a sum of money, but are unsure if they should invest now?
Many single country Asian markets are still trading at low valuations (based on their estimated PE ratio) in comparison to their peers. The table of valuations and earnings (from FSM MY) shows that some markets still show strong fundamentals. This is particularly true for South Korea, Taiwan, HK and China markets we consider attractive. In terms of regions, we think that Asia ex-Japan remains the most attractive. The recent slew of negative events that have been affecting market sentiment are likely to continue in the short term. In fact, a couple of these events are still going on. For example, the US Federal Reserve is expected to hike interest rates further, may still cause the confidence of many investors to waver in the short term.
Although we are positive on markets, we understand that many investors may continue to remain apprehensive about the direction that the market is heading in the short term.
For such investors, we think that a good way to invest during volatile times is through dollar cost averaging. It makes good sense to exercise this strategy when markets are volatile and seem to be heading nowhere. For example, if you have $10,000 to invest in markets, it would be a good idea to break the sum of money into four parts or more, and invest on a periodic basis – for example once every fortnight.
If an investor has a diversified portfolio already, a good way will be to just continue investing the same proportion into bonds and equities, so that the overall weightage of the portfolio remains the same. For example, for a moderately aggressive investor, the neutral allocation between bonds and equities is 80:20. If $1,000 is invested through dollar cost averaging, then it is likely that $800 is to be invested into equities and $200 into bonds.
But since you have already “sold off all” and abandoned your investment portfolio….may we suggest that you re assess your investment objectives, horizons, risk appetite (based on what you had learnt recently...just be honest to your true self) and form a portfolio of funds…..

biggrin.gif geee...I can't speak like the above.....I mostly just copied and pasted from the FSM articles .... tongue.gif ....

T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 12:13 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 12 2016, 11:58 AM)
that's why allocation of 5% into regions like India is essential where you can just leave it there and if theres any major hiccups it won't hurt too much  your portfolio.

for me I'll keep it as status quo. one of many ingredients to make a perfect cake

on top of it keeping it there will also generate dividends so a win win situation to me.
notworthy.gif 5% is ok......won't affect much even if the NAVs tanked 10%
btw....dividends generation as in distribution in UTs...... mega_shok.gif shocking.gif

T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 12:19 PM

5,143 posts

just read this while surfing....

I think it would be fun and useful for those that wanted to know about markets indicators and use them for investment timing decisions.....

How to interpret Market Indicators?
Market indicators enable investors to derive a feel of the market. In this article we will interpret the use of selected market indicators.
http://fsm.hk/hk/main/research/How-to-inte...--3142?lang=en#

sweat.gif too complicated for me to understand thus use.....
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 12:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 12 2016, 12:17 PM)
yes yes that one. so why not get the distribution after two or three years. when it goes back up your entire 5% allocation goes back up. I think what we should be asking in UT investment is how long will you want to keep your funds in a particular fund before your will breaks and you pull it out.
I was thinking...the distribution "gained" would not be that great to compensate for the possible drops in NAV (not due to distribution) but due to the slower growth, companies earning and mkts sentiments due to the GDP, companies earning reports in the coming 1 yr.....

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 12 2016, 12:30 PM
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 12:27 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Nov 12 2016, 12:22 PM)
btw, anyone follow the recommended portfolio from fsm,
mirroring the portfolio? how's the performance so far?
if mirrored...the P/L results can be seen from the "recommended portfolio" page

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 12 2016, 12:28 PM
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 02:00 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 12 2016, 01:19 PM)
Any idea when will it happen? Looking to park more into india.
hmm.gif
I expect the india mkts to be volatile in the next 2 months....
the rich and affected would be repositioning their assets....
if you are not holding India now......
if entering by lump sum of 5% or more try decide to enter 2 months time.....
if entering less than 5%,...try DCA 1% each starting from Monday..., then 2 weeks another 1% and follow again by another....
if want to wait for promo...try Jan (coincide with FSM what and where to buy in 2018 promo)

that is my shaking balls telling me.... tongue.gif

how modi govt crackdown on black money may hurt you in stock market
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/market...ow/55346742.cms

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/market...ow/55324884.cms

A quick update on the Government's decision to remove Rs. 500 and Rs. 1,000 notes from the system.
https://www.fundsupermart.co.in/main/resear...480&bypass=true

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 12 2016, 02:06 PM
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 02:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 12 2016, 02:20 PM)
sounds like 1999 back again when malaysia stop circulation of the 1000myr and 500 myr notes. this itself is a good thing.

anyways my take on india that it is still a region one should invest in but continue on DCA instead of lump sum and please whom ever is reading it do not speculate or wait for price to drop!
when m'sia stopped using the RM 500 and RM1000 notes...it did not do overnight stopped using......
yes, do not wait to the price to drop...if you are entering in little % amount.....and DCA in small regular amount....allocate some to India....
I wub.gif Aiswarya and Priyakan Chopra
T231H
post Nov 12 2016, 02:36 PM

5,143 posts

an interesting article on frequent rebalancing between FI & EQ trying to make more profits....
"The frequent monitoring and rebalancing of one’s investment portfolio can be a tiring process, and could detract from life’s other aspects (there is more to life than monitoring one’s investment portfolio). We would thus advise investors to first determine their targeted asset allocation by examining their risk profile, investment objective as well as investment horizon, then rebalance the portfolio back to its targeted allocation on an annual or even semi-annual basis."
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...lio-Returns-566

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0363sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:55 PM