9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

T231H
post Nov 13 2016, 05:10 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 13 2016, 04:45 PM)
Hi sifus, I am planning to invest in RHB Bond Fund.
.............Any comments?
rclxms.gif if you wanted it for your portfolio..... thumbsup.gif

comments from FSM MY....
"From a performance perspective, the fund performed well as it ranked first for the past one-year, two-year, four-year and five-year periods respectively on a cumulative basis. In terms of calendar year returns, the fund ranked first in 2011, 2012 and 2015 respectively. The outstanding performance of the fund, in terms of cumulative returns and calendar year returns, has resulted in the fund ranking first for the performance criterion. As for the risk criterion, the fund exhibited relatively lower resiliency, with the fund’s maximum drawdown and volatility during market downturns over the past three years being higher than its peers. The fund’s annual expense ratio was also slightly higher than its peer average.

The fund adopts a combination of top-down and bottom-up investment approaches, utilising the former for macroeconomic assessment and the latter for credit selection. The fund places its focus on risk-adjusted return, without any bias on duration, credit rating, currency and bond segment. The fund’s duration positioning will depend on the fund manager’s outlook on interest rate trend while for credit and currency allocation, consideration will be given to the underlying macroeconomic dynamic. As of end-March 2016, the fund recorded a yield of 4.9% and a portfolio duration of 5.6 years, with AA-rated bonds making up 46.2% of the fund’s total net asset value. Since 4Q 2015, the fund has been maintaining its overweight position in portfolio duration. Going forward, the fund manager states that the fund’s longer-term investment themes will premise on the country’s long-term interest rate and inflation trend, as well as the credit quality of the credit issuers.

We advise investors to include bond funds in their portfolios as Malaysian bond funds play an important role in capital preservation and bonds typically have a low correlation with equities. There is little to no currency risk as the fund is invested wholly in Malaysian bonds.

[Commentary based on data as of end-March 2016, unless otherwise stated] "
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tormaincode=All

btw,..what comment do you expects to seek?

T231H
post Nov 14 2016, 05:31 PM

5,143 posts

The end of the super cycle bull market in bonds?
AMP Capital 14 NOVEMBER 2016

What does it mean for investors?
There are several implications for investors from the likely end of the super cycle bull market in bonds.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-in-Bonds--7698

T231H
post Nov 14 2016, 05:48 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Nov 14 2016, 05:44 PM)
Yeah all the fund experts like to do what we call "horse back cannon" ( after effect then only talk about it). Well maybe it isn't too late yet to switch over to something else .. Kekeke.

With Trump, the booming ones are Europe and USA, is it appears to me now .....
rclxms.gif you are in synn with FSM on this...
they are upgrading USA too...
Upgrading The US To “Neutral”!
November 10, 2016
In this article, we provide a brief update on the US equity market as well as its star ratings.
Author : iFAST Research Team
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...al”!-7687

guess they expected HC to win too....

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 14 2016, 05:49 PM
T231H
post Nov 15 2016, 06:28 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Nov 15 2016, 06:19 PM)
FSM just promoted emerging market in today email.

I wonder why.. EM all koyak still promote. Wrong time la
maybe because of this....??
"Given the uncertainties in the current market environment, investors are bound to be inundated with short-term market trends, but speculating in advance of political developments and making knee-jerk reactions to financial market movements only serve as a detriment to the growth of our portfolios in the long run.
The key to investment success, then, is to have a long-term view on markets, focusing on valuations and corporate earnings growth.
Moreover, market volatility can sometimes open up opportunities for investors to buy fundamentally sound investments on the cheap.
As the old adage goes, "if you want to have a better performance than the crowd, you must do things differently from the crowd". Should there be any opportunities created by volatility, use it to your advantage!
At this juncture, we believe that there will be a considerable upward re-rating of emerging markets, including Asia, over the next two years.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...--12058?lang=en
T231H
post Nov 16 2016, 07:23 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kl_123 @ Nov 16 2016, 05:33 AM)
India fund drop ~~4.5% yesterday after 3% few days ago... big discount for top up?hope it rebound soon
care to tell where did you get the -4.5% figures?
I checked the FSM and the Manulife sites...still not does not have 15 Nov's Nav for Manulife India....
is the Manulife India fund you are talking about.....?
or you must have just compiled the latest data that are yet to be made public?
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

hmm.gif from the table....looks like not much of a discounts....unless there is this yet to be published -4.5% of (15 Nov Nav)

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 16 2016, 07:27 AM

T231H
post Nov 16 2016, 07:33 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 16 2016, 07:28 AM)
https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/MGFINAA:LX

Manulife India feeds into this fund.
yes, thanks for the link....
but the -4.65 is in RM?
T231H
post Nov 16 2016, 07:56 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kl_123 @ Nov 16 2016, 07:53 AM)
that one is in USD, for RM juz plus minus the change of usdmyr spot exchange rate end for that day, we can estimate for the Myr nav... but depend on each fund they take different time for exchange rate
hmm.gif I was thinking of that too...until...I compared.
(I will have to wait for the FSM published NAV for decision.... then, most probably I will wait...more downside risk than upside in the short terms due to slowing of growth cause by the 500 and 1000 things)

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 16 2016, 07:59 AM

T231H
post Nov 16 2016, 04:17 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Nov 16 2016, 12:00 PM)
hi, all expert out there?

Mind to recommend a fund best for long term DDI ?

Risk doesnt matter.
QUOTE(mingyew @ Nov 16 2016, 04:16 PM)
I have time, that's why i feel no worry on 100% EQ UT.

My intention just want to invest for retirement, 10yrs 20yrs, even 30yrs doesnt matter.
What is Best NOW may not be even acceptable few months down the road...
for what is best now, WAS viewed based on past performance...
with "RISK does not matter".....
you can try buying what was now the best based on current data...the duration of past performance should have to be dependent on you....
it could be 1 month, 3 months or 6 month....or etc, etc...
try this....(pls note...their standings changes weekly most of the time)
FUNDS RANKED ACCORDING TO RETURNS (HIGHEST)
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...formed=topFunds

and then after some time, you can make decision again if the funds that you had bought are in this table as below....and again the duration is still based on yourself to decide if you want to change again.....
FUNDS RANKED ACCORDING TO RETURNS (LOWEST)
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...orst_Funds.svdo

moral of the story is,....don't long term DDI (unmonitored)...cannot do buy and forget...it is your money....have to spend some time at a certain period to have a status update on the fund performance and compared it against it peers of similar mandate.....

i am on the same page as forummer Dasecret as below.....

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 16 2016, 03:38 PM)
I do not agree with PM style of buying 100% EQ funds all the way just to maximise potential returns. So sorry, no recommendations from me using that method.

The acceptable way to me
1. set asset allocations strategy that includes both bond and equity; different geographical segment
2. purchase on DCA method or VCA method
3. Annual rebalancing if significantly deviate, if small deviation, adjust through future purchases
Okok.... I take the cynism and sarcasm back.
Risk management is a very important part of investment, or even life in general. It's very not tolerable to say risk does not matter, to me at least
This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 16 2016, 04:19 PM
T231H
post Nov 18 2016, 12:40 PM

5,143 posts

while "standing on the sideline"..waiting for the durians to drop....

THE OPPORTUNITY COST OF PROCRASTINATING
Albert Einstein is rumoured to have described compound interest as "the eighth wonder of the world". While we will not delve into whether the physicist actually said those words, it is difficult to argue that compounding interest is indeed a very powerful force (see The Power of Compounding In Investing
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...-Investing-2487

or try out our Forward Compounder
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/mypag...dCompounder.tpl
to see how compounding can add significantly to investment returns over time). A critical input of the equation of compounding is "time", which means that there is an opportunity cost in procrastinating.

Can You Time The Market?
When the market has moved to high levels, predicting its future direction is tricky. Investors are often tempted to time the market - whether it will have further upside or will it consolidate. However, is this the best strategy?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...l?articleNo=431

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 18 2016, 01:10 PM
T231H
post Nov 18 2016, 01:01 PM

5,143 posts

How Value Investing Works In Unit Trusts?
September 15, 2011
Value investing was first introduced by Benjamin Graham and David Dodd in 1928. It has been well-practiced by one of the world most famous investor, the Chairman of Berkshire Hathaway- Warren Buffett. How can investors be like Warren Buffett when comes to unit trust investment? Find out more here.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=1592
T231H
post Nov 19 2016, 01:19 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 19 2016, 01:15 PM)
most of us have almost similar portfolios because of the lack of variety of unit trust funds in Malaysia. kinda boring if you ask me,another one of our Goverment initiatives to baby sit us Malaysians

also your allocation is in percentage but it doesn't total 100%.

there are "many' uts in Malaysia.....
but just see the numbers of UTs that are repeatedly stood in the "recommended lists" year after year continuously for 3 years in a row...
I would prefer to be baby sitted by that....

the allocation variance is most probably due to decimal places variance.....0.x% in each funds

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 19 2016, 01:24 PM
T231H
post Nov 19 2016, 01:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 19 2016, 01:22 PM)
but kinda wishing we are given more access to other UTs that our Hong Kong and Singapore FSM counterparts are enjoying instead of the standard ones we see
but than, most would only get about 10 Uts in the portfolios....
headache and mind bogging to select from the seas of Uts
T231H
post Nov 19 2016, 05:59 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 19 2016, 05:01 PM)
Another Asia ex Japan fund? LOL
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 19 2016, 05:36 PM)
.......So many Asia ex Japan. How many of them actually performing.  Hopefully it's Asia ex-Japan small-mid cap with majority holdings not in SG.
hmm.gif maybe the FHs are having the same prognosis from this data too....
thus they are trying to take tis opportunity to capture the potential upside....

hmm.gif should we be heavy in Asia X Jpn too?

T231H
post Nov 20 2016, 09:36 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 20 2016, 08:47 AM)
And how do you calculate P/E? I don't see any where on the page to shows the P/E ratio.  hmm.gif Will appreciate it if you can show me where to find the P/E ratio.  I have looked every where and cannot find the P/E ratio of the fund
I think you cannot see the PE ratio of that fund unless it is index fund / some ETF funds
periodically FSM publishes the Mkts and PE correlation charts......
MONTHLY MORNING MEETING SEPTEMBER 2016. PRESENTED BY iFAST CAPITAL SDN BHD
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/artic...pdf_Summary.pdf

Note: there is also another index...the price-to-book P/B ratio index...which some would says it is more useful...

Of course, one should not base their investment decisions solely on PB ratios – one lonely valuation is insufficient basis for an investment decision. In the case of Emerging Markets, FSM research team identified macro factors and attractive valuations, and as a result, have marked Emerging Markets & Asia X Jpn a 5-star region, as noted in (link).
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tarRatings.svdo
While there’s no guarantee that you’ll see positive returns in Emerging Markets (remember, our 10-year study did have several occurrences of negative returns) if one chooses to dollar cost average into markets with more upside potential, example into Emerging Markets & Asia X Jpn at current valuations, the odds are in your favor.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...Years!-7606

Does Valuation Matters?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...22-Aug-16--7410

Making Sense Of Valuation Metrics
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...8-Mar-16--11346

How Does One Predict Equity Market Returns?
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...s--4738?lang=en

Determining equity market’s attractiveness
http://www.themalaysianreserve.com/new/sto...-attractiveness

A note of caution:
While valuation metrics can provide investors with clues on where an equity market stands in terms of its valuations, they are not everything. An investment decision that is justified by valuation metrics can backfire if undervalued markets remain cheap for extended periods without any catalysts. Other qualitative factors, such as the economic and political climates in a country, also play important roles in market analysis. Investors who use both quantitative and qualitative data in their investment strategies are likely to increase their odds of success in the long-run.

hope the above can provides what you seeked... happy reading on a Sunday morning thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 20 2016, 09:38 AM
T231H
post Nov 20 2016, 09:46 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wonglokat @ Nov 20 2016, 08:42 AM)
P/E-wise? But the sectors they focused on are different. Or what are you comparing? I have some cash to spend so not too sure if the US [TA] train has left.
if this attached chart from this link really reflects (I am not sure if this is the correct Parameter that I selected)
http://www.morningstar.com/market-valuatio...alue-graph.aspx

then the train has NOT left.....
(please confirm if that is true...as I need to buy more into TA global too)

T231H
post Nov 20 2016, 09:49 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 20 2016, 09:42 AM)
See how much manulife US equities have rise vs TA Tech over the last week. That's my not proven way which I use myself.

I am not going to go heavy weight on EM just because FSM said. I decide to split both of them into 50-50
sweat.gif 50:50....that is heavy concentrated firepower for EM and US tech .... notworthy.gif
T231H
post Nov 20 2016, 09:54 AM

5,143 posts

WHEN TO TAKE PROFITS?
BY MAH CHING CHENG
http://www.ifastfinancial.com/ifastverve/h...TakeProfits.pdf

another Sunday morning reads from FSM....
T231H
post Nov 21 2016, 11:15 AM

5,143 posts

Not all bond funds are created equal....
the Bond Investing Myths
1. Bonds always make money
2. A higher yield is always better!
3. Bonds will always lose money when interest rates rise
4. Government bonds have no risk!
5. Bond funds are better than investing in direct bonds
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/bond/...ing-myths-10106

T231H
post Nov 21 2016, 09:09 PM

5,143 posts

Opportunities abound in times of adversity.

15 Nov 2016

Kenanga Investors’ Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, Mr Ismitz Matthew De Alwis has written an article entitled “Opportunities abound in times of adversity” which was featured in The Star and The Star Online last weekend.

In this article, Mr De Alwis advises investors to detect the positive in every negative situation or at best, re-strategise their asset class allocation instead of immediately falling into a state of panic or alarm. He argues that even in the most bearish of equity markets, there would still be gems in certain stocks that may be able to buck the downtrend.

Investors should not generalise all stocks to be bearish just because the market seems to be in a downtrend. 

https://www.kenangainvestors.com.my/KIB/KIB...20adversity.pdf

T231H
post Nov 21 2016, 10:51 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(blogomatic @ Nov 21 2016, 10:35 PM)
got such thing as overseas bond fund?
I think you can try FSM MY
use the fund selector tool
select Fixed Income funds
select funds other than from Malaysia

then read the prospectus to see the overseas coverage....

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1143sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:07 AM