FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

wodenus
post Dec 18 2016, 06:11 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 18 2016, 05:10 PM)
IMHO, I think china is a bit scary. Look at all the news article. Property bubble, capital control, international china shopping spree sanction, china's fx reserve falling rapidly, the weakening yuan, Latest seizure of US underwater drone...

No harm putting 5-10% in it. Btw, TA tech does invest in china tech.
I would agree with this.. China is worth if if you know which shares to buy, the market is not as transparent as many western ones.. a lot of traps for the unwary smile.gif
wodenus
post Dec 18 2016, 06:45 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 18 2016, 06:42 PM)
I got  cHina and I'm happy with it and like others have said treat it like you would approach a dragon. do it slow and steady or else you going to get toasted by the said dragon.
nope. TA Global fund fact sheets allocation is mostly Alphabet, Apple, Facebook and other US tech.  Not the right fund to be approaching China.
Well they are a global tech fund, so they might have a small stake in Tencent or Alibaba or both smile.gif
wodenus
post Dec 19 2016, 04:35 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 18 2016, 08:19 PM)
Nobody talks about Japan ? Wow, just made a comparison of these two Japan focus fund :-

[attachmentid=8272573]

Have been going up like rocket for last 6 months, the EI one is about 40% return.
This is more scary.. why's it going up? there's no news, it's just going up for no reason?
wodenus
post Dec 20 2016, 09:57 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 20 2016, 09:12 AM)
Yeap. don't be scared. it's good they are fixing their shit rather than be the old China where there were no controls. all this started after the meeting to open up China to the world and in order to first do that they need to reign in corruption and capital outflow. aussie now feeling the pain from that capital control as their property sector has been hit the past few months
Us too.
wodenus
post Dec 20 2016, 10:13 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 20 2016, 10:11 AM)
nah not us. we are still busy trying to cover the ass of one guy and propping up one bigot party rather than trying to fix the issues that's slowly strangling us. perfect example is the 2017, where 90% of the budget was created as gifts to the civil service and the poor and no capital injection to bring up the economy.
If people vote for socialists and fundamentalists, they get socialism and fundamentalism. No surprise there smile.gif

wodenus
post Dec 20 2016, 06:07 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 20 2016, 05:10 PM)
Country specific funds or sector funds are usually high risk for obvious reasons. If something goes wrong with the country's share market or with the sector, the affected funds will sink very fast by -10% or more.

For example, China equity funds sank in early 2016 and the tech funds burst in year 2000. That is why conventional wisdom is that we should not invest more than 10% into each of the funds.

The above rule applies for Japanese fund, Australian fund, Indian fund, REITs etc. The exception could possibly be the US market and used to be the Malaysian market for me (because of the 'protection' by the government).

The rest of our equity funds should be in global funds or asia pacific funds or other funds which cover a wider range of countries.

As usual, my 2 cents worth.
US market is not an exception, drawdown was 50% in 1998.
wodenus
post Dec 20 2016, 06:55 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 20 2016, 06:47 PM)
Nope, I think you misunderstood me. What I meant is that the US market could be an exception where an investor could invest more than 10% of his portfolio. The chances of recovery in the long run is good even if the US funds dive more than 10%.
LOL that is true.. actually the chances of recovery for any country is good. Most countries are not in recession for long.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 20 2016, 06:56 PM
wodenus
post Dec 21 2016, 10:37 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 21 2016, 09:05 AM)
Ponzi 1 drop 3.67% to close at 1.4614 for NAV dated December 19th
blink.gif
Dividend declared? mine dropped over 5%...
wodenus
post Dec 21 2016, 10:50 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 21 2016, 10:41 AM)
none taken. we always have our bad days bro. understandable.  get your piles treated before Xmas brother.
Yeap most of Affin hwang assets declared dividend on the 19th. timing for me is impeccable as my Anita switch buy just half way complete yesterday so by tomorrow I get my 5k purchase into esther post dividend NAV. Not that it matters tho
Cool smile.gif I wish they'd just do away with dividends.. all they do is cause heart attacks lol smile.gif
wodenus
post Dec 21 2016, 10:57 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 21 2016, 10:53 AM)
legit debate here.

what if they get rid of it. how would they return us the dividends? how do they pull down the price of the fund that's already very "expenskve"? so far I understand the need of it just that maybe the execution on their side leaves much to be desired
Ha.. fund managers should not have a price at all.. they should just have a current value. When you subscribe, you subscribe at X value. Then when you redeem you redeem at Y value. If you have a dividend declared, that should not really affect the value of the fund significantly because if you hold hundreds of companies, one div declaration will not make too much of a difference. Don't see why they can't just ignore it. It goes out, it comes it later.. for the time being why don't they just pretend it doesn't exist smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 21 2016, 11:06 AM
wodenus
post Dec 21 2016, 03:17 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 21 2016, 02:24 PM)
[b]"are not all investments built on hopes?"

All investments are based on trust. There is little to no question that markets go up over time. The only question is how much you can trust the people who hold your money smile.gif

wodenus
post Dec 21 2016, 03:35 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 21 2016, 03:30 PM)
i wonder those who invested in Venezuela,  South Africa (before the black uprising happened) and Greece must have felt when the markets NEVER recovered. so yeah. hope and luck.
They have not recovered yet. Give it time.. Greece is slowly recovering. All the countries you mention had crashes in the very near term. I don't have any long-term data for SA. Watch Japan and Greece, Greece especially, and Iceland.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 21 2016, 03:53 PM
wodenus
post Dec 21 2016, 03:59 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 21 2016, 03:51 PM)
greatest fear I have is that malaysia goes into another recession. I went through 1998 one.  my father declared himself bankrupt and we ran to Brunei. four of us slept in a room that's no bigger than a pickup with bunk beds.  I am not going to go through another recession again.
Goodness. I was pretty young then, our business was not really affected. We had strong clients and a good business model. Plus we were also cheap smile.gif I remember someone posted flyers, he wanted our old newspapers to sell. Unfortunately we don't buy newspapers so... smile.gif

wodenus
post Dec 21 2016, 04:38 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 21 2016, 04:22 PM)
lesson learnt. my dad became the guarantor for the company instead of his partners. when shit hit the fan everyone high tailed and he was left with the dying company. hence why I'm a little jittery when problems hit close to home and I take it very personal when our leaders or people around me keep saying not to worry. the economy is doing fine. Malaysia is a great place. it will recover.

I don't wanna go through another recession man. it's not fun.
vincabby is right.. we will probably have another huge global downturn. The right attitude in a global recession is to buy when SHTF and the newspapers are screaming about it, and everyone says the world is doomed and will never recover. Newspapers just have about the right time lag for that smile.gif

I wish I was there, would have tried to recover it, there's nothing more attractive than a good company or country with nothing left to lose, what's the worst that can happen? smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 21 2016, 04:39 PM
wodenus
post Dec 22 2016, 07:00 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 22 2016, 11:25 AM)
I'm small fish la bro. lol
you can do this. say for this month you have 1k to put into your portfolio.

you can place 400myr into your fixed income, 200 to India, 200 to US, 200 to Ponzi 2.0.

if you have only myr 500 allocate per month, this month you allocate 300 for fixed income and another 200 to India. next month 300 for fixed income and 200 to US.

some of us here advocate 100% equity in the portfolio which is to me has high returns but very risky. I prefer to have a fixed income to have a place to lock my profits.

also gold is being bashed up because of US rates. I have no answer for that as I never believed in investing in precious metals.
Yea like me.. for me risk is risk. There's no such thing as high risk, low risk smile.gif lots of people have the mistaken impression that you can't lose money in fixed income.. but you can. US raised rates.. plans to raise more later maybe? rates are usually inverse of bond yield.. rates go up, bonds come down.

Make no sense long term to hold bonds, given that the US might raise it a bit more later.
wodenus
post Dec 22 2016, 07:32 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 22 2016, 07:11 PM)
well many tiers of investments.

Tier 1 Money market
Tier 2 Fixed Income
Tier 3 Balance funds
Tier 4 Equity.

for me fixed income beats FD by a long run and when you are helping managing your wife's portfolio, it's better to have a FI and balance fund. you dare to set all equity for her meh. I don't want o. she already say if I lose her money I'll need to top up for her.

ngaiti.
If that is the case then you'll have to top up first day when she loses 2% smile.gif

wodenus
post Dec 22 2016, 08:19 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 21 2016, 02:13 PM)
Is it not wise to keep the profit just to see it to go down (your second assumption)? Let's say I have profited RM100; should or should not I take the money out?
Rule of thumb.. in the long run everything goes up. Local markets don't have that long a history, but you can see it in the US and UK markets. I don't plan to take it out ever. It will always be there.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 22 2016, 08:20 PM
wodenus
post Dec 22 2016, 08:31 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 22 2016, 08:27 PM)
Personal i think for KLSE to regain growth momentum, it needs foreign funds. Local funds are the 'follow the wind' type, unlikely to take the lead.

It needs another quarter or so.

Unless we get capital injection/donation from the rich Arabs. Funds from other countries particularly USA, I think that's unlikely in near term.

We just need to monitor the currency. That the 'wind' indicator.

My 2c.
Well, we did but people didn't like it so we gave it back. Everything got messed up after that. A lot of face was lost I guess, many people got pissed off tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 22 2016, 08:32 PM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0400sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:06 AM