14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.26, is this the end of DSLR era?

celciuz
post Apr 12 2019, 07:56 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 8 2019, 06:11 PM)
it has been a while my last visit to nikon center lol. asked the person my last visit and it was 4 years ago... wa i got 4 years didn't clean my camera sensor XD
Last time I used to visit the Nikon event at MV almost yearly for free sensor cleaning πŸ˜‚
celciuz
post Apr 13 2019, 11:19 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 13 2019, 01:38 AM)
but free sensor cleaning is rushed right?  innocent.gif

btw i just notice my strap now become snow flakes due to the neoprene start cracking.
any suggestion of other brand ? or just get same model one?

it is OP/Tech neck strap with D800_24-70 lens , about 1.7- 2kg roughly
What strap you using? The original Nikon D800 strap?
celciuz
post Apr 20 2019, 04:26 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Apr 17 2019, 10:23 PM)
dah lama tak lurk sini, glad to see some oldies still here  thumbup.gif

question, anyone here experienced using these old Nikon lenses?

- 28-70mm f/3.5-4.5 AF-D
- 28-85mm f/3.5-4.5 AF-D
- 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 AF-D
AF-D lens... somehow I feel the AF πŸ˜‚ especially when the screw drive a bit worn out.

Btw any Nikon 50mm f/1.8 S users here? I’m using 50mm f/1.8 G on my Z6 but the quality kinda meh πŸ˜… too used to my 85 f/1.4 and 35 f/1.4. How much did you paid for the 1.8 s and what’s your verdict?
celciuz
post Apr 21 2019, 12:15 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Apr 21 2019, 12:00 PM)
Fuyoh, sifu upgrade to mirroless liao

I baru change to D750, but only got 50mm, now hunting cheap FX lenses  πŸ˜…
Actually downgrade to mirrorless sweat.gif , can't afford to lug around big gears. Down size as much as possible.
celciuz
post Apr 21 2019, 01:09 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 21 2019, 12:28 PM)
isn't z67 both is like full frame price already? whistling.gif
Z6 more like an entry FF mirrorless, but D800 is like a semi pro FF though.
celciuz
post Apr 21 2019, 01:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Apr 21 2019, 01:19 PM)
If you take more photos, you should opt for z7 instead. Z6 works better in video.

I use the nifty fifty all the time. Ya it's the 50mm 1.8G. The sharpness and the AF speed is bad but will still do the job. Don't compare it with faster lens like what you have, sure a lot worse ma laugh.gif
Back then, Nikon doesn't seem to focus on their 50mm. I started off with the 50mm f/1.8D, then I was considering to upgrade to the 50mm f/1.4G but ended up with the 50mm f/1.8G cause it was sharper and had nicer color. But all the 50mm ranges back then was pretty meh... and then this Z mount one came and was looking at review the 50mm sharpness despite being 50mm totally blow all the other 50mm in the market including the Sigma ART and some even compared it with the Zeiss Otus.

Z7 is pretty much overkill for me, though I would like the additional phase detect sensors but other than that Z6 is more than enough for me. Compared to my X-T3, this Z6 doesn't have eye AF yet (yeah I'm kinda lazy now haha, am done with the focus and recompose thingy).
celciuz
post Apr 21 2019, 07:29 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Apr 21 2019, 07:02 PM)
But mirrorless lenses aint exactly small tongue.gif
The only native lens I have is 24-70 f/4, and its plenty small tongue.gif. Compact! The rest... is pretty much my F mount lenses.
celciuz
post Apr 22 2019, 10:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(iFake322Return @ Apr 22 2019, 03:47 PM)
Nikkor 58mm f/1.4 G da best.
I tried this lens back then when it was launched at the Nikon Center, I remember the bokeh was creamy smooth but sharpness didn't impress me. But hell of pricey one though.
celciuz
post Apr 23 2019, 08:20 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Apr 23 2019, 01:56 AM)
I love the 50mm 1.8G. One of the best bang for buck lens. I still bring it for most of my shoots these days. Here's some photos taken with that lens last 2 days.

user posted imageJaeFon by My Story Production, on Flickr

58mm has very nice colors. Recent trend is no longer about sharpness. The sharper your photos, the less amoi likes your photos  laugh.gif
50mm f/1.8 G isn’t bad or horrible, it’s also the best bang for bucks among Nikon F-mount line up. But still compared to the Nikon N series lens, and the newer S series its whole different story. All my other lens are N series, and Nikon didn’t have a N series 50mm while the 58mm came much later and cost hole in the pocket πŸ˜‚

I definitely don’t mind extra sharpness especially when working with the 36MP D800 back then, the 50mm f/1.8G simply can’t exactly resolve it nicely wide open. Even on the Z6 it simply don’t look good. Initially thinking might be a lemon unit or a de centered lens but looking at more reviews comparing it versus the S version, wah πŸ˜…
celciuz
post May 4 2019, 02:01 PM

14,037 posts

Bite the bullet and decided to grab the 50mm f/1.8S even before selling my f/1.8G. So far no regrets, optics is definitely superior and comparable to my 85 f/1.4G! Plus side the motor is so silent that I could video with it as well.

Now anyone looking for good condition 50mm f/1.8G (very under utilized, I think not even 300 clicks) can PM me πŸ˜‚

Now I’m tempted to replace my 16-35 f/4 VR with the new 14-30 f/4S. Since the Z6 has IBIS, I don’t need the oversized lens on the Z6.

celciuz
post May 6 2019, 12:38 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 6 2019, 11:19 AM)
sigh. yesterday i went to a local event at my hometown, then the chair gave way and I fell. DJI remote fly, d600 also fly. 50mm cannot focus, DJI remote cracked. What an expensive day. sad.gif
Sorry to hear that bro, at least you're ok. Money can earn back smile.gif
celciuz
post May 10 2019, 01:43 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 9 2019, 03:01 PM)
wahlao nice buy. how much i get the 50/1.8S for?
how's the weight? compared to the 50/1.8G?
RM2650 from Lazada (SSK), its definitely heavier than the 50 1.8G, but I think if 1.8G + FTZ more or less similar weight IMO. I need to check this... I never used the 50G after I got the 50S LOL.
celciuz
post Jun 7 2019, 06:27 PM

14,037 posts

Hey guys, any of you been surveying for 2nd hand gears? Would like to know whats the value like for these items (mint condition).

1. 16-35 f/4 VR
2. 50mm f/1.8G

Kinda surveying the market before I list them for sale.
celciuz
post Jun 7 2019, 10:05 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jun 7 2019, 09:14 PM)
1. About 3k I think. I have one. Used to get it at second hand price of 3.3k a year ago. Mint condition

2. About 600? New is 700+.
My 16-35 outer shell barrel replaced before at Nikon, even the serial number changed LOL. Pretty much the rubbers and exterior in good condition so far (spent quite a bit to replace too dang it). RM3.3 is nice price ohmy.gif. Dang I asked at my FB kena lowball aiya, but I saw one friend selling his 16-35 at 2800, and its pretty beat up cause he uses for job a lot.

Thanks for the input!
celciuz
post Jun 8 2019, 11:09 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Jun 8 2019, 10:45 AM)
1. RM3k - 3.2k
2. RM500

If u have filter remove it and sell separately.  brows.gif
Thanks! I will sell it together tongue.gif, unlikely to sell seperately a bit hard to sell the filter later on. I have this 52mm filter from my old 50mm f/1.8D... until now still on my hand puke.gif
celciuz
post Jun 12 2019, 09:50 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jun 11 2019, 07:37 PM)
It's not a good lens. Opt for the nikon one instead. Worth every penny bro.
Nikon f/1.8G shot by the f/1.8S tongue.gif

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jun 12 2019, 09:51 PM
celciuz
post Jun 17 2019, 01:58 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(MHR @ Jun 17 2019, 01:36 PM)
anyone got opinion between tamron 24-70 g2 and nikon 24-70 G ?

the used price is around the same, i plan on changing from my go-to 28-300 to 24-70 for traveling.
So I recalled watching a 24-70 f/2.8 comparison review for Nikon, here you go.
celciuz
post Jun 17 2019, 04:16 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(MHR @ Jun 17 2019, 03:52 PM)
I remember watching this before. Which model did you get?
I'm not taking up jobs now, am using the 24-70 f/4 S as my all rounder zoom lens. If I were to buy, its will be the Z mount tongue.gif I'm using the primes more now anyways... 35, 50 and 85.
celciuz
post Jun 19 2019, 10:08 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 19 2019, 12:07 AM)
dude, ofc better la, need pay more $$$ mah  sweat.gif
this is just a temporary lens while I save for other lenses
if only buying new: Tamron G2 > Nikon G

if accept 2nd hand: Nikon G > Tamron G2

just don't buy overpriced Nikon VR lol
The S line however looks pretty impressive though... brows.gif
celciuz
post Jul 19 2019, 09:51 PM

14,037 posts

My SB900 wheel is wonky, anyone sent this for repair before? How much roughly did it cost?

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0907sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:24 AM