Credit Cards Maybank Visa Signature + Barcelona Visa Signature

lilsunflower
post Oct 1 2016, 01:44 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Oct 1 2016, 01:14 PM)
Well, rm1760 indeed are a bit hard for some. Why not opt for the lower end Ikhwan card? rm1000 for petrol and groceries while the rest you still can earn TP except government transactions. Just that you have to plan properly as only Friday and Saturday you can earn cash backs.
MBB's TP already devalued and 400Tp = rm1 is the norm.
And to enjoy AF free for this card is, you need to spend rm4000 every month and another month is rm2000 extra.
Personally I feel it's really not worth it.

I qualified for waiver last year meaning expenditure more than RM50k, but only received RM900 in total (this is the 5% cashback plus redemption of treat points). That's less than 2% total return.

This year I definitely won't qualify for waiver because I spread my expenditure across better yielding cards.

I will be cancelling my VS when it comes up for renewal unless they waive AF or lower annual spending to something more reasonable like RM20k.
lilsunflower
post Oct 3 2016, 03:31 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 3 2016, 01:56 PM)
Not a problem for me. Individual's preference.
Agreed - I would apply the same strategy like you. Always take advantage of benefits when they are around and then cancel if AF outweigh benefits. innocent.gif
lilsunflower
post Oct 3 2016, 05:18 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 3 2016, 04:37 PM)
Not like cancellation takes a lot of effort. Just a call will do. biggrin.gif
Even my application was done via online too. Not a super tiring thing to do. laugh.gif
I'm a serial applicant and canceller, especially for banks with high AF but short cooling down period for new applications. Nowadays both applications and cancellations are so easy, and new applications usually come with lots of goodies (except Maybank). So it's good to shop around.
lilsunflower
post Oct 6 2016, 02:25 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Oct 6 2016, 02:10 PM)
do expect 15mins wait time.

even for premier line, I waited 5mins before a CS pick up this morning, previously its not more than 3 rings.
Agreed, and the quality of staff has also dropped significantly. Last time they were very well informed about products, and also very proactive. My last few calls I've been put on hold, transferred around, given wrong information. Not sure what's going on with their CS team, but it is pretty bad now.
lilsunflower
post Oct 16 2016, 02:59 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Oct 16 2016, 02:51 AM)
Wow, that was fast, many thanks, just read this thread t&c in first post before asking, hope to apply it soon then. Not sure will get approved or not, applying too many card in few months sad.gif
If you get approved, I recommend applying for supplementary cards too so that they can enjoy the 5% on groceries and petrol.

Plus, it really helps to achieve the RM50k spending target for fee waiver. Without my supplementary cards, I wouldn't have been able to achieve it for 2 years. This year I sadly can't hit RM50k, so will cancel when my AF becomes due.
lilsunflower
post Oct 17 2016, 03:16 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(lee_lnh @ Oct 17 2016, 10:14 AM)
Had this VS card for 1.5yrs now. Well they upgraded me to this card (w/ 2years waiver) when cancelled my last card.
Only good thing is everyday petrol, grocery 5% cashback and trouble free online transactions (they will call me to confirm transactions or unblock un-registered merchants)

However based on my spending pattern can never reach 50k/annum with this card.. since use for petty groceries and petrol only. Nevertheless will call them end of this year and thick face ask for waiver. Else byebye.. gonna cancel.
Same here. Now that I spread out my spending to other cards, I ONLY use this for groceries and petrol. Hard to even hit RM1k a month, let alone RM4k plus!

Please update on your news if you get a waiver. I would love to keep this card because its convenient. But AF is really insane compared to CB return.
lilsunflower
post Nov 1 2016, 08:54 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 1 2016, 02:27 AM)
i never use MBVS beyond its 5% cash back swipes.

For that extra RM1500 i would have used PBB VS and get nearly 2 additonal CB RM50 x 2.
Dont worry, i used only around RM20k last year, purely for its 5% Cashback swipes.
To  swipe RM50k a year would mean we have used beyond its 5% CB cap already.

You can get AF waiver i think.

And yes, dont forget to enjoy the current 0% fee BTs, more free cash from higher CL now.
Did you use your VS for BT? I think some forummers reported previously that the BT was counted in the RM50k spend. Therefore you may have qualified for waiver, despite spending only RM20k in "real" retail transactions.
lilsunflower
post Nov 7 2016, 03:13 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Nov 7 2016, 02:31 PM)
If my memory serves me right, the TP from VS are slightly different from 2cards. Not sure if you can transfer over.
But I did use points from both to redeem vouchers before.
From what I remember when I last made a redemption:

You can combine VS TPs with other cards to redeem vouchers.

BUT

You cannot combine other cards TPs with VS to redeem the VS cash rebate. So if you have less than 40,000 VS TPs, you cannot redeem cash rebate.
lilsunflower
post Nov 16 2016, 11:11 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Nov 16 2016, 10:38 PM)
I am unsure whether you all are aware of this or not.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Annual Fee
Principal: RM550, FREE for the first year. Subsequent years FREE if spend a min of RM30,000 and above per annum

It is a great news, if the minimum spending to get annual fee waiver is officially lowered from RM50,000 to RM30,000.  rclxms.gif Plus, one notable member managed to get the annual fee waiver, even with annual spending of about RM20,000, purely on grocery and petrol transactions.
Thanks for the update. Ahhh if I had known about this earlier I would have planned my spending a little better. 30k is much more achievable.
lilsunflower
post Nov 17 2016, 12:11 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Nov 16 2016, 11:14 PM)
I spent 45k and didnt qualify for the waiver. Cancelled the card just last week after my waiver request was declined. Weird that they didn't entertain my request since they reduced the AF waiver.
Wow - that's such bad timing! I'd be pretty annoyed, especially since RM45k is close to RM50k, and way above RM30k!
lilsunflower
post Nov 20 2016, 11:02 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Nov 17 2016, 10:00 AM)
Ok will give them a call later.
Did you manage to call them? Hope you had good news.
lilsunflower
post Dec 12 2016, 07:29 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Dec 3 2016, 11:49 AM)
Just to update, my card was reactivated. And the dumb thing about maybank is, they only reactivated my card but not my supps. I asked CS why, she said u didnt request so we won't reactivate. But anyway, good to get another year of free usage.

And I just noticed that I had a credit of 500 bucks under mid year sale campaign - BON. anybody has any idea what that is?
QUOTE(sms2u @ Dec 12 2016, 07:23 PM)
do u means u terminate the visa signature becos annual fee?
Then, now u request to reactive it and mbb do not charge u annual fee?

if yes, u are the first reported case which reactive terminate visa signature and get 1 free annual fee.

Wonder how u can get the Rm500 as u just reactive the card ? u spend alot?
Its because he spent RM45k (below RM50k), and very very shortly after that, the annual spending threshold was reduced to RM30k. So it makes sense.
lilsunflower
post Dec 13 2016, 04:20 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Dec 12 2016, 09:55 PM)
If with min spending, I guess chances are very slim. And if terminated for very long, even lower chance.
Yes - yours was a super deserving case, and I'm glad they were reasonable. Quite annoying that they didn't have the sense to reinstate your supps automatically too!
lilsunflower
post Dec 17 2016, 09:51 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Dec 14 2016, 10:46 PM)
I did the same for my mom few weeks ago, rejected almost immediately after sending in the registration. Called CS and was told that the online portal for ccard application has a bug and they're still trying to rectify it, so ur best bet is to head to a branch, fax them or drop by a card centre.
QUOTE(CSS @ Dec 14 2016, 11:29 PM)
Ah ok thanks, shall find a centre nearby.
Email is also a fast and easy option.
lilsunflower
post Dec 18 2016, 03:46 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 18 2016, 11:49 AM)
Well, with that revised income requirement, it's just like a normal Plat's salary requirement and you expect it to be prestige? laugh.gif
Since this card has nothing interesting except for 5% cash back daily for groceries and petrol, hence they will not waste money to print anything.
Agreed. When first launched, it offered quite of privileges. Now the only thing is the 5% and lots of people cancelling once cannot hit annual spending requirement for AF waiver. So they really don't care.
lilsunflower
post Dec 28 2016, 03:01 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Dec 28 2016, 02:51 PM)
anybody here has been forced to pay the credit card AF, rm550?
How significantly did you exceed the AF charge date?

I think you should have a strong case to appeal if you didn't use beyond one statement cycle (i.e. the statement in which the AF appeared).
lilsunflower
post Jan 13 2017, 03:05 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(shadow_walker @ Jan 13 2017, 01:02 PM)
MBB really stingy with their credit limit...i applied new MBB card limit very low...hsbc that i applied roughly same time gave 20k limit..MBB not even pass 5 figure..lol
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 13 2017, 01:37 PM)
Yeah, my other banks already give 5 digit while MBB only gives me below 5 figure.
QUOTE(alexis2power @ Jan 13 2017, 02:50 PM)
Yes. They give lower limit compare to other foreign bank. However, one thing to take note, if maybank willing to give you high limit that means you are genuinely financially stable and low risk. As the bank is very prudent in issuing credit limit, you may put up a request to increased credit limit after holding the card for a year. They would access your new income as well as your credit card payment history.
Agree with all the above. Been using MBB for 8 years and have to slowly slowly increase CL by submitting income docs every single year. Was only given 40k initially with Maybank2Premier and had to increase gradually. This is 3-5 times less than other CL I got from other banks.

lilsunflower
post Jan 13 2017, 04:43 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 13 2017, 04:28 PM)
Upgrade card not only adding card. From lower range to higher range. Yes, it will, at least for Maybank so far I heard and my own experience.
QUOTE(alexis2power @ Jan 13 2017, 04:33 PM)
Yes it may. But it is very subjective and no applicable to all. They may increased the credit limit for you but they may not. I have client who upgraded the card but was not given credit increased. As mentioned, everything is subjected to approval.
In my case, I didn't get a CL limit increase from Visa Signature to Maybank2Premier. When they issued Maybank2Premier, I retained my old RM40k CL. Had to submit income documents to request.
lilsunflower
post Jan 13 2017, 09:42 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(shadow_walker @ Jan 13 2017, 05:56 PM)
i am their aspire client(chapalang priority customer..lol) also give low CL..sometimes i dunno whether their interdept relation exist or not..lol..but the CL adequate lor..dont need too high..just ego boost..haha
For me the high CL is very useful for the balance transfer promos which I fully maximise.
lilsunflower
post Jan 27 2017, 12:12 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jan 26 2017, 08:43 PM)
The supplemetary card's transactions will be reflected in the principal card's outstanding balance?
My supplementary card transactions can be viewed using M2U however there is no payment option for supplementary card.
Yes, all supp balances added to principal. And all shown on one statement.

0.0297sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:31 PM