APPLE PAY IN MALAYSIA, Official arrives in Malaysia! Aug 2022!

The1stHumanBeing
post Jan 2 2024, 07:01 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jan 2 2024, 09:57 AM)
that is soyacincau..not official statement from cimb. plan can always change without commitment
https://www.reddit.com/r/malaysia/s/28aIiFrSfT
(The article was from the Edge but apparently the link doesn’t work anymore, hmmm)

https://www.lowyat.net/2022/282359/apple-pa...second-half-23/
(“according to Ros Yusoff, the Group Chief Technology & Data Officer for CIMB Malaysia.”)

But yeah not surprised honestly, I remember TNG also missed releasing their product (either the NFC TNG card or the Visa Card). Since CIMB owns TNG, probably have similar behaviour.

The1stHumanBeing
post Jan 2 2024, 07:02 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jan 2 2024, 12:13 PM)
i don’t understand why need to use cimb credit card, if you want apple pay, just get hsbc, maybank, SCB card

nowadays it is damn easy to get credit card unless you are black listed.
I guess people are too lazy or too comfortable with their current bank to switch; some more have to maintain another account, which some people find tedious to do.
The1stHumanBeing
post Jan 9 2024, 12:20 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jan 8 2024, 09:41 PM)
CIMB not going to enable applepay?
Tried adding my CIMB Debit card, it doesn't work
The1stHumanBeing
post Jan 9 2024, 12:20 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jan 9 2024, 10:20 AM)
What a sotong bank.
AHAHAHAHA rclxms.gif

Sooting bank indeed
The1stHumanBeing
post Jan 10 2024, 12:04 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jan 9 2024, 02:59 PM)
since when cimb support apple pay? The answer is no at this moment
I never said CIMB support, just tried to fulfill our curiosity.
The1stHumanBeing
post Mar 17 2024, 10:44 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Mar 17 2024, 05:34 PM)
I'm already using maybank but am thinking to grab other CCs ..  laugh.gif
Lmao don't forget CIMB, they said by 2H of 2023 but never delivered. Say but don't do, worse than saying 'coming soon' with no delivery date.
The1stHumanBeing
post Jul 19 2024, 11:34 AM

230 posts

So as of July 2024, Malaysian financial institutions (FIs) that support Apple Pay are:
- Maybank (American Express, Mastercard and Visa credit and debit cards)
- AmBank (Mastercard and Visa credit cards)
- Standard Chartered (Mastercard and Visa credit cards)
- HSBC (Mastercard and Visa credit cards)
- Wise (Visa prepaid card)
- RHB (Visa credit and debit cards)

Are there any remaining FIs I missed out or any upcoming releases?
The1stHumanBeing
post Jul 19 2024, 05:28 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 19 2024, 11:54 AM)
u missed Vietnam....lol
Lmao, I did missed a bank
The1stHumanBeing
post Jul 31 2024, 09:25 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Jul 31 2024, 10:13 AM)
[attachmentid=11500186]

Anyone saw this in their TnG homepage app? Not sure what can I do as everything I press also leads me back to individual service apps.
TNG is "accepting" payment of their services using Apple Pay, not that they are "supporting" Apple Pay with their Visa prepaid card. Hopefully the rumours with Hong Leong are true but we will see.
The1stHumanBeing
post Nov 8 2024, 08:19 PM

230 posts

Setel now supports Apple Wallet

The1stHumanBeing
post Nov 26 2024, 08:44 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Nov 19 2024, 05:18 PM)
Still waiting for Hong Leong Bank to support AP...
Yeah I'm hoping too, at least HL didn't 'kencing' us like with CIMB 2H 2023, now its nearly the end of 2024.
The1stHumanBeing
post Nov 26 2024, 10:31 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 20 2024, 03:59 PM)
question very simple. who will pay the fees to apple?
Besides, using applepay dont mean better. I just get to know applepay use on hsbc dont entitle for 5x or 8x point. It will consider as 1x point.
Really, where in their disclosure sheet and how about their cashback cards?
The1stHumanBeing
post Nov 26 2024, 05:21 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 26 2024, 10:57 AM)
hsbc signature. had a huge argument with support when i found out.

go to retail shop, pay with hsbc cc using applepay

When statement date come, only get 1x point. [ quite easy to calc as few transaction, suppose to get 5k point, yet i get 1k instead). Retail spend = RM1k

According to cs,
1. Shop retail - yes. passed to get 5x point . however due to i pay using apple pay
2. Apple pay - 1x point
So i stop using applepay on retail for hsbc since only 1x. Technology is good but hsbc only give 1x point rather than 5x which prevent me from using it.

May be my card is low end hsbc signature . It is a marketing trick that i fall into. lucky only 1 transaction belore too late
Damn that is a crazy point reduction, from 5 points per ringgit if you use your physical card to only 1 point per ringgit if you use Apple Pay. Which HSBC credit card are you using though, because I checked HSBC's Apple Pay FAQ and it says this:

15. Do I earn reward points / cashback for Apple Pay transactions?
Apple Pay transactions are treated the same as the normal credit card transactions.

Unless you are using a specific credit card that nerfs the points when using Apple Pay, you should be getting the same amount of points regardless of payment method.

The1stHumanBeing
post Nov 26 2024, 06:35 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Nov 26 2024, 06:04 PM)
shame, that is the same card i wanted to get and use apple pay with but if points awarded will be manipulated like this, no point getting this card anymore.

oh well

btw i went through the tnc you linked and there was no mention on anything about contactless payment or apple pay, so technically you should be entitled to the 5x points if the merchant code is correct.

maybe you can try to escalate the issue again and see if a separate agent can give a better answer
Yeah I went through the documents as well, unless you spend at a specific merchant with the MCC code that does not add on the base x1 points, you should be receiving your additional points as to my understanding of the documents, as they do not distinguish between physical card and "mobile card" as they put it.
The1stHumanBeing
post Mar 17 2025, 12:37 PM

230 posts

Do you think Alliance Bank would honour supporting Apple Pay or they would conveniently forget like CIMB?

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.1107sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:41 AM