7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam and Mecha Modelling V4

andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 12:58 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(kyosuke86 @ Feb 25 2007, 12:19 AM)
Hinu costs 7000yen. (I think it's yen according to dalong)
After conversion it's around RM200.
@@ andyxp, how much did the dendrobium cost?
Edit : Did some searching on ebay...
http://www.ebay.com.my/listResults?browse=...itSearch=Search
QUOTE(boltguard @ Feb 25 2007, 12:31 AM)
500+ is oledi okay  wink.gif  last time i saw b4 the shop was shifted, it wuz 700+ brows.gif

Andyxp, u saw dendrobium 1/144? seriously?  blink.gif  cool, teh one wit teh big box ryte?, how much is it?  tongue.gif
not sure what price cos not interested so didnt ask... i think it's the 1/155 one i saw....

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 25 2007, 12:30 AM)
They have Hi Nu Gundam Already?!!! rm289 thats expensive... I wonder when can i get from edison~~~~ tak tahan liau~~
yes, got already....

andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 11:39 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

i got a 1/144 sentinel.... size like normal 1/100
andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 04:31 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 25 2007, 04:16 PM)
Saw Hi Nu gundam Mg at XL timesquare just now.. Selling for rm 290+ The box is same height + width with sazabi.. but Thinner.

Cant find it in TM. I went there to check the modelling tools.: such as...
Epoxy Putty, Mr Surfacer 1000, Top Coat- Matte, gloss etc. Mr Thinner, Mr leveling thinner.

Is there any website for Tamiya / Mr Colour that tell us what each of this product used for? Like Mr Leveling thinner.. wat is it different flat(matte) wat will happen?
sure or not? i was there yesterday and the price tag was RM289.... so RM290 is a bit exaggerate la... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Feb 25 2007, 04:23 PM)
erm, how many types of topcoat r ther? i'm buyin 1, but stil thinking on which type...
btw, GP-03 Stamen darn cool la! sure exp...
bout Hi-nu...RM290+ is too exp la, i'll wait for the price drop i guess, mayb buy it together v akatsuki twin pack  brows.gif
3 types... gloss, semi gloss and flat (matte)

last time there is a shop at MV that sells topcoat only for rm24.50 each... (not everywhere is selling rm30 each)... but the shop in MV closed already... change to card game shop... it's the one opposite california fitness....

andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 04:50 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Feb 25 2007, 04:38 PM)
hm...which type of topcoat better ar?
btw, DiamondComic selling Hi-v  for RM245, price for members hehe  tongue.gif
depends on what type of finishing u want lo...

gloss - nampak berkilat kilat... reflective to lights
semi gloss - tak begitu kilat
flat - tak kilat... not reflective to lights

top coat is like a coating to prevent ur paint from peeling off... best used as follows:
surfacer -> paint -> topcoat

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 25 2007, 04:41 PM)
where is diamond comic.. how come i never heard of this shop b4?
diamond comic... sg wang (behind stardust... stardust is beside litt tak... opposite red box, lvl 6) , times square (where the hell is DC TS ar? been there 1 year plus ago)

andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 05:02 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Feb 25 2007, 04:50 PM)
its in Sungei Wang, 6th floor aka Roof Top. its located beside StarDust hobby shop n Gundam shop ther.....
btw andyxp, RedBox chg to GreenBox d  tongue.gif n, DC in TS is at 7th Floor, at the end right, center slot...i guess

hm, semi-gloss better rite.....coz over-gloss make it looks...yuk!
alamak... type too fast... red box pulak... hahaha
oh, my red frame i bought from DC in TS

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Feb 25 2007, 04:58 PM)
Guys, is it like this

Surfacer--->Colour--->Topcoat?

Must have these 3 to spray my gundam?
u can skip the surfacer and topcoat if you want....
andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 05:22 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 25 2007, 05:04 PM)
ohh.. that shop.. ha ha..i almost every week got go there but nvr realise its shop name. Since i stay at bukit bintang area.

andyxp, Surfacer----> Paint-----> Top Coat.

Surfacer has a few types right? Wat i saw is Mr Surfacer 1000. I also heard b4 got White colour surfacer, grey and black? Is that mean when spray the model.. The model will appear grey.. or it is just the can colour?
Mind explain to me in more detail? Sorry nvr use all these b4.

And for the paint. There is flat and gloss paint. If i want Gloss paint then i have to use Gloss Top Coat? What if  use flat paint and goes with Gloss Top coat  vice versa?

To summarize.. The minimun layers of spray will be 3 layers: Surfacer, colour, and Top coat.

I've seen technique like MAX technique which apply Surfacer---> Black paint---> Darker pinkish white----> White paint---> then only Top coat..

Is like 5 to 6 layers all together.. I wonder will the model increase thickness by 1-2 mm?
i never really used surfacer before... but what i know is, surfacer has its own color...

it all depends on the last layer. if you paint is gloss, topcoat flat will make it flat. vice versa...

the more layer you spray, the thicker lo... obviously...

minimum layer (optimum) is 2. topcoat and surfacer is optional actually. if you dont have surfacer, u can wash ur pieces with detergent... surfacer is to make the color stick to your pieces better. it also makes the paint that you are going to use looks nicer. (imagine painting red on black, the red will not look vibrant. surfacer actually acts as a undercoat too)

QUOTE(kyosuke86 @ Feb 25 2007, 05:06 PM)
Is it possible to apply finishers to a model without painting them/ coating them with anything else? As in.. applying the finisher on the raw plastic parts itself.

Anyone tried it? How's the result?
possible. Modelling is entirely up to your creativity!!
andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 05:49 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 25 2007, 05:34 PM)
allright another question tongue.gif . for that last 7-10 years. i mostly just paint the panel lines of my gundam, without colouring. (used diluted paint with thinner.. let it flow into the lines, then Wipe off/ scratch of the extra paint with toothpick)

But now if im going to paint my model. After Surfacer> paint> Topcoat, how am i going to draw the line? If i use toothpick to scratch.. it will scatch away my painted colour below. If i use thinner to wipe the extra black.. It might wipe away the painted colour below too.

Question: Will the Topcoat protect the painted colours below it from thinner Above?

* i dont really prefer gundam marker pen. it looks weak and not solid.
make the line deeper first... use a nail or something sharp to deepen the lines before you paint...

do the lining then only apply topcoat...

andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 06:39 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Feb 25 2007, 06:05 PM)
Can someone clarify me on these?

Airbrush
no compressor... spray with what?
andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 07:03 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Feb 25 2007, 06:47 PM)
DC BTS?
It has been closed for more than 1 year already
now only left BB Plaza (for members only) & Sungai Wang 6th floor
but prepare to get treat rudely from the boss when you visit there tongue.gif

The modelling shop in MV has been shifted to PJ SS14 (near Jaya shopping center)
that's why i was wondering... where is DC TS... sigh...

yeah, the boss a bit rude... if u are member then different story...

the attitude is like "u wanna buy, buy la... else dont gao gao chan here..."

haha....
andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 08:04 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Feb 25 2007, 06:47 PM)
DC BTS?
It has been closed for more than 1 year already
now only left BB Plaza (for members only) & Sungai Wang 6th floor
but prepare to get treat rudely from the boss when you visit there tongue.gif

The modelling shop in MV has been shifted to PJ SS14 (near Jaya shopping center)
hah?~! sure or not? i always go there SS14 lepak but the shop not to be seen. mind to point out exact location?

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Feb 25 2007, 07:00 PM)
Lots of stories related to DC boss attitude
you can read some of those stories in this thread
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/249016
those were the days la... haha... now lesser complain because no point complaining also biggrin.gif
andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 08:10 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Feb 25 2007, 08:08 PM)
erm...she's (boss) ok la...haha... me n my group of frens always lepak ther, so we kinda fren d XD sumtimes we make a fool of her too  tongue.gif
tat day get angpao fr her haha  brows.gif
like that means not very OK lo... cos only treat frequent customer good.. hahaha...
andyxp
post Feb 25 2007, 11:07 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

let's make ir more educational by adding some visuals...

like what Odinn said, the exposed joints are in golden color... metalic golden...

Just look at the hands...

And the flying dragoons that Odinn said are like the one below...

One more wonderful thing about FBM is that the runners uses undergate.. this is to prevent the gold color from being cut away....

visuals courtesy of dalong.net
andyxp
post Feb 26 2007, 12:17 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Feb 26 2007, 12:11 AM)
Means u wont left a cut mark at the plastic as it's under the thing.This will protect the gold plated plastic..
to explain in precise, the plastice is colored with golden paint (not gold plated)... if it is a normal gate, you will cut off the part that is painted in gold.

undergate is not that safe as well, your cutting angle must be so precise as they are a two-piece combo pieces... wrong angle and you will cut off the color too
andyxp
post Feb 26 2007, 12:41 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(kyosuke86 @ Feb 26 2007, 12:32 AM)
So basicaly undergate is good cuz when the parts are fitted together, the cut marks cant be seen right?
But even if usingthe side gate, the marks can be fixed with some painting right?
as what i said... undergate has its cons too... the cutting angle must be right else it's a waste...

normal gate... marks can be 'vanished' by filing ot sanding...

closure gap between the two-piece combo can be 'vanished' using putty or superglue... then sanding or filing... some undercoat paint... main paint... voila... gone!

Added on February 26, 2007, 12:49 am
QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Feb 26 2007, 12:38 AM)
i din see guy boss so long d...mayb he's "gone"  tongue.gif
FBM's stand r better, normal MG stand was a total failure, jz a normal stick tats not reli balance. tis makes Hi-v 's stand awesome  icon_idea.gif
well, if you are talking about stands... mg aile strike is the best... big and wide stand...

This post has been edited by andyxp: Feb 26 2007, 12:49 AM
andyxp
post Feb 26 2007, 01:18 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(kyosuke86 @ Feb 26 2007, 01:11 AM)
Talkin about stands....
The hi-nu's stand is by far the most unique i've seen (i just started entering the world of gunpla)

Then again, notice the hole in the middle? Bandai cutting costs....
a hole is a hole...
u judge bandai with just a hole?

try feel the plastic quality on the stand...
andyxp
post Feb 26 2007, 01:46 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(asuk @ Feb 26 2007, 01:44 AM)
its on top of sushi king. havent been there myself, but i saw the sign
great.. i'll be there tomorrow... hahaha
andyxp
post Feb 26 2007, 03:03 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(andyxp @ Feb 26 2007, 01:46 AM)
great.. i'll be there tomorrow... hahaha
came back from miniature hobby (SS14, above sushi king)...

NOTHING about Gundam!

Mostly airplanes and military models... their gundam set are all China Gundam...

anyone who wanna buy TopCoat (Glass only, others no stock) better go fast cos it's only RM24.90 per can....

andyxp
post Feb 26 2007, 06:23 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 26 2007, 05:15 PM)
Bendi brand```ha ha ha.. they have even EVA perfect grade BENDI brand last time i saw.. no hard buying few for extra parts for customize your bandai gundam.. or if ur MG suddenly broke one important parts.. mayb can try buying bendi to replace.. mua ha ha ha
betul tu... but have to modify a bit cos compatibility is still a question

QUOTE(valho @ Feb 26 2007, 05:25 PM)
that's not cutting cost lah, the stand itself it's an emblem/logo, i think it's amuro emblem/logo, since all the gundams he piloted after rx-78 have the same logo
now someone is talking thumbup.gif

QUOTE(asuk @ Feb 26 2007, 06:02 PM)
do they have alot of choice for the bendi model kits? still got MG bendi?
damn a lot... not bendi brand... no brand one... once i saw not Bandai, i walk away without thinking twice

QUOTE(kyosuke86 @ Feb 26 2007, 06:04 PM)
To those that has bought the items from edison, are the gunplas original?
wow... wonderful question.... notworthy.gif
andyxp
post Feb 26 2007, 11:53 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(StormV @ Feb 26 2007, 11:44 PM)
1) superclear is lacquer base, top coat is water base. Not much difference in term of usage and the result, in my opinion.

2) Mr base white is bottle type, Mr white surfacer is spray-can type. Both will give u white prime color, good for light tone paint. Number higher mean the paint is more fine. Got pro and con on this.

3) Mr metal primer, is a primer/base coat for metalic type paint. So far i never use this b4, so can't comment much.

4) Mr leveling thinner got Retarder Mild formula, which make the paint dry slower abit. Good for metalic paint and glossy effect. But expensive.

I might be wrong, correct me if I am wrong.
the only thing that i can correct is the above...

mr surfacer also comes in can AND bottle...

This post has been edited by andyxp: Feb 27 2007, 12:01 AM
andyxp
post Feb 26 2007, 11:57 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Feb 26 2007, 11:54 PM)
I will avoid cleaning my MG Freedom in the future.................ever.
try using air-cleaning... if u have airbrush + compressor... u can do it at best..

else you can use the camera lens cleaning hand-held air pump biggrin.gif

Added on February 26, 2007, 11:58 pm
QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Feb 26 2007, 11:52 PM)
http://page4.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/aucti...39?u=wemesarion

wow man.. the strike freedom has been sold at 1,356,000yen which is around rm39k sweat.gif notworthy.gif
QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Feb 26 2007, 11:55 PM)
And got people buy it?
u dont really understand English, do ya? doh.gif

This post has been edited by andyxp: Feb 26 2007, 11:58 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0401sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:26 PM