cablesguy
post Mar 19 2007, 11:57 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 19 2007, 11:34 PM)
C my sig ler. LOL!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Yup. It's 32 lanes PCIe.
ah so my bad laugh.gif where this 1kwatter come from, diam2 ubi only, this rig hv officially become my dream rig drool.gif
TSianho
post Mar 20 2007, 12:36 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

B4 I start this next update, I wud like to say thanks again to my wonderful, wonderful, fantastic n ever supportive sponsors Silverstone n Inter-Asia Sdn Bhd. They provided me with this fantastic power supply called the Silverstone Olympia 1000W today. I had sum problems powering up my rig with the new 8800GTXs in SLi last night. I then relayed my problems to them in the morning n voila! By 6pm on the same day, I had already received this fantastic Power Supply Unit to fully power up King Kong. I can't thank them enough. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Now, on to the hardware update n pix pix pix. rclxm9.gif

The PSU comes nicely packed in a big huge box. It's as big as a shoe box. Humongous! Check out the specs on the front of the box. Absolutely fantastic specs. 80Amps 12V single rail. Continuous 1000Watts at 50C! Can u spell F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C ? biggrin.gif With the 12V single rail at 80Amps, we no longer haf to scratch our heads n calculate if each individual rail is enough for the things we're plugging them into. Just plug everything u haf into it without worrying. Now, that's what I call a great PSU. thumbup.gif

The behemoth is out of the box. I've put my standard ATX sized 300W PSU next to it to show u guys just how big this OP1000 is. It comes in a really nice matt black finish for the proper King Kong look too. thumbup.gif

Look at the power cords. Take a guess on which 1 belongs to the OP1000? Look at how fat it is. Big giant PSU with big giant wires to make sure u never haf problems. thumbup.gif

Not only is the PSU a fantastic PSU, it's even future proofed. Look at all the wires that comes with it. Lotsa molex n SATA plugs. 4x 6pin PCIe for 8800GTX SLi, it also comes with 2x 8pin PCIe plugs in anticipation of the ATi R600 which is supposed to use 6pin n 8pin PCIe plugs on 1 card. It even has 2x 8pin ATX mobo plugs for server mobos. It's all nicely labeled to make sure u dont use the wrong plugs.

Well, dats it for now. I just spent the last 2 days testing my 8800GTX SLi installation n also to check on the power requirements. Now that I have the OP1000, my power requirement nightmare is solved. It's now time to start finishing up the rig in preparation for the Silverstone LANparty this Sunday, 25th of March. Hopefully I'll haf sum time to make full use of this wonderful PSU. If there is spare time b4 the LANparty, I'll start playing with my BIOS settings again n overclock everything nicely. I had to reset all BIOS settings to default this morning, in order for my rig to run with the 600W PSU I had. Hours of BIOS settings gone just like that. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif Thanks to this King Kong PSU, I'll be able to overclock everything to the sky again. thumbup.gif
hypermax
post Mar 20 2007, 12:44 AM

2,524 posts

shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
I am speechless. If only i have time to attend the LAN party this sunday cry.gif
kalakatu
post Mar 20 2007, 01:52 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

i wonder how heavy that thing is sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSianho
post Mar 20 2007, 01:54 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Mar 20 2007, 01:52 AM)
i wonder how heavy that thing is sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Very,very very, heavy! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 20 2007, 01:54 AM
z3r0717
post Mar 20 2007, 02:10 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

wtf uncle.. 1k watt.. = ="
GILA power now.. so ur 600 watt how?? wanna sell? xP
kalakatu
post Mar 20 2007, 02:18 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 20 2007, 01:54 AM)
Very,very very, heavy!  sweat.gif
tot so..as expected.. sweat.gif
but its not the modular type aeh? which u can juz plug in the cable that needed to be used..
so are u gonna sleeve it? brows.gif
TSianho
post Mar 20 2007, 02:33 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Mar 20 2007, 02:18 AM)
tot so..as expected.. sweat.gif
but its not the modular type aeh? which u can juz plug in the cable that needed to be used..
so are u gonna sleeve it? brows.gif
There is a reason y Silverstone made it non modular. It's to reduce resistance. The more plugs u haf the worse it gets. It can also get dangerous, imagine hi amperage components with loose plugs. Modular PSUs r there only because of demand from customers. It's purely a cosmetic thing which compromises the function of a good solid PSU. All the top PSUs dont come with modular plugs 1.
Kataro
post Mar 20 2007, 09:08 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 19 2007, 07:50 PM)
I'm not worried about the weight of the HSF ler. U shud c the total weight of King Kong II!  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Got sumore nice juicy hardware coming right up. I got no time to take pix yet.  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif oh...uncle, you keep on keep us drooling... faster take the photo and show us the new juicy hardware... brows.gif
don^don
post Mar 20 2007, 09:12 AM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

man~ siao eh!!! o.O this new power reactor sure gonna kao kao tat monyek like baboon on steroid.

and the psu, its so big! i don think it can fit into my puny case. XD shoe box i got plenty, but this... man... as big as my box. ^^

quick quick ya uncle, picta picta!!!
Gamer
post Mar 20 2007, 01:04 PM

Be Original
3,366 posts

the module type 1200watts on the Silverstone website liao, and those psu original manufactory by Seventeam. but i want to say is "WTF! you got the nice PSU!!" smile.gif
TSianho
post Mar 20 2007, 03:03 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Gamer @ Mar 20 2007, 01:04 PM)
the module type 1200watts on the Silverstone website liao, and those psu original manufactory by Seventeam. but i want to say is "WTF! you got the nice PSU!!" smile.gif
Ya I know about the Decathlon series but that is to cater to the less extreme enthusiasts. They want easy to manage wires for a better looking rig.

The Olympia range however, still caters to the extreme enthusiasts who demand only the best n don't care about modular wires. I care a lot about looks too since I'm a case modder n want King Kong II to look at it's best. BUT when it comes to supplying power to my rig, I put the priority on performance. After all, any modder worth his salt shd be able to manage the cables nicely. So for me, performance of the PSU shud take priority over looks. thumbup.gif

Oh ya, since kalakatu asked how heavy it is, it's 3.6kg! 3.6kg worth of pure goodness. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 20 2007, 03:14 PM
Doom
post Mar 20 2007, 03:33 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

That's surely one beefy PSU ...... i wonder how much it would cost when it hit the retail shelf.....

anyway uncle will u sleeve the remaining end of the cables.... since it's not sleeved.
Gamer
post Mar 20 2007, 03:38 PM

Be Original
3,366 posts

yap, you are right performance always important then look, m.. i think your Olympia have both performance and serious look too.

3.6kgs! ok that is heavy then cap ayam casing! so i think your complete system without keyboard, mouse and 30" Apple panel will be 30kgs?!
TSianho
post Mar 20 2007, 03:53 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Mar 20 2007, 03:33 PM)
That's surely one beefy PSU ...... i wonder how much it would cost when it hit the retail shelf.....

anyway uncle will u sleeve the remaining end of the cables.... since it's not sleeved.
It's already available for sale. U can get it for rm1299 from any of the dealers in LYP. Yeah I'll be sleeving the ends of the molex n SATA wires just like how I sleeved the Strider 560 which I did the other day. Dunno y Silverstone's style is semi sleeving. I will be sure to provide feedback to Silverstone that they shud sleeve the PSUs completely. That wud b so much better.

QUOTE(Gamer @ Mar 20 2007, 03:38 PM)
yap, you are right performance always important then look, m.. i think your Olympia have both performance and serious look too.

3.6kgs! ok that is heavy then cap ayam casing! so i think your complete system without keyboard, mouse and 30" Apple panel will be 30kgs?!
Ya I think in the end the whole rig is gonna weight close to 30kgs! I will weight the whole rig once I've completed it. Remind me to update u guys on the total system weight later.

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 20 2007, 03:54 PM
Gamer
post Mar 20 2007, 04:09 PM

Be Original
3,366 posts

i think you can create new topic about "Total weight of your system" smile.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Mar 21 2007, 02:11 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(Gamer @ Mar 20 2007, 04:09 PM)
i think you can create new topic about "Total weight of your system" smile.gif
with or without dust??? hahahaha... anyway, 1000w..?
irenic
post Mar 21 2007, 02:50 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

great psu.. i really hope i can join this week lanparty sad.gif
TSianho
post Mar 21 2007, 02:57 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Mar 21 2007, 02:50 AM)
great psu.. i really hope i can join this week lanparty sad.gif
Dont hope. Just come dude. It's gonna be fun with so many LYN kakis there. thumbup.gif
Gamer
post Mar 21 2007, 02:58 AM

Be Original
3,366 posts

your guys in KL surely can join easy, me want to but can't la, got project.

32 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:39 PM