Travel Bangkok V5, Of tuktuks and tomyams

nxtpg
post Oct 19 2016, 06:41 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(ragu91 @ Oct 19 2016, 12:30 AM)
Soi Cowboy, Nana complex and other hot spots are operational as usual. They are subject to closure around 1-2am. There is no live music or loud musics. No bright displays as well. Alcohol is as usual.

7-11 started back alcohol sales from 11am 18/10/16 onwards.

I would say, everything is back to normal except it's not very loud or excessive.

Most tourist destinations are open as usual.

Wat Arun is under reconditioning but still open with limited access, Grand palace+Wat Phra Kaew is closed indefinitely for the funeral. Wat Pho is open as usual.

Respect their mourning. Wear muted color attire and in case if you want to get a glimpse of the funeral, prepare to queue up with thousands others in line to get in.

Safety wise, military and police everywhere. So, I felt it was safe enough and relaxed here.

Recommend to stay in Sukhumvit area.
Grand palace will b opened after 20/oct? Will b there
8 full days n have yet to plan anything.....

This post has been edited by nxtpg: Oct 19 2016, 06:42 PM
ragu91
post Oct 19 2016, 11:47 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Oct 19 2016, 06:41 PM)
Grand palace will b opened after 20/oct? Will b there
8 full days n have yet to plan anything.....
I am not sure about this. But as per my information, the palace and temple inside is closed for 15 days.
metaled
post Oct 20 2016, 02:12 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(ragu91 @ Oct 19 2016, 11:47 PM)
I am not sure about this. But as per my information, the palace and temple inside is closed for 15 days.
Should be close, as you can watch the ceremony live on TV everynight on ThaiPBS and a few other channel. If not wrong their YouTube channel also can watch.

Thai like to close down and bring everything to halt when it involves royalty.

I absolutely hate it when they shut down a 6 lane highway (not for long around 20-30min plus) so that someone from the royalty can go and return from airport.

bearbear
post Oct 20 2016, 06:29 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

thai airway promo 375 return, good till sept 2017
MR_alien
post Oct 20 2016, 07:20 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

grand palace and wat phra kaew will continue to be closed until 31th october
rickarch
post Oct 20 2016, 07:27 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Oct 20 2016, 06:29 PM)
can share the link? thanks.

MAC-tronome
post Oct 21 2016, 03:24 PM

144 posts

share link pls..cant find
ragu91
post Oct 21 2016, 08:16 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(metaled @ Oct 20 2016, 02:12 PM)
Should be close, as you can watch the ceremony live on TV everynight on ThaiPBS and a few other channel. If not wrong their YouTube channel also can watch.

Thai like to close down and bring everything to halt when it involves royalty.

I absolutely hate it when they shut down a 6 lane highway (not for long around 20-30min plus) so that someone from the royalty can go and return from airport.
Not sure with highways la bro, but entertainment was usual when I was there.

Oh, they also played a tribute in the movie theater. So must stand up. nod.gif
metaled
post Oct 22 2016, 01:51 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(ragu91 @ Oct 21 2016, 08:16 PM)
Not sure with highways la bro, but entertainment was usual when I was there.

Oh, they also played a tribute in the movie theater. So must stand up.  nod.gif
I always kena 6 lane block at motorway (sort of like their version of MRR2) from suvarnabhumi airport where u pass lat krabang. It is one of the route i use to go home if the jam is horrible on tang luan.

Yup there is always a short tribute about the king all the time in thai cinema before the actual show start. Need to listen to a song about him.

Anyone who is in the big mango now hope you all are having a good time. I am not sure about the drinking/entertainment place in Soi Cowboy/Nana but the Thai spot outside of Sukhumvit has return to normal.
cedyy
post Oct 22 2016, 02:05 PM

1,404 posts

pls give link. tried booking on thai airways website, under Saver category also at least RM400 one way loh. Thai airways has never been cheap.
radi0head
post Oct 23 2016, 07:00 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

Hi All. Any places to recommend in BKK if I would like to buy watch ? G-Shock, Seiko, Timex, Orient ? ...

Icehart
post Oct 23 2016, 08:00 PM

14,902 posts

Malindo air ticket RM 17 but after include taxes and everything RM 280+
SUSneoFluidic
post Oct 25 2016, 02:32 PM

47 posts

Hi all BKK freuquent travelers , any nice recommendation places to visit for lone traveler like me ?? as i am going down there next month

e.g new malls / eatery / restaurants /etc

acevent
post Oct 26 2016, 02:29 PM

203 posts

Hi, guys. We are going Bkk this end november. Khao Yai is a must visit place. Any travel agent which is cheap can recommend? We will spend 6d/5n in this trip. 4d3n will be at Ayuthaya (1n) & Khao Yai (2n). The rest will be at Bkk. Any Suggestion?
metaled
post Oct 26 2016, 05:54 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(acevent @ Oct 26 2016, 02:29 PM)
Hi, guys. We are going Bkk this end november. Khao Yai is a must visit place. Any travel agent which is cheap can recommend? We will spend 6d/5n in this trip. 4d3n will be at Ayuthaya (1n) & Khao Yai (2n). The rest will be at Bkk. Any Suggestion?
if you are going to Ayutthaya and planning to go the "fake" floating market, remember when u near the gate where u need to pay ticket to enter just keep quiet and dont talk among yourself.

They will thought you are Thai and can avoid paying 200 baht. Only non Thai national need to pay(written in Thai). When questioned a reply in Thai usually solve the problem

A good friend who visit recently was stopped at the gates and ask to pay 200 baht for entry ticket. They give themself away by talking too loud

200 baht get u a free boat ride around the rather small and disappointing man made like "canal"

If you do understand Thai fluently there is a free open air theater show about a war during the kingdom of Ayutthaya.

Some of the ruin you need to pay entry ticket, same thing again Thai national pay much lesser and some are free for them.

Further up north in Ang Thong u can check out the biggest Buddha figure in thailand and dozens of figurine that portray hell if that is your type of thing. Ayutthaya is a place you can actually drive to from Bangkok, not far around 1 and a half hour, and there is a premium outlet along the way. The ruin looks good during the night some of them have beautiful lights.

Khao Yai is just a village small town and you can check out the various farm or "organic farm" there. Unless you are talking about the national park.
bb100
post Oct 26 2016, 07:48 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Aiyohh pork Lego guy lohh. I took Uber from Terminal 21 back to Baiyoke Sky Hotel at 5.15pm (Bangkok time). UNTIL NOW (6.50pm Bangkok time) STILL STUCK IN THE BLOODY TRAFFIC JAM!!!

A 75 baht trip (according to Uber estimation) now I think will become 300+ baht liao.

So guys, if you are in Sukhumvit or Asoke area and wanna go to Pratunam, PLEASE DON'T TAKE TAXI OR UBER!!! Take the BTS from Asoke station to Phaya Thai then change to Airport rail and alight at Ratchaprarop station. This will ONLY TAKE LESS THAN 30 MINUTES!!!

sweat.gif

sweat.gif
acevent
post Oct 26 2016, 09:17 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(metaled @ Oct 26 2016, 05:54 PM)
if you are going to Ayutthaya and planning to go the "fake" floating market, remember when u near the gate where u need to pay ticket to enter just keep quiet and dont talk among yourself.

They will thought you are Thai and can avoid paying 200 baht. Only non Thai national need to pay(written in Thai). When questioned a reply in Thai usually solve the problem

A good friend who visit recently was stopped at the gates and ask to pay 200 baht for entry ticket. They give themself away by talking too loud

200 baht get u a free boat ride around the rather small and disappointing man made like "canal"

If you do  understand Thai fluently there is a free open air theater show about a war during the kingdom of Ayutthaya.

Some of the ruin you need to pay entry ticket, same thing again Thai national pay much lesser and some are free for them.

Further up north in Ang Thong u can check out the biggest Buddha figure in thailand and dozens of figurine that portray hell if that is your type of thing. Ayutthaya is a place you can actually drive to from Bangkok, not far around 1 and a half hour, and there is a premium outlet along the way. The ruin looks good during the night some of them have beautiful lights.

Khao Yai is just a village small town and you can check out the various farm or "organic farm" there. Unless you are talking about the national park.
So khao yai worth to go?
Shall we spend 2 nights there?
Any local tour guide can recommend?
gaeria84
post Oct 26 2016, 09:59 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 26 2016, 07:48 PM)
Aiyohh pork Lego guy lohh. I took Uber from Terminal 21 back to Baiyoke Sky Hotel at 5.15pm (Bangkok time). UNTIL NOW (6.50pm Bangkok time) STILL STUCK IN THE BLOODY TRAFFIC JAM!!!

A 75 baht trip (according to Uber estimation) now I think will become 300+ baht liao.

So guys, if you are in Sukhumvit or Asoke area and wanna go to Pratunam, PLEASE DON'T TAKE TAXI OR UBER!!! Take the BTS from Asoke station to Phaya Thai then change to Airport rail and alight at Ratchaprarop station. This will ONLY TAKE LESS THAN 30 MINUTES!!!

sweat.gif

sweat.gif
laugh.gif I avoid taxis like the plague laugh.gif
nxtpg
post Oct 27 2016, 09:53 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 26 2016, 07:48 PM)

sweat.gif

sweat.gif
I was stuck too in the tour van after coming back from ayuthhaya 1 day trip. Jam was caused due to some ceremony in the palace for the late king. Some stretch of the road was blocked for some royal convoy.
Suppose to book other day trips but decided not as i feel this week traffic will b standstill. Got 4 more days here.... will explore using the boat n skytrain
Remember....
If you wan to move around, use bts n walk. Much faster.

metaled
post Oct 27 2016, 02:24 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(acevent @ Oct 26 2016, 09:17 PM)
So khao yai worth to go?
Shall we spend 2 nights there?
Any local tour guide can recommend?
I have never been to Khao Yai, the furthest i have been in Issan is Khon Kaen. It is a nice place.

I drive myself to places i wanna go that is outside of Bangkok.

This post has been edited by metaled: Oct 27 2016, 02:35 PM

103 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:05 PM