Travel Bangkok V5, Of tuktuks and tomyams

Icehart
post Sep 29 2016, 11:57 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 29 2016, 09:18 AM)
Hey guys I am going next week and stay at Bangkok for a week. Any good advice for me? I plan to take Uber or LRT mostly cause I scare taxi scam. But I will take taxi from airport to my accommodation.
If solo traveler then public transport.
If go in group better take taxi as it's cheaper.

Taking taxi make sure it's metered. Don't ride those "flat rate" taxi.
Use Google Maps to make sure the routes are the fastest and shortest.
Icehart
post Sep 29 2016, 05:02 PM

14,902 posts

the bus is actually not that bad, it's clean and cold inside. although it looks old but really well maintained.

rm3/ride
two person only rm6

for me i've tried uber on bangkok and its quite hard to get a ride
the taxis on the other hand are everywhere
you can just flag them down easily

Icehart
post Sep 30 2016, 02:47 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Sep 29 2016, 10:59 PM)
Hi guys, I will be going with my family in November.

I have most of my itineraries sorted out, but one issue have been bothering me. We are travelling in a group of 5. Transportation will be an issue as taxi maximum 4 pax right? sad.gif Any advice?
Get a hiace if you plan to travel far.
If within city vicinity, the train is good enough. if need to take taxi can split into two cars. Hailing a taxi is easy in Thailand - many on the road. smile.gif
Icehart
post Oct 11 2016, 09:47 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Oct 10 2016, 10:12 PM)
so AA is having sales now and is RM375 two-way ticket considered cheap to travel bkk? or should i wait another free seats? (i think there'll be one in November?)
Depends on when you travel. Many tickets RM 212 only next month but weird traveling days.
Icehart
post Oct 11 2016, 01:05 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Oct 11 2016, 10:04 AM)
i'm planning to travel next year april. so should i wait? unsure.gif
thank you! will check it out!
it's listed on the AA website, the "travel low fare from RM39" smile.gif
the lowest fare i've come across is rm 169 by airasia but that's years ago
nowadays lowest is rm 198
so i think if u can find somewhere around there u are fine.
Icehart
post Oct 13 2016, 09:15 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(junecheah @ Oct 11 2016, 04:08 PM)
I cant say much abt Malindo as I only tried Malindo to Penang. Have not tried their Intl Flights. Not quite sure what is provided.

I go to Bangkok often and normally I do price comparison between AA and MAS. Hardly check Thai Airways pricing as they are always on the higher side. What I normally do is, check AA & MAS, if price different between AA & MAS is very significant, then I take AA. If not much, less than RM 100, i will opt for MAS. Sometimes AA may look cheap in their pricing, but dont forget you got add baggage,meals,seat, etc.. so it may add up to alot. But this round, Thai airways seem to be throwing price and RM 425 to me if acceptable, so will go for thai airways.

as for insurance, i dont normally buy unless im taking long haul flights. But you can consider to buy if you are comfortable with..
If not wrong Malindo flight to Penang is via the small plane with propeller.
I've sit on the new plane flying to Sabah before and it's damn good. Much better than AirAsia. A lot of space for your legroom.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Oct 13 2016, 09:23 AM
Icehart
post Oct 23 2016, 08:00 PM

14,902 posts

Malindo air ticket RM 17 but after include taxes and everything RM 280+
Icehart
post Nov 9 2016, 11:07 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(brapa? @ Oct 29 2016, 11:06 AM)
There are 6 of us travelling together
Plan to get sim to hail uber but will need 2 cars to fit 6
Can one sim book 2 uber cars ?

Anyone using maxis data roaming ?
rm10/day, rm38/30days.
I think no calls, data only.

https://www.hotlink.com.my/content/hotlink/...-data-pass.html
Just get the local tourist sim card (AIS Preferred).
300 baht gets 1.5GB and some free minutes call. You also get the login details to Super WiFi (AIS).
Icehart
post Jan 29 2017, 08:25 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(Go_up @ Jan 25 2017, 10:04 PM)
see what meal u eat la. inside mall basically same as Malaysia Pavillion mall those.

but road side simple noodle or rice could cost u 50baht easily so u need convert to RM by urself lo

1 meal 70baht with water average, mall different, mall 1 meal can cost u 150-200baht see what thing u order
Mall one also depends.
Terminal 21 upstairs foodcourt will set you 35 to 40 baht for a decent meal. Mix with water around 60 baht+-.

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jan 27 2017, 11:31 PM)
How about Maxis Rm10 per day data roaming?
Data roaming is okay. But if you want to save more get the AIS 7 days pass.
Icehart
post Mar 31 2018, 02:28 AM

14,902 posts

Aduhai kena saman for using Malaysian driving license in Thailand. Anyone has any experience on this? Police officers insist we cannot use Malaysian driving license, must get International Driving License.
Icehart
post Apr 2 2018, 10:44 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 2 2018, 07:41 AM)
if malaysian driving license can do the trick, thn whats the use for international driving license? laugh.gif
those who use malaysian driving license are basically taking the risk
Kena tipu by theStar and Malaymail already
http://www.themalaymailonline.com/drive/ar...ambassador-says
Icehart
post Sep 24 2018, 09:28 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2018, 02:32 PM)
Around RM30 for a cocktail. food is equally expensive too laugh.gif
Considered cheap already for a 5* hotel. Did you visit their breakfast lounge? IMO it's one of the best breakfast view in Pattaya.
Icehart
post Sep 24 2018, 10:16 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 24 2018, 10:11 PM)
well, there are many levels of 5* hotels too haha. but yeah alcohol in thailand generally much cheaper than Malaysia anyway so can't compare head to head. nope, i'm on a budget backpackers trip. got view of the sea at ground level hahaha
How much did you spend on the entire Pattaya section? Got include walking street or other "fancy" streets? brows.gif
Icehart
post Sep 25 2018, 03:12 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 25 2018, 08:52 AM)
about 400-500 maybe? mostly on food and legit massages. no do naughty stuff la laugh.gif

but i almost got ripped off in walking street while watching their muay thai show sweat.gif have to buy a drink to watch. then want to take photo they charge you again. faster run that time.

but the massage here much cheaper than bangkok drool.gif
Well lucky you. I got ripped off after walking in to an European bar. They charge 880 baht for a tea set and 300 baht for a draft beer.

Icehart
post Sep 25 2018, 04:17 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Sep 25 2018, 03:59 PM)
you mean russian bar? those on the first floor?
Yep
Icehart
post Sep 25 2018, 04:22 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 25 2018, 04:20 PM)
ever since i've started working in Labuan i've lost all interest in islands and beaches unless there's a diving spot there laugh.gif
I heard there's a diving spot in an old refurbished oil rig nearby Sabah. Have you visited that before?
Icehart
post Oct 14 2018, 12:58 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(skzisghost @ Oct 8 2018, 12:52 PM)
Dtac sometimes bad speed and coverage bad. AIS is better base on my experience as i travel thai alot n need to work with notebook.
DTAC is quite okay if used in Bangkok city center. However once you stepped outside and go rural areas then AIS will shine.
Plus AIS has free WiFi all around and I've tried it before, can hit 300-500 Mbps speed without issue.
Icehart
post Oct 22 2018, 08:07 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Oct 21 2018, 05:05 AM)
Guys can get some feedback on my itinerary?

Just tell the two guys to go Pattaya and don't waste time in Bangkok rolleyes.gif
Icehart
post Feb 22 2019, 01:17 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(famusanus @ Feb 21 2019, 07:50 PM)
Guys, is it ok to stay near Nana, the red district area? Coz I've searched some hotels they are quite cheap near to Nana BTS. Budget maybe about 1.5k for 7 nights, double bed and near BTS
If you don't mind constant harassment and loud music laugh.gif
Icehart
post Mar 7 2019, 12:07 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(lahart @ Mar 7 2019, 11:45 AM)
Need advice
Is it worth to register a new digi roaming package for traveling to Thai purpose or jus get a local sim there?
Current telco is maxid
But their roaming package to expensive
Just get a local sim there. Cheaper.
But if you want to save more, buy from hello1010. I bought mine for RM 29 AIS. 3GB 8 days.

0.0830sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:19 AM