Travel Bangkok V5, Of tuktuks and tomyams

westlife
post Nov 30 2024, 08:41 PM

14,299 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 19 2022, 12:11 AM)
Just to update, I booked a hotel at Silom/Sathorn area, very near to both MRT and BTS station rclxm9.gif

Heard a lot about the terrible jam in Bangkok, so really have to avoid using grab/taxis lol
bro, can share which hotel u booked and ur experience? thanks...
ExCrIpT
post Dec 1 2024, 04:14 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 30 2024, 07:51 PM)
hi guys, i am going bangkok for the first time, any recommended hotel/airbnb or any other sort of accomodation that is good to stay with affordable price and clean room and accessible to attractions or shopping even at nite...? thanks.

from airport to go to hotel, what is the best transport option?

what kind of sim card i can use there for a period of 4 to 5 days?
you gotta give an idea of your budget for hotel rooms and how close you wanna be to the shopping area.
you can just google the hotels that's along the BTS line and you'll get an idea how close you wanna be to chitlom bts station where the shopping centres are concentrated.
RiriRuruRara
post Dec 4 2024, 06:10 PM

1,011 posts

Hi guys, just seeking some advice here as I didn’t travel overseas in almost 20 years so just asking for some things I should know bcs I have to lead 5 people who are over 70 years old.

1.will the whole group be able to depart and arrive without problem by just using paper documents of flight tickets or have everything now change to paperless? Bcs many of the group are on old phones and not tech savvy
2. Is there any new e - visa or something like that, that need to be filled up before arriving into Thailand ?
3. Since it’s only a 3 days visit is it ok to just buy data roaming plan from Celcom? Bcs might need mobile data for google maps.
westlife
post Dec 25 2024, 01:52 AM

14,299 posts

AirAsia's carry-on baggage allowance is:
Number of bags: One cabin bag and one small personal item
Total weight: 7 kg
Cabin bag dimensions: 56 cm x 36 cm x 23 cm (including handles, wheels, and side pockets)

My luggage 20-inch one is 52 x 38.1 x 25.4 cm, 3.4 kg
Any chance i can still bring on flight?
montaguespirit
post Jan 7 2025, 10:07 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Dec 4 2024, 06:10 PM)
Hi guys, just seeking some advice here as I didn’t travel overseas in almost 20 years so just asking for some things I should know bcs I have to lead 5 people who are over 70 years old.

1.will the whole group be able to depart and arrive without problem by just using paper documents of flight tickets or have everything now change to paperless? Bcs many of the group are on old phones and not tech savvy
2. Is there any new e - visa or something like that, that need to be filled up before arriving into Thailand ?
3. Since it’s only a 3 days visit is it ok to just buy data roaming plan from Celcom? Bcs might need mobile data for google maps.
1. You only need your boarding pass printed and also your passport. If you travel by flight thru KLIA, you can speed up the process with MyBorderPass app.
2. No need to fill up any form.
3. You can use data roaming from Celcom if you like but ensure you don't accidentally make calls or accepts calls when you in Bangkok unless you purchase Voice roaming package too.

QUOTE(westlife @ Dec 25 2024, 01:52 AM)
AirAsia's carry-on baggage allowance is:
Number of bags: One cabin bag and one small personal item
Total weight: 7 kg
Cabin bag dimensions: 56 cm x 36 cm x 23 cm (including handles, wheels, and side pockets)

My luggage 20-inch one is 52 x 38.1 x 25.4 cm, 3.4 kg
Any chance i can still bring on flight?
One (1) piece of cabin bag must not exceed 56cm x 36cm x 23cm including the handles, wheels and side pockets. Smaller ofcoz no issue. Because bigger won't able to fit into the overhead storage.
elbamevol
post Mar 15 2025, 05:46 PM

46 posts

Hi all, planning for a brother's bachelor trip to bangkok (4 days 3 nights) in June.

1) any idea what's the best mode of transport from bangkok city to erawan national park or kanchanaburi region ?

2) is it advisable to rent a car to travel in bangkok?

3) any recommendation for airbnb near erawan area
MR_alien
post Mar 15 2025, 09:28 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

https://www.tourismthailand.org/Attraction/...n-national-park

https://www.klook.com/en-MY/activity/66922-...bridge-fullday/
Blofeld
post Mar 27 2025, 09:37 AM

4,703 posts

Is it to better to depart from Don Mueang Airport or Suvarnabhumi Airport (to go back to Malaysia)?

I've only experienced using Don Mueang Airport. I know it is inconvenient to get there. Also, i remember the immigration queue is extremely long.

This time I'm thinking of buying a flight out from Bangkok through Suvarnabhumi Airport. Is there anything I should be aware of? Will it be overly crowded and congested? Is the Airport Rail Link reliable?
Fortezan
post Apr 3 2025, 10:35 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(elbamevol @ Mar 15 2025, 05:46 PM)
Hi all, planning for a brother's bachelor trip to bangkok (4 days 3 nights) in June.

1) any idea what's the best mode of transport from bangkok city to erawan national park or kanchanaburi region ?

2) is it advisable to rent a car to travel in bangkok?

3) any recommendation for airbnb near erawan area
I travel to Kanchanaburi via train from Bangkok and came back using van. Both took roughly the same duration because of the frequent train stops.
Train offers a more scenic route but you have to be at the station early because there's only one train departing early morning, and there's no AC on train, so be sure to bring a portable fan.
Another advantage of train is you can travel all to way to the river kwai bridge.
I stayed at River Kwai View Hotel and booked a songthaew (open-air truck) to Erawan in the morning.
Fortezan
post Apr 3 2025, 10:48 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Mar 27 2025, 09:37 AM)
Is it to better to depart from Don Mueang Airport or Suvarnabhumi Airport (to go back to Malaysia)?

I've only experienced using Don Mueang Airport. I know it is inconvenient to get there. Also, i remember the immigration queue is extremely long.

This time I'm thinking of buying a flight out from Bangkok through Suvarnabhumi Airport. Is there anything I should be aware of? Will it be overly crowded and congested? Is the Airport Rail Link reliable?
Suvarnabhumi airport should be better since that's where most full service airlines are based, I took the Airport Rail Link to and from airport, no issue and quite convenient if you stay near a station.
kerolzarmyfanboy
post Apr 10 2025, 03:23 PM

575 posts

is 20k baht cash sufficient for a week in Bangkok? what if wanna visit a couple of sin places? brows.gif
or you guys don't recommend carrying that much cash?
already paid for hotel & flight.
planning to just carry 20k baht cash + backup Wise Card with RM1k in it and standby CCs as well
MR_alien
post Apr 10 2025, 09:01 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(kerolzarmyfanboy @ Apr 10 2025, 03:23 PM)
is 20k baht cash sufficient for a week in Bangkok? what if wanna visit a couple of sin places?  brows.gif
planning to just carry 20k baht cash + backup Wise Card with RM1k in it and standby CCs as well
20k is RM2.6k, plenty enough for a week
Sichiri
post Apr 13 2025, 08:02 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(kerolzarmyfanboy @ Apr 10 2025, 03:23 PM)
is 20k baht cash sufficient for a week in Bangkok? what if wanna visit a couple of sin places?  brows.gif
lol sin places you can spend that amount in a single day easily.

Just have self control. If you're just spending an hour at a gogo bar with few drinks for yourself and your 'partner', thats fine.

Roughly 1-2k baht can keep you company for an hour at most gogo bars. Staff will keep pushing you to buy more drinks. Politely decline.

But if you're planning to take the lady back to your hotel, thats like 4-5k baht minimum excluding the drinks you just spent. Not worth it.

massage places, never pay more than 500b for 'hand service', 1000b for 'mouth service' or 1500b for 'full service'.

kaffra
post Jul 7 2025, 07:18 AM

643 posts

any sifu can recommend some nice nuru spot? DM if cant post here smile.gif
whats the preferred non cash payment generally in bkk, simply CC or maybe app?
khop khun khrap
dannyjo012
post Jul 24 2025, 04:39 PM

13 posts

anyone been to Dreamworld bangkok before? curious to know if suitable for toddlers
Scissorshand
post Sep 1 2025, 12:54 PM

1,691 posts

The entrance fees to grand palace is $500 baht totally not worth it. Highly recommend to avoid it

0.0277sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:37 PM