Travel South Korea V6, Seoul & Everything Korean

imran85
post Oct 4 2016, 02:42 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 2 2016, 10:38 AM)
Haha. Cafe hopping in Seoul is very common but ain't cheap yo. I chill and stay in a cafe chatting for few hours. If you wanna go cafe hopping. Recommend you to go non touristy and non franchise chain
find a few nice ones. Quite enjoyable. Cant wait to go again.
yvonnesoo
post Oct 4 2016, 09:58 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 4 2016, 01:35 AM)
1 week in Seoul is absolutely not enough, even if you have a very concise itinerary. If want to chill and just relax, then don't try and go to places like seoraksan at the peak of fall season (November). The amount of time you have to spend going there because of so many visitors will be crazy to say the least.

Seoul is a much bigger city than what maps would suggest. If it isn't for the amazing subway stations they have, traveling time would be very long indeed.
true indeed. but different people different preference. some of my friends like to cover as much as possible in one trip. eg 9 days (seoul,busan,jeju) brows.gif their reason is they wouldn't going to travel back to korea again hmm.gif

QUOTE(imran85 @ Oct 4 2016, 02:42 AM)
find a few nice ones. Quite enjoyable. Cant wait to go again.
let's go brows.gif

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Oct 4 2016, 09:59 AM
SSJBen
post Oct 4 2016, 04:42 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 4 2016, 09:58 AM)
true indeed. but different people different preference. some of my friends like to cover as much as possible in one trip. eg 9 days (seoul,busan,jeju)  brows.gif  their reason is they wouldn't going to travel back to korea again  hmm.gif

Yeah well that's true. But I do feel that for example if people would like to visit the palaces in Seoul, rushing through them is quite a waste. Take the time to look at the structures, take pictures, understand the history, and it all becomes really mesmerizing.

I cannot imagine covering 3 different places in 9 days lol.. the rush is madness. sweat.gif
joytest
post Oct 4 2016, 04:50 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 4 2016, 04:42 PM)
Yeah well that's true. But I do feel that for example if people would like to visit the palaces in Seoul, rushing through them is quite a waste. Take the time to look at the structures, take pictures, understand the history, and it all becomes really mesmerizing.

I cannot imagine covering 3 different places in 9 days lol.. the rush is madness. sweat.gif
I agree. I spent some time in the National Museum and it was quite awesome seeing the 1500+ years of history.
yvonnesoo
post Oct 4 2016, 06:33 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

if you go with girls you need to be prepared that they prefer shopping more than historical places laugh.gif
joytest
post Oct 4 2016, 10:53 PM

13,188 posts

From what I gather, these are the real ethnic stuff (apart from the tteokbokki and fishcake stuff) which I would be trying

1. hoe of varoius fishes, is it better at markets or a 횟집 (hoetjib) ?
2. yukhoe
3. samgyetang
4. jokbal
5. gopchang and its relatives
6. seafood jeon
7. sannakji and related raw seafood (abalone etc)
9. various meat type soups (maeuntang + beef and pork) - seollontang seems good
10. soy sauce crab
11. various galbi
12. various guksu, plus perhaps sujebi
13. various dubu hotpots

A running list of interesting stuff to eat would be good. .... tongue.gif
I can add on to the list.

Does anyone have recommendations for a nice sujebi with strongly flavored broth? I like banmian/meehoonkueh with strongly flavored soups and al-dente dough.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 4 2016, 11:12 PM
SSJBen
post Oct 5 2016, 02:26 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 4 2016, 10:53 PM)
From what I gather, these are the real ethnic stuff (apart from the tteokbokki and fishcake stuff) which I would be trying

1. hoe of varoius fishes, is it better at markets or a 횟집 (hoetjib) ?
2. yukhoe
3. samgyetang
4. jokbal
5. gopchang and its relatives
6. seafood jeon
7. sannakji and related raw seafood (abalone etc)
9. various meat type soups (maeuntang + beef and pork) - seollontang seems good
10. soy sauce crab
11. various galbi
12. various guksu, plus perhaps sujebi
13. various dubu hotpots

A running list of interesting stuff to eat would be good. .... tongue.gif
I can add on to the list.

Does anyone have recommendations for a nice sujebi with strongly flavored broth? I like banmian/meehoonkueh with strongly flavored soups and al-dente dough.
Good list there.
I think you have most of it covered. The only thing I'd add in regards to galbi is that I suggest you try to get grade A haneul. It's very expensive yes, but at least try it once in a lifetime.
joytest
post Oct 5 2016, 06:56 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 5 2016, 02:26 PM)
Good list there.
I think you have most of it covered. The only thing I'd add in regards to galbi is that I suggest you try to get grade A haneul. It's very expensive yes, but at least try it once in a lifetime.
Could you provide the hangul word for "grade A haneul" ?

Is it beef like wagyu?
SSJBen
post Oct 5 2016, 07:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 5 2016, 06:56 PM)
Could you provide the hangul word for "grade A haneul" ?

Is it beef like wagyu?
Basically just say "chweigo hanu", which means you want the best one. Although haneul (or hanu) does mean grade A beef, there are still variations of it. Also make sure you order the specific part of the cow you want. Ribs, shoulder, sirloin, etc. etc.

You could say it's Korea's equivalent to wagyu, but personally I think they do taste different. Both are awesome of course.
lucaswjk
post Oct 5 2016, 07:56 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

speaking of meat (for non beef eater)

seriously i dont understand why ppl order pork belly
the fat is inch thick...
SSJBen
post Oct 5 2016, 08:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 5 2016, 07:56 PM)
speaking of meat (for non beef eater)

seriously i dont understand why ppl order pork belly
the fat is inch thick...
Because when BBQ'd properly, the fat really seeps into the meat and make it extremely juicy and succulent.

Try heukdwaeji samgyeopsal once and you won't look back, ever again. I'm talking about the real good black pigs from Hwaeoreum or Surakan restaurant in Jeju, not the commercialized nonsense in black pork street. Yes it is fattening, not even going to deny it. But you can only have the real good ones here (and even that, only a few places). It's worth it once in a very, very long while.

If eat everyday then say hello to heart attack.
joytest
post Oct 5 2016, 08:34 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 5 2016, 07:49 PM)
Basically just say "chweigo hanu", which means you want the best one. Although haneul (or hanu) does mean grade A beef, there are still variations of it. Also make sure you order the specific part of the cow you want. Ribs, shoulder, sirloin, etc. etc.

You could say it's Korea's equivalent to wagyu, but personally I think they do taste different. Both are awesome of course.
최고의 한우 ?

I have had a fair bit of wagyu tongue.gif so I should try this then.

Any recommended joints in Seoul or Busan?

Oh wooo ....

http://kimchimari.com/know-your-beef-cut/

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 5 2016, 08:13 PM)
Because when BBQ'd properly, the fat really seeps into the meat and make it extremely juicy and succulent.

Try heukdwaeji samgyeopsal once and you won't look back, ever again. I'm talking about the real good black pigs from Hwaeoreum or Surakan restaurant in Jeju, not the commercialized nonsense in black pork street. Yes it is fattening, not even going to deny it. But you can only have the real good ones here (and even that, only a few places). It's worth it once in a very, very long while.

Oh yeah man. Nicely grilled pork belly is so yummy.

I did have the grilled black pig in Jeju, pretty good, although I just randomly went into a shop that happened to be open. Got to dig out my old pics and see where it was.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 5 2016, 08:43 PM
joytest
post Oct 5 2016, 08:59 PM

13,188 posts

BTW, from my G+ feed. Is this a worthwhile price?

60k for a set meal of 3 to 4 persons.

dynames07
post Oct 6 2016, 06:23 AM

272 posts

heard busan hit by tsunami.. anybody know more?

https://www.facebook.com/koreanophiless/pos...509942512547487

joytest
post Oct 6 2016, 09:51 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Oct 6 2016, 06:23 AM)

Looks pretty bad but no collapsed buildings.

http://m.koreatimes.co.kr/phone/news/view...._newsidx=215404

My trip is in 2 weeks' time... Hope it's all cleared up.
shinchan^^
post Oct 6 2016, 10:18 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Oct 6 2016, 06:23 AM)

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 6 2016, 09:51 AM)
Looks pretty bad but no collapsed buildings.

http://m.koreatimes.co.kr/phone/news/view...._newsidx=215404

My trip is in 2 weeks' time... Hope it's all cleared up.
I m going next week .
I saw in fb the Haeundae beach was devastated

anyone can confirm jukseong church, taejongdong is fine?
joytest
post Oct 6 2016, 10:24 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 6 2016, 10:18 AM)
I m going next week .

I suppose it might take 1 week to clear the mess up. Hopefully it's faster since no buildings collapsed, but looks like some road sections need repair.

It will be helpful for the rest of us if you can post your experience on the situation.

I will be in Seoul first next week before hitting Busan the following week.

Gyeongju got flooded as well according to the news, so I think I'd really skip the place.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 6 2016, 10:26 AM
yvonnesoo
post Oct 6 2016, 10:31 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 5 2016, 08:13 PM)

+1 also really can't find any restaurant that serve good meat in Malaysia.. too sad cry.gif

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 5 2016, 08:59 PM)
BTW, from my G+ feed.  Is this a worthwhile price?

60k for a set meal of 3 to 4 persons.

ok lor for this price

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Oct 6 2016, 10:33 AM
yvonnesoo
post Oct 6 2016, 10:41 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 6 2016, 10:18 AM)
I m going next week .

check on the latest news often. you mean taejongdae or taejangdong? hmm.gif

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 6 2016, 10:24 AM)
I suppose it might take 1 week to clear the mess up. Hopefully it's faster since no buildings collapsed, but looks like some road sections need repair.

It will be helpful for the rest of us if you can post your experience on the situation.

I will be in Seoul first next week before hitting Busan the following week.

Gyeongju got flooded as well according to the news, so I think I'd really skip the place.
fall season especially during the month of oct quite alot of rainfall. continuous rain for few days. also busan is surrounded by the sea hence amount of rainfall and wind is more
shinchan^^
post Oct 6 2016, 10:43 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 6 2016, 10:41 AM)
check on the latest news often. you mean taejongdae or taejangdong?  hmm.gif
fall season especially during the month of oct quite alot of rainfall. continuous rain for few days. also busan is surrounded by the sea hence amount of rainfall and wind is more
Taejongdae , typo

118 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:36 AM