Wah until 100-300mm might be overkill liao. I am not planning to shoot bird or wildlife.
【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025
Oct 30 2019, 10:20 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
21 posts Joined: Apr 2016 From: Nilai / Penang |
Wah until 100-300mm might be overkill liao. I am not planning to shoot bird or wildlife.
Oct 30 2019, 10:37 AM
3,666 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Oct 30 2019, 11:25 AM
113 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
![]() It is normal to feel that the zoom that you carry in your hand is "not long enough", it is normal to feel like "what if I want to shoot something interesting, but the max zoom also can't get the tight frame I want". Trust me, I have Sigma 100-400mm fitted on Nikon D500, that's 600mm, for start, I do feel "not long enough", the question is how OFTEN you have that "not long enough" situation? If it is 99% of the time in your photowalk, then yes, you need that longest zoom 4/3 system can give you, you want it, you NEED it, you love it, go ahead and buy. For now, I don't feel the need for 800mm, or 2000mm (Nikon P900, for example), I zoom with my leg, if it is so far and I die die must get that image, I crop! "If your pictures aren't good enough, you aren't close enough” ~Robert Capa Food for thought. The A380 was shot by accident, I was aiming on the dragonfly at lakeside with 40-150mm Pro, heard the loud aeroplane ahead, look up, click (150mm), turn back to dragonfly. This post has been edited by MBC270cdi: Oct 30 2019, 11:27 AM |
Oct 30 2019, 11:29 AM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 30 2019, 08:06 AM) less than 1.5k difficult to recommend How many kg is a typical lens like this one weighs?top up a bit and get the pana 45-200mm or 100-300mm. for less than rm500 u could get a 40-150mm kit zoom lens though. and from experience 150mm (300mm equivalent) is just only enough and most of the time you wished you have more. |
Oct 30 2019, 11:59 AM
Oct 30 2019, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(MBC270cdi @ Oct 30 2019, 11:25 AM) ![]() It is normal to feel that the zoom that you carry in your hand is "not long enough", it is normal to feel like "what if I want to shoot something interesting, but the max zoom also can't get the tight frame I want". Trust me, I have Sigma 100-400mm fitted on Nikon D500, that's 600mm, for start, I do feel "not long enough", the question is how OFTEN you have that "not long enough" situation? If it is 99% of the time in your photowalk, then yes, you need that longest zoom 4/3 system can give you, you want it, you NEED it, you love it, go ahead and buy. For now, I don't feel the need for 800mm, or 2000mm (Nikon P900, for example), I zoom with my leg, if it is so far and I die die must get that image, I crop! Food for thought. The A380 was shot by accident, I was aiming on the dragonfly at lakeside with 40-150mm Pro, heard the loud aeroplane ahead, look up, click (150mm), turn back to dragonfly. bad advice if your photographing lions or tigers. anyway you are right zoom, macro and fisheye lenses are considered specialized and rarely get used. but when you find situations tat you need it you start to regret... This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Oct 30 2019, 12:08 PM |
Oct 30 2019, 12:13 PM
4,166 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras, KL |
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 30 2019, 12:01 PM) "If your pictures aren't good enough, you aren't close enough” ~Robert Capa haha…that quote best to apply on street photography. i believe that.bad advice if your photographing lions or tigers. anyway you are right zoom, macro and fisheye lenses are considered specialized and rarely get used. but when you find situations tat you need it you start to regret... |
Oct 30 2019, 01:07 PM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
Oct 30 2019, 02:06 PM
1,750 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
cukur my 10-25mm is only 690g although it looks like a brick
Oct 30 2019, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 30 2019, 02:06 PM) here are the top 3 heavyweights3) Panasonic Leica 100-400mm F4-6.3 985g 2) Panasonic Leica 200mm F2.8 1245g and the winner is... 1) Olympus 300mm F4 Pro 1270g ![]() makes the OMD looks puny in comparison for full frame lens comparison... Canon EF 600mm f/4.0L IS II USM 3920g or maybe get the original version Canon EF 600mm f/4.0L IS USM Lens 5366g |
Oct 30 2019, 06:31 PM
Seems like I might just get a 40-150R to see if I use that zoom range often or not
Oct 30 2019, 07:13 PM
9,132 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 30 2019, 03:46 PM) here are the top 3 heavyweights Remove the tripod collar, reduce lots of weight. 3) Panasonic Leica 100-400mm F4-6.3 985g 2) Panasonic Leica 200mm F2.8 1245g and the winner is... 1) Olympus 300mm F4 Pro 1270g » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 40-150 f2.8 pro used to be two handed operation, until I removed tripod collar and now I can comfortably single handed it. |
Oct 30 2019, 08:13 PM
1,344 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Oct 31 2019, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Oct 30 2019, 07:13 PM) Remove the tripod collar, reduce lots of weight. the weight given is without tripod collar.40-150 f2.8 pro used to be two handed operation, until I removed tripod collar and now I can comfortably single handed it. with tripod collar the 300mm f4 pro weighs a total of 1475 g come to think of it the collar alone weigh as much as some lenses. This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Oct 31 2019, 08:17 AM |
Oct 31 2019, 08:15 AM
Oct 31 2019, 11:52 AM
9,132 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 31 2019, 08:14 AM) the weight given is without tripod collar. Wo, heavy already with tripod collar removed. I only used once, as got 40-150 pro with MC14with tripod collar the 300mm f4 pro weighs a total of 1475 g come to think of it the collar alone weigh as much as some lenses. QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 31 2019, 08:15 AM) a good telephoto zoom lens to start with if you ask me. Just don't go join those bird park outing, very poisonous also you wont hurt your wallet until you upgrade. |
Oct 31 2019, 08:55 PM
603 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 30 2019, 03:46 PM) here are the top 3 heavyweights Ummmm why compare FF equivalent? To get similar light performance u need f2 lens on m43 which actually brings the weight on par with FF f4 lens.3) Panasonic Leica 100-400mm F4-6.3 985g 2) Panasonic Leica 200mm F2.8 1245g and the winner is... 1) Olympus 300mm F4 Pro 1270g ![]() makes the OMD looks puny in comparison for full frame lens comparison... Canon EF 600mm f/4.0L IS II USM 3920g or maybe get the original version Canon EF 600mm f/4.0L IS USM Lens 5366g |
Nov 1 2019, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(TrialGone @ Oct 31 2019, 08:55 PM) Ummmm why compare FF equivalent? To get similar light performance u need f2 lens on m43 which actually brings the weight on par with FF f4 lens. We are comparing physical lens properties not light performance.We know better not to compare light performance between format systems If we did, we will not stop at FF and go all the way to MF. This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Nov 1 2019, 05:48 PM |
Nov 1 2019, 05:54 PM
603 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Nov 1 2019, 05:47 PM) We are comparing physical lens properties not light performance. Adui. F4 lens on m43 is like F8 on FF (if exist) of which the physical size of both lens will be almost the same. If u don't compare apple to apple images I.E. factoring Light and physical performance to make similar images, u might as well claim mobile phone camera is the king. There is a reason why when apple shoot commercial, they often have to attach giant a$$ lens in front of ipon.We know better not to compare light performance between format systems If we did, we will not stop at FF and go all the way to MF. Yes m43 overall do have smaller components overall especially the body but when u factor in equivalent light performance, bokeh, field of view, etc. then u will see "physical lens" won't be that much different than those of FF. There is a reason why some uses speedboosters with FF lens. This post has been edited by TrialGone: Nov 1 2019, 05:59 PM |
Nov 1 2019, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(TrialGone @ Nov 1 2019, 05:54 PM) Adui. F4 lens on m43 is like F8 on FF (if exist) of which the physical size of both lens will be almost the same. If u don't compare apple to apple images I.E. factoring Light and physical performance to make similar images, u might as well claim mobile phone camera is the king. There is a reason why when apple shoot commercial, they often have to attach giant a$$ lens in front of ipon. Yet you couldn’t find a nice FF lens as small and light as m43.Yes m43 overall do have smaller components overall especially the body but when u factor in equivalent light performance, bokeh, field of view, etc. then u will see "physical lens" won't be that much different than those of FF. There is a reason why some uses speedboosters with FF lens. |
| Change to: | 0.0232sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:19 PM |