16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Bottom

【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

bobds78
post Feb 7 2019, 09:21 PM

1,777 posts

Hi guys! Trust everyone had a great time enjoying the cny holidays.

Is anybody of the regulars here from JB (Johor Baru)?
bobds78
post Feb 20 2019, 04:12 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Feb 20 2019, 03:24 PM)
speaking of holidays, decided to re-edit a few of my old photos from my Oly E-M5... see back my old pics punya editing also  doh.gif 

Olympus E-M5 + Panasonic Lumix Vario G 35-100mm f2.8 | 100mm | ISO 200 | 1/2500 sec | f4.0 |

Olympus E-M5 + Panasonic Leica DG Summilux 25mm f1.4 | ISO 200 | 1/100 sec | f16.0 |

Olympus E-M5 + Panasonic Lumix Vario G 35-100mm f2.8 | 35mm | ISO 200 | 1/200 sec | f18.0 |

Olympus E-M5 + Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm f4.0 | 14mm | ISO 200 | 1/160 sec | f22.0 |
Ay seh Man, Oia Village yes? I was there last April 2018. Haven't finish editing all my photos yet Lol sweat.gif
bobds78
post Feb 20 2019, 08:26 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Feb 20 2019, 04:18 PM)
yes! i miss the place. the food was good, the people was friendly but the heat was crazy. it got so hot outside until my phone turned off by itself from overheating when i left it on the table  rclxub.gif
Me too, I missed it too. It's a trip of a lifetime don't you agree?

bobds78
post Feb 20 2019, 09:13 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 20 2019, 04:37 PM)
anyone took pic of the supermoon yesterday?
i wanted to take but clouds were in the way  bangwall.gif
I got this just now. Said to be the biggest super moon this year known as the Super Snow Moon. Just some basic pp done.

Em5 Mark II + Tamron sp 70-300 on Viltrox Ef-M4/3 adapter. Not bad.

bobds78
post Feb 21 2019, 04:56 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Feb 20 2019, 10:32 PM)
Got try high res mode?
I was thinking about it but the moon is moving all the time so I have no idea if it will work. Probably I will try that tonight thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 21 2019, 12:15 PM)
greece is one the more affordable holiday destination in europe.
True. The others are Portugal and a few eastern Europe countries like Poland, Hungary etc. Portugal is such an awesome place and will definitely one of my bucket list.

I have ordered Em1 mark II probably receiving it in the next few days, along with the 7-14 Pro lens, on top of the 12-40 which I purchased with the em5 mark II. It's time to switch up a bit my m4/3 experience. I haven't been particularly attached to the gx8, which I though I would. Hopefully the em1 mark II will. thumbup.gif
bobds78
post Feb 25 2019, 02:21 PM

1,777 posts

This is the HRS (High Res Shot) from the em5 mark II and cropped with some light pp only. One thing I don't understand is the image file size (in MB terms) isn't as large as I would expect from a 40mp photo. Is this because it's all nothing in the whole photo except the moon (which i reckon take up about 15-20% of the overall photo) and further cropped into? However, the overall clarity is much better than the first one that I took. The same gears are used as the first one.

bobds78
post Feb 25 2019, 02:36 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ Feb 25 2019, 02:27 PM)
Yup, that's what compression does to your file.
Compression would probably happens while uploading to Lowyat forum but what I have is before I upload my file is only a few hundred KB in file size! I have to test again soon i find the time. Maybe I didn't get the setting correctly rclxub.gif
bobds78
post Feb 25 2019, 03:27 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ Feb 25 2019, 03:09 PM)
Jpeg is a form of compression. It has nothing to do with setting.
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 25 2019, 03:13 PM)
yeah does not sound right.
your file should have been bigger unless the file compression is that high in hi-res mode.
I suspect that since the whole picture contains nothing but the moon, and the moon which constitute 15-20% (probably much lesser), there would be nothing else to resolve and record as there is an empty space of darkness only, which resulted a smaller file size. Remember that I am using only a 70-300mm lens effectively 600mm at the long end, not much zoom to make the moon appear big on the sensor (screen). For this I might need a 600mm (equiv 1200mm) lens.

There is compression in jpeg agreed no doubt.
bobds78
post Feb 25 2019, 03:30 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 25 2019, 03:18 PM)
did bobds compare the moon shot with and with out hires?
if its still the same size then there is some black magic going on there.  shocking.gif
I should.
bobds78
post Feb 25 2019, 04:06 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ Feb 25 2019, 03:34 PM)
600mm is plenty (for peasants like me and COOLPINK). I also wished I had the 75-300mm lens. My moon was shot with a measly 300mm equivalent. 🤐

Don't think m43 has 600mm now.
The longer the lens the better most definitely, one will be able to zoom in closer and resolve more detail of the moon. I will try my 150-600mm Tamron one of these days and see where it gets me thumbsup.gif

Edit: However, I still think those monstrous ultra super zoom 60x or greater is the best bet since they are much much smaller and much much lighter to balance on the tripod compared to dslr or mirrorless lenses.

This post has been edited by bobds78: Feb 25 2019, 04:09 PM
bobds78
post Feb 25 2019, 05:38 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 25 2019, 04:42 PM)
u know ur tamrom 150-650mm weights 2kg right?  laugh.gif

those ultra super zooms 60x (1000mm++) will be the best because it almost fill up the whole frame.
down side is most of those lenses start at f8-f11 and to get sharp u need to close down to f11-f16.
f16 and m43 with high iso is not a good combination.  sweat.gif

hold on while i go get my nikon 1200-1700mm f5.6-f8 lens and test.  brows.gif
i remember someone use a telescope and camera combo to get great detailed moon shots.
https://astronomy.wonderhowto.com/news/imag...escope-0134640/
cheers.gif
bobds78
post Feb 26 2019, 11:33 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 26 2019, 09:56 AM)
60x superzooms

nikon 2000mm f11

canon 5200 f14

to a non photographer you will be seen as a this (nerd)

to  a photographer you will be seen as this (manly).  laugh.gif
sweat.gif
bobds78
post Feb 26 2019, 11:38 AM

1,777 posts

Meet the Nikon P1000, the 125X zoom superzoom camera, equiv to 24 - 3000mm!! zoom camera:

bobds78
post Feb 26 2019, 04:25 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ Feb 26 2019, 01:50 PM)
As mentioned by COOLPINK, this camera has a small sensor. I actually don't quite understand this camera tbh as I see m43 a much better proposition. Unless the greater than 1000mm range is required, m43 delivers a smaller package and smaller price.
True it has a much smaller sensor. To me this camera is pretty good for birding as it has a dedicated "Bird" dial. This P series line will continue to get better with time as innovations advanced. The sensor is actually smaller than the conventional compacts to enable a much longer zoom capacity.

Yeah good for peeping too brows.gif
bobds78
post Feb 26 2019, 10:20 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Feb 26 2019, 06:02 PM)
Just checked back my older moon shot, ORF 12MB while processed JPEG almost 2MB. Other photos with lot more colors and variation are 15MB+
This is exactly what I mentioned earlier. If there are lots of subjects in a frame hence more to resolve by the sensor, more details needed to be recorded and as a result a larger file. In the case of the moon which covers a miserable 15-20% (possibly less) of the sensor a much smaller file will be recorded. So that confirmed why I have a smaller file size than normal. But I will still take some more shots and see for myself when the next chance comes.
bobds78
post Feb 28 2019, 08:06 PM

1,777 posts

Finally, getting my hands on this long awaited switch;

This post has been edited by bobds78: Feb 28 2019, 08:08 PM
bobds78
post Feb 28 2019, 08:21 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Feb 28 2019, 08:14 PM)
remember give review vs gx8 laugh.gif
thumbsup.gif
bobds78
post Mar 1 2019, 03:07 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Wild Honey @ Mar 1 2019, 11:36 AM)
Fuhhhh rarrrr! How much did you get it bro?
Abt 4.5k straight from Taobao.

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Mar 1 2019, 11:39 AM)
a much better choice than the new EM1X
I couldn't agree more.

QUOTE(huislaw @ Mar 1 2019, 12:42 PM)
With which lens? tongue.gif
I am pairing it with the 7-14 pro & 12-40 pro. I have just tested it on the 12-40 pro for AF speed and its blazingly fast, unbelievable how fast this beast gets. The fastest camera body I have ever owned!! sweat.gif
bobds78
post Mar 3 2019, 04:19 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Mar 2 2019, 09:21 PM)
https://www.43rumors.com/weird-results-from...han-the-e-m1ii/

Syukur la. I saw this article straight think of you already haha
Pretty technical stuff to me, some said they are the same and some said different. I will leave it to those techie heads to argue to their hearts content. Mujur lah mark II sweat.gif

As for me simple earthling, I will just find some spare time and go out to shoot thumbsup.gif

Very good article though, thanks for the share notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bobds78: Mar 3 2019, 04:20 PM
bobds78
post Mar 4 2019, 07:52 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Mar 4 2019, 05:33 PM)

mari mari download the new MFT lenses catalog SINI
Laowa 7.5mm f2 is missing hmm.gif

16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.1576sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:42 PM