15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

Someonesim
post Sep 6 2017, 05:08 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 6 2017, 04:49 PM)
super tele you need at least 500mm and above.
your fren using m43 camera also?
Ya, Oly body, 500mm = 250mm in m43 ma biggrin.gif She tested my 40-150 + mc14, love the image quality but want more focal reach.
Someonesim
post Sep 6 2017, 06:11 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 6 2017, 05:13 PM)
m43 bodies crop factor is 2x.
so if you use a 500mm lens on it, its effective focal length is 1000mm!  thumbup.gif
your 40-150mm with mc14 is equivalent to 420mm at the telephoto end.
That's why I suggest 100-300 or 100-400 to her, as it become 200-600 200-800

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 6 2017, 05:35 PM)
can i interest you in a 800mm? hmmmmmm? how about the Panasonic Leica 100-400mm?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I did suggest that to my friend, wonder what's her reaction when see the price whistling.gif
Someonesim
post Sep 6 2017, 08:55 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 6 2017, 08:52 PM)
let us know if you wanna sell off...

I WTB 12-40  laugh.gif
Hahaha, hold off any upgrade for now. Considering jump ship whistling.gif wait A7 III spec and pricing see how laugh.gif
Someonesim
post Sep 6 2017, 09:44 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 6 2017, 09:07 PM)
Full frame  brows.gif
hope they improve the battery life
I was disappointed at EM1m2's improvement on image quality / dynamic range / noise. Was wondering if m43 hit wall now, thus considering jump ship to FF biggrin.gif

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 6 2017, 09:16 PM)
considering new D850 vs old A7R2, next A7 wont so fast comes out and wont be cheap pun laugh.gif
Cant move back to big heavy DSLR laugh.gif A7 III was rumor to be announce this year, and yeah price are big concern for me. If too expensive, then I stick to Oly body.
Someonesim
post Sep 7 2017, 07:29 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 6 2017, 10:27 PM)
so if Oly then Em1 M3?  Or will you be getting Em1m2? Or Em5 m3? hmm.gif
EM1m3 I think soonest 2019, but possibly 2020 ? EM1m2 too expensive and EM5m3 is good alternative but also donno when, didnt even see rumor yet.
Someonesim
post Sep 7 2017, 09:15 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 7 2017, 08:38 AM)
the limiting factor of the m43 is the sensor size.
you cant do much to improve the dynamic range and noise with a smaller sensor.

yeah jump ship big headache.
have to rebuild lens and gadgets again.  sad.gif
That's why now I cease to buy any more stuff for my Oly. Only aiming Sony mirrorless full frame for now, if new A7 III too expensive, maybe just stick to em1 and wait sad.gif
Someonesim
post Sep 7 2017, 11:22 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 7 2017, 10:30 AM)
if a7iii selling for 1/2 of a9 price we are looking at rm10k+ price tag.
Half still gg sweat.gif Was hoping for slightly higher than A7 II price. Need pray cool2.gif

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 7 2017, 10:35 AM)
not to mention the price of the lenses  cry.gif  cry.gif
I checked the price already, still ok la, worse no money then buy cheap old Canon L lens then laugh.gif
Someonesim
post Sep 7 2017, 04:27 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(undine @ Sep 7 2017, 01:25 PM)
Fuh. Discussing full frame pulak. Poison dam strong this thread.

Personally I do feel the limitations on DR and iso/noises using m43 (was using nikon dx format dslr previously), but im no pro photographer pun, and most of the time I feel m43 is enough for me. For now. Lol

But yeah there's a limit on how far they can stretch the m43 sensor due to its size, maybe the limit is quite near already 😥
Yeah, 95% of the time, my em1 can perfectly performed what I required, but at some extreme situation where you need more dynamic range or better noise performance, really wish I have full frame laugh.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Sep 7 2017, 03:05 PM)
Full frame kucimiao sensor lah... medium format bro.
If medium format cost RM10k that time, inform me laugh.gif
Someonesim
post Sep 12 2017, 08:30 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 11 2017, 10:19 AM)
some CF Mini pics :-

Panasonic Lumix G85 + Panasonic Leica DG Nocticron 42.5mm f1.2

and yes too lazy to change lenses so the 42.5mm was my go-to portrait shooter for the weekend  tongue.gif

[EDIT] one of these cosplayers is a trap  brows.gif  brows.gif
Wow I love the 1st and 4th one wub.gif
Using flash with huge softbox, or purely natural light ?

There's one cosplay event on 24th Sept at The Curve, should I go hmm.gif never shoot cosplayer before
Someonesim
post Sep 18 2017, 04:25 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(undine @ Sep 18 2017, 02:52 PM)
hello gents.

some of the photos i took during my Rinjani hiking trip.

Overlooking
Never-ending Slope
The Beginning
From The Peak
Patterns
Fishing
1st Crater
From Desa Senaru

I totally underestimated the battery capacity of the new BLH-1.
I brought 4 with me, but 3 is more than enough (I didn't attempt any milky way/stars shot though, too cold and too many people walking around with their headlamps)
Great shots, I wanna go but too weak to climb even normal mountain sweat.gif
Another sunset/night shots ?
Someonesim
post Sep 25 2017, 02:20 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(meamth @ Sep 25 2017, 12:58 PM)
Thank you bro. I ended up bought this instead:

i'll find fixed wide lens at least 7mm and fixed zoom lens 40mm to 60mm.

Anyway anyone wants to purchase my Metabones speedbooster?

Carousel
f0.95 master race biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post Sep 25 2017, 09:22 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Sep 25 2017, 08:14 PM)
Used this:

[attachmentid=9172312]

A big Power bank and a charger that accepts micro usb.  So I don't always have to find a wall with a power outlet.  I can charge it in my bag while on the go.  I bought it in Hong Kong.
wow didnt knew got such type charger. What's the rate of charging ? Coz even with wall outlet charging will take few hours.
Someonesim
post Sep 26 2017, 07:37 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Sep 25 2017, 10:47 PM)
Says its output is 800mAh.  Yeah I guess it can take between 2-3 hours to charge from empty to full depending on the battery.  I'm not sure about charging mathematics.  Usually, my battery lasts me anywhere between 2-4 hours so just in time to swap a fully charged one.
Ya, it'll be useful for emergency. I have 3 batteries and can last me 8-10 hours of non-stop shooting, USB charger will be useful if you need more biggrin.gif

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Sep 26 2017, 12:09 AM)
does anyone know if I could trade-in my em5 for em1 at olympus malaysia? haha
Your better bet will be YL. I know shashinki also accept used item but they based at Johor so you need to send there.

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Sep 26 2017, 12:10 AM)
outlet charging few hours really? the usb one charges in about 90 minutes from 0 to full
wall outlet less than that
the usb based charger is around RM10
Yeah around 2-3 hours, battery for EM1/EM5 sweat.gif
Someonesim
post Oct 21 2017, 05:04 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Oct 21 2017, 02:18 PM)
All photos shot with EM-5 Mark II & 12-40mm PRO.

Take Eat Easy Modern Bakery & Cafe at Bandar Menjalara, Kepong

wub.gif
thank you for not posting this at midnight biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post Oct 26 2017, 10:58 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(sado.oi @ Oct 26 2017, 10:09 AM)
Nice. Are the lenses equipped with environmental sealing?
Presumed it is, as it's PRO lineup.

*Not sure if insider tips or not, but 17mm f1.2 PRO only start sale next year cry.gif

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 26 2017, 10:37 AM)
Looks at the price tag, am aiming something half of it laugh.gif A7 III please
Someonesim
post Oct 26 2017, 12:07 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 26 2017, 11:03 AM)
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1366...al_ed_17mm.html

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1366...al_ed_45mm.html
yep, they have
BH Photo expects them to only start shipping in Jan 2018

A7iii have to wait somemore liao  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
No money, I can wait whistling.gif

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 26 2017, 11:06 AM)
Since Olympus announcements are out of the way, now i'm super interested in Panasonic's announcement on Nov 6 on their new GH5-equivalent body for stills!

not so hyped for the new PanaLeica 50-200mm zoom though
Pray that this GH5-lite ? will have friendly price tag, so I can upgrade from my aged EM1 flex.gif
Someonesim
post Oct 26 2017, 12:49 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(sado.oi @ Oct 26 2017, 12:23 PM)
By then, are you going to let go you em1? I am thinking  to get a body that has phase detection AF, can fully utilize my four third lens  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
High change of selling, not rich enough to keep 2 body, unless RV for EM1 that time too low sweat.gif

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 26 2017, 12:36 PM)
Yep pray so I can upgrade from my G85's hahaha
So fast upgrade laugh.gif
Someonesim
post Oct 26 2017, 04:26 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(meamth @ Oct 26 2017, 02:25 PM)
Full frames are overrated. Don't rate the A7rIII. Up to this point GH5 still the king in terms of videos

Olympus's new primes are delightful, but for that price I'd expect IS to be there. RM5K liao.
Dynamic range, noise performance, depth of field and resolution limitation.
For years I support m43 but recently IMHO it hit limitation in terms of dynamic range and noise performance.

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 26 2017, 02:33 PM)
unfortunately they don't have. Dunno why Oly doesn't want to go the body + lens IS route like Panasonic  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
QUOTE(meamth @ Oct 26 2017, 02:39 PM)
Yeah exactly, it's 2017, more and more bodies have in body IS. I would expect all the "new" PRO lenses to accommodate this advantage they created.
According to Olympus, their IBIS too good that it's limited by Earth rotation. From my reading, Panny dual-IS are no match for Olympus IBIS on EM1m2

Do we need even-more-stabilization ( other than 5.5 stop IBIS ) on 45mm ( 90mm equ. ) ?
Someonesim
post Oct 27 2017, 10:09 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Oct 27 2017, 07:43 PM)
So this is what Olympus claims:

""Feathered Bokeh

The search for the ultimate bokeh effect resulted in the creation of a beautifully defocused "feathered bokeh".

Creating a beautiful, softly blurring bokeh effect while maintaining the high resolution proper to the M.Zuiko PRO lenses: M.Zuiko PRO f/1.2 Prime Lenses

Welcome to a new world of bokeh, revolutionising the conventional concept of defocusing.""

I don't see any difference pun  rclxub.gif
I think bro your f0.95 can throw a better bokeh than any of the f1.2 PRO lenses thumbup.gif
From photos I checked so far, I feel that this feather bokeh = super rich bokeh.
Someonesim
post Oct 29 2017, 07:45 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(Siwon18 @ Oct 29 2017, 07:34 PM)
Hi, I would like to  ask why my camera Olympus lcd screen suddenly went blank? Nothing shown on the screen. It was fine and I didn’t drop or hurt the camera. When I switched on morning yesterday still fine but late afternoon I want to take photo and realise nothing show on the screen. But the lens is working fine and able to capture photo just that that no image shown on the screen.

Would like to ask how much to repair? I tried updated the firmware but still not working
Try:
Remove lens, put back lens, turn on.
or change other lens.

Happened to me few times over few years.

15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0306sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:58 PM