PROTON SAGA BLM, FL & FLX Thread V70, Final thread by TS
wankel
Mar 22 2017, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(underzoom @ Mar 22 2017, 04:16 PM) Hi folks. Just want to check with regards to a problem I have with my 1.3 FLX SV. Car is approaching 3 years old now with 57k KMs logged. I have a real niggling issue. When front brake disc is cold (first drive of the day), I get so much squeaky noise from the brakes. Real heavy metal to metal contact sound. As the brakes are used and the disc gets warmer, the sound disappears. Have not had any braking issues yet. Brake pads were changed at 20k and 40k KMs. Everytime I complain to SC they just blow dry in between the pad & disc and say no issue found. I keep telling them it happens when it's cold. I want to fix this myself outside SC. Is it advisable to change both the disc & pad? Any recommended brands I should go for? Appreciate your kind views. Thanks! Squealing is said to be an issue between the backing of the pad and the caliper piston, which is why shims are very commonly placed on the back of pads. Anti-squeal paste is made for that purpose too and it's a pretty simple job to pop pads out to apply it, but perhaps a tad too difficult for some workshops.
wankel
Apr 9 2017, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(lkleon @ Apr 8 2017, 01:24 PM) Don't know where can find a FLX SE to swap the ecu. At first they did said it is the wiring problem. But then the technician spend 10 days to figure it out its the ecu. Haha... If they're in any way related to Australian *technicians* they'll always diagnose the most expensive part, as in here the ECU, then after replacing it and finding that it doesn't cure the fault stir themselves into real action to quickly find the real fault so they can still make a bomb from the expensive part, sometimes as I have found myself in the case of a friend who paid out a fortune for a carburetor rebuild 30 years ago where the fault was actually a broken wire under the insulation to the fuel cutoff solenoid, just unplugging and re-plugging was enough to jiggle it back into contact for the mechanic to think falsely they'd fixed it. Replacing the ECU is usually just an easy out for a workshop, but bear in mind most service folk are like a rabbit under the glare of headlights, they have no idea about electronics.
wankel
Apr 13 2017, 06:25 AM
Something for Underzoom, a little piccie of my anti-seize, nickel in front and the larger copper behind. the little tube of nickel has lasted me for 16 years now and I expect it'll see me out with the few jobs I do.
wankel
Apr 19 2017, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(clement8 @ Apr 19 2017, 04:21 PM) Anyone experience before their car alarm just goes off out of a sudden and stops by itself? It happen to my Saga FLX 2 or maybe more times now. Sometimes in the morning when i enter into my car, i notice that the the light left to the double signal button is blinking. That actually indicates that the car alarm was triggered. For now I just suspect the connection of the battery +ve -ve got problem. Anything else to check? In my case trouble is usually caused by inadvertently pushing a button on the remote. I cured the real annoyance of the alarm within minutes after I drove Daisy home the first time by unplugging the noise maker, now I just get lights blinking. 30 seconds of that time was spent quietly before the alarm triggered for whatever reason, I was powerful grateful then that the salesman had shown me about one thing and that thing was how to turn off the alarm, he must have known how annoying it is.
wankel
Apr 20 2017, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(AMenzZ @ Apr 20 2017, 12:55 PM) I didnt go purposely buy, used some MOS2 grease sample from my ex company to do the job, applied it between the side surface where the drum pad and the drum base body touching, as previously having some once a while "tak tak" sound, i guess it works till now... Yes I was thinking of doing that but the other week when I pulled the drum off my lazy gene kicked in when I contemplated pulling the shoes off to gain access, so I just cleaned up the dust and inspected things before slapping it back together. The tac-tac noise is only a minor irritation and I had suspicions it may have been the shoe kicking sideways onto the backing plate, perhaps confirmed here.
wankel
May 1 2017, 05:53 AM
QUOTE(eek-1 @ May 1 2017, 06:16 AM) An idea just came while I was visiting Spotlight at Mines. Just thought I'd share. I like it, I think I might copy your idea.
wankel
May 4 2017, 02:36 PM
Daisy now has a yellow shelf, thanks for the idea.
White car, yellow trim, hence Daisy.
wankel
May 6 2017, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(eek-1 @ May 6 2017, 04:42 PM) What did you use to make a trim for the AC vent? It was either this or something very similar https://www.banggood.com/3m-DIY-Car-Interio...?rmmds=category
wankel
May 16 2017, 09:38 PM
I haven't cast an inquisitive eye on Daisy's rear brakes but my experience with cars made over the last 50 years is they all have self adjusting shoes and the parking brake setup should be pretty well a one off thing after fitting a replacement cable or whatever. The crunch is that some brakes set their adjustment by braking whilst reversing and others adjust merely by pulling the parking brake up and down a few times, an issue with that method is that in the USA almost universally their folk regard a parking/emergency brake as something covered in spiders and scorpions, and would never allow their hands to touch it, that isn't usually an issue in over-regulated Australia where not operating a parking brake whilst parked is punishable by a massive fine or jail, the point being that parking brake adjustment can be lost by not doing some things the designers considered normal, some people never have reason to reverse either. As to the SAT button, I repeat what I've said before, its sole purpose is to remind us why we bought a CVT, to avoid the jerk of gearchanges, so we buy our new car, test the SAT button to feel its operation, then put things back to normal CVT operation and live happily ever after.
wankel
May 30 2017, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(SerioseCat @ May 30 2017, 10:40 AM) Hi guys. Im sending my Saga FLX CVT for 70k service to a local (non Proton) workshop. Proton SC skipped replacing CVT fluid + filter at 60k service due to no stock. Local workshop advised that CVT filter does not need replacing, only fluid. Is this advisable? Right or wrong that's what I would do, plus it seems the general opinion of posters here to skip the first filter change, and only do it every 2nd fluid change. My head has difficulty thinking of reasons to bother doing it at such short intervals except for increasing dealership profit, but I could be very wrong and would be quite pleased to find good reasons.
wankel
Jun 6 2017, 03:58 PM
The mirrors on the FLX have LED indicators vs on the guard of the BLM.
wankel
Jun 19 2017, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(AMenzZ @ Jun 19 2017, 02:00 AM) I'm using Toyota Long Life Coolant...the black bottle with red cap one..price around rm25 i think...been a year..bought from spare parts shop Just make sure you completely flush any trace of a different colour coolant before refilling, mixing red and green together can become a nightmare, due to their different composition, I believe solid masses form when mixed. BTW used coolant makes an excellent weedkiller as well as a good method to eliminate cats by buggering their kidneys if they drink any of it, of course these are things that in Australia we're not permitted to do, most things here have a law forbidding it. This post has been edited by wankel: Jun 19 2017, 01:03 PM
wankel
Jun 20 2017, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jun 20 2017, 03:11 PM) It sound like Im driving a diesel car engine, where its noticeable when im sitting inside the driver seat. When car is moving. Can you share with me how do you DIY fixed it? Mine isn't playing up yet but I'd love to know about the method too for when it eventually and inevitably happens.
wankel
Jun 20 2017, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(Kamelot @ Jun 20 2017, 04:47 PM) Hi guys, for my old second hand saga, my car remote is currently broken and I will need to open the door manually using the key. I know the alarm will go off and I know there is a button with a 'dot' right beside the hazard signal button to override the alarm. What are the exact steps to override the alarm?  Thanks! I think it's turn ignition on and push the dot button.
wankel
Jun 29 2017, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(AMenzZ @ Jun 29 2017, 02:02 AM) Anyone changed it before? I changed Daisy's when I put LED indicator lamps in, that was actually quite a complicated job but for the indicator can the awkward part was the pins were reverse of what is normal and I had to solder wires to it to cross a couple of pins over. I can post a photo of my messy work later if you wish. Getting LED indicators to be serviceable was a far more difficult chore, due to what I consider weird wiring (at least to the front) and not having any decent amber lamps available, only ones that are too weak.
wankel
Jul 2 2017, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(tonynk9 @ Jul 2 2017, 10:57 PM) Saw at zordaq motorsport they posted a video of proton preve with similar sound... It was due to tensioner bearing issue Yes that was my thinking, hopefully the serpentine belt tensioner rather than the timing belt one. Any info regards crafting up a tool for the serpentine belt tensioner on an FLX would be most welcomed by me too, I believe they're different from the sensible one the BLM uses. I was also thinking the early rattle in the video may have been IAFM+ but I'm not familiar with that either.
wankel
Jul 31 2017, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(skyvisionz @ Jul 31 2017, 01:19 AM) guys my saga blm front bonnet will come out some smoke after 20min driving, anyone had the issue? If you've recently changed or topped up the oil then it could be some spillage burning off from the exhaust manifold. If it doesn't smell it could be water vapour and that would be serious due to overheating.
wankel
Jul 31 2017, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(skyvisionz @ Jul 31 2017, 10:04 AM) the car conditions like that for few month already, but currently less use. Got some burning smell i guess. The car got some black oil leakage. Sounds like it's leaking onto the exhaust, likely a leaking valve cover gasket as I believe our Campro engines' are prone to it, fairly simple fix, new gasket and a few minutes playing with a socket.
wankel
Aug 1 2017, 06:30 AM
5mm thread by 10 mm long, it has a countersunk head which will likely make it difficult to find, if so then try something about 12 mm long and put a fair sized washer under the head. The actual thread of the original screw thread is only about 7 mm long but being countersunk it reaches nicely into knob. There's two of them.
wankel
Aug 2 2017, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(qse150 @ Aug 2 2017, 01:49 PM) how do i check my alternator and charging voltage? I'm more inclined to check if the battery terminals have a good connection first, clean and tighten them. A lazy way to check on an alternator is to turn the lights on and if they brighten a bit when you rev above idle then things are probably OK.