ACER XB240H & KG240A

TSjaykay4540
post Sep 13 2016, 05:11 PM, updated 10y ago

65 posts

i am looking for 144hz monitor and found these two monitors from acer.
KG240A RM880
XB240H RM1199

KG240 cheaper but i cant find any reviews regarding this monitor, only Malaysia website has write about it during the launching.
even on acer web dont have any info about the monitor.
should i buy KG or XB ? whats the different anyway?

saya_zharif
post Sep 19 2016, 02:31 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Sep 13 2016, 05:11 PM)
i am looking for 144hz monitor and found these two monitors from acer.
KG240A RM880
XB240H RM1199

KG240 cheaper but i cant find any reviews regarding this monitor, only Malaysia website has write about it during the launching.
even on acer web dont have any info about the monitor.
should i buy KG or XB ? whats the different anyway?

looking for similar point of view
JohnLai
post Sep 20 2016, 11:00 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

jaykay4540
ACER ---> Master of misleading advertisement, the company know KG240A isn't well known yet.

KG240A
No Freesync (despite some news said it does, it doesn't support fresync) = No fancy tech like ULMB (anti flicker stuff) or nvidia 3D Vision tech = fixed height and cannot spin the monitor between landscape and portrait

XB240H
No G-sync (ASIA model doesn't support it, don't get cheated) = Nvidia 3D Vision Ready = Anti Flicker feature = adjustable height , can spin the monitor to landscape and portrait

EDIT: Golden rule of purchase ---> You get what you pay for

On the other hand....if you have compatible AMD GPU, why not opt for AOC G2460PF with Freesync? Only costs RM1200.
You can check the review of G2460PF here
http://www.redgamingtech.com/aoc-g2460pf-2...w-and-analysis/
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/aoc-g2460pf,review-3685.html

However....if you have Nvidia GPU.......the cheapest G-Sync monitor costs around RM2000.....ACER XB241H
Reason being AOC has stopped production of its cheaper G-Sync G2460PG and focus the production on AOC G2460PF.

Rumour has it....majority of panel intended for G2460PG keep on being failing to pass Nvidia imposed strict quality G-Sync hardware requirement, so AOC has enough of such 'requirement' and so.....the 'criteria failing panel' being repurposed for G2460PF instead....

So.....Good luck in making your choice.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 20 2016, 11:13 AM
truthosis
post Sep 20 2016, 05:05 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 20 2016, 11:00 AM)
jaykay4540
ACER ---> Master of misleading advertisement, the company know KG240A isn't well known yet.

KG240A
No Freesync (despite some news said it does, it doesn't support fresync) = No fancy tech like ULMB (anti flicker stuff) or nvidia 3D Vision tech = fixed height and cannot spin the monitor between landscape and portrait
XB240H
No G-sync (ASIA model doesn't support it, don't get cheated) = Nvidia 3D Vision Ready = Anti Flicker feature = adjustable height , can spin the monitor to landscape and portrait
EDIT: Golden rule of purchase ---> You get what you pay for

On the other hand....if you have compatible AMD GPU, why not opt for AOC G2460PF with Freesync? Only costs RM1200.
You can check the review of G2460PF here
http://www.redgamingtech.com/aoc-g2460pf-2...w-and-analysis/
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/aoc-g2460pf,review-3685.html

However....if you have Nvidia GPU.......the cheapest G-Sync monitor costs around RM2000.....ACER XB241H
Reason being AOC has stopped production of its cheaper G-Sync G2460PG and focus the production on AOC G2460PF.

Rumour has it....majority of panel intended for G2460PG keep on being failing to pass Nvidia imposed strict quality G-Sync hardware requirement, so AOC has enough of such 'requirement' and so.....the 'criteria failing panel' being repurposed for G2460PF instead....

So.....Good luck in making your choice.
yeah just noticed the monitor at Viewnet. the box says it supports Freesync. Why the contrary JohnLai ? Got any insights review/specification?
JohnLai
post Sep 20 2016, 08:41 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(truthosis @ Sep 20 2016, 05:05 PM)
yeah just noticed the monitor at Viewnet. the box says it supports Freesync. Why the contrary JohnLai ? Got any insights review/specification?
Wait, the box said KG240A support freesync? If the box said so, then probably yes. There is a model without freesync capability too. Beware!!! (The only way to be sure --->Check the box)

Be careful of Acer model naming.
Example, there is KG240 (without A) listed at https://community.amd.com/docs/DOC-1432

MANUFACTURER MODEL SIZE LCD TYPE RESOLUTION RANGE INTERFACE LFC
Acer KG240 24" TBA 1920x1080 48-75Hz HDMI® No

Now, the KG240A claims it support 48-144Hz range using DisplayPort with LFC.
However, information at AMD website http://www.amd.com/en-us/innovations/softw...ming/freesync#5

Acer KG240A 24" AD-PLS 1920x1080 TBA-144Hz DisplayPort™ No

Notice the panel type? Advanced Plane to Line Switching (AD-PLS)
The funny part is......majority of sellers are listing KG240A as TN panel....so...which one is true?
Did you check the panel type on the box when you view it?

If box mention 144hz with 1ms stuff --->confirm it is TN panel. PLS panel can never reach 1ms.

EDIT: Did you have picture of the box you saw?
Just saw the box --> It is TN panel for sure, AMD Freesync logo is there.....

EDIT2: Something is fishy about the panel type. The price is too cheap to be good. (As I said...you get what you pay for) Maybe the panel is 6bit+FRC....or the panel has ghosting problem? Does the monitor even pass AMD Freesync certification process in first place? (Got conflicting info on panel type)

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 20 2016, 08:57 PM
truthosis
post Sep 20 2016, 09:49 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 20 2016, 08:41 PM)
Wait, the box said KG240A support freesync? If the box said so, then probably yes. There is a model without freesync capability too. Beware!!! (The only way to be sure --->Check the box)

Be careful of Acer model naming.
Example, there is KG240 (without A) listed at https://community.amd.com/docs/DOC-1432

MANUFACTURER MODEL SIZE  LCD TYPE RESOLUTION RANGE INTERFACE LFC
Acer                KG240      24"  TBA                1920x1080        48-75Hz HDMI®        No
Now, the KG240A claims it support 48-144Hz range using DisplayPort with LFC.
However, information at AMD website http://www.amd.com/en-us/innovations/softw...ming/freesync#5

Acer  KG240A  24"  AD-PLS  1920x1080  TBA-144Hz  DisplayPort™  No
Notice the panel type? Advanced Plane to Line Switching (AD-PLS)
The funny part is......majority of sellers are listing KG240A as TN panel....so...which one is true?
Did you check the panel type on the box when you view it?

If box mention 144hz with 1ms stuff --->confirm it is TN panel. PLS panel can never reach 1ms.
EDIT: Did you have picture of the box you saw?
Just saw the box --> It is TN panel for sure, AMD Freesync logo is there.....

EDIT2: Something is fishy about the panel type. The price is too cheap to be good. (As I said...you get what you pay for) Maybe the panel is 6bit+FRC....or the panel has ghosting problem? Does the monitor even pass AMD Freesync certification process in first place? (Got conflicting info on panel type)
Ahh I see thanks for the insight. I'll help snap and post it here if got the chance. Waiting for a review from a forumer here if possible
JohnLai
post Sep 20 2016, 11:21 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(truthosis @ Sep 20 2016, 09:49 PM)
Ahh I see thanks for the insight. I'll help snap and post it here if got the chance. Waiting for a review from a forumer here if possible
Hmm.....impossible lor......most of us doesnt have the stuff for proper review.

Example, to measure color uniformity, need to purchase Pro edition of colorimeter which cost RM1200 such as Spyder5Pro

Next, to check for ghosting at high framerate, either relies on eye or another high speed camera which costs a bomb too.

Anyone with acer monitor can open up the 'service menu' by pressing the button in this order counting from the left to right.

5, 5, 4, 4, 2, 3

Press Fifth button twice from counting from the left to right. Then press Fourth button twice. Press Second button and finally press Third Button.

A service menu with all the details will come out like this:
Click to zoom open its original size.

Example, you can see my Acer XB241H panel is sourced from AUO M240HW01 V8.
Googling 'panelook M240HW01 V8' and you will see panelook site on specific information on that panel.

Here some info on my panel found at panelook

Now you see why it is tough to make choice?
truthosis
post Sep 20 2016, 11:37 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 20 2016, 11:21 PM)
Hmm.....impossible lor......most of us doesnt have the stuff for proper review.

Example, to measure color uniformity, need to purchase Pro edition of colorimeter which cost RM1200 such as Spyder5Pro

Next, to check for ghosting at high framerate, either relies on eye or another high speed camera which costs a bomb too.
Anyone with acer monitor can open up the 'service menu' by pressing the button in this order counting from the left to right.
5, 5, 4, 4, 2, 3

Press Fifth button twice from counting from the left to right. Then press Fourth button twice. Press Second button and finally press Third Button.

A service menu with all the details will come out like this:
Click to zoom open its original size.

Example, you can see my Acer XB241H panel is sourced from AUO M240HW01 V8.
Googling 'panelook M240HW01 V8' and you will see panelook site on specific information on that panel.

Here some info on my panel found at panelook

Now you see why it is tough to make choice?
hei thanks for the tip bro about how to check Acer settings.

Wow with that kind of information to decide, somewhat i understand why ignorance is bliss mega_shok.gif
TSjaykay4540
post Sep 21 2016, 10:25 AM

65 posts

wow
thanks for the input. there are so much hidden correct info by the manufacturer.
legit not lying. just not telling lol.

comparing that, KG240A cheaper and have Freesync.
but im using gtx much sad.
JohnLai
post Sep 21 2016, 11:35 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Sep 21 2016, 10:25 AM)
wow
thanks for the input. there are so much hidden correct info by the manufacturer.
legit not lying. just not telling lol.

comparing that, KG240A cheaper and have Freesync.
but im using gtx much sad.
GTX? hmm.gif It seems like you will be stuck with G-Sync type unless if you plan to sell off your GPU and buy AMD....but there are few considerations.

Here some info about FreeSync and G-Sync.

1) Quality control
Every monitor made to support G-Sync need to pass nvidia strict certification checks. Example, all panel must support minimum variable refresh range of 30Hz, cannot has certain amount of ghosting or severe flickering at low refresh rate range and use certain approved panels only.

AMD hands off the panel selection stuff, quality control and refresh rate range to monitor manufacturers. This is why some freesync monitors have low refresh rate range (as the result, Low Framerate Compensation or known as frame doubling at lower fps will not work), has some pixel inversion and ghosting issues. But it is cheaper....

2) Freesync doesn't work in Borderless Windows Mode, it only works in Exclusive Fullscreen Mode. G-Sync works in both Mode.

As I said before......some Freesync panels are using the panels which failed G-Sync quality + certification checks .....So...if you ask if you should purchase KG240A....then its cheap price with somehow 144hz+1ms+FreeSync should tell you something about its panel quality....
Darksorrow3010
post Sep 21 2016, 05:51 PM

147 posts

JohnLai what's your overall impression on XB241H ? coz im seriously considering to get it as well if i was to get a gtx 1070 drool.gif

i want to achieve the awsmness of 144hz and above!

This post has been edited by Darksorrow3010: Sep 21 2016, 05:52 PM
JohnLai
post Sep 21 2016, 07:34 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Sep 21 2016, 05:51 PM)
JohnLai what's your overall impression on XB241H ? coz im seriously considering to get it as well if i was to get a gtx 1070  drool.gif

i want to achieve the awsmness of 144hz and above!
.......Overall impression ---> Poor man cheapest G-Sync capable monitor.

So......180hz OC mode -->backlight bleeding like hell. Black becomes gray. 144Hz is still somehow 'okay'

Bad backlight uniformity ---> Upper area of the monitor kinda look like this http://www.overclock.net/t/1597127/acer-pr...0#post_25321888

I propose you to read that forum topic. Yes....green lines of MSI Afterburner issue exists.....

Color calibration wise by using Spyder4Pro.... 99% of SRGB. Uniformity --->Exactly as above link. Don't get me started with Spyder4Pro gamma and grayscale analysis result. The more you know.......the worse it becomes....

Edit: LOL, got someone accuses me on not having Spyder4Pro.
Proof

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 21 2016, 07:46 PM
Darksorrow3010
post Sep 21 2016, 08:14 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 21 2016, 07:34 PM)
.......Overall impression ---> Poor man cheapest G-Sync capable monitor.

So......180hz OC mode -->backlight bleeding like hell. Black becomes gray. 144Hz is still somehow 'okay'

Bad backlight uniformity ---> Upper area of the monitor kinda look like this http://www.overclock.net/t/1597127/acer-pr...0#post_25321888

I propose you to read that forum topic. Yes....green lines of MSI Afterburner issue exists.....

Color calibration wise by using Spyder4Pro.... 99% of SRGB. Uniformity --->Exactly as above link. Don't get me started with Spyder4Pro gamma and grayscale analysis result. The more you know.......the worse it becomes....
Edit: LOL, got someone accuses me on not having Spyder4Pro.
Proof
this makes me want to hold my purchase and wait for new freesync + AMD vega/ new better gsync monitor to come to finally make my choice looooolllll doh.gif

This post has been edited by Darksorrow3010: Sep 21 2016, 08:16 PM
JohnLai
post Sep 21 2016, 08:28 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Sep 21 2016, 08:14 PM)
this makes me want to hold my purchase and wait for new freesync + AMD vega/ new better gsync monitor to come to finally make my choice looooolllll  doh.gif
If so called strict nvidia Quality Controlled G-Sync panel already produced such result.......what do you expect from even cheaper alternative panel from AMD? sweat.gif

I would say....just buy whatever float the boat. mega_shok.gif
Darksorrow3010
post Sep 21 2016, 08:55 PM

147 posts

so i took a look at 27" IPS 165hz both PG279Q and XB271HU coz both have almost same specs. comparing newegg's price, both at around $800.

but in malaysia, XB271HU costs "only" RM3200, meanwhile the PG279Q costs up to RM4000. wtf laaaa. leave me no other choice but to consider only XB271HU
JohnLai
post Sep 21 2016, 09:22 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Sep 21 2016, 08:55 PM)
so i took a look at 27" IPS 165hz both PG279Q and XB271HU coz both have almost same specs. comparing newegg's price, both at around $800.

but in malaysia, XB271HU costs "only" RM3200, meanwhile the PG279Q costs up to RM4000. wtf laaaa. leave me no other choice but to consider only XB271HU
Hohoho.....Better don't buy the so called high end monitor yet....there are a lot of problem with quality control recently.

Read this guy post
http://www.overclock.net/t/1605608/asus-ro...u#post_25361051

Darksorrow3010
post Sep 21 2016, 10:09 PM

147 posts

ahhhhahahah in the end i should just get a gtx 1060 and 60hz monitor (acer R241Y in mind). investing for 144hz experience is like a box of chocolate doh.gif

This post has been edited by Darksorrow3010: Sep 21 2016, 10:41 PM
teng_08
post Sep 21 2016, 10:18 PM

978 posts

Hafta agree with what JohnLai is saying. Acer's advertisement is indeed misleading even for seller like myself.
I carry Acer / Dell /BenQ brands and I find Acer's advertisement confusing and misleading at times.

Can't go wrong with a Dell monitor though.. design a bit boring but hey, the 1-to-1 exchange warranty gives u a peace of mind. Can't say the same for Acer/BenQ warranties.
Darksorrow3010
post Sep 22 2016, 07:45 PM

147 posts

is this monitor ViewSonic XG2703-GS available in malaysia? spec 99% same as asus pg279q and acer xb271hu
christ14
post Sep 26 2016, 09:01 PM

1,567 posts

Made me sceptical now..I'm the guy tinkering with viewnet demo unit after saw it on sale for 899rm but unker said can less again. Definitely says free sync and 1 ms plus 144hz. And I'm looking for monitor and right budget. Googled my ass off and 3rd pages show here hahahahah... Indeed we get what we pay for so jut looking around for reviews but found none. Either I top abit more for aoc or BenQ or imma just get this lol
JohnLai
post Sep 26 2016, 09:22 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 26 2016, 09:01 PM)
Made me sceptical now..I'm the guy tinkering with viewnet demo unit after saw it on sale for 899rm but unker said can less again. Definitely says free sync and 1 ms plus 144hz. And I'm looking for monitor and right budget. Googled my ass off and 3rd pages show here hahahahah... Indeed we get what we pay for so jut looking around for reviews but found none. Either I top abit more for aoc or BenQ or imma just get this lol
Just buy it.
If one already poor, stick with poor man goods.
I mean.....how worse can the monitor be?

Life lesson:

Don't spend more than you can afford.

xennion
post Sep 27 2016, 09:41 AM

72 posts

Just bought a kg240 as cheap second monitor. No regrets so far. 144hz on dp. No tearing on csgo at 400fps.

JohnLai
post Sep 27 2016, 12:28 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(xennion @ Sep 27 2016, 09:41 AM)
Just bought a kg240 as cheap second monitor. No regrets so far. 144hz on dp. No tearing on csgo at 400fps.
-.-....400fps? No tearing and no input lag problem? This means Vsync is automatically activated once gpu renders higher than 144hz. Hmmm.......AMD doesn't have Nvidia Fastsync equivalent...oh well...

As long as you are satisfied with it. thumbup.gif
xennion
post Sep 27 2016, 12:59 PM

72 posts

Using nvidia. Not and hence not using freesync. As long and can maintain stable fps at 200+ and doest drop below 144fps, I wont see any tearing at all.

For the price of 880 I think its one of the cheapest option for 144hz 1ms screen around. Definately a value buy if anyone doesnt mind an acer screen.

Only those cheap risky china and korean screens are priced lower.

Any chance of getting access to the service menu?

I tried 5 5 4 4 3 2 and 5 5 4 4 3 2 5 but im unable to access the service menu.
Darksorrow3010
post Sep 27 2016, 01:35 PM

147 posts

u got the KG240A? (not sure if KG240 refers to KG240A laugh.gif ) may i know what is the FreeSync range for it?

This post has been edited by Darksorrow3010: Sep 27 2016, 01:36 PM
xennion
post Sep 27 2016, 02:54 PM

72 posts

Kg240. Dont have an amd card to test. But im assuming its 40-144hz on freesync range.
axnaz
post Sep 27 2016, 04:27 PM

Hi guys,
I also happened just buy this KG240A due to AOC G2460pf out of stock from all the shop i found and PMed. Since i had no choice i came across this monitor eventhough they dont have review & it was cheapest 144hz monitor in M'sia at moment. The setting to let it run at 144hz need to setup manually on the driver properties which I never known make me feel regret though since I read this forum before bought. Neverless, after i set it to 144hz it was great on csgo with no tearing & understand why ppl said never goes back to 60hz.
P/s: Just i not satisfied with the standard colour setting cause watch video was bad for me though.Hope for any recommendation.

Thanks. brows.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 27 2016, 08:56 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Sep 27 2016, 01:35 PM)
u got the KG240A? (not sure if KG240 refers to KG240A  laugh.gif  ) may i know what is the FreeSync range for it?
QUOTE(xennion @ Sep 27 2016, 02:54 PM)
Kg240. Dont have an amd card to test. But im assuming its 40-144hz on freesync range.
KG240 doesn't support freesync. Only KG240A does.
christ14
post Sep 27 2016, 10:02 PM

1,567 posts

Thanks all.. I guess I'm getting one. The one with free sync of course cuz wasted leh that 390x hahah was gona add rm300 or so for benQ or so since long term investment. But that money can be used elsewhere I thought. Gona get me one then brows.gif lowyat here I come

I agree the color produced abit unsatisfactory but I'm not the kind of guy whose so into detail of things hahah

JohnLai
post Sep 27 2016, 10:18 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

One more info, the actual range is 48hz - 144hz.
For its price, it is good bargain as long as the gpu can handle minimum 24fps for Low Framerate Compensation (Frame Doubling) to kick into action.
axnaz
post Sep 28 2016, 09:57 AM

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 27 2016, 10:02 PM)
Thanks all.. I guess I'm getting one. The one with free sync of course cuz wasted leh that 390x hahah was gona add rm300 or so for benQ or so since long term investment. But that money can be used elsewhere I thought. Gona get me one then brows.gif lowyat here I come

I agree the color produced abit unsatisfactory but I'm not the kind of guy whose so into detail of things hahah
But the thing christ, i already felt quite unpleasant due to flexibility of the monitor. Seems like i sacrificed rm300 for flexibility and usb port (if i buy the aocg2460pf).
Even the one i just bought my first rig use gtx 1070 which should be g-sync i simply ignored it due to the its price and i think 144hz will be good enough to cover that up. At the moment, i felt quite satisfied if the video i run in fullHD for now just need more touches on the colour setting to make it astounding.
christ14
post Sep 28 2016, 10:23 AM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(axnaz @ Sep 28 2016, 09:57 AM)
But the thing christ, i already felt quite unpleasant due to flexibility of the monitor. Seems like i sacrificed rm300 for flexibility and usb port (if i buy the aocg2460pf).
Even the one i just bought my first rig use gtx 1070 which should be g-sync i simply ignored it due to the its price and i think 144hz will be good enough to cover that up. At the moment, i felt quite satisfied if the video i run in fullHD for now just need more touches on the colour setting to make it astounding.
yeah i know very much well about the monitor lol i was with it for 30min even the staff gave me looks so idgaf and gave them stares back so they could move on.. its not even sturdy.. i flipped the edge and it wobbles. i tinker alot with the settings too.. but then again for its price which the unker offered me (850rm) the competition would be hkc and some other korean brand which also gives 144hz but have to wait la and summore the warranty. so this the last bet for this price range monitor. also...u should be getting the xb240 eh if u have nvidia.. i think that model have g sync and almost similar to kg240 one just this kg240a is freesync hmm.gif
TSjaykay4540
post Sep 28 2016, 10:44 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:23 AM)
yeah i know very much well about the monitor lol i was with it for 30min even the staff gave me looks so idgaf and gave them stares back so they could move on.. its not even sturdy.. i flipped the edge and it wobbles. i tinker alot with the settings too.. but then again  for its price which the unker offered me (850rm) the competition would be hkc and some other korean brand which also gives 144hz but have to wait la and summore the warranty. so this the last bet for this price range monitor. also...u should be getting the xb240 eh if u have nvidia.. i think that model have g sync and almost similar to kg240 one just this kg240a is freesync hmm.gif
i think model xb240h in msia dont have gsync.
read review on web there is xb240h & xb240h-a [with gsync]
in garage sale all seller also no stated gsync in xb240h.

axnaz
post Sep 28 2016, 10:50 AM

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:23 AM)
yeah i know very much well about the monitor lol i was with it for 30min even the staff gave me looks so idgaf and gave them stares back so they could move on.. its not even sturdy.. i flipped the edge and it wobbles. i tinker alot with the settings too.. but then again  for its price which the unker offered me (850rm) the competition would be hkc and some other korean brand which also gives 144hz but have to wait la and summore the warranty. so this the last bet for this price range monitor. also...u should be getting the xb240 eh if u have nvidia.. i think that model have g sync and almost similar to kg240 one just this kg240a is freesync hmm.gif
Lol seems like you already bought though. I'm quite agreed with the stability on the monitor since I already accepted the cons due to john quote. Yeap, luckily this one have 3years warranty so may as well bought this rather than wait for nothing. As what john said, Acer is misleading in advertisement which i discover that actually XB240HA the one have G-sync eventhough most overseas brand XB240H had G-sync. Since i just build my first rig I quite satisfied with what i had for 144hz. I know well on the freesync and g-sync but most of g-sync monitor pricey as john said so i just stay with this one laugh.gif
axnaz
post Sep 28 2016, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 27 2016, 10:18 PM)
One more info, the actual range is 48hz - 144hz.
For its price, it is good bargain as long as the gpu can handle minimum 24fps for Low Framerate Compensation (Frame Doubling) to kick into action.
QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:44 AM)
Thanks to john for enlighten the pros and cons of the monitor. I wish they had g-sync monitor that are range below rm1200. Agreed with jaykay, since i found no cheap g-sync i go with freesync +144hz.
christ14
post Sep 28 2016, 10:57 AM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:44 AM)
oh ok. tq bos for clarify biggrin.gif

QUOTE(axnaz @ Sep 28 2016, 10:50 AM)
Lol seems like you already bought though. I'm quite agreed with the stability on the monitor since I already accepted the cons due to john quote. Yeap, luckily this one have 3years warranty so may as well bought this rather than wait for nothing. As what john said, Acer is misleading in advertisement which i discover that actually XB240HA the one have G-sync eventhough most overseas brand XB240H had G-sync. Since i just build my first rig I quite satisfied with what i had for 144hz. I know well on the freesync and g-sync but most of g-sync monitor pricey as john said so i just stay with this one  laugh.gif
just looking for new monitor with 144hz cuz i was hooked looking at frens monitor and like they said once u go 144 u never go back hahahaha i bought my first pc 390x also from a friend and the monitor kinda doh.gif hahahah so was looking at this and sell off that one. so looking to buy it anyway
truthosis
post Sep 28 2016, 11:09 AM

120 posts

I bought Acer KG240A too after considering its the cheapest in the market now with FreeSync 144z.

What I find with this monitor is that every game need different setting to give it good colour. Im playing OW and Dota 2 on this and I keep switching between 2 pre-fixed settings which I have tuned earlier. So far so good. This is my first 144hz monitor so cant review much.
JohnLai
post Sep 28 2016, 11:48 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(xennion @ Sep 27 2016, 12:59 PM)
Using nvidia. Not and hence not using freesync. As long and can maintain stable fps at 200+ and doest drop below 144fps, I wont see any tearing at all.

For the price of 880 I think its one of the cheapest option for 144hz 1ms screen around. Definately a value buy if anyone doesnt mind an acer screen.

Only those cheap risky china and korean screens are priced lower.

Any chance of getting access to the service menu?

I tried 5 5 4 4 3 2 and 5 5 4 4 3 2 5 but im unable to access the service menu.
Seem like everyone is happy with KG240A so far aside of some minor color and stand issue.

Now then....since those methods doesn't work....let try another :
http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12997
- Turn off the monitor by pressing the Power button
- Press and hold the leftmost “button” and then push the Power button to turn on the monitor
- When you see the image on screen you can release the “button” and press the Menu button (the middle one) to call up the Service Menu
- When you finish with the service menu you can turn the monitor off and then on again to be back in the normal mode

Report back with a camera picture taken if it works. I am very interested with the panel being used.....
axnaz
post Sep 28 2016, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:57 AM)
just looking for new monitor with 144hz cuz i was hooked looking at frens monitor and like they said once u go 144 u never go back hahahaha i bought my first pc 390x also from a friend and the monitor kinda doh.gif hahahah so was looking at this and sell off that one. so looking to buy it anyway
Haha i know what u meant by that since they said like 144hz too good to be true. Hopefully you enjoyed with these monitor.

QUOTE(truthosis @ Sep 28 2016, 11:09 AM)
What I find with this monitor is that every game need different setting to give it good colour. Im playing OW and Dota 2 on this and I keep switching between 2 pre-fixed settings which I have tuned earlier. So far so good. This is my first 144hz monitor so cant review much.
May i know which setting you used for dota 2. They had like 8 fixed profiles configurations that i unable to differ plus i wasn't able to get hang on win10 colour settings manually.
SUSTheHitman47
post Oct 16 2016, 04:50 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

if only Viewsonic XG2401 are available in Msia. sweat.gif
axnaz
post Oct 17 2016, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Oct 16 2016, 04:50 PM)
if only Viewsonic XG2401 are available in Msia.  sweat.gif
Haha u bet. I survey viewsonic product for a long time and end up with acer duet to 144hz lol.
Darksorrow3010
post Oct 23 2016, 06:57 PM

147 posts

this vid must be made by one of you rclxms.gif

iqlas
post Oct 30 2016, 08:04 PM

214 posts

Hi,to anybody who bought the kg240a. Could you post the picture of the box or manual that shows that the monitor is really the kg420a instead of the non A version.

Because in amd website, the kg240 support freesync up to 75hz while kg420a support up to 144hz.

I check idealtech and they listed kg420a around rm 899 and i found kg420 price the same at IT hypermart. My theory is that its actually the same product but i cant really differentiate whether its the A or non A version because the image on the box doest really indicate which version is it
JeffPompey
post Nov 3 2016, 12:58 AM

Hi guys.I'm planning on buying one of these monitors this weekend.So from what i read KG240A is better than XB240H?Is it due to it having freesync?I don't have an AMD card though.
JohnLai
post Nov 3 2016, 10:52 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(JeffPompey @ Nov 3 2016, 12:58 AM)
Hi guys.I'm planning on buying one of these monitors this weekend.So from what i read KG240A is better than XB240H?Is it due to it having freesync?I don't have an AMD card though.
No, KG240A is not better than XB240H. It is not about it having freesync either.
JeffPompey
post Nov 3 2016, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 3 2016, 10:52 AM)
No, KG240A is not better than XB240H. It is not about it having freesync either.
Is it because KG240A is cheaper than XB240H by rm100?
QwertyKen
post Nov 17 2016, 01:03 PM

Just tried my new Acer KG240(A). This is my first and only seen 144Hz, I have not tested or seen other model, only Youtube. It is the cheapest 144Hz monitor available for November 2016 at RRP RM899, or you can find it at about RM858 + delivery in Lazada, cheaper with RM30 or RM50 discount code. The next best freesync is AOC G2460PF @ around RM1150, with Nvidia Adaptive Sync too, which has a very good stand compare to flimsy Acer KG. In U.S. both Acer KG & AOC are in the same price (USD 199), but in Malaysia it's RM300++ apart. BenQ XL2411Z and Asus VG248QE are at around RM1250 but they're like 3 years old without Freesync etc.

Official Acer KG info: http://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/model/UM.FX0SM.A01

"A" or "Non A"?
It is very confusing as some sticker (even the sticker behind monitor) says just KG240, no "A"; whereas only 1 sticker from the box says it's version "A". & Acer website only has 1 type of model, but AMD freesync website says there's 2 version (which it says non-A has freesync range of 40-75). So I guess there's only 1 model in Malaysia, it could be written as "A" or "non-A" version, but basically same model (I assume).

Lower limit Freesync range?
"Unknown to 144Hz" so far. Can't seem to find the lower limit of freesync in the web. Unfortunately I'm using 280X with Tahiti based so there is no Freesync supported, so I can't test the lower limit.

Brightness 250 cd/m² or 350 cd/m²?
The Acer site says 250 whereas the box says 350 cd/m². I cant measure without tools & I cant find any site has any review for this KG series yet.

Monitor stand
VERY FLIMSY. You can tilt forward/backward only. I'm not even sure if my panel is locked with the stand, if you're moving, make sure to grab the stand just in case it falls off. (Compare to next RM300 more expensive competitor AOC G2460PF, which allows you to tilt, updown, turn 360 to vertical and horizontal etc.)

Additional info
- All cables are provided (DP, HDMI, DVI, Power)
- I've problems when opened games, screen flicker (failed) in 144Hz mode, but worked in 120Hz. So I downloaded KG240 driver and update via Windows 10 test mode for unsigned driver. Game works, but I'm not even sure it is the driver installation that fixes the problem. Still need more time to explore. (Not sure if official, http://acer-us.com/6779_3_KG240/ or http://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers)
- Black level adjustment is available for colour calibration
- Overdrive is available in "Off" "Normal" "Extreme"

Darksorrow3010
post Nov 17 2016, 09:02 PM

147 posts

thank your for insight on the KG240A.

btw is there any seller for acer XF240H in malaysia?
QwertyKen
post Nov 19 2016, 12:33 PM

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Nov 17 2016, 09:02 PM)
thank your for insight on the KG240A.

btw is there any seller for acer XF240H in malaysia?
Don't think it is available in Malaysia.

Your next best bet should be AOC G2460PF @ about RM1185 including delivery to peninsula (http://www.lelong.com.my/aoc-24-led-monitor-g2460pf-hypetech-173232605-2017-01-Sale-P.htm) which have 144Hz Freesync, USB ports and much better stand.

afroboy
post Nov 20 2016, 10:07 PM

102 posts

I'm so torn between KG240A and G2460Pf. I don't know if the difference of RM340 worth it or not. G2460Pf looks like it does have better build quality and panel arggh so conflicted rclxub.gif
DoomHammer
post Nov 24 2016, 09:39 AM

228 posts

Hi.
This is really a good thread.
I just upgraded my GPU from radeon HD 7870 to GTX 1060 and I am still a noob about this freesync and g-sync monitor. My current monitor is just a Philips IPS 60Hz. Looking fwd to upgrade my monitor to 144Hz. Since Freesync monitor is a lot cheaper than G-sync monitor, I would like to buy one. My question is can I enjoy the benefit of 144Hz Freesync monitor with my Nvidia gpu? Will there be any display issue? Please advise..
aziejal
post Nov 24 2016, 09:46 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Nov 24 2016, 09:39 AM)
Hi.
This is really a good thread.
I just upgraded my GPU from radeon HD 7870 to GTX 1060 and I am still a noob about this freesync and g-sync monitor. My current monitor is just a Philips IPS 60Hz. Looking fwd to upgrade my monitor to 144Hz. Since Freesync monitor is a lot cheaper than G-sync monitor, I would like to buy one. My question is can I enjoy the benefit of 144Hz Freesync monitor with my Nvidia gpu? Will there be any display issue? Please advise..
You can use a 144Hz Freesync monitor with your Nvidia GPU, but you cannot enable Freesync.
DoomHammer
post Nov 24 2016, 09:48 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(aziejal @ Nov 24 2016, 09:46 AM)
You can use a 144Hz Freesync monitor with your Nvidia GPU, but you cannot enable Freesync.
Ok.. I understand...Can I still enjoy frame rate of up to 144FPS? Will it cause image tearing or other issue.
aziejal
post Nov 24 2016, 12:15 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Nov 24 2016, 09:48 AM)
Ok.. I understand...Can I still enjoy frame rate of up to 144FPS? Will it cause image tearing or other issue.
Yes, the monitor will support up to 144Hz. Just enable V-Sync to eliminate screen tearing.
DoomHammer
post Nov 24 2016, 12:26 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(aziejal @ Nov 24 2016, 12:15 PM)
Yes, the monitor will support up to 144Hz. Just enable V-Sync to eliminate screen tearing.
Thanks aim for AOC
afroboy
post Nov 24 2016, 01:32 PM

102 posts

I finally found Viewxonic XG240 sold in Malaysia. Slightly expensive than AOC g2460PF but people are saying this is the best 1080 144hz freesync monitor.
Darksorrow3010
post Nov 24 2016, 01:43 PM

147 posts

viewnet at lowyat is selling it too but at RM 1299 smile.gif
pwei92
post Nov 24 2016, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(afroboy @ Nov 24 2016, 01:32 PM)
I finally found Viewxonic XG240 sold in Malaysia. Slightly expensive than AOC g2460PF but people are saying this is the best 1080 144hz freesync monitor.

ya lowyat viewnet is selling xg2401, the price should be rm1299 but i think u can ask the sale person in there to give u some reduction on the price. thumbup.gif
QwertyKen
post Nov 28 2016, 11:48 AM

Side note, from the looks, my KG240A are identical to XB240H (no gsync) & the new XF240H (freesync) , so my guess is, KG240A (144hz freesync) is same as XF240H (144hz freesync) they're the same panel, just different stand.
afroboy
post Nov 28 2016, 09:11 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(QwertyKen @ Nov 28 2016, 11:48 AM)
Side note, from the looks, my KG240A are identical to XB240H (no gsync) & the new XF240H (freesync) , so my guess is, KG240A (144hz freesync) is same as XF240H (144hz freesync) they're the same panel, just different stand.
Any ghosting at 144hz? Honestly I don't care about pivot, swivel or height adjustment that much as long as the panel works just fine. Might as well save RM 300 if the monitor is okay.
JohnLai
post Dec 8 2016, 11:58 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Minor update on freesync.
As per Crimson Relive update, AMD added borderless fullscreen freesync support.
latworx
post Dec 9 2016, 05:20 PM

282 posts

Looking for buying this monitor. any other negative side of this monitor? bleed much? cant use freesync as mine is nvidia, but i hope its better than buying normal 60hz monitor.. or its not?

Looking at Viewsonic VX2757 - 60Hz only but bigger screen.. mostly playing dota 2.

So what you guys think? is it worth im go getting 144Hz with 24" or just buy 27" with 60hz in my case?

This post has been edited by latworx: Dec 10 2016, 02:18 PM
afroboy
post Dec 11 2016, 10:11 AM

102 posts

Ok I just received this monitor last Wednesday. Slight light bleed on the edges but not that bad, viewing angle is pretty meh then again this is TN panel. Stand is somewhat bad because mine is tilted to left side a little bit.

I got to say 144hz will make playing Dota 2 so much smoother. Moving camera never felt so fluid and I definitely recommend it. Just make sure your pc can sustain it tho.
DesktopLimousine
post Dec 12 2016, 01:06 AM

Born To Game, Force To Work
1,051 posts

Viewsonic is the best deal right now. Referring to reddit and other forum threads ive read, they said this VS XG2401 is far better than acer xb240h, aoc g2460pf and benq xl2411z. Im also getting the viewsonic soon
Darksorrow3010
post Dec 12 2016, 07:00 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Dec 12 2016, 01:06 AM)
Viewsonic is the best deal right now. Referring to reddit and other forum threads ive read, they said this VS XG2401 is far better than acer xb240h, aoc g2460pf and benq xl2411z. Im also getting the viewsonic soon
arent u using gtx 1070? sweat.gif
marcussimmj
post Dec 12 2016, 12:44 PM

124 posts

Guys would jumping into 1440p G-Sync panels now be a time? Seems like it would break the bank though. So far in the Malaysian market there are only 2 models which has these specs.
DesktopLimousine
post Dec 12 2016, 11:21 PM

1,051 posts

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Dec 12 2016, 07:00 AM)
arent u using gtx 1070?  sweat.gif
I just purchased the dell s2417dg with a gsync. But the monitor has problem with "pixel inversion" which bothers me alot during gaming. So I contact dell and get refunded because I just used it for 2 days. Im planning on getting the Viewsonic xg2703 gsync while saving some bucks first at the same time im gonna use viewsonic xg2401 freesync for temporary only. I dont care about the freesync as long as it has 144hz and 1ms hahaha (xg2401)
pwei92
post Dec 13 2016, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Sep 22 2016, 07:45 PM)
is this monitor ViewSonic XG2703-GS available in malaysia? spec 99% same as asus pg279q and acer xb271hu
i think this XG2703-GS should be arrive in jan. the stand of the monitor since having led light, quite petty
DesktopLimousine
post Dec 13 2016, 03:34 PM

1,051 posts

QUOTE(pwei92 @ Dec 13 2016, 11:26 AM)
i think this XG2703-GS should be arrive in jan. the stand of the monitor since having led light, quite petty
Its arrived. U can try check at lelong sell by techview for RM3299
ywsx
post Dec 14 2016, 09:33 AM

31 posts

im choosing between KG240A and VS XG2401...

Anyone knows where can I get XG2401 in Malaysia? Physical store or online?
afroboy
post Dec 14 2016, 11:43 AM

102 posts

Lelong
Darksorrow3010
post Dec 14 2016, 12:32 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(ywsx @ Dec 14 2016, 09:33 AM)

^ Lelong above or Lowyat Viewnet for rm1299. not sure about other shop
ywsx
post Dec 14 2016, 01:09 PM

31 posts

Okay thank you !

This post has been edited by ywsx: Dec 14 2016, 01:10 PM
pwei92
post Dec 14 2016, 09:20 PM

XG2401 last saw in LowYat Viewnet but a week ago.. duno still have stock or not .. or maybe u can go ask them.
pwei92
post Dec 14 2016, 09:23 PM

QUOTE(latworx @ Dec 9 2016, 05:20 PM)
Looking for buying this monitor. any other negative side of this monitor? bleed much? cant use freesync as mine is nvidia, but i hope its better than buying normal 60hz monitor.. or its not?

Looking at Viewsonic VX2757 - 60Hz only but bigger screen.. mostly playing dota 2.

So what you guys think? is it worth im go getting 144Hz with 24" or just buy 27" with 60hz in my case?
bro i think dota no need concern more about hz since it not that 3d and just a moba game.
so i think should more concern on color. 144hz monitor is over the budget that u only wan use to play dota
DesktopLimousine
post Dec 15 2016, 04:19 AM

1,051 posts

http://www.lelong.com.my/viewsonic-xg2401-...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Edit: sorry I didnt refresh this page, directly open this tab. So I didnt see the above post with this link. Hahaha

This post has been edited by DesktopLimousine: Dec 15 2016, 04:21 AM
blackblackk
post Dec 21 2016, 02:06 PM

219 posts

Why is no one suggesting a certain xf240h?
kahhua
post Dec 23 2016, 02:41 AM

I am currently using benq xl2411.. and just bought another 144hz monitor.. kg240a.. got it for rm730-demo set.. color wise.. lose to benq.. and the stand.. even worse.. poke it lightly with ur finger.. the whole monitor shaking.. how can they even put it to market with such stand.. the only thing u paid for is the 144hz. My benq can run 144hz using dvi-d. But acer require display port to reach 144hz. Dvi-d on acer only support up to 120hz. No idea why. One big problem I have with acer is the color looks very yellowish and washed.
afroboy
post Dec 23 2016, 09:27 AM

102 posts

I'm pretty sure XF240H is KG240A with better stand and it costs at least RM1100, like 200+ more than KG240A. At that price point might as well get XG2401.

1 thing I really dislike about KG240A is ghosting. Pretty noticeable when overdrive is on normal. Tried text scrolling test on test ufo website and I see smudges everywhere lol
pwei92
post Dec 23 2016, 09:45 AM

Guy the XG2703 and VX3209 had arrive in lowyat ViewNet.. saw it yesterday.
brainocide
post Dec 30 2016, 11:07 AM

158 posts

Acer XF240H vs Viewsonic XG2401, which one better?

Any IPS model below RM1.5k perhaps 24-27in that suitable for gaming?

This post has been edited by brainocide: Dec 30 2016, 11:09 AM
pwei92
post Jan 1 2017, 12:42 PM

QUOTE(brainocide @ Dec 30 2016, 11:07 AM)
Acer XF240H vs Viewsonic XG2401, which one better?

Any IPS model below RM1.5k perhaps 24-27in that suitable for gaming?
acer XF240H have the function of black equalizer or stability?
blackblackk
post Jan 19 2017, 06:38 PM

219 posts

Heres a little review after I've gotten the Acer XF240H

First of, finally able to have height adjustable is heaven to me. I'm coming from a 34" IPS Panel. 24" is still perfectly fine but the TN panel colour.. jesus christ its bad, like everything is white washed.. Maybe people who are used to TN panel wouldn't complain about this but coming from IPS it is a huge difference.

144hz is SMOOTH~ Sacrificing ultrawide for 144hz is worth it I guess & future-proofing. Eventhough currently I could only run dota 2 & csgo above 130fps since I'm just using the r9 380x but will surely upgrade my gpu to hit the 144hz mark on AAA games.

I don't recommend for people coming from IPS panel, especially from the heavenly dell S series.

terradrive
post Jan 31 2017, 11:37 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Got the KG240A too here, other family member bought it

Colour is expected like those budget TN monitors, 144Hz is smooth.

tried to go in service menu, the menu went to top left but there are no information on panel model. My XB271HU shown it.

The stand is also funny, almost the same stand like on budget 60Hz monitors.

But at the end of the day, 144Hz is what matters for gaming.
solou123
post May 1 2017, 11:59 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(pwei92 @ Dec 14 2016, 09:23 PM)
bro i think dota no need concern more about hz since it not that 3d and just a moba game.
so i think should more concern on color. 144hz monitor is over the budget that u only wan use to play dota
bro..im dota2 player..i have the same thought as you originally..but now im considering to change to 144hz monitor, since im having some issues:

1) i on vsync, i can get stable 60 fps when there is no war or fight, when there is a fight/war, fps drop to 30-40

2) if i off vsync, fps can up to 70-90 if no war, however there are some screen graphic choppy, i dunno why, is it due to my monitor 60hz limitation?

for 144 hz is definitely the requirement for pro players, but now im having the problem either having low fps during war or image choppy if off vsync

anyone can help on this?
DrZan
post Jun 16 2017, 08:37 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(solou123 @ May 1 2017, 11:59 PM)
bro..im dota2 player..i have the same thought as you originally..but now im considering to change to 144hz monitor, since im having some issues:

1) i on vsync, i can get stable 60 fps when there is no war or fight, when there is a fight/war, fps drop to 30-40

2) if i off vsync, fps can up to 70-90 if no war, however there are some screen graphic choppy, i dunno why, is it due to my monitor 60hz limitation?

for 144 hz is definitely the requirement for pro players, but now im having the problem either having low fps during war or image choppy if off vsync
anyone can help on this?
V-sync will set your FPS to 30 when it drops below 60.

U probably mean screen tearing when u say 'graphic choppy', which is happens when your FPS & monitor timing is off.

Example:
If you have 60hz/120hz monitor, acceptable fps with no tearing = 15, 30, 60, 120, 240.

Problem with V-sync is input lag, meaning what you see & your mouse/keyboard becomes unresponsive, that is only if you can feel it. If you don't, no problem.

Solution summary:

Try adjust settings to get slightly above 120 fps, then cap fps at 120. (Set fps_max 120).

If cannot hit 120 fps, try fps cap at 60 instead of using v-sync.
MatchaRed
post Jun 16 2017, 10:03 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(DrZan @ Jun 16 2017, 09:37 PM)

U probably mean screen tearing when u say 'graphic choppy', which is happens when your FPS & monitor timing is off.

Example:
If you have 60hz/120hz monitor, acceptable fps with no tearing = 15, 30, 60, 120, 240.

Problem with V-sync is input lag, meaning what you see & your mouse/keyboard becomes unresponsive, that is only if you can feel it. If you don't, no problem.

Solution summary:

Try adjust settings to get slightly above 120 fps, then cap fps at 120. (Set fps_max 120).

is there any point to get a 144hz monitor if you cant even hit 120 fps constantly?
solou123
post Jun 18 2017, 09:27 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(DrZan @ Jun 16 2017, 08:37 PM)

Example:

Solution summary:

Currently my solution is overclock my gpu and on vsync..once i off vsync.. the graphic wont as smooth as i on.. the problem vsync on is fps might dropped to 30-40 sometimes during fights or war..from the gpu usage of 100%. i guess my gpu is not good enough to produce stable 1080p 60 fps

ps my gpu is hd 7790 oc dual x, might also due to my cpu not great, i3 3220
yiidonger
post Jun 20 2017, 01:32 AM

17 posts

Guys im in the midst of choosing 144hz monitor... kg240a seems to be the cheapest choice out of all where i can get for RM800 after voucher... but im concern about colour.. Its okay for me to pay 200 or 300 more for other model if their colours are better...
DrZan
post Jun 20 2017, 03:54 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(MatchaRed @ Jun 16 2017, 10:03 PM)
is there any point to get a 144hz monitor if you cant even hit 120 fps constantly?
Yea ofcourse, you eyes will feel less strained with higher refresh rate, ur cursor movement trails are less noticable, when u move windows around quickly u dont get that shadowing effect. U can scroll websites up and down real fast and not get that motion blur effect, etc.

Gaming wise, sure anything above 60 fps is definitely playable. But since ur using a 144hz, u dont notice any tearing since your monitor refreshes frames twice the speed. Fast movements will feel much more fluid without motion blur effect with 60hz

This post has been edited by DrZan: Jun 20 2017, 03:54 PM
ahbenchai
post Jun 20 2017, 10:46 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

well shit, just ordered a kg240a online and was going to do payment, suddenly the monitor out of stock and cant proceed payment sleep.gif
bamkai
post Jun 21 2017, 06:03 PM

167 posts

Had own xb241h + gtx1070 b4.. coming from dell ips 23inch.. performance wise i would say tip top going over 60hz is huge difference at least for me. + gsync really cut off screan tearing kao kao. can still feel vry smooth even when frame rate drop (Some say human eye cant see more then 30hz)

In the end selling it up cos need moneh sold my 1070 too cos less gaming. But 1 think i nvr regret selling is once u get ips u really dont want a tn monitor anymore end up using my old dell ips monitor now

True story

0.0683sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:21 AM