ACER XB240H & KG240A

truthosis
post Sep 20 2016, 05:05 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 20 2016, 11:00 AM)
jaykay4540
ACER ---> Master of misleading advertisement, the company know KG240A isn't well known yet.

KG240A
No Freesync (despite some news said it does, it doesn't support fresync) = No fancy tech like ULMB (anti flicker stuff) or nvidia 3D Vision tech = fixed height and cannot spin the monitor between landscape and portrait
XB240H
No G-sync (ASIA model doesn't support it, don't get cheated) = Nvidia 3D Vision Ready = Anti Flicker feature = adjustable height , can spin the monitor to landscape and portrait
EDIT: Golden rule of purchase ---> You get what you pay for

On the other hand....if you have compatible AMD GPU, why not opt for AOC G2460PF with Freesync? Only costs RM1200.
You can check the review of G2460PF here
http://www.redgamingtech.com/aoc-g2460pf-2...w-and-analysis/
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/aoc-g2460pf,review-3685.html

However....if you have Nvidia GPU.......the cheapest G-Sync monitor costs around RM2000.....ACER XB241H
Reason being AOC has stopped production of its cheaper G-Sync G2460PG and focus the production on AOC G2460PF.

Rumour has it....majority of panel intended for G2460PG keep on being failing to pass Nvidia imposed strict quality G-Sync hardware requirement, so AOC has enough of such 'requirement' and so.....the 'criteria failing panel' being repurposed for G2460PF instead....

So.....Good luck in making your choice.
yeah just noticed the monitor at Viewnet. the box says it supports Freesync. Why the contrary JohnLai ? Got any insights review/specification?
truthosis
post Sep 20 2016, 09:49 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 20 2016, 08:41 PM)
Wait, the box said KG240A support freesync? If the box said so, then probably yes. There is a model without freesync capability too. Beware!!! (The only way to be sure --->Check the box)

Be careful of Acer model naming.
Example, there is KG240 (without A) listed at https://community.amd.com/docs/DOC-1432

MANUFACTURER MODEL SIZE  LCD TYPE RESOLUTION RANGE INTERFACE LFC
Acer                KG240      24"  TBA                1920x1080        48-75Hz HDMI®        No
Now, the KG240A claims it support 48-144Hz range using DisplayPort with LFC.
However, information at AMD website http://www.amd.com/en-us/innovations/softw...ming/freesync#5

Acer  KG240A  24"  AD-PLS  1920x1080  TBA-144Hz  DisplayPort™  No
Notice the panel type? Advanced Plane to Line Switching (AD-PLS)
The funny part is......majority of sellers are listing KG240A as TN panel....so...which one is true?
Did you check the panel type on the box when you view it?

If box mention 144hz with 1ms stuff --->confirm it is TN panel. PLS panel can never reach 1ms.
EDIT: Did you have picture of the box you saw?
Just saw the box --> It is TN panel for sure, AMD Freesync logo is there.....

EDIT2: Something is fishy about the panel type. The price is too cheap to be good. (As I said...you get what you pay for) Maybe the panel is 6bit+FRC....or the panel has ghosting problem? Does the monitor even pass AMD Freesync certification process in first place? (Got conflicting info on panel type)
Ahh I see thanks for the insight. I'll help snap and post it here if got the chance. Waiting for a review from a forumer here if possible
truthosis
post Sep 20 2016, 11:37 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 20 2016, 11:21 PM)
Hmm.....impossible lor......most of us doesnt have the stuff for proper review.

Example, to measure color uniformity, need to purchase Pro edition of colorimeter which cost RM1200 such as Spyder5Pro

Next, to check for ghosting at high framerate, either relies on eye or another high speed camera which costs a bomb too.
Anyone with acer monitor can open up the 'service menu' by pressing the button in this order counting from the left to right.
5, 5, 4, 4, 2, 3

Press Fifth button twice from counting from the left to right. Then press Fourth button twice. Press Second button and finally press Third Button.

A service menu with all the details will come out like this:
[attachmentid=7572279]
Click to zoom open its original size.

Example, you can see my Acer XB241H panel is sourced from AUO M240HW01 V8.
Googling 'panelook M240HW01 V8' and you will see panelook site on specific information on that panel.

Here some info on my panel found at panelook

Now you see why it is tough to make choice?
hei thanks for the tip bro about how to check Acer settings.

Wow with that kind of information to decide, somewhat i understand why ignorance is bliss mega_shok.gif
truthosis
post Sep 28 2016, 11:09 AM

120 posts

I bought Acer KG240A too after considering its the cheapest in the market now with FreeSync 144z.

What I find with this monitor is that every game need different setting to give it good colour. Im playing OW and Dota 2 on this and I keep switching between 2 pre-fixed settings which I have tuned earlier. So far so good. This is my first 144hz monitor so cant review much.

0.0149sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:11 AM