ACER XB240H & KG240A
JohnLai
Sep 26 2016, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 26 2016, 09:01 PM) Made me sceptical now..I'm the guy tinkering with viewnet demo unit after saw it on sale for 899rm but unker said can less again. Definitely says free sync and 1 ms plus 144hz. And I'm looking for monitor and right budget. Googled my ass off and 3rd pages show here hahahahah... Indeed we get what we pay for so jut looking around for reviews but found none. Either I top abit more for aoc or BenQ or imma just get this lol Just buy it. If one already poor, stick with poor man goods. I mean.....how worse can the monitor be? Life lesson:Don't spend more than you can afford.
xennion
Sep 27 2016, 09:41 AM

Just bought a kg240 as cheap second monitor. No regrets so far. 144hz on dp. No tearing on csgo at 400fps.
JohnLai
Sep 27 2016, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(xennion @ Sep 27 2016, 09:41 AM) Just bought a kg240 as cheap second monitor. No regrets so far. 144hz on dp. No tearing on csgo at 400fps. -.-....400fps? No tearing and no input lag problem? This means Vsync is automatically activated once gpu renders higher than 144hz. Hmmm.......AMD doesn't have Nvidia Fastsync equivalent...oh well... As long as you are satisfied with it.
xennion
Sep 27 2016, 12:59 PM

Using nvidia. Not and hence not using freesync. As long and can maintain stable fps at 200+ and doest drop below 144fps, I wont see any tearing at all.
For the price of 880 I think its one of the cheapest option for 144hz 1ms screen around. Definately a value buy if anyone doesnt mind an acer screen.
Only those cheap risky china and korean screens are priced lower.
Any chance of getting access to the service menu?
I tried 5 5 4 4 3 2 and 5 5 4 4 3 2 5 but im unable to access the service menu.
Darksorrow3010
Sep 27 2016, 01:35 PM

u got the KG240A? (not sure if KG240 refers to KG240A  ) may i know what is the FreeSync range for it? This post has been edited by Darksorrow3010: Sep 27 2016, 01:36 PM
xennion
Sep 27 2016, 02:54 PM

Kg240. Dont have an amd card to test. But im assuming its 40-144hz on freesync range.
axnaz
Sep 27 2016, 04:27 PM
Hi guys, I also happened just buy this KG240A due to AOC G2460pf out of stock from all the shop i found and PMed. Since i had no choice i came across this monitor eventhough they dont have review & it was cheapest 144hz monitor in M'sia at moment. The setting to let it run at 144hz need to setup manually on the driver properties which I never known make me feel regret though since I read this forum before bought. Neverless, after i set it to 144hz it was great on csgo with no tearing & understand why ppl said never goes back to 60hz. P/s: Just i not satisfied with the standard colour setting cause watch video was bad for me though.Hope for any recommendation. Thanks.
JohnLai
Sep 27 2016, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Sep 27 2016, 01:35 PM) u got the KG240A? (not sure if KG240 refers to KG240A  ) may i know what is the FreeSync range for it? QUOTE(xennion @ Sep 27 2016, 02:54 PM) Kg240. Dont have an amd card to test. But im assuming its 40-144hz on freesync range. KG240 doesn't support freesync. Only KG240A does.
christ14
Sep 27 2016, 10:02 PM
Thanks all.. I guess I'm getting one. The one with free sync of course cuz wasted leh that 390x hahah was gona add rm300 or so for benQ or so since long term investment. But that money can be used elsewhere I thought. Gona get me one then  lowyat here I come I agree the color produced abit unsatisfactory but I'm not the kind of guy whose so into detail of things hahah
JohnLai
Sep 27 2016, 10:18 PM
One more info, the actual range is 48hz - 144hz. For its price, it is good bargain as long as the gpu can handle minimum 24fps for Low Framerate Compensation (Frame Doubling) to kick into action.
axnaz
Sep 28 2016, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 27 2016, 10:02 PM) Thanks all.. I guess I'm getting one. The one with free sync of course cuz wasted leh that 390x hahah was gona add rm300 or so for benQ or so since long term investment. But that money can be used elsewhere I thought. Gona get me one then  lowyat here I come I agree the color produced abit unsatisfactory but I'm not the kind of guy whose so into detail of things hahah But the thing christ, i already felt quite unpleasant due to flexibility of the monitor. Seems like i sacrificed rm300 for flexibility and usb port (if i buy the aocg2460pf). Even the one i just bought my first rig use gtx 1070 which should be g-sync i simply ignored it due to the its price and i think 144hz will be good enough to cover that up. At the moment, i felt quite satisfied if the video i run in fullHD for now just need more touches on the colour setting to make it astounding.
christ14
Sep 28 2016, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(axnaz @ Sep 28 2016, 09:57 AM) But the thing christ, i already felt quite unpleasant due to flexibility of the monitor. Seems like i sacrificed rm300 for flexibility and usb port (if i buy the aocg2460pf). Even the one i just bought my first rig use gtx 1070 which should be g-sync i simply ignored it due to the its price and i think 144hz will be good enough to cover that up. At the moment, i felt quite satisfied if the video i run in fullHD for now just need more touches on the colour setting to make it astounding. yeah i know very much well about the monitor lol i was with it for 30min even the staff gave me looks so idgaf and gave them stares back so they could move on.. its not even sturdy.. i flipped the edge and it wobbles. i tinker alot with the settings too.. but then again for its price which the unker offered me (850rm) the competition would be hkc and some other korean brand which also gives 144hz but have to wait la and summore the warranty. so this the last bet for this price range monitor. also...u should be getting the xb240 eh if u have nvidia.. i think that model have g sync and almost similar to kg240 one just this kg240a is freesync
TSjaykay4540
Sep 28 2016, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:23 AM) yeah i know very much well about the monitor lol i was with it for 30min even the staff gave me looks so idgaf and gave them stares back so they could move on.. its not even sturdy.. i flipped the edge and it wobbles. i tinker alot with the settings too.. but then again for its price which the unker offered me (850rm) the competition would be hkc and some other korean brand which also gives 144hz but have to wait la and summore the warranty. so this the last bet for this price range monitor. also...u should be getting the xb240 eh if u have nvidia.. i think that model have g sync and almost similar to kg240 one just this kg240a is freesync  i think model xb240h in msia dont have gsync. read review on web there is xb240h & xb240h-a [with gsync] in garage sale all seller also no stated gsync in xb240h.
axnaz
Sep 28 2016, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:23 AM) yeah i know very much well about the monitor lol i was with it for 30min even the staff gave me looks so idgaf and gave them stares back so they could move on.. its not even sturdy.. i flipped the edge and it wobbles. i tinker alot with the settings too.. but then again for its price which the unker offered me (850rm) the competition would be hkc and some other korean brand which also gives 144hz but have to wait la and summore the warranty. so this the last bet for this price range monitor. also...u should be getting the xb240 eh if u have nvidia.. i think that model have g sync and almost similar to kg240 one just this kg240a is freesync  Lol seems like you already bought though. I'm quite agreed with the stability on the monitor since I already accepted the cons due to john quote. Yeap, luckily this one have 3years warranty so may as well bought this rather than wait for nothing. As what john said, Acer is misleading in advertisement which i discover that actually XB240HA the one have G-sync eventhough most overseas brand XB240H had G-sync. Since i just build my first rig I quite satisfied with what i had for 144hz. I know well on the freesync and g-sync but most of g-sync monitor pricey as john said so i just stay with this one
axnaz
Sep 28 2016, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 27 2016, 10:18 PM) One more info, the actual range is 48hz - 144hz. For its price, it is good bargain as long as the gpu can handle minimum 24fps for Low Framerate Compensation (Frame Doubling) to kick into action. QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:44 AM) i think model xb240h in msia dont have gsync. read review on web there is xb240h & xb240h-a [with gsync] in garage sale all seller also no stated gsync in xb240h. Thanks to john for enlighten the pros and cons of the monitor. I wish they had g-sync monitor that are range below rm1200. Agreed with jaykay, since i found no cheap g-sync i go with freesync +144hz.
christ14
Sep 28 2016, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:44 AM) i think model xb240h in msia dont have gsync. read review on web there is xb240h & xb240h-a [with gsync] in garage sale all seller also no stated gsync in xb240h. oh ok. tq bos for clarify QUOTE(axnaz @ Sep 28 2016, 10:50 AM) Lol seems like you already bought though. I'm quite agreed with the stability on the monitor since I already accepted the cons due to john quote. Yeap, luckily this one have 3years warranty so may as well bought this rather than wait for nothing. As what john said, Acer is misleading in advertisement which i discover that actually XB240HA the one have G-sync eventhough most overseas brand XB240H had G-sync. Since i just build my first rig I quite satisfied with what i had for 144hz. I know well on the freesync and g-sync but most of g-sync monitor pricey as john said so i just stay with this one  just looking for new monitor with 144hz cuz i was hooked looking at frens monitor and like they said once u go 144 u never go back hahahaha i bought my first pc 390x also from a friend and the monitor kinda  hahahah so was looking at this and sell off that one. so looking to buy it anyway
truthosis
Sep 28 2016, 11:09 AM

I bought Acer KG240A too after considering its the cheapest in the market now with FreeSync 144z.
What I find with this monitor is that every game need different setting to give it good colour. Im playing OW and Dota 2 on this and I keep switching between 2 pre-fixed settings which I have tuned earlier. So far so good. This is my first 144hz monitor so cant review much.
JohnLai
Sep 28 2016, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(xennion @ Sep 27 2016, 12:59 PM) Using nvidia. Not and hence not using freesync. As long and can maintain stable fps at 200+ and doest drop below 144fps, I wont see any tearing at all. For the price of 880 I think its one of the cheapest option for 144hz 1ms screen around. Definately a value buy if anyone doesnt mind an acer screen. Only those cheap risky china and korean screens are priced lower. Any chance of getting access to the service menu? I tried 5 5 4 4 3 2 and 5 5 4 4 3 2 5 but im unable to access the service menu. Seem like everyone is happy with KG240A so far aside of some minor color and stand issue. Now then....since those methods doesn't work....let try another : http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12997- Turn off the monitor by pressing the Power button - Press and hold the leftmost “button” and then push the Power button to turn on the monitor - When you see the image on screen you can release the “button” and press the Menu button (the middle one) to call up the Service Menu - When you finish with the service menu you can turn the monitor off and then on again to be back in the normal mode
Report back with a camera picture taken if it works. I am very interested with the panel being used.....
axnaz
Sep 28 2016, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:57 AM) just looking for new monitor with 144hz cuz i was hooked looking at frens monitor and like they said once u go 144 u never go back hahahaha i bought my first pc 390x also from a friend and the monitor kinda  hahahah so was looking at this and sell off that one. so looking to buy it anyway Haha i know what u meant by that since they said like 144hz too good to be true. Hopefully you enjoyed with these monitor. QUOTE(truthosis @ Sep 28 2016, 11:09 AM) What I find with this monitor is that every game need different setting to give it good colour. Im playing OW and Dota 2 on this and I keep switching between 2 pre-fixed settings which I have tuned earlier. So far so good. This is my first 144hz monitor so cant review much. May i know which setting you used for dota 2. They had like 8 fixed profiles configurations that i unable to differ plus i wasn't able to get hang on win10 colour settings manually.
SUSTheHitman47
Oct 16 2016, 04:50 PM
if only Viewsonic XG2401 are available in Msia.