145 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

The Official iPhone 7/7+ Thread | V1, This is 7.

Gilthoniel
post Sep 8 2016, 11:01 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 8 2016, 11:01 PM)
Since we were on this topic, I just remembered why I upgraded from 6 Plus to 6S Plus even though I said I wouldn't - because after the price adjustments by Apple I actually made a profit by selling off my older 6 Plus in GS and only had to pay a couple of hundred more for the 6S Plus by signing a Telco contract, ha ha ha...
Same here!
XeactorZ
post Sep 8 2016, 11:09 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 8 2016, 11:01 PM)
Since we were on this topic, I just remembered why I upgraded from 6 Plus to 6S Plus even though I said I wouldn't - because after the price adjustments by Apple I actually made a profit by selling off my older 6 Plus in GS and only had to pay a couple of hundred more for the 6S Plus by signing a Telco contract, ha ha ha...
so you going to sell 6S Plus and get 7 Plus ??
btw how much you top up extra ? since by the time we get the iPhone and new iPhone should be around 1 year already hmm.gif
since this iPhone 7 gonna be my 2nd iPhone, previous iPhone is iPhone 5 laugh.gif
if I were you, once I get the iPhone 7 will get next 2 generation iPhone as the design should be same for 2 generation laugh.gif

This post has been edited by XeactorZ: Sep 8 2016, 11:09 PM
XeactorZ
post Sep 8 2016, 11:20 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

here is the 10 new features for iPhone 7

dino89
post Sep 8 2016, 11:57 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

Not sure whether to go for the Jet Black or the Black hmm.gif
Jet Black seems to be fingerprint magnet and scratches easily, but looks nice sweat.gif
XeactorZ
post Sep 9 2016, 12:34 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Sep 8 2016, 11:57 PM)
Jet Black seems to be fingerprint magnet and scratches easily, but looks nice sweat.gif
hence need to use the case
but then once use the case no point getting it right whistling.gif
unless you get a transparent case
vez
post Sep 9 2016, 12:43 AM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 8 2016, 11:20 PM)
here is the 10 new features for iPhone 7

the home button icon_idea.gif

off topic abit, for those who keep on claimed that airpod may lost easily
http://www.samsung.com/global/galaxy/gear-iconx/ (which one is smaller, and try to google the price of this Samsung product)

it serve different purpose, for the most agreed ugly airpod get longer battery life since the stick is the battery lol, and for those who argue that it is easily lost...
XeactorZ
post Sep 9 2016, 12:52 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 9 2016, 12:43 AM)
the home button  icon_idea.gif

off topic abit, for those who keep on claimed that airpod may lost easily
http://www.samsung.com/global/galaxy/gear-iconx/ (which one is smaller, and try to google the price of this Samsung product)

it serve different purpose, for the most agreed ugly airpod get longer battery life since the stick is the battery lol, and for those who argue that it is easily lost...
wondering how the home button
as the force touch trackpad in macbook and mbp retina display 2015 I don't really like it laugh.gif

as for the alternative Samsung Gear Icon X, RRP is RM 699
XeactorZ
post Sep 9 2016, 01:12 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

good article to read
iPhone 7 or 7 Plus to buy

Why iPhone 7?

The decision between the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus was incredibly tough this year, but the reality is that the iPhone’s bigger size is still polarizing for most would-be iPhone users. For $120 more, you do get an extra telephoto lens for better zoom and depth mapping. But in day-to-day smartphone usage, zoom isn’t that important and you can easily add bokeh effects in post with a variety of photo apps if it’s something you really, really need.

But the normal iPhone 7 camera is getting all the upgrades that really matter. This time around, the smaller phone has optical image stabilization as well as the much improved f/1.8 aperture lens and quad-LED flash. This should make either camera an absolute champion in low-light scenarios, so why spend more?

seriously zoom not useful in daily
btw what is bokeh effect ? I do google it don't know what it talking about
summoning sifu Andrewtst help explaining tqvm biggrin.gif
Andrewtst
post Sep 9 2016, 01:41 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,762 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 9 2016, 01:12 AM)
good article to read
iPhone 7 or 7 Plus to buy
seriously zoom not useful in daily
btw what is bokeh effect ? I do google it don't know what it talking about
summoning sifu Andrewtst help explaining tqvm biggrin.gif
Zoom is extreme useful as sometimes we want capture the thing where possible we can't reach the destination to get it.

Optical Zoom is hardware zoom which can maintaining as clear as without zoom. Digital zoom wise is software simulation zoom.

The iPhone 7 Plus after 2x optical zoom is move to digital zoom, this is no choice, else the camera will be superb long, they can archive 2x optical zoom already is something really great.

Read this for bokeh explanation, in short summary blurring the background to stunning out the focus object - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bokeh - this is where the most people love it as it just simply look beautiful where human eye can't really see it. Bokeh in previous only DSLR can archive it but now mobile also can get similar result but is a mixed of hardware + software, not like DLSR which is purely hardware by lens where bigger aperture lens can generate much extreme feel of bokeh effect, or another way to get it is using telephoto lens which having a big optical zoom.

iPhone 7 Plus second camera is a telephoto lens which have 2x optical zoom, in general it can't really can get outstanding bokeh effect, that the reason why some software simulation is involved, but at least it still got 2x optical zoom, with it smart ISP calculation (software simulation), thus it can produce a nice look bokeh effect.

In another word, Bokeh effect is where the lens produce a shallow depth of field (DOF) - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depth_of_field, which means the background is blur and only the focus object is clear. It can archive in two way, a very big aperture lens or very big optical zoom telephoto lens. Combination of two can get something extreme shallow DOF. Mobile wise often involved with some software to emulate out due to it limitation where impossible to put something that big lenses in mobile.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 9 2016, 02:03 AM
XeactorZ
post Sep 9 2016, 02:06 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 9 2016, 01:41 AM)
Zoom is extreme useful as sometimes we want capture the thing where possible we can't reach the destination to get it.

Optical Zoom is hardware zoom which can maintaining as clear as without zoom. Digital zoom wise is software simulation zoom.

The iPhone 7 Plus after 2x optical zoom is move to digital zoom, this is no choice, else the camera will be superb long, they can archive 2x optical zoom already is something really great.

Read this for bokeh explanation, in short summary blurring the background to stunning out the focus object - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bokeh - this is where the most people love it as it just simply look beautiful where human eye can't really see it. Bokeh in previous only DSLR can archive it but now mobile also can get similar result but is a mixed of hardware + software, not like DLSR which is purely hardware by lens where bigger aperture lens can generate much extreme feel of bokeh effect, or another way to get it is using telephoto lens which having a big optical zoom.

iPhone 7 Plus second camera is a telephoto lens which have 2x optical zoom, in general it can't really can get outstanding bokeh effect, that the reason why some software simulation is involved, but at least it still got 2x optical zoom, with it smart ISP calculation (software simulation), thus it can produce a nice look bokeh effect.

In another word, Bokeh effect is where the lens produce a shallow depth of field (DOF) - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depth_of_field, which means the background is blur and only the focus object is clear. It can archive in two way, a very big aperture lens or very big optical zoom telephoto lens. Combination of two can get something extreme shallow DOF. Mobile wise often involved with some software to emulate out due to it limitation where impossible to put something that big lenses in mobile.
the 2nd camera other than 2x optical zoom, for that bokeh effect we also can use apps to get it right ??
which we can see a lot photo posting in instagram or facebook which the photo are blur except the main subject right
optical zoom is a plus for me, but not really needed in daily life hmm.gif (is useful when taking artist photo) laugh.gif
still waiting the camera comparison between 2 of them

This post has been edited by XeactorZ: Sep 9 2016, 02:07 AM
Andrewtst
post Sep 9 2016, 02:12 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,762 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 9 2016, 02:06 AM)
the 2nd camera other than 2x optical zoom, for that bokeh effect we also can use apps to get it right ??
optical zoom is a plus for me, but not really needed in daily life hmm.gif (is useful when taking artist photo) laugh.gif
still waiting the camera comparison between 2 of them
Bokeh effect can get using software but it is not as nice as real hardware. Of course the iPhone 7 plus is not pure hardware also, it is a mixture of software, but from the sample it is nicely well done.

You can get extremely nice bokeh effect if your photoshop skill is extremely great.

Optical zoom is so useful when you take some scenery, for example you seen a nice statue across the river, without zoom you can't get it. Or maybe bird / airplane fly on the sky, or as you said taking artist - a portrait photo can get great result when using zoom as this can get a shallow DOF, it also reduce the human unnatural feel as human normally act unnatural when the camera is position too front of human.

This is sample to demostrate what is bokeh.

Telephoto lens can generate outstanding shallow DOF photo. This is only capable in DSLR previously, now using software calculation + capable hardware, mobile can get similar result as well but off course it can't as nice as like what DLSR did. What cool Apple did is it make this possible to portrait photo with so shallow DOF, none of mobile camera in market now able to do such to portrait photo (required telephoto lens) but only able to do on very closed macro photo (a big aperture lens).
  • iPhone 7 - big aperture wide-angle f/1.8 lens - can get very bright photo and help in dark and night shoot, a wide view of nice scenery photo and also extreme bokeh effect macro photo.
  • iPhone 7 Plus - beside above capability, second lens is f/2.8 telephoto lens - can closed up far object and also shallow DOF portrait photo.

Below is Dual Lens selection by manufacturer, 2nd lens is specific for special output photo.
  • LG - Big Aperture f/1.8 Lens + Extreme Wide-Angle Lens (2nd lens let you take extremely Wide-Angle up to 135 degree wide view photo)
  • Huawei - Aperture f/2.2 Lens + Real Black & White sensor Lens (2nd lens let you take a pure hardware capture black & white photo)
  • Apple - Big Aperture f/1.8 Wide-Angle Lens + 2x Optical Telephoto Lens (2nd lens let you closed up far object, and also shallow DOF portrait photo)
** If got manufacturer put in 4 camera lens (bit aperture wide-angle lens, telephoto lens, black & white sensor lens, extreme wide-angle lens), then everything can be capture already, haha!

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 9 2016, 03:14 AM
G-17
post Sep 9 2016, 03:16 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

Cheapest way to upgrade to iPhone 7;
http://appleplugs.com/

tongue.gif
Sportfisher
post Sep 9 2016, 06:45 AM

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 9 2016, 12:34 AM)
hence need to use the case
but then once use the case no point getting it right whistling.gif
unless you get a transparent case
Chill...just go for the color you like.
Scratches are normal wear and not really noticeable anyway.
I have used all my iPhones without cases and they still work fine.
Scratches won't void warranty.
attw
post Sep 9 2016, 08:18 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 8 2016, 11:09 PM)
btw how much you top up extra ? since by the time we get the iPhone and new iPhone should be around 1 year already hmm.gif
since this iPhone 7 gonna be my 2nd iPhone, previous iPhone is iPhone 5 laugh.gif
if I were you, once I get the iPhone 7 will get next 2 generation iPhone as the design should be same for 2 generation laugh.gif
Yes, I think I am likely to get the 7 Plus, but just 32GB will do - based on my usage pattern throughout these years with the iPhone. 16GB is too little and even 64GB is overkill... But am not in a hurry... will most likely get an Apple Watch first, now that the prices has gone down biggrin.gif

Next year? Well, most likely I won't upgrade (I said that last year and this year and still I upgraded, ha ha)

attw
post Sep 9 2016, 08:22 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Sep 8 2016, 10:53 PM)
Issue now is...

Early adopter but possibly pay higher + warranty issue

Vs

Possible early Malaysia launch hence paying premium for being an early adopter nullifies the fun.

Vs

Late launch in Malaysia and price almost the same as SG hence being an early adopter is so super worth it.

Hahaha. First world problems.
There is the other issue of being an early adopter - whether or not you'll run into first batch production defects - e.g. antennagate, bendgate, etc.

Or God forbid, the battery is a fire hazard wink.gif
attw
post Sep 9 2016, 08:29 AM

32,468 posts

I've set up a poll. Lets vote!

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4050958
chkhoo76
post Sep 9 2016, 09:00 AM

Techie from Earth
1,245 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 9 2016, 02:12 AM)
[/list]** If got manufacturer put in 4 camera lens (bit aperture wide-angle lens, telephoto lens, black & white sensor lens, extreme wide-angle lens), then everything can be capture already, haha!
I like this idea! biggrin.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 9 2016, 09:17 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 8 2016, 11:09 PM)
If the Iphone 7 design is going to be used for 2 more years, its going to get pretty boring because the same design has been used since the Iphone 6.
dannychen
post Sep 9 2016, 09:32 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 9 2016, 08:22 AM)
There is the other issue of being an early adopter - whether or not you'll run into first batch production defects - e.g. antennagate, bendgate, etc.

Or God forbid, the battery is a fire hazard wink.gif
Malaysia set should be out of those defects since we are no way in getting it in Malaysia on next Friday. Apple should have ironed out any issues by the time we get it in October/November. Unlike Samsung, we are always the first launch country for them.
Hyde`fK
post Sep 9 2016, 09:49 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Another reason to get 7 Plus is the 3GB RAM as opposed to 7's 2GB RAM.

http://www.redmondpie.com/confirmed-iphone...atures-3gb-ram/

145 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:22 PM