23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

MrFarmer
post Aug 25 2011, 07:40 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Aug 24 2011, 06:30 PM)
Mr Farmer :

i need you to take pictures of each plant again. take the pictures of the whole plant instead on zooming in.

its difficult to identify

tq bro

ParaOptical
Will do, but away from farm at the moment.

Added on August 25, 2011, 7:45 am
QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 25 2011, 07:40 AM)
Will do, but away from farm at the moment.
http://www.livestockasia.com/pdf/lv11su_1.pdf
http://www.livestockasia.com/pdf/lv11su_2.pdf

Hi Guys, just sharing
Livestock Asia 2011LIVESTOCK ASIA 2011
Happy visiting

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Aug 25 2011, 07:45 AM
MrFarmer
post Aug 26 2011, 08:26 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Aug 25 2011, 08:16 AM)
MrFarmer:

Castor plant.... Did you know the toxin ricin was developed from the plant?

Anyway, castor for biofuel production has been a long-drawn story. Incidentally, castor is also used for edible oil extracts and industrial purposes. I won't comment much on the latter, as it is quite established. But I will say that the former has had mixed results.

Questions to ask:
(i) Who buys up all the crop? As with jatropha, if there isn't a guaranteed buy-back, then susah, as the crop has practically no other use in its raw/unrefined form, not even as animal feed.
(ii) Who is the end buyer of your buyer (middleman)? If the middleman cannot secure buyback, then everything down the line hangs on a thread as well.
(iii) Variety. This is important, as there are many varieties available, and not all are suitable for cultivation. Some are merely ornamentals, while others are meant for only certain environments. Yet others are considerably dangerous (eg. "Hale" variety, which has very high levels of ricin in the plant). Also do note the disease tolerance of those plants, as fusarium is a really big problem. As a general detection method, if the guy promoting the crop knows nuts about the husbandry and pedigree of the crop, chances are they are cheats, out to make a quick buck off people's enthusiasm.

And finally, as with all other forms of investment, if it is really that wonderful, why aren't there more people prospering through the plant? Projections will always remain as such, mere projections. Without real results, any figures given will just be conjecture and assumptions. As a rule of thumb, always discount a minimum of 30% off any figures thrown around, and then determine for oneself if that figure is acceptable.
As with all presentation, everything looks great. Most of these guys have most things cornered with "lucrative" figures to show. Just to share my though,

Yes, understand about the toxin ricin, it's in the seeds, leaves and stem. As we have free range chickens around, it could be a problem? I was also thinking that with a density of 4,000 plants per acre, the ricin level might reach an acceptable level. There is no regulation / ban against this at the moment in Malaysia. Might post a problem to the health of our helpers?

As usual, big buyers are from developed countries, China. Requirement is so great that there is no problem to sell, etc. etc. Statistic provided. MOU signed to supply Chinese counter parts witha minimum of 50,000 mTon per month.

The promoter had sett up demo farm, couple of contract farming, couple of independent farming, is setting up Oil processing mill in Johor & Kuching, converting the coconut oil processing mill to castor oil mill. The promoter is also looking for 'dealers' to set up collection center/ service center all over the country to promote this activity. Buy back guarantee is fixed at RM$900/ton of De-shelled seeds. Claiming that the lowest statistic is RM$1,200 (past 20 years record) (not verified yet). Trading / pricing follows the Indian commodities board which list castor as a commodity (not verified yet).

Variety, the promoter has different hybrid for different environment / soil condition. These hybrid has a production of 8 tons per acres per anum and oil content of more than 50% from the seeds. Harvesting can start from 120 days.

Even with 30% discount on the figures provided, it still looks lucrative. As it is also promoted as a cash crops planted in between rubber / pal oil trees.

My personal opinion is that there are no data of people planting castor with either rubber or palm oil. Should we be able to plant these, then we could create positive cash flow while waiting for harvesting of latex. Do you think Castor & rubber is a good / possible mix? If it's feasible to to a trial?
Am keeping this aside, collect more data and wait for more developments. In the mean time we'll stick with conventional crops. Banana, Sweet Potatoes, Serai, Groundnuts, Pumpkin, Corns and etc.

Added on August 26, 2011, 8:36 am
QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Aug 25 2011, 04:09 PM)
if you are back in KL, give me a call. i sent you my contact
we could meet up on monday ?

i registered for the event already...am waiting for the live stock show biggrin.gif
Sure see you on Monday. Shall sms you my phone latter.
Attending Livestock 2011 too for a look see. We can also meet up there.

Say, anybody else going? Maybe we can also organize a mini meet up? Para, sufficient time to do that?

People attending Livestock 2011
1) ParaOptical
2)Mr Farmer

Cheers

FYI / Just sharing
RE: LIVESTOCK ASIA EXPO & FORUM 2011 ONLINE PRE-REGISTRATION
Thank you for registering for LIVESTOCK ASIA EXPO & FORUM 2011. Your form has been successfully sent to us.

You will receive a confirmation email with a unique pre-registration number. Please present a printed copy of the confirmation email with your unique pre-registration number together with your business card at the registration counter to collect your admission badge.

The badges are non-transferable due to security reasons. You may be asked by the security personnel to present proof of identification before entering the exhibitions.

LIVESTOCK ASIA EXPO & FORUM 2011 is strictly open for trade professionals, buyers and business visitors involved in Asia's International Feed, Livestock & Meat Industry Show. Visitors who do not hold complimentary ticket or pre-registration letters will have to pay a fee of USD 5 / RM 20 for admission to the expo.

The organizer reserves the right of refusal if the registrant is not a valid trade visitor.

Thank you.

LIVESTOCK ASIA EXPO & FORUM 2011 SHOW TEAM

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Aug 26 2011, 08:39 AM
MrFarmer
post Aug 29 2011, 12:01 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Aug 26 2011, 10:47 AM)

The only thing I have a real problem with is the productivity quoted. 8 tonnes per acre is bloody high. The current average is about 30-40 bushels per acre, or about 653kg - 871kg per acre. Even counting a three-round cycle at 120 days per cycle (although the figure above is total production per acre per year), it would only amount to about 2-3 metric tonnes. Arguably, Dove Biotech is located in India where perennial drought could influence yields; nonetheless, similar productivity reports are found around the world, so I don't know how they came up with that figure of 8 tonnes per acre.

Did some search, and found that the yield quoted by Indian website is very low, compared to those quoted by Chinese (China) website. In China it is quoted as XXXX kg/hm2, wondering what does kg/hm2 means and how is it compared to kg/acre?
http://www.castorchina.com/

Manage to find out that a farm in Batu Gajah, Perak, planted January. 4 acres @ ex-mining land. 1st harvest in April yield 730 kg of seeds. 2nd harvest in September and they expect twice the yield, reason is that once the seeds are harvested/snip off, more branch (spikes) shall grow, hence more seeds. Am trying to contact them to find out the 2nd yield.

Added on August 30, 2011, 7:02 amSelamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to all our Muslim Friends, Brothers & Sisters. May peace be upon you, good health and prosperity follows.

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Aug 30 2011, 07:02 AM
MrFarmer
post Aug 31 2011, 09:04 AM

478 posts

The Star
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...2609&sec=nation

Wednesday August 31, 2011
Doc: Papaya leaves can cure dengue

KUALA LUMPUR: Papaya leaves and pegaga (centella asiatica) juice are a possible cure for dengue fever, a recent study revealed.

It has been reported that many people consume papaya leaves or pegaga juice to increase their platelet count after they contract dengue fever.

A recent study, conducted by a group of researchers from local and foreign universities, indicated that the powder from papaya leaves has substances responsible for the release and/or production of thrombocytes (platelets).

The study was initiated and led by Dr S. Kathiresan of AIMST University.

Dr Kathiresan said the leaves of papaya fruit were high in complex vitamins that might help bone marrow to rapidly increase blood platelet production.

“Dengue fever continues to be a major health threat to Malaysia after its first reported outbreak in 1902.

“The dengue virus’ main effect is on platelet production. Nor­mally, a platelet in our body lasts for about five to 10 days and the body replenishes them when required,” he told Bernama.

“This virus destroys the body’s capacity to produce new platelets (during the period the virus is effective). The platelet count for a normal person varies from 150,000 to 250,000 per micro litre of blood. On becoming infected, a patient’s platelet count starts falling.

“A platelet count below 100,000 per microlitre is alarming – immediate medical attention is required. A platelet count below 50,000 can be fatal,” he added.

A fall in the platelet count prevents formation of clots and this leads to haemorrhaging, which results in both internal and external bleeding.

Once such bleeding starts, the situation is almost irreversible, he said.

Dr Kathiresan noted that interest in the papaya began with a simple experiment with papaya leaves which were ground and administered to mice.

The platelet counts before, and 72 hours after dosing, revealed they were significantly higher.

The six-month study, titled Thrombocyte counts in mice after the administration of papaya leaf suspension, published in October 2009, was funded by AIMST University and Universiti Sains Malaysia.

Dr Kathiresan was assisted in the study by Dr Surash Rama­nathan, Dr Sharif M. Mansor and Dr Mas Rosemal M.H. Haris of Universiti Sains Malaysia, Penang, and Walther H. Wernsdorfer of Medical University of Vienna, Austria. — Bernama

Added on August 31, 2011, 9:27 am
QUOTE(Michael J. @ Aug 30 2011, 05:11 PM)
Mr Farmer:

Erm... Don't want to burst any bubbles, but maybe it would be good if I explained some of those terms used.

hm2 is known as square hectometer, otherwise known as hectare. So 1 hectometer is equivalent to 1 hectare. And 1 hectare (ha) is about equivalent to 2.5 acres (ac). 1 metric ton is about 1000kg.

The Chinese website noted their hybrid produces about 4000kg/hm2 to 6000kg/hm2, which means their crop produces about 4 metric tons to 6 metric tons per hectare, or about 1.6 tons per acre to 2.4 tons per acre.

As for the figures from India, like I noted, India has perennial drought issues, so it does affect yield. But very similar figures are also reported from less drought prone areas in US, Brazil etc. Ok lar, we could assume that those guys are not using the latest hybrid seeds, but even among plant breeders, we know that heterosis (which causes the incremental improvement in plant productivity) from hybridization only achieves about 30%-40% improvement maximum per breeding cycle, so 1.6 metric tons per acre is about right lor. And again, assuming one can manage the cropping within 120 days, then 365 days a year, it is possible to plant 3 crops, and get about 4.8 metric tons per acre. Still far below the 8 tons claimed by our friends. Even at the very highest potential of 2.4 metric tons per acre (which in plantation science is impossible to max out the full potential of any crop species), then you might arguably get 7.2 metric tons in one year.

I am not saying it is completely impossible to attain 8 tons per acre, but I would imagine with current breeds, it will take another 3-5 breeding cycles to reach that level of productivity. And I would like to caution any farmer when dealing with any seed salesman that quotes only potential figures, because potential crop production is usually tested out in controlled environments where things like drought, pest, diseases, poor management skills etc. are well managed and not a major problem, where in a real farm setting, a lot of things can go wrong, so always ask for real production figures endorse by actual farmers. Just for comparison sake, the potential oil productivity of oil palm is 14 metric tons of crude palm oil per hectare (as quoted by world's best oil palm scientists Dr. C.W.S Hartley and Dr. H. Corley), but do we hear such things even in the very best oil palm plantations in the world? No right? The very best I know of is about 10 metric tons per hectare.

As for the farm at Batu Gajah, their yield is consistent with global figures at 730kg per harvest (120 days I assume?). But I would like to clarify that more branches and more seeds does not mean more yield per se. Just like management of fruit trees in orchards, why do growers prune off extra flowers and fruit? More flowers mean more fruit mar? More fruit mean more yield mar? Right? As it turns out, not true. More flowers mean more competition for nutrients, more competition for nutrients mean smaller fruits. So the "qualitative" aspect drops although the "quantitative" aspect increases. At the end of the day, the grower has to decide if he/she want to sell less crop but all AAA grades, or more crops but mostly C grades.
Thank you Micheal.
I agree that most of the Chinese website do over claim due to the non regulation. From the data gathered, aiming for 8 tons/acre/year form a new farm with no experience in Castor might not be do able.
From the result on the Bt Gajah farm, 1st yield 730 kg for 1st harvest, I think it's not feasible to plant this as a main crop. More data needed. Shall try to find more data.
I totally agreed with the "qualitative", as with my sweet corn. The 1st planting, we got uneven harvest, was thinking that we would get more yield with 3 corns per plant. Was thinking that the quantity (in volume, big & small) would bring up the yield (in $). It did not turn out well. As lots of the corn did not developed fully. Lesson learned. Now with my 2nd planting (back to doing trial, very small plot), we had just harvested the lower corn as vegetable (baby corn). As it was a small plot, these headed for our cooking pots. Shall be accessing the value of baby corn versus sweet corn. Leaving some with 1 and 2 corns, we shall see the results in a couple of weeks. Sorry, another story.

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Aug 31 2011, 09:27 AM
MrFarmer
post Aug 31 2011, 09:42 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Aug 30 2011, 09:29 PM)
bro, out of curiosity is castor seed same as the jatropha seeds ?

3-4 years back i went to Johor to check out some farm doing jatropha. they were looking for investor and promoting it as bio-fuel. but havent heard from them since.

Joel, they are as what you said, Only Promoting The Potential Yield and $$$ return.
Jatropha is a different plant from Castor. Both are planted for their oil producing seeds. Perhaps Michael can explain better.
As with all new crops, it takes times to take off even if it's successful. Without the supporting industries in place, such as millers, collection centers & etc I don't think it did well. Now with our new bio-diesel in place and increased in world demand, I think these "oil seeds" have "more potential" compared to 4 years ago.

Could you contact them again to see how the performed after 4 years? It'll be nice to know.

Personally am adopting a "wait & see" attitude as most of the supporting industries are not in place, especially in remote areas like our farm. Am still collecting data to access the feasibility. Also trying to see if Castor can grow well on hilly land with steep gradient. In the mean time, sticking to traditional crops.

P/s One of the website suggested that planting these Castor (weeds) is better (more lucrative, basing on their projection) than planting Vegetables. This staement I think is an over claim, otherwise all vegetable farmers would had been converted.

I think these Castor might make a good crop on infertile waste land such as ex-mining land.
MrFarmer
post Sep 4 2011, 11:19 AM

478 posts

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...5689&sec=nation
FRIM: Tap local herbs potential

KUALA LUMPUR: There are about 6,000 species of herbs in Malaysia that can be developed and used as beauty and food supplement products.

Forestry Research Institute of Malaysia (FRIM) director-general Datuk Dr Abdul Latif Mohmod said there are about 20 species of medicinal and aromatic plants from which beauty care and fragrance products could be developed.

“With the latest technology, it is not impossible for us to unlock the vast potential in our rainforests,” he said.

Among the popular herbs being researched are lempoyang, turmeric, kaffir lime, kemoyang, serai wangi, selasih, jangkang and gaharu, he added.

Abdul Latif said FRIM had found that the extracts or chemical compounds from the species analysed had anti-oxidant, anti-inflammatory and anti-microbial properties.

Based on the research findings, he said FRIM is testing whether the essential oils and herbal extracts could be developed as cosmetics and wellness products in capsule, tablet or tea form.

Abdul Latif said FRIM had established a herbal technology centre with good manufacturing practice certification to help the healthcare industry realise the commercial value of local herbal products.

“The research programme is in line with the aspiration of the government to promote the herbal and healthcare industry in the country as outlined in the National Agricultural Policy and the National Biotechnology Policy,” he said.

He noted that more than 30 new herbal products had been manufactured and were now being commercialised in cooperation with pharmaceutical companies.

A good example, he said, was Gaharu essence, which is in high demand with even a small quantity being sold for thousands of ringgit. — Bernama

MrFarmer
post Sep 4 2011, 11:29 AM

478 posts

http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?...ra&pg=ne_11.htm

Translation by Google

Orchid seed bioreactor level 10 times

By KU MOHD. RIZDUAN KU ABDUL RAHMAN
kurizduan.kurahman @ kosmo.com.my

Maziah shows the formula of the media to produce seedlings of orchids at the UPM, Serdang yesterday.

SERDANG - the orchid industry a step ahead when the Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) has successfully produced a number of orchid seeds 10 times through the bioreactor.

Lecturer in the Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, UPM, Prof. Dr. Maziah Mahmood said the media formula is able to produce more seeds orchids orchids without disturbing the existing biodiversity.

He said so far there is no technological development in orchids such as the Malaysian market faster and cheaper because the formula is only related to fertilization.

"The use of bioreactor techniques easier for growing orchids for better ventilation and does not require fertilizer and water.

"This technology uses a special formula and the air passed over by time. This method is very different from the conventional techniques of a more static, "he told reporters here yesterday.

In addition, it is clear Maziah, techniques to accelerate flowering through the creation of a special liquid spray team is also more environmentally friendly and flowers produced more durable.

"The method was able to accelerate flowering orchids between two to six weeks earlier than normal methods," he said.

He added that the research took five years at a cost of RM500, 000.
MrFarmer
post Sep 6 2011, 12:27 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 5 2011, 06:53 PM)
met up with MrFarmer just now and treated me to White Coffee...thanks bro.

got alot of input from him...nice chatting with you bro biggrin.gif
Nice meeting up with you. It's a pleasure exchanging ideas with you. Looking forward to visit your farm in the near future.

Cheers.
MrFarmer
post Sep 9 2011, 07:31 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 9 2011, 02:39 PM)
Has anyone started large scale organic farming in malaysia?
Hi Teteret, how large scale is your "large scale"? There are more and more organic farm now a days.
Maybe you can try checking out DQ Farm.
http://dqfarm.blogspirit.com/
Hope it helps.
Regards
Mr Farmer.

MrFarmer
post Sep 11 2011, 07:07 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(kianwei8 @ Sep 11 2011, 11:08 AM)
visit my 'patient' and offer solution to Farmer at Hutan Melintang

Hi Kianwei8, can kindly enlighten and educate us also? What seems to be the problem and what solution was offered, most importantly keep us informed about the results. Who knows, maybe one of the guys/gals here may go into Palm Oil.
MrFarmer
post Sep 20 2011, 09:44 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 14 2011, 09:24 PM)
I do have gaharu trees. But what I can tell you is that planting gaharu is not as lucrative as many of us are led to believe. Wild agarwood is still better. I'm an agarwood wholesaler actually and I would welcome any buy/sell inquiries
Hi Teteret,
what sort or pricing are we looking at now. The cost for "injection" is also high. I have about 200 small seedlings plant-lets in poly bags with me, am still undecided about planting those. What the pro / con?

Added on September 20, 2011, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(Michael J. @ Sep 19 2011, 08:16 AM)
Para:

Check your water table and soil type. You mentioned it is near a river. Chances are the land is made up of largely heavy clay soil, and the water table could be relatively higher. It will be a costly affair, but building scupper drains and doing cambering on the planting rows could help you manage the water-logging and cropping a little better.

Added on September 19, 2011, 8:31 amteteret:

Although banana plants require a lot of water, the rhizome will suffocate and die (rot) in soil that is saturated in water. However, I think it is more of a soil management problem, correct me if I'm wrong Para.

Para:

If the surface run-off is not very bad, you could do light cambering. The land would then be more useful for fertigation. However if you are going to plant corn, I would be rather cautious, especially if the land is perpetually water-logged. For this, you might need to do quite extensive cambering plus build scupper drains parallel to the planting rows to carry off excess water. Again, if your land is really heavy clay soil, then you need to consider ways of ensuring the root zone of your plants is adequately aerated.
From my experience, Banana & Corn die in water logged land, root rot.
We have Yam growing well in water logged/creek side. Other plants are water Kang Kong & Sai Yong Choi (sorry, can think of the English name at the moment)

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Sep 20 2011, 09:53 PM
MrFarmer
post Sep 22 2011, 08:21 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 21 2011, 11:06 PM)
Pros of agarwood is of course potential for very high value wood. But no returns for at least 6 years. Inoculation may cost up to 1000 per tree.
So do you collect in cubic meters or tonnage? What is the current market price? I think the cost of inoculation, as well as the plant-lets had gone down. We have people here selling at $4.00 each.

Banana can grow practically next to water, but never below the water table.
Wild bananas which we are trying to clear.
MrFarmer
post Sep 23 2011, 08:05 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 22 2011, 10:45 PM)
Mr farmer, we use neither!  biggrin.gif agarwood is one of the only wood varieties which are commonly traded in kgs. End users, usually buy In grams. Kynam, the most valuable of agarwood which hails from Vietnam, goes for as much as USD$1000 per GRAM.  But that's for natural not inoculated so I can't tell you much abt inoculated variety.
So how much are you currently paying for normal grade (collection price), not inoculated. I'm just trying to decide if I should go ahead to plant the 200 plant-lets that I have. Kindly PM me if it's inconvenient to reveal you price here?

MrFarmer
post Sep 25 2011, 07:58 PM

478 posts

Disease or nutrient deficiency?

Added on September 26, 2011, 11:31 pmuser posted image
N deficiency?
Trying with SOA (N21%)

Added on September 26, 2011, 11:50 pmuser posted image
K deficiency? Try with multi-K
All of these are in the same farm.

Hmmh, no idea
Lady's finger

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Sep 26 2011, 11:50 PM
MrFarmer
post Sep 28 2011, 07:10 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 28 2011, 07:52 AM)
The soil looks rather barren
Oh yes, the land owner was playing with him mini tractor "toy", trying to level the land to a lower gradient. The top soil had been pushed to the creek in the middle of the land. Also the land had been exhausted by the previous planter planting tobacco.
MrFarmer
post Sep 29 2011, 07:58 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Sep 29 2011, 12:01 AM)
Mr Farmer:

Oh shit bro.... Did you check why the previous operator abondoned tobacco planting? Was there a disease outbreak? Don't want to scare you, but it could be Tobacco Mosaic Virus infecting your chili peppers and okra. Even cigarette butts containing some infected tobacco leaves pieces can lead to widescale infection. But to rule it out, first check for aphids or red spider mites. Aphids are easy to see, usually black or green little bugs, wont move much and about the side of a (*). Red spider mites would appear reddish black, and normally found on the underside of the leaves. If you are able to verify that there was no previous outbreak of TMV, and there are a lot of aphids/spider mites, then your crops might be safe.

As for the ginger, you've likely got a nutrient problem, caused by deficiency in potassium (K), and possibly magnesium. Apply the usual potassium fertilizer, but also include some Kieserite (MgO). Just want to verify, which pineapple variety are you using? Because I saw some look like Josapine, some like N36. Not very familiar with pineapple, but the slight yellowing appears to be due to nitrogen deficiency and heavy exposure to sunlight.

You might find the following document useful for pineapple.

https://www.ippc.int/file_uploaded/11152816...t_pineapple.pdf

Hope this helps.
sweat.gif The abandoning of tobacco was due to the closure of all the buying agent. Heard that our government was no longer promoting it ans some incentives were removed. Those outfits moved to Indonesia.
Shall check on the mites, but we had just made a spraying of Decis (deltamethrin), so not sure if I'll find any.
Red spider mites?
Ginger I think could be due to us adding the not fully compost rice husk too much & close to the stem. I think it's kind of "hot" and burn out the ginger, sweet potatoes. It is useful for green leafs vegetables (in small amount).
Pineapples, not sure of the varieties. It was given to us by different people. Heavy exposure? Pineapples should be able to grow well in full sun light.
MrFarmer
post Oct 1 2011, 07:54 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Sep 30 2011, 08:57 AM)
Mr. Farmer:

Please do check for spider mites. Can't view the image right now, but once I am to access pictures, I will tell you.

Erm... you do know deltamethrin is a neurotoxin right? And it is normally used to kill insects; although it has been indicated as being useful to control arachnids and arthropods, for control of mites, maybe you should consider Mitac (amitraz) instead. It is less hazardous to human health too.

Ah... you used compost... It could be a contributing factor. It is usually due to hot methane gas (from fermentation of organic matter) scalding the leaves. As I understand, it takes quite a lot of the stuff to result in scalding of lower leaves. Had that problem before when planted oil palm on deep peat; we called it "lower frond dessication". However it does not fully explain the deficiency of chlorophyll in the mid-rib section of the ginger leaves, or the light striations along the leaf blades.

You are right, pineapple is grown under full sun. But that is in combination with sufficient nitrogen source for the chloroplasts (the organelles in plant cells that convert sunlight and nutrient into food for the plants) to function properly. If there is a deficiency, the plant's immediate response would be to "kill" the less productive cells or chloroplasts, and divert the resources to those which are more productive, usually those found in the younger leaves. It is just my assumption that the pineapple leaves were supposed to be green, although there are varieties with yellow-green leaves and red/purple fringes, mostly varieties that have the Gandol pineapple as one of its genetic parents.

ps: For the chili peppers, if you do not find spider mites or aphids, and you know there was no TMV outbreak previously, then there is not really too much worry. It could just be a case of growth imbalance. When I was developing my chili breed, I thought my entire breeding population kena TMV virus; turned out the crinkling was because the plant growth hormone affecting leaf expansion was working overtime, while the roots had not grown extensive enough to support the rapid growth. Once the roots were established enough to support leaf growth, the leaves stopped crinkling, and grew to about the size of a man's hand each.

As a general guide, you might like to read this article:

http://www.avrdc.org/LC/pepper/chipep.pdf
Thanks Micheal.

Don't seems to find any mites.

Oh yes, the deltamethrin, we use to control insects on our eggplant, okra and Vegetables. It's the only stuff we have at the moment, so we taroh oni. blush.gif Anyway, had stopped seedling chillies, plant whatever that had germinated, until we sort this out.
Thanks for the link.

As for the pineapples and ginger, do you think it salvageable / reversible? Or should we plant again?
MrFarmer
post Oct 3 2011, 07:33 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Oct 3 2011, 08:26 AM)
Para:

I'm not aware of any shops which you can get them from, but apparently there are certain people who do provide the bugs. Not very sure who they are, though they occassionally post their services on Mudah.my or ebay Malaysia. I caught mine myself. You don't really need a whole lot if your area is small. In my case, I only needed 3 breeding pairs to produce enough offspring (which are even more effective than the adults at munching aphids) to cover 50-60 plants.

I need to point out that if you do intend to implement biological control, it would be important to look into the well-being of the beneficial predators. This includes providing shelter, reducing pesticide applications (and herbicide), etc. Ladybugs for instance like sheltering under tree bark, or in places that are warm and damp. They really don't like rain, but are quite appreciative of translocation (i.e. they don't mind being moved from a saturated area to a less saturated area; a good trait, as not all beneficial predators can tolerate human handling). Food source is important, and aside from pests like scale insect, mites, aphids, ladybugs can and do consume some quantities of nectar and pollen. So, do plant some nectar rich flowering plants, like Tunera flowers (9 O'clock morning glory).

You can read more about them here:
http://www.gardeninsects.com/ladybugs.asp
I believe that there are some ladybugs in our farm, just not sure if it's seven-spotted. biggrin.gif
MrFarmer
post Oct 5 2011, 06:57 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Oct 4 2011, 08:27 AM)
then i shall need a mini landscape at the farm to 'invite' them in biggrin.gif

Yes, we have some of these guys around, and more.
MrFarmer
post Oct 6 2011, 08:22 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Oct 5 2011, 10:00 PM)
Mr Farmer:

The first three pictures are ladybugs, the last one is Mictis, or sapsucking stink bug.
Oh yes, found the mites, Aphids. They had migrated to infest our Lady's Finger & Eggplant. It seems that our neighbors (surrounding us) is spraying Dimethoate, hence all of them seek refuge at our farm.

23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0753sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:46 AM