23 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

MrFarmer
post Apr 18 2013, 06:04 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(M_century @ Apr 18 2013, 01:05 AM)
If 200acres is entirely water size with depth 10ft and above, it's a huge lake.
Question to consider, how well you know the lake, what's in it? It can make a difference.
How about the security etc?

Having access to large funding, wonders can be done.
Despite that, you would want to avoid as much mistakes and time wastage.

There are numerous downstream activities that can be done with Tilapia.
But I believe, one step at a time is better approach as you can stabilize yourself with experience learnt before moving downstreams.onl
Yet again, with $$, you can short cut and hire the expert know how people to do the work.
I myself prefer to hands on everything, will only leave it to managers once the ship had been steadied.

I myself is in the Aqua Feed business, where my department mainly handling Tilapia Feed business.
I'm also in the Tilapia farming, small farm with 2 ponds. I also secure my clients would be able to sell their fish when harvest.

My feed cost in my farm is about RM3.50 - RM4.50 per kg of fish depending of what I am doing with it. Market ex-farm price vary from RM8-RM10 per kg. Fluctuations depends on demand and supply.
Feed cost would be your largest operating cost. How efficiently you balance cost vs benefit is the key. How efficiently you convert your FCR. We usually aim to have lower FCR to be more profitable. Yet, on another hand, lower FCR with better margin may not neccessary means more profits.
As for other operating cost, it entirely depend on yourself.

Lastly, most important is the market and your location.
Certain location does not command a good price.
Oh yes, prices fluctuations play a major part. Papaya in my area dropped by 50% recently. No eye see. Waiting for my flight to Krabi for some time off. Deal with it when I'm back.
MrFarmer
post Apr 22 2013, 11:46 AM

478 posts

Hi M-Century, any chances of you going to your pond on 26 ~ 29th April, would lie to follow & look see, if it's permitted smile.gif I still harbor an interest of aquaculture
(very small scale, integrated farming ) just that I'm still working on my phase 1, agriculture.

MrFarmer
post May 4 2013, 11:56 AM

478 posts

Happy Voting tomorrow.

Going voting 1st thing tomorrow morning.
MrFarmer
post May 10 2013, 10:50 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(arthoz @ May 9 2013, 02:51 PM)
Found this topic while browsing...people should get into detail on aquaponics practices. Actually there are very few in our country who have the required technical skills of practicing aquaponics. It's not just about operating the mechanical parts of the recirculating system or the chemical balance for plants fertilizer. It's also involved with the biological nature of the bacteria involved and understanding the basic actual needs of plants. Many said that some plants can't grow when being waterlogged but the actual term is the roots easily die without high oxygen in water content.

Aquaponics is great...the closest achievement of a professional aquaponics practinioner is planting a papaya tree in the system, the fruit was so heavy about 30 kg that the trunk broke from the load. Commercially it could be expensive to setup the system but once you have achieved the balance, plants and fishes will go on hyperdrive even more than hydroponics especially in a tropical environment. Putting aside issues of having to give chemical treatment for desease or pest...a healthy plant and fish could easily fight off or survive any illness. What's more there are other alternatives of getting rid of mites, mold or chewing bugs like spraying molasses to make the leaf sweeter in which strangely enough, bug hates to chew sweet leaf.

However I wish to warn people on building a recirculating system in shoplots...if it's just aquaculture but not aquaponics, you better not do it. Water in aquaponic system is so clean, clear and even safe for consumption since e-coli is only presence in mammal. The aquaponics circulation ensures that all ammonia is concerted into other stuff like nitrate. In recirculating system you need to get rid the fish poo and treat the water. A failed aquaculture system will be catastrophic especially in crowded area.

Had a fellow in mentakab industrial zone who made a mistake and decided to just flush the water into the gutter. The awful rotten smell was beyond description.

In addition to that for anyone who's starting a fishfarm in rivers, be careful for any outbreak of parasites. We had that problem in pahang last year where many fingerlings died and there was shortage of tilapia for quite a while. Get help and advice from agencies or experts because fish could easily die from pest, parasites and even low oxygen content in water due to high content of rotting vegetation especially effluence from sewage or floods or overflow from swamps (another reason to choose carefully your location, you might overlooked that hidden sewage pipe).

Maybe somebody had warned about this before but you can never be too careful. Fish are fragile creatures, even stress from handling them in nets or sudden change of temperature could kill a weak fish or fingerlings.
Thank you for your write up arthoz.
Didn't know that aquaponic s can support papaya (larger fruit trees). This looks interesting. It seems that I shall have a long way to go, as I'm still at the early stage of farming, via conventional method.

It could be time for me to look into improving health of the papaya and improving yield when I head back to my farm.
MrFarmer
post May 13 2013, 10:14 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(arthoz @ May 11 2013, 06:38 PM)
Great news...just found another cheap method to save water for farming...stopping here to share the link...got a lot of places more to go to spread this idea...

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=454..._count=1&ref=nf
Guess the idea is good, but I think it needs much modification in terms of practicality and also feasibility. Too much PET in the farm (these don't last long under the sun) is not good for the environment. Just my personal opinion.

I'm always have this problem of "cost" for new technology. The value of my products actually leave no budget for high value technology / improvement.
MrFarmer
post Jun 6 2013, 05:39 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jun 3 2013, 05:40 PM)
Hi People....

how is everyone's farm ??

how are you guys dealing with the heat wave we are having now ???

i just had my irrigation done for my jackfruit trees as there is severe drought at my farm and hopefully the irrigation helps them biggrin.gif
No idea how is the Farm. I left my farm in early April, as I had to come home due to my wife's health issue. Shall only goes back after my wife's issue had been sorted out.
MrFarmer
post Jun 10 2013, 09:49 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Jun 10 2013, 07:12 AM)
Mr Para,
Extension mostly on palm oil.
Thinking of expanding banana but not really sure which type to go for since cavendish require ripening.

Mr Farmer, hope your wife will be ok soon.
Thanks guys. My wife is recovering. This is a very traumatic period of our life, thank goodness we manage to pull though. We had also learned a lot since this episode.

Pok, my experience indicate a mix of Berangan and Saba to be a better choice, if you are looking into banana. Both are hardy and easy to manage. Demand is also readily available in the city (Kota Kinabalu).

MrFarmer
post Jun 15 2013, 03:31 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Jun 13 2013, 03:54 PM)
then you sifu must make a lot of profit. Musang king carry a very good price. Farm price for musang king is rm25++ last week.
Jaya Jusco selling $50 less 30% = $35.00 . Opened packed in styrofoam.
MrFarmer
post Jun 18 2013, 12:46 PM

478 posts

Root Hormone / Rooting Gel / Rooting Powder

Some interesting information to share.
Looks like we can substitute the above with honey.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyQX9kUAohk

Happy Farming.

MrFarmer
post Jun 18 2013, 01:06 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jun 10 2013, 10:12 PM)
guys, how do you usually market your agri products?
I dont know how to expand my product (salted egg) to the more up market like super market...

its sad cuz here in sabah they prefer the salted egg in the form of non salut tanah liat...they like the clean one...which the process is making the egg to spoil faster than the salutan tanah liat method... sad.gif

the extreme weather also causing my ducks to die...luckily only 3 this month out of 2000 ducks...
Hi ah suknat,
What I did was that I went to the market (meet lots of potential prospect). Try selling to them. Get feed back. Decide what is my market segment, what tier. Hit on those, feedback and adjust to fit. This is an on-going exercise.

With these information, you can adjust/time your production, harvesting. Improve post harvesting, transportation, lessen spoilage & etc.

Super Markets, those big guys, you'll need to visit the top people, purchaser at the central office, get your product listed first (approval), then liaise with the ordering clerk.

You can try FAMA to request for help on Marketing your products.

I had been to the Pertanian to request for assistance as I got wind that there is a program for growing Papaya back in February. I was told that the program had closed and that there had submitted it for approval. When I probe further, I found that I don't qualify. A planting land size of no less then 20 acres (may join up with your neighbors). All land must have titles. Upon approval, must attend a course to plant. Seeds and fertilizers shall be given. They may help you to market you produce. I also found out that they take a couple of months to get things moving, approval, seedlings. Maybe about 9 months. This may be a problem if it's a rented land.

Hope these help.
MrFarmer
post Jun 26 2013, 12:10 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jun 19 2013, 10:25 PM)
Hi People,

the latest Agri & Aqua Culturing Newsletter is released. Clink the link below or from my signature

http://www.mediafire.com/download/hfiq7ja2...3_Quarterly.pdf
Finally, just had some time to read the Newsletter. Must say that there is vast improvement from the first edition. Hope that some of us do benefits from reading these articles.
MrFarmer
post Jun 26 2013, 12:21 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jun 6 2013, 05:39 PM)
No idea how is the Farm. I left my farm in early April, as I had to come home due to my wife's health issue. Shall only goes back after my wife's issue had been sorted out.
Visited my farm for a 5 days last week. Farm is in a mess, grass over grown, weather drying up the land. Plants dying........
Shall be going back to work on the farm early July.
Luckily my guys harvested the pumpkins. The remainder I guess shall not perform as it's drying up due to the weather. As the Papaya is getting smaller..
yawn.gif
MrFarmer
post Jul 13 2013, 08:25 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jul 9 2013, 01:50 PM)
Hi poks,

none of us are good writers also. we just want to contribute and we hope that you are also able to contribute and make it better with your experience also.

yeah my banana trees were also infected with mild sigatoga (sp) ...

if not mistaken i used Mancozeb and some sticky liquid so it sticks to the banana leaves. please treat it when you see the symptoms and also best to enquire from the agriculture shop.
Hi Para, what is the "sticky liquid" that you are using, and how "sticky' is it. Am trying to look for a good & cheap 1. Was recommended to use the silicone type, but very costly. Bought 1 that is a wetting & sticking agent, had not tested it yet.
MrFarmer
post Aug 15 2013, 07:26 PM

478 posts

Hi guys check this out, very interesting orchids.

http://www.hellawella.com/monkey-face-nake...eirdest-orchids

I think planting orchid should be quite fun.
MrFarmer
post Aug 21 2013, 09:35 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Aug 21 2013, 08:07 PM)
Hi Bro,

frankly speaking for agriculture industry ie vege planting or herb planting or fruit planting most of the farmers cant hire outside "professional" help due to cost and their are unable to justify this cost or they themselves are lost making

you should be looking into bio-tech companies or companies that has their own lab doing tissue cultures. that would be your best bet.

or you can seek Jabatan Pertanian's help and see if they have a trainee programme that you qualify to go to as i believe fruit farming you can make a comfortable living with proper technique and technology... biggrin.gif
I agree with Para.
The other option is that you find a partner and venture out on your own, be your own boss. Maybe set up a lab and do your own nursery.

http://etp.pemandu.gov.my/upload/etp_handb...agriculture.pdf

Good luck.
MrFarmer
post Aug 22 2013, 01:49 PM

478 posts

Any guys knows the indicative price for Plastic Mulch sheet / film ?
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 12:54 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Aug 22 2013, 01:54 PM)
is that the plastic for covering planting beds?

last i bought in february, black 0.03 x 1.2M x 1roll = RM65
Yes. Poks
Wah, cheap wor.
Last year I inquired at my area $260 per roll silver. If it's $65, then I can consider using it. How long is the roll? 100M?

Just spoke with another supplier, he is selling the thick type 4ft X 8 ft for palm oil @ $1.50. No details on the thickness, but he said very thick. Black one side, silver one side.

Thanks Poks.

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Aug 23 2013, 12:55 PM
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 05:43 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Aug 23 2013, 03:08 PM)
ParaOpticaL as per topic I see it is regarding agriculture thread. mind to share what are you all discussing about other than newsletter? enlighten me briefly so that I can catch up what you all discussing about. blush.gif
Welcome .
I guess there is nothing specific, everything about agriculture can be discuss here. We are willing to share whatever experience that we have. Also we are here to provide moral support, as times the long and winding road could be a bit lonely.
When I got started, and got into trouble, there was no one to talk with, until I found this forum.
Cheers.
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 06:56 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Aug 23 2013, 05:46 PM)
I see, kalau macam ini, tolong enlighten me a bit on this matter also le? issue blush.gif
I read some of your concerns.
Since your passion is in agri, I'm sure there are ways to overcome your concerns
1) Security
2) Traveling
3) Interacting with Agri people and or people of other races / countries / culture.
4) That you are a female.

It could be challenging but end of the day it depends on you, yourself. Am reading some books on self improvement lately.
a) what / where (field) is your destination
b) what / where (field) are you passionate in
c) what / where (field) are you working for a living.
Should you be able to align the 3 of them, it shall make you very happy, fulfilling and wealthy.

1) Security
With many hi-tech gadgets, you should be able find some that is suitable for your uses.
Location finder, where you can be located by your smartphone. Letting your office know your traveling schedule also help. Traveling in pairs?
Anti-wolf pepper/ chilli spray rclxms.gif
Hand Gun?
Am sure you can find something that you are comfortable with.
Some think for you to think about, I read in the news paper that it's isn't any safer in the cities either. Murder, robbery, snatch thieves, kidnapping. Comparing the the news, I think there are most cases in the cities than in the estate doh.gif

2) Traveling
If you like traveling, then shouldn't be a problem. Enjoy the journey as well as the destination. You can plan your schedule to stay over night at mid size town / cities. Anyway, to small a village, they don't have a hotel anyway.
If driving is required (on/off road), improve your driving skill. You can join some driving clubs. Learn some simple car repairs, may come in handy. Makes friends with more people in the village, in times of emergency, you'll be surprised by how they go out of their ways just to help.
One time, my 4x4 truck was stuck in the rubber plantation, we went to the main road to request for help. 3 truck went in to try, couldn't get us out. Had to leave our truck there and hitch a ride back to town. Waited for another day, manage to find a friend's friend who is attached to 4x4 club. Spent half a day, with 10 chaps.Then only did we manage to recover our truck. Met the guy in town 2 weeks later in a coffee shop, bought him breakfast for he's table.

3) Interacting with Agri people and or people of other races / countries / culture.
There are good / bad people in every race. Don't mean that everyone of these people are good / bad.
There are also a lot of immigrant Malaysia that jump aeroplane to other countries to work (illegal immigrant workers).
In Sabah, I guess there are Indons, Philliphinos, but lesser Banglas. Understands their culture helps. Also you mentioned that you shall most probably dealing with the Manager.

4) Sorry not much to comment as I'm a male. I'm sure some common sense and normal precaution should take care of this. You'll a smart girl, am sure you can figure this out.

Just bear in mind that it's very challenging to move out of your comfort zone. The result is uncertain, but experience is very valuable and tremendous. Hope you find your path and enjoy your journey. Remember the answer is within the inner you. Good luck.

Disclaimer: above advise is based on my personal experience and beliefs. Am a male in my 50, with a very positive outlook.
MrFarmer
post Aug 27 2013, 10:46 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 27 2013, 08:31 AM)
hi Agriculture & Aquaculture PROS, being following this thread sometimes and really interested on starting a small scale of Agriculture & Aquaculture...perhaps on my backyard....just wondering how you guys test out the product that you are are working on.. for example Agriculture...did you guys actually taste the vege or fruits before selling to market??how about those fishes?? did you guys cook and try it yourself 1st?? i kinda scare of testing fishes that i rare....for vege and fruits im ok...im interested on farming fish and duck eggs...maybe some short term vege or fruits... tongue.gif
Hi Brewoe,
Welcome.
Yes, I do eat some of my produce, and sell off most of it. Of course I select the best and 'ripe on tree'. It taste so good and sweet.

Chicken and eats had not tested as we are building our colony. Our helper had 3 chickens and 3 trays of eats for the Raya.
Cheers

23 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0647sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:56 AM