Work at Komag , Penang., can share your experience

kb2005
post Jan 26 2007, 10:28 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

Good to know that. If the CEO is Malaysian, he will manage it Malaysian way biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 27 2007, 12:36 AM

52,874 posts

Heard that Quantum is back? Are they going to be in HDD business? Battle among the giants? Seagate, WD, Samsung, Hitachi?
kb2005
post Jan 28 2007, 08:57 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 27 2007, 12:36 AM)
Heard that Quantum is back? Are they going to be in HDD business? Battle among the giants? Seagate, WD, Samsung, Hitachi?
Any source of the news ?
SUSDavid83
post Jan 28 2007, 09:59 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Jan 28 2007, 08:57 PM)
Any source of the news ?
No source but got a thread on Quantum on this section. The TS is also sort of MIA.
kb2005
post Jan 28 2007, 10:00 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 28 2007, 09:59 PM)
No source but got a thread on Quantum on this section. The TS is also sort of MIA.
No source! How to confirm the news ler! tongue.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 28 2007, 10:01 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Jan 28 2007, 10:00 PM)
No source! How to confirm the news ler!  tongue.gif
That's why I'm asking ... I'm just following a hunch! sweat.gif
kb2005
post Jan 28 2007, 10:07 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 28 2007, 10:01 PM)
That's why I'm asking ... I'm just following a hunch! sweat.gif
Speculation ?
SUSvkeong
post Mar 30 2007, 06:37 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

My cousin told me Komag just bought up the whole stretch of the companies there getting ready to expand..

Not sure how true this is.. he even asked me to give him my resume, wanna help me submit application sweat.gif
kb2005
post Mar 30 2007, 10:22 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Mar 30 2007, 06:37 PM)
My cousin told me Komag just bought up the whole stretch of the companies there getting ready to expand..

Not sure how true this is.. he even asked me to give him my resume, wanna help me submit application sweat.gif
I heard too. Not sure why they're coming back to Penang again! Any idea ?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 30 2007, 10:26 PM

52,874 posts

I thought all the while they're in Penang! They're doing expansion of the existing business operation.
kb2005
post Mar 30 2007, 10:31 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 30 2007, 10:26 PM)
I thought all the while they're in Penang! They're doing expansion of the existing business operation.
Komag used to retrench their employees a few years ago. I thought they're moving out from Malaysia until recently they started to expand their plant again. Same case goes to their neighbour AMD biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 30 2007, 10:33 PM

52,874 posts

Wow ... seems like most of the companies are expanding their operations in Malaysia. I'm wondering what're the attraction waves ... biggrin.gif
kb2005
post Mar 30 2007, 10:37 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 30 2007, 10:33 PM)
Wow ... seems like most of the companies are expanding their operations in Malaysia. I'm wondering what're the attraction waves ... biggrin.gif
I heard some country like China got quality issue. For example Seagate moved some of their operation to China and they found out the quality is very bad. That's why my brot-in-law who in charge of quality dept need to travel to China quite frequent biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 30 2007, 10:38 PM

52,874 posts

Well, China, India and Vietnam will be in the eyes of investors in the coming years when proper standards and regulations have been established in those countries.
shocker
post Mar 30 2007, 11:13 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 25 2007, 09:17 PM)
It's very job place to earn money especially from the OT claim. thumbup.gif
I tot recently almost all electronic companies in penang already cut down on OT wat rolleyes.gif ? jabil, intel, AMD and also komag all also same icon_rolleyes.gif ....only those sub con companies like ASE and globetronics have OT kau kau for now biggrin.gif ...this is due to reasons like nowday's major companies are outsourcing most but not all their products and equipment operation to those OEM companies... whistling.gif

komag was the place known for OT where u can be known as OT king if u rajin drool.gif , till now which I heard no more OT leadi all cut down... nod.gif

those were the days when or if u worked at komag and refused to do OT, u can even kena warning letter for not commiting to OT, hahahaha... laugh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(fiz @ Jan 25 2007, 11:50 PM)
hmmmmm... komag is making HDD components.... big supplier to Seagate if not mistaken. Right now anything related to seagate is a GOOD news, and i believe komag benefit much better than Jabil.... icon_idea.gif
wat I know is that komag is making disk drives for HDD and their other direct competitor is kobe smile.gif , I think as long ppl are using mechanical based HDDs then they still have bisness laa rolleyes.gif .....once the market for solid state RAM based HDDs pick up, they will and might be in trouble.... wink.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 30 2007, 11:15 PM

52,874 posts

Talking about OT. Just heard it today. One of my friend said that OTM in Dell is different. If you OT a lot, meaning your job performance is not good! So in order to have a better job performance (meaning better increment and etc), you shouldn't have OT a lot! This doesn't make a good sense! sweat.gif
kb2005
post Mar 30 2007, 11:21 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 30 2007, 11:15 PM)
Talking about OT. Just heard it today. One of my friend said that OTM in Dell is different. If you OT a lot, meaning your job performance is not good! So in order to have a better job performance (meaning better increment and etc), you shouldn't have OT a lot! This doesn't make a good sense! sweat.gif
Not really lah! My friend work for 6 months and OT almost every day got her prorated increment of 5%. Not a bad number thumbup.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 30 2007, 11:22 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Mar 30 2007, 11:21 PM)
Not really lah! My friend work for 6 months and OT almost every day got her prorated increment of 5%. Not a bad number  thumbup.gif
At least your friend got pro-rated increment. Some new hires are not entitled for this pro-rated increment.
shift
post Mar 31 2007, 11:00 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Jan 26 2007, 10:28 PM)
Good to know that. If the CEO is Malaysian, he will manage it Malaysian way biggrin.gif
The CEO now is Tim Harris ex- Seagate.

QUOTE(shocker @ Mar 30 2007, 11:13 PM)
komag was the place known for OT where u can be known as OT king if u rajin drool.gif , till now which I heard no more OT leadi all cut down... nod.gif

those were the days when or if u worked at komag and refused to do OT, u can even kena warning letter for not commiting to OT, hahahaha... laugh.gif  doh.gif

got point systems also for shift worker.... not come to built-in OT ur point will deducts. tongue.gif

Ohh ya got few position for engineers at komag... who qualified try to apply lor. wink.gif

This post has been edited by shift: Mar 31 2007, 11:05 PM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 1 2007, 12:16 AM

52,874 posts

Wah ... point system somemore. sweat.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0181sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:59 PM