4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V5!, Samsung announced global Note 7 recall

mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 01:07 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 2 2016, 12:38 PM)
My unit from Courts which I received on 18 Aug, I only received SMS warranty notice starting from 28 Aug on 28 Aug
i see. i think they only processed mine today.

this morning, got email asking me to screenshot IMEI. did that and a few minutes later, got an SMS and email confirming my warranty.

i got mine on day 1 as well -- 18th.
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 01:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(azihas @ Sep 2 2016, 01:10 PM)
Hi mydragoon,

Can you guide me for self registration.  I wanted to buy the extended warranty from SC but they mention that my telco need to register the phone first and need receipt from telco. 

almost copy+paste from Samsung:

To our valued customers;

This SAMSUNG E-Warranty service is applicable only to Samsung mobile phones, tablets, gears, and Galaxy Cameras purchased through SAMSUNG authorised retailers in Malaysia only.

A) For SAMSUNG Mobile Phone/Tablet/Gear/Camera;
Please provide us the information and email to ewarranty.sme@samsung.com

Information needed to facilitate your enquiry;
1. Purchase receipt (attach with email)
2. Full Name:
3. Mobile number : (e.g.: 01234567890)
4. Date of Purchase:
5. Model code:
6. IMEI number /Serial Number: (e.g.: 3554XXXXXXXXXXX)
*If your purchase receipt do not have any info of IMEI or Serial Number of your device, please then provide us with a picture of the sticker on the outer box which contain the IMEI/Serial Number
7. Email Address

Email to: ewarranty.sme@samsung.com

I suggest you also screenshot your IMEI from your phone. Under Settings -- About Device...
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 01:42 PM

7,044 posts

just watched the near 6mins game of Hearthstone I just recorded with the Game Tool.

good actually, except for maybe audio... I didn't use any headset, so my voice sounded "distant". for a 720p... seems good. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 04:30 PM

7,044 posts

Samsung confirms it is recalling the Galaxy Note 7 after reports of explosions
https://techcrunch.com/2016/09/02/samsung-c...-of-explosions/

Samsung has confirmed that it is recalling the Galaxy Note 7, its newest smartphone, following reports that some devices exploded, according to CNN.

The device was launched less than a month ago to very positive reviews, but concerns about the battery in some units — which reportedly combusted while charging — has forced the company’s hand. Yesterday, Samsung confirmed it was investigating the issue, and now it has taken quick action to avoid potential tragedies.

Samsung said it has sold 2.5 million devices so far, and it plans to replace them all.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 2 2016, 04:32 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 04:49 PM

7,044 posts

from Techcrunch:
Samsung is committed to producing the highest quality products and we take every incident report from our valued customers very seriously.

In response to recently reported cases of the new Galaxy Note7, we conducted a thorough investigation and found a battery cell issue. To date (as of September 1) there have been 35 cases that have been reported globally and we are currently conducting a thorough inspection with our suppliers to identify possible affected batteries in the market. However, because our customers’ safety is an absolute priority at Samsung, we have stopped sales of the Galaxy Note7. For customers who already have Galaxy Note7 devices, we will voluntarily replace their current device with a new one over the coming weeks.

We are working with our carrier partners to announce the details of the U.S. product exchange program as soon as today.

We acknowledge the inconvenience this may cause in the market but this is to ensure that Samsung continues to deliver the highest quality products to our customers. We are working closely with our partners to ensure the replacement experience is as convenient and efficient as possible.

hmmm... mention US only...?!?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 2 2016, 04:50 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 05:10 PM

7,044 posts

i think this one is quite comprehensive... can maybe TS sengkin95 pin this?

Samsung Galaxy Note 7 recall: Everything you need to know
http://www.androidcentral.com/samsung-galaxy-note-7-recall

the page is still "evolving" with more info added...

from that article, it does seem that Samsung is recalling ALL phones...
We need to understand that even though Samsung is recalling every phone it has sold that doesn't mean that every phone is at risk of having a battery failure.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 2 2016, 05:11 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 05:14 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 2 2016, 05:10 PM)
i think this one is quite comprehensive... can maybe TS sengkin95 pin this?

Samsung Galaxy Note 7 recall: Everything you need to know
http://www.androidcentral.com/samsung-galaxy-note-7-recall

the page is still "evolving" with more info added...

from that article, it does seem that Samsung is recalling ALL phones...
We need to understand that even though Samsung is recalling every phone it has sold that doesn't mean that every phone is at risk of having a battery failure.
i know everyone's sharing the same bit of info... but hoping someone can notice this... i find this to be best with all the details so far...

on a side note... now wishing Samsung give some token as well... hahaha...
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 05:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(MrLoo @ Sep 2 2016, 05:19 PM)
What about those who bought the warranty extension and screen crack warranty?
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 2 2016, 05:20 PM)
I was about to ask this...
I burned my money on that as well...
i'm quite sure can transfer to new device in this case...

iinm, this is first time ever that ANY phone company doing such recall... right?
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 05:28 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Sep 2 2016, 05:24 PM)
I think so. Well, thinking from the bright side, this will be the biggest publicity stunt that Samsung ever put on in history. tongue.gif
i can only say that first time i see mobile phone put customer first... well, if they truly recall all units and not discriminate...

ya... and yes, they get my support.

fact is... people and companies do mess up. but it's how the situation is handled and i have to say... i am super impressed.

i had previously said i expect Samsung to only replace the batch affected... but it seems they do a total recall...
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 05:36 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(brandon8921 @ Sep 2 2016, 05:31 PM)
Will Samsung Mobile Malaysia call their Note 7 customer like how car company call their customer when they issue a recall?
Or should i just walk in to Samsung Service Centre and ask for exchange?
i think wait first. coz iinm, replacement stocks might not arrive yet.

plus, only announced today...

even like car recall... it takes time and in batches. i guess wait till mid next week to see what Samsung Malaysia says. might be good to watch local tech sites/ blogs like Soya Cincau and Amanz for local updates.

this thread is just moving too fast with so many repeat posts. ppl here dun read... just post and post.
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 05:38 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jueiri @ Sep 2 2016, 05:35 PM)
This is very embarassing moment for samsung. The "fruit" will lol hard at them.

Hope they learn the lesson.
i think if anything, companies should learn from Samsung on how to own up to mistakes and correct them.

at least Samsung is not telling it's customers that they are holding the phone wrongly... smile.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 05:40 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(acct @ Sep 2 2016, 05:38 PM)
ghosh, how about the screen protector that is bought from samsung store, will they also replace it if the unit is recall???
personally, i'd love for Samsung to throw in these extras as a token... or maybe extra 1 year warranty just to allay fears.

but, if not also ok la... our SP... we replace them anyway.

i'd just wait till next week to see how...
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 06:52 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Sep 2 2016, 06:27 PM)
setup new phone really pain in ass.. i went thru twice dy...
maybe can start to try that Samsung Cloud thingy.. that's seems to be able to backup and setup the phone..
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 10:06 PM

7,044 posts

http://www.androidauthority.com/samsung-ga...-recall-714419/

and just for archiving purposes:
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 10:09 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(zubayr @ Sep 2 2016, 09:10 PM)
What will they do with the recalled sets? Refurbished and sells during 3rd and 4th batch? Haha
check a few pages back.

Samsung will be selling refurbished high end units staying next year.
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2016, 10:21 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Sep 2 2016, 10:19 PM)
#sehatisejiwa  blush.gif now just wish they properly make this new ones with zero issues.

aih, this matter reminds me of my phone i kena b4,
note4 - fast charge adapter problem need change
htc one m7 - purple tint camera need change
iphone 4 - home button and antennagate nothing can be done
dem...did you just jinx us? haha.. kidding..
mydragoon
post Sep 3 2016, 10:27 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(lllllx3 @ Sep 2 2016, 10:49 PM)
if samsung offer you guys refund or replace, what you guys will choose?
replace. it's a good phone and we all bought at good deal -- pre-order.
mydragoon
post Sep 3 2016, 10:35 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Sep 2 2016, 11:10 PM)
What kind of compensation you would expect? Even Honda didn't compensate for takata airbag recall. They just replaced. That's car.
i'll put on my greedy hat and say ya, would be nice to have some sort of compensation. as i mentioned earlier, things like:
* extra 1 year warranty (minimal cost since most won't face issues with hardware anyway, but will give costumers peace of mind)
* keep the accessories charger, cable, adaptor, etc... just return the box and phone. especially like the earbuds... use liao... i mean they going to refurbish that meh?!?
* free SP

but no... i dun think i wanna be so greedy as to say give free phone, cash compensation, etc... i think what Samsung did by being honest and prompt with this recall already shows their sincerity. they could have just recalled based on the battery batch but they recalled for all. not a cheap exercise.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 3 2016, 11:42 AM
mydragoon
post Sep 3 2016, 10:40 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Sep 3 2016, 12:10 AM)
Although my unit currently are still working just fine. Im gonna torture this baby submerge into pool or sea next week. Haha then change to new phone.
mine works fine and i'm looking forward to the recall, just to be on safe side though as per statement, My units not affected.

while tempted to (ab)use this phone, i decided i will return in pristine condition la. as it is, Samsung nice to do this recall. no need to give them extra work when they refurbish the set.
mydragoon
post Sep 3 2016, 10:49 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jerryhean @ Sep 3 2016, 10:44 AM)
Well, they are big company and the news are out for the world to read. It will a wrong move if they don't recall. Why globally and not random batch? I don't think they know where are those batches of consumers are, and instead of spending more time on investigation and waiting for next one to happen, it is better to recall all and going through one by one in manufacturing line or lab. Global recall with one to one exchange is a wise move, giving consumers the confidence and trust towards Samsung.  If not just imagine what the sales going to be like for the next flag ship.
u'd be surprised to what level organisations can track which parts go where... smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0817sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:21 AM