Dilemma on choosing cars

TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 08:48 PM, updated 19y ago

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Will be getting a car a few months time,budget is less than RM40k,any recommendation for a good car which is not very high in fuel consumption and maintenance as well.Don;t mind a manual but an auto is preferable.Prefer something less or equivalent t0 1.6cc.

lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 08:51 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

the cheapest 1,600cc car is the waja (wira 1.6 is out of production)

and waja is way above your budget, nor is it good in FC or maintenance

2nd hand car?
Ken
post Jan 23 2007, 08:53 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

will recommend proton savvy

hmmm...40k if want 1.6cc only got second hand ...
mystvearn
post Jan 23 2007, 09:13 PM

6,639 posts

savvy then.
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 09:14 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

below 1.6 also ok.
Yeap,2ndhand will do but not too old 2ndhand.

Currently looking at Gen2,Waja,Hyundai Accent..All 2ndhand.
tunertoobe
post Jan 23 2007, 09:15 PM

9,309 posts

I agree with them Savvy is your best choice. It is fuel efficient and within your price range.
Zzz...
post Jan 23 2007, 09:16 PM

456 posts

Kelisa FTW. Although it may only b 1.0cc car, but acceleration is good for speed below 80km/h. A brand new one costs roughly bout 36k- 38k depending whether it's manual or auto.
travis_ckf
post Jan 23 2007, 09:18 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Sounds like savvy is a decent choice. Or wait for till middle of the year or march as the new kelisa replacement model, the perodua viva will be launched.
leowhy
post Jan 23 2007, 09:18 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

New... Savvy...
Used... many choices but u need to choose carefully... smile.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 09:23 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Well,prefer sedan or bigger sized car..
What do you all think about 2ndhand Gen2,waja and Hyundai accent?
tunertoobe
post Jan 23 2007, 09:24 PM

9,309 posts

You need to know which 'era' the Gen 2 or Waja is from. The newer ones have a better quality.
lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 09:24 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

savvy's a good choice. 5-yr warranty and a very low interest rate.

whatever you choose, avoid korean cars. many has voiced the bad FC (most cars) - not that proton has better FC, at least proton has lower price...

kelisa is too old (7-yr model) and waiting for the replacement will be like the case with myvi - a one yr booking time

2nd hand cars also have higher interest rate.

best bet? either savvy or myvi. support local car manufacturers
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 09:46 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 23 2007, 10:24 PM)
savvy's a good choice. 5-yr warranty and a very low interest rate.

whatever you choose, avoid korean cars. many has voiced the bad FC (most cars) - not that proton has better FC, at least proton has lower price...

kelisa is too old (7-yr model) and waiting for the replacement will be like the case with myvi - a one yr booking time

2nd hand cars also have higher interest rate.

best bet? either savvy or myvi. support local car manufacturers
Don't mind a 2ndhand myvi though.
What about a Gen2 and Waja?
Which has more problems?

According to Star Classifields,Gen2 2005 (A) seems within/below my budget.
How about the 1.3 Gen2?
And as for Waja 2003 and 2004 (A) or (M) seems to be within my budget as well but I heard problems like power windows and so.
Kerry1136
post Jan 23 2007, 09:55 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Gen2 behind seats are damn straight. Very uncomfortable.
Waja is good but way beyond your budget, if your thinking of 2nd hand waja then you need lots of luck because 2nd hand local cars start giving problems thats why they wanna sell.. *majority
gkl83
post Jan 23 2007, 09:57 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 23 2007, 09:24 PM)

disagreed...
my fren get myvi within 3 weeks
and i just booked myvi SXI which ready stock in factory, can get around a week if the car plate number settled and loan approved...

TS, i dont think u can get 2nd hand savvy and myvi, both of them was a hot cake and not much ppl selling it... but 1.3 gen2 will seem like underpower, plus 1.3 gen2 only have auto transmission... sweat.gif (correct me if wrong)

recommended for waja/gen2 if intended for 1.6... but the FC wont better than savvy/myvi... for sure that it is more spacious bit if compare both and bigger luggage space...

and...
if u still single and seldom fetch ur papa/mama, go for myvi/savvy...
if u married and going to have baby, go for gen2/waja...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jan 23 2007, 10:02 PM
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:05 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

I prefer more spacious car as I'm pretty big sized.
Are there much major problems on a Gen2?
gkl83
post Jan 23 2007, 10:10 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 10:05 PM)
I prefer more spacious car as I'm pretty big sized.
Are there much major problems on a Gen2?

not comments on gen2, depend on luck sometimes if decide for 2nd hand...
but recommended u to do test drive for savvy, myvi, gen2 and waja to feel the spacious...
i drove my fren savvy and did test drive on myvi, myvi will spacious than savvy according on my feeling... smile.gif

Note: i'm not bashing savvy... decision still on TS... smile.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jan 23 2007, 10:11 PM
Kerry1136
post Jan 23 2007, 10:10 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Myvi is pretty spacious, have you try to sit in one of them before?
With about 40k you can get a manual new one.
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:20 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Yeap.I've tried the Myvi,pretty spacious and plenty of leg room but trunk space is limited.
That's the main reason why I'm going for either a Gen2 or Waja 2ndhand car.
lee82gx
post Jan 23 2007, 10:27 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

avoid Gen 2, my father in law is a mechanic and he never stops complaining about it.

Savvy may be a good choice for your budget, can also consider for Kenari which rides decently.

Waja 2nd hand if 40k can get, but there is no guarantee on the conditions...it will require yourself to have a 6 to 12 month uncertainty period where anything can happen. FC is nothing to shout about...you may want to sacrifice the trunk space and get a small car unless you REALLY always travel out with plenty of people.
claxxion
post Jan 23 2007, 10:40 PM

465 posts

If you're interested in the gen2, try to get the 2005 above models (the ones with the two-tone dashboard), which is just rm2-3k higher than the 2004 batch. Better build quality, no door-handle getting stuck etc. Its a nice car though.

Waja is obviously cheaper, bigger and its 2nd hand value is lower coz its older. But beware if you get a lemon, chances are its going to rosak here and there.. Inspect properly before buying one.
lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 10:40 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jan 23 2007, 09:57 PM)
disagreed...
my fren get myvi within 3 weeks
and i just booked myvi SXI which ready stock in factory, can get around a week if the car plate number settled and loan approved...

what i meant was during the launching time

a 6-month waiting period for a premium model is considered as very short. standard waiting time varies from 9 - 12 months.

i know that cuz i bought one during that time.

now, myvi isn't that hot anymore since perodua announced the new KRM

edit: i must admit, despite waja's many weakness, it's very spacious and very comfortable to ride in. i own one and happy about it. the proton warranty puts my mind on ease since many parts have been replaced (nearly 2 yrs sudah - actuator rosak, isolator kong, front suspension bunyi, lock patah - all got free replacement)

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jan 23 2007, 10:42 PM
Gouki
post Jan 23 2007, 10:44 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 08:48 PM)
Will be getting a car a few months time,budget is less than RM40k,any recommendation for a good car which is not very high in fuel consumption and maintenance as well.Don;t mind a manual but an auto is preferable.Prefer something less or equivalent t0 1.6cc.

Are you single? Do you mind going for 2 doors hatchback? What about the Satria GTi? A used unit will cost you from RM20k+ to RM30k plus depend on age and condition. If not you can try to hunt for some good condition used 1.5/1.6 Wira. smile.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:44 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(claxxion @ Jan 23 2007, 11:40 PM)
If you're interested in the gen2, try to get the 2005 above models (the ones with the two-tone dashboard), which is just rm2-3k higher than the 2004 batch. Better build quality, no door-handle getting stuck etc. Its a nice car though.

Waja is obviously cheaper, bigger and its 2nd hand value is lower coz its older. But beware if you get a lemon, chances are its going to rosak here and there.. Inspect properly before buying one.
What aboout the Power windows?Any problem with it?
Any suggestion where's the best place to look at all these cars?

lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 10:46 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

if u are interested in waja, there's a waja thread in f&f. learn more about choosing the "least problematic waja batch"

obviously, pre-2004 waja are to be avoided at all cost. the 1.8 is a big no-no.

2004 and newer ones should be ok and have less probs with the power windows or door handles
Kerry1136
post Jan 23 2007, 10:47 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

I think most of the power windows problem has been rectified. Since this is so long ago. You can check more by reading this subforum there are plenty of threads also talking about waja.
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:48 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 23 2007, 11:44 PM)
Are you single? Do you mind going for 2 doors hatchback? What about the Satria GTi? A used unit will cost you from RM20k+ to RM30k plus depend on age and condition. If not you can try to hunt for some good condition used 1.5/1.6 Wira. smile.gif
Thanks,will check it out.

Btw,I happen to shop around the Giant in Kelana jaya.I saw a Hyundai Getz 2 doors fully imported for just RM43k plus OTR without insurans.
gkl83
post Jan 23 2007, 10:50 PM

8,377 posts

if intended to fetch many passengers AND many luggages at the same time : gen2/waja

if intended to fetch many passengers OR many luggages at the same time : savvy/myvi (can flip down rear seat for big size luggages, maybe it can fit the luggages which waja not able to fit into bcos of the rear bonnet)
Gouki
post Jan 23 2007, 10:50 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 10:48 PM)
Thanks,will check it out.

Btw,I happen to shop around the Giant in Kelana jaya.I saw a Hyundai Getz 2 doors fully imported for just RM43k plus OTR without insurans.
That cheap? You sure? ohmy.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:52 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 23 2007, 11:46 PM)
if u are interested in waja, there's a waja thread in f&f. learn more about choosing the "least problematic waja batch"

obviously, pre-2004 waja are to be avoided at all cost. the 1.8 is a big no-no.

2004 and newer ones should be ok and have less probs with the power windows or door handles
QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Jan 23 2007, 11:47 PM)
I think most of the power windows problem has been rectified. Since this is so long ago. You can check more by reading this subforum there are plenty of threads also talking about waja.
I'll most probably go with either Gen2 or Waja.
So it would be great if more could help and give suggestion.
I'm open to more suggestions but prefer something similar to waja or Gen2.
wantutrifor5
post Jan 23 2007, 10:54 PM

1,191 posts

go to lancer mx lor.. year 96./. 39k oni.. convert to evo 6 tm, sure meleleh lor!!!!!
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:55 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jan 23 2007, 11:50 PM)
if intended to fetch many passengers AND many luggages at the same time : gen2/waja

if intended to fetch many passengers OR many luggages at the same time : savvy/myvi (can flip down rear seat for big size luggages, maybe it can fit the luggages which waja not able to fit into bcos of the rear bonnet)
Yeap.I do intend to fetch abt 3-4 passengers at times and travel frequently with luagages.

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 23 2007, 11:50 PM)
That cheap? You sure? ohmy.gif
I'm pretty sure.

It's written there:

Hyundai Getz Fully Imported 2 doors
RM43,XXX*

*Price OTR without insurans

Anyhow,that;s an auto.
I;ve driven a Getz 1.3 Manual in Perth,power wise is ok.Spacious and plenty of leg room.
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:56 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(wantutrifor5 @ Jan 23 2007, 11:54 PM)
go to lancer mx lor.. year 96./. 39k oni.. convert to evo 6 tm, sure meleleh lor!!!!!
To maintain that car might be a headache lor.
Drink gasoline too.. Haha
Gouki
post Jan 23 2007, 11:17 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 10:55 PM)
Yeap.I do intend to fetch abt 3-4 passengers at times and travel frequently with luagages.
I'm pretty sure.

It's written there:

Hyundai Getz Fully Imported 2 doors
RM43,XXX*

*Price OTR without insurans

Anyhow,that;s an auto.
I;ve driven a Getz 1.3 Manual in Perth,power wise is ok.Spacious and plenty of leg room.
Then the Getz is quite a steal for that price. thumbup.gif
Kerry1136
post Jan 24 2007, 12:09 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Like it says without insurance...with insurance you won't be paying that amount already =)
NewVi
post Jan 24 2007, 12:47 AM

194 posts

if i am not wrong...gen2 very makan minyak if u do city travel rite?....and waja is along the same line as well

but frankly speaking...if u wan spacious cabin...between these two models, i would go for waja....gen2 has a very tight space on the rear...and the roof towards the back is kinda low....making passengers that are slighty or big in size quite uncomfortable...as for the driver...u really nid to get used with the limited scope of view of the rear...i tried driving my sis's car....i couldnt see the rear of the car at all from the rear mirror...well maybe its just me tongue.gif

cheers
Dannyl
post Jan 24 2007, 09:08 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 23 2007, 10:44 PM)
But the Satria GTi is a hot item for car thieves, right? For the spare parts?

Gouki
post Jan 24 2007, 09:58 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jan 24 2007, 09:08 AM)
But the Satria GTi is a hot item for car thieves, right?  For the spare parts?
I know, but does that stop anyone to buy cars such as Harrier, Storm, Frontier, Murano and etc that are most popular in car thieves list as well? For a budget of RM40k only, a good condition used unit of those is the most wise choice. The Satria/Wira are cheap and easy to maintain in the long run. Or else used Waja/Gen2/Perdana is the 2nd option which cost more.

Kerry1136
post Jan 24 2007, 10:09 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

If your considering satria then go for the new NEO then because so far I didn't hear much complaints about the NEO considering its from PROTON. Haha...

Don't have to get the H-LINE neo tho..manual one is good enough but the interior space would not fit your requirements.
Gouki
post Jan 24 2007, 10:12 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Jan 24 2007, 10:09 AM)
If your considering satria then go for the new NEO then because so far I didn't hear much complaints about the NEO considering its from PROTON. Haha...

Don't have to get the H-LINE neo tho..manual one is good enough but the interior space would not fit your requirements.
But isnt that exceeded the 40k budget? Unless the TS still got some room for his financial budget and dont mind for another 10k extra. rolleyes.gif
azxel
post Jan 24 2007, 12:15 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 08:48 PM)

2nd hand Honda City.
Proton Savvy.
some Perodua car like Kelisa, Kancil or Myvi.
Nissan Sunny.
Toyota SEG.
Sensui
post Jan 24 2007, 12:18 PM

482 posts

Mercedes-Benz W124 E-Class 280E

Supposedly quite cheap to own/maintain.

This post has been edited by Sensui: Jan 24 2007, 12:18 PM
TSTainted
post Jan 24 2007, 02:23 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Sensui @ Jan 24 2007, 01:18 PM)
Mercedes-Benz W124 E-Class 280E

Supposedly quite cheap to own/maintain.
Is it so?

My concern is maintenance.
If only they had 2ndhand Myvi Auto,then it would be great.
Why not the manual,because I find the gear stick a little too low.

This post has been edited by Tainted: Jan 24 2007, 02:26 PM
TSTainted
post Jan 24 2007, 08:34 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Any comments on the Waja Manual?
How's the fuel consumption and maintenance?

Overall performance?
wantutrifor5
post Jan 24 2007, 09:43 PM

1,191 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 10:56 PM)
To maintain that car might be a headache lor.
Drink gasoline too.. Haha
aiyoo.. drink gasoline ar? dont tarik2 lor.. just normal drive.. hehehehe..
TSTainted
post Jan 24 2007, 09:47 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Haha.. But then looking forward to getting a Waja as everything seems to suit me.

I actually prefer something around 1.6cc or maybe 1.5cc and prefer size like a Waja.Therefore right now looking at the Wajas 2ndhands,hopefully I'll be able to find one in good condition.
lucifah
post Jan 24 2007, 11:57 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 24 2007, 08:34 PM)
Any comments on the Waja Manual?
How's the fuel consumption and maintenance?

Overall performance?
many ppl has good comment on the manual version

good fc and also considerable pickup power

however, just keep in mind: the car is continental-styled, thus the turn signal lever is on the left, rather than on the right side. this means you change gear and use the turn signal with the same left hand. needs time to get used to, but much harder in manual than auto
TSTainted
post Jan 25 2007, 10:02 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Good to hear that many ppl has good comment on the manual version.
Well,economical fuel consumption will be ok.

Should not be a problem to get used to it,well.. this is m'sia and many drivers do not bother to indicate at all so might as well..haha,but I would not over-rule the traffic rules.

Any other comments on this?

This is a rather better car compared to Hyundai Accent?
Kerry1136
post Jan 25 2007, 10:50 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Eww hyundai accent...imo the accent doesn't perform as well as much as you pay for the car and it doesn't have much resell value either.
Thats just my opinion, but you can ask some other hyundai accent drivers...if they are really being honest they might tell you just like my friend who drove one.
azxel
post Jan 26 2007, 09:00 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 24 2007, 11:57 PM)
many ppl has good comment on the manual version

good fc and also considerable pickup power

however, just keep in mind: the car is continental-styled, thus the turn signal lever is on the left, rather than on the right side. this means you change gear and use the turn signal with the same left hand. needs time to get used to, but much harder in manual than auto
erm... actually, shouldn't you signal first then change gears when it comes to turning? That is the proper way of doing it, right? Not turn and signal at the same time, on the spot... whistling.gif
Ken
post Jan 26 2007, 09:09 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 26 2007, 09:00 AM)
erm... actually, shouldn't you signal first then change gears when it comes to turning? That is the proper way of doing it, right? Not turn and signal at the same time, on the spot... whistling.gif
i think because normally people tend to put his/her left hand to the gear knob first even before turning, and the right hand ready to turn on the signal...now need adjust a bit according to lucifah...
azxel
post Jan 26 2007, 10:28 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Jan 26 2007, 09:09 AM)
i think because normally people tend to put his/her left hand to the gear knob first even before turning, and the right hand ready to turn on the signal...now need adjust a bit according to lucifah...
really? I thought it was because people couldn't care less about road safety while others are simply too blur, and usually just change lanes last minute. laugh.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 26 2007, 02:02 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Haha.. I haven't really tried whether I can get used to it.
Quite used to signal using right hand but signal using left hand should not be a problem but it's gonna be a manual..
hypermount
post Jan 26 2007, 02:05 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

having signal stalk on the left will ensure both of ur hands are placed on the steering, cos sometimes u need to hi beam cars front in front also... small matter - u can adapt easily in few days even it's a manual - signal first then shift.
TSTainted
post Jan 26 2007, 02:17 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Since that I heard quite a few of good comments on the Manual Waja,will try to look around.

Actually I can afford to pay about RM800 for installment for 5-6yrs,plus I have a Iswara to trade in,therefore I think Waja would be a good choice.

Keep the suggestion coming,I'm open to more suggestions.
azxel
post Jan 26 2007, 02:35 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 26 2007, 02:17 PM)
Actually I can afford to pay about RM800 for installment for 5-6yrs...
really now? You can guarantee that you'd have a steady income for 5-6 years? wink.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 26 2007, 02:38 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 26 2007, 03:35 PM)
really now? You can guarantee that you'd have a steady income for 5-6 years? wink.gif
Yeap. Shouldnt be a problem.
Still taking my time hunting.

Btw,azxel,you got your car already?
How is it?
pacer
post Jan 26 2007, 02:46 PM

618 posts

Since that I heard quite a few of good comments on the Manual Waja,will try to look around.

Actually I can afford to pay about RM800 for installment for 5-6yrs,plus I have a Iswara to trade in,therefore I think Waja would be a good choice.

yeah, great choice, a manual waja is nice car to get smile.gif
about the left hand and right hand light stalk, sont worry about it.. will get used to it sooner or later. a few years back my parents had 2 cars at home one which had it on the left and the other on the right. and i somtimes had to swich between both cars. wow it was confusing...sometimes the wiper goes on.... haha but it was all right.

manual also no problem la. i driving a manual with the light stalk on the left. smile.gif
sleepwalker
post Jan 26 2007, 02:52 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Jan 26 2007, 09:09 AM)
You are suppose to have both hands on the wheel.

This is interesting.. left hand on gearknob, right fingers on signal stalk.. umm.. that would leave the thumb and forefinger on the steering. Two finger driving... not the best position to take emergency actions if anything were to jump infront of the car.
sowhatz
post Jan 26 2007, 03:54 PM

30 posts

er...bout waja 1.6...its regulator very gay n expensive, but den a company modified da regulator become steel, n now if u guys de regulator rosak pls buy da steel de, but u gonna change ur motor as well, since da regulator modified by saga de regulator so u gonna change to saga the power window motor, 2nd gay de things is fuel pump, its a hot item in spare parts world, oringinal de need RM480++ oo, so when ur car suddenly cant move jor its da prob oredi haha. Or mayb ur fuel tank empty jor drool.gif n got many more very gay de things la like its outer handle, cross member, engine mounting, stablizer bar.... bla bla...
for waja 1.8, service 1 time oso will cry, its timing kit set need RM400++ i think got no other cheap de brand all is renault de ori parts, n its timing belt too easy too patah...
bout gen2 its hotest spare part is da oil pan, for those drive gen2 de pls drive slowly since da oil pan its too low easy to kena de, it cost RM260++ only if break jor lol, n its door knob kurus kurus easy patah, for those sit at behind de pls dun ever ever use ur hand go n pull it if lock jor, n use driver side there de door open for u, so if patah oso driver side there patah only, behind de n passaenger side de can last long laugh.gif
suggest u buy wira special edition better lol

azxel
post Jan 26 2007, 04:05 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 26 2007, 02:38 PM)
Yeap. Shouldnt be a problem.
Still taking my time hunting.

Btw,azxel,you got your car already?
How is it?
couldn't get my Alfa... yet. I'm driving a 1.6L 2-door Grand Vitara now... good for the roads here in Johor but sucks on the highway. laugh.gif
KeV
post Jan 26 2007, 04:10 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

ooh so thats ur existing car, why another car? lol
azxel
post Jan 26 2007, 04:16 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Jan 26 2007, 04:10 PM)
ooh so thats ur existing car, why another car? lol
Mental problem? laugh.gif
A Bella would really be sweet now for me. Use my Vitara for work as the roads here are really bad. laugh.gif But use my Bella for weekends to come back to KL. Driving a 4WD up and down the highway sucks ler. cry.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 26 2007, 07:23 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(sowhatz @ Jan 26 2007, 04:54 PM)
Haha.. Was thinking to get both Wira and Saga instead of a Waja.
Still considering.

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 26 2007, 05:05 PM)
couldn't get my Alfa... yet. I'm driving a 1.6L 2-door Grand Vitara now... good for the roads here in Johor but sucks on the highway. laugh.gif
You got the Vitara instead or it was your existing car?
azxel
post Jan 26 2007, 10:26 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I didn't buy any car yet. laugh.gif

some folk say the new Waja looks good. smile.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 26 2007, 10:35 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

You're eyeing for that?

What do you think?
Do you think I should just get a wira and a Saga,less maintenance..Installment is about the same.
dstl1128
post Jan 27 2007, 12:59 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 26 2007, 10:26 PM)
I didn't buy any car yet. laugh.gif

some folk say the new Waja looks good. smile.gif
It doesn't look good but (anyway that's subjective), for a 60k sedan with those stuff included, is quite a bargain.
azxel
post Jan 27 2007, 08:10 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 26 2007, 10:35 PM)
You're eyeing for that?

What do you think?
Do you think I should just get a wira and a Saga,less maintenance..Installment is about the same.
nope, not getting a Waja or any local car. It's just me lah. Not really a fan of local cars yet. I'll still get a 2nd hand Conti or Jap car. wink.gif

I think the Wira has lower maintenance cost, right? Seeing tht its an older car and all. I think the Waja is more comfy though, sitting in both, I feel that the Waja is much more spacious.

What do Proton owners think?
TSTainted
post Jan 27 2007, 01:40 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Well,Wira has is pretty roomy and has sufficient leg room.
Lower maintenance cost and less fuel consumption.

Of course I would like a Jap car but it's just not the right time yet.
lucifah
post Jan 27 2007, 04:13 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

if u can afford 800+ installment, then get a brand spanking new waja. it comes with 5-yr warranty, which should take care of any maintenance

QUOTE(sowhatz @ Jan 26 2007, 03:54 PM)
er...bout waja 1.6...its regulator very gay n expensive, but den a company modified da regulator become steel, n now if u guys de regulator rosak pls buy da steel de, but u gonna change ur motor as well, since da regulator modified by saga de regulator so u gonna change to saga the power window motor, 2nd gay de things is fuel pump, its a hot item in spare parts world, oringinal de need RM480++ oo, so when ur car suddenly cant move jor its da prob oredi haha. Or mayb ur fuel tank empty jor  drool.gif n got many more very gay de things la like its outer handle, cross member, engine mounting, stablizer bar.... bla bla...
for waja 1.8, service 1 time oso will cry, its timing kit set need RM400++ i think got no other cheap de brand all is renault de ori parts, n its timing belt too easy too patah...
bout gen2 its hotest spare part is da oil pan, for those drive gen2 de pls drive slowly since da oil pan its too low easy to kena de, it cost RM260++ only if break jor lol, n its door knob kurus kurus easy patah, for those sit at behind de pls dun ever ever use ur hand go n pull it if lock jor, n use driver side there de door open for u, so if patah oso driver side there patah only, behind de n passaenger side de can last long  laugh.gif
the fuel pump is a famouse one. another great reason why the 5-yr warranty is importany

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 27 2007, 01:40 PM)
Well,Wira has is pretty roomy and has sufficient leg room.
Lower maintenance cost and less fuel consumption.

Of course I would like a Jap car but it's just not the right time yet.
nope. wira's backseat has much much smaller legroom. waja's backseat legroom is very spacious. more spacious than an altis.
TSTainted
post Jan 27 2007, 05:07 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 27 2007, 05:13 PM)
if u can afford 800+ installment, then get a brand spanking new waja. it comes with 5-yr warranty, which should take care of any maintenance
the fuel pump is a famouse one. another great reason why the 5-yr warranty is importany
nope. wira's backseat has much much smaller legroom. waja's backseat legroom is very spacious. more spacious than an altis.
I don't want to buy a new car as I'll be using the car for a couple of year and then I'll be migrating.
Moreover,I dislike the new Waja Facelift.

0.0373sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:12 AM