Dilemma on choosing cars

lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 08:51 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

the cheapest 1,600cc car is the waja (wira 1.6 is out of production)

and waja is way above your budget, nor is it good in FC or maintenance

2nd hand car?
lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 09:24 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

savvy's a good choice. 5-yr warranty and a very low interest rate.

whatever you choose, avoid korean cars. many has voiced the bad FC (most cars) - not that proton has better FC, at least proton has lower price...

kelisa is too old (7-yr model) and waiting for the replacement will be like the case with myvi - a one yr booking time

2nd hand cars also have higher interest rate.

best bet? either savvy or myvi. support local car manufacturers
lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 10:40 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jan 23 2007, 09:57 PM)
disagreed...
my fren get myvi within 3 weeks
and i just booked myvi SXI which ready stock in factory, can get around a week if the car plate number settled and loan approved...

what i meant was during the launching time

a 6-month waiting period for a premium model is considered as very short. standard waiting time varies from 9 - 12 months.

i know that cuz i bought one during that time.

now, myvi isn't that hot anymore since perodua announced the new KRM

edit: i must admit, despite waja's many weakness, it's very spacious and very comfortable to ride in. i own one and happy about it. the proton warranty puts my mind on ease since many parts have been replaced (nearly 2 yrs sudah - actuator rosak, isolator kong, front suspension bunyi, lock patah - all got free replacement)

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jan 23 2007, 10:42 PM
lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 10:46 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

if u are interested in waja, there's a waja thread in f&f. learn more about choosing the "least problematic waja batch"

obviously, pre-2004 waja are to be avoided at all cost. the 1.8 is a big no-no.

2004 and newer ones should be ok and have less probs with the power windows or door handles
lucifah
post Jan 24 2007, 11:57 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 24 2007, 08:34 PM)
Any comments on the Waja Manual?
How's the fuel consumption and maintenance?

Overall performance?
many ppl has good comment on the manual version

good fc and also considerable pickup power

however, just keep in mind: the car is continental-styled, thus the turn signal lever is on the left, rather than on the right side. this means you change gear and use the turn signal with the same left hand. needs time to get used to, but much harder in manual than auto
lucifah
post Jan 27 2007, 04:13 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 26 2007, 02:17 PM)
Since that I heard quite a few of good comments on the Manual Waja,will try to look around.

Actually I can afford to pay about RM800 for installment for 5-6yrs,plus I have a Iswara to trade in,therefore I think Waja would be a good choice.

Keep the suggestion coming,I'm open to more suggestions.
if u can afford 800+ installment, then get a brand spanking new waja. it comes with 5-yr warranty, which should take care of any maintenance

QUOTE(sowhatz @ Jan 26 2007, 03:54 PM)
er...bout waja 1.6...its regulator very gay n expensive, but den a company modified da regulator become steel, n now if u guys de regulator rosak pls buy da steel de, but u gonna change ur motor as well, since da regulator modified by saga de regulator so u gonna change to saga the power window motor, 2nd gay de things is fuel pump, its a hot item in spare parts world, oringinal de need RM480++ oo, so when ur car suddenly cant move jor its da prob oredi haha. Or mayb ur fuel tank empty jor  drool.gif n got many more very gay de things la like its outer handle, cross member, engine mounting, stablizer bar.... bla bla...
for waja 1.8, service 1 time oso will cry, its timing kit set need RM400++ i think got no other cheap de brand all is renault de ori parts, n its timing belt too easy too patah...
bout gen2 its hotest spare part is da oil pan, for those drive gen2 de pls drive slowly since da oil pan its too low easy to kena de, it cost RM260++ only if break jor lol, n its door knob kurus kurus easy patah, for those sit at behind de pls dun ever ever use ur hand go n pull it if lock jor, n use driver side there de door open for u, so if patah oso driver side there patah only, behind de n passaenger side de can last long  laugh.gif
suggest u buy wira special edition better lol
the fuel pump is a famouse one. another great reason why the 5-yr warranty is importany

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 27 2007, 01:40 PM)
Well,Wira has is pretty roomy and has sufficient leg room.
Lower maintenance cost and less fuel consumption.

Of course I would like a Jap car but it's just not the right time yet.
nope. wira's backseat has much much smaller legroom. waja's backseat legroom is very spacious. more spacious than an altis.

0.0163sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:16 PM