4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Dilemma on choosing cars

claxxion
post Jan 23 2007, 10:40 PM

465 posts

If you're interested in the gen2, try to get the 2005 above models (the ones with the two-tone dashboard), which is just rm2-3k higher than the 2004 batch. Better build quality, no door-handle getting stuck etc. Its a nice car though.

Waja is obviously cheaper, bigger and its 2nd hand value is lower coz its older. But beware if you get a lemon, chances are its going to rosak here and there.. Inspect properly before buying one.
lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 10:40 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jan 23 2007, 09:57 PM)
disagreed...
my fren get myvi within 3 weeks
and i just booked myvi SXI which ready stock in factory, can get around a week if the car plate number settled and loan approved...

what i meant was during the launching time

a 6-month waiting period for a premium model is considered as very short. standard waiting time varies from 9 - 12 months.

i know that cuz i bought one during that time.

now, myvi isn't that hot anymore since perodua announced the new KRM

edit: i must admit, despite waja's many weakness, it's very spacious and very comfortable to ride in. i own one and happy about it. the proton warranty puts my mind on ease since many parts have been replaced (nearly 2 yrs sudah - actuator rosak, isolator kong, front suspension bunyi, lock patah - all got free replacement)

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jan 23 2007, 10:42 PM
Gouki
post Jan 23 2007, 10:44 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 08:48 PM)
Will be getting a car a few months time,budget is less than RM40k,any recommendation for a good car which is not very high in fuel consumption and maintenance as well.Don;t mind a manual but an auto is preferable.Prefer something less or equivalent t0 1.6cc.

Are you single? Do you mind going for 2 doors hatchback? What about the Satria GTi? A used unit will cost you from RM20k+ to RM30k plus depend on age and condition. If not you can try to hunt for some good condition used 1.5/1.6 Wira. smile.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:44 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(claxxion @ Jan 23 2007, 11:40 PM)
If you're interested in the gen2, try to get the 2005 above models (the ones with the two-tone dashboard), which is just rm2-3k higher than the 2004 batch. Better build quality, no door-handle getting stuck etc. Its a nice car though.

Waja is obviously cheaper, bigger and its 2nd hand value is lower coz its older. But beware if you get a lemon, chances are its going to rosak here and there.. Inspect properly before buying one.
What aboout the Power windows?Any problem with it?
Any suggestion where's the best place to look at all these cars?

lucifah
post Jan 23 2007, 10:46 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

if u are interested in waja, there's a waja thread in f&f. learn more about choosing the "least problematic waja batch"

obviously, pre-2004 waja are to be avoided at all cost. the 1.8 is a big no-no.

2004 and newer ones should be ok and have less probs with the power windows or door handles
Kerry1136
post Jan 23 2007, 10:47 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

I think most of the power windows problem has been rectified. Since this is so long ago. You can check more by reading this subforum there are plenty of threads also talking about waja.
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:48 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 23 2007, 11:44 PM)
Are you single? Do you mind going for 2 doors hatchback? What about the Satria GTi? A used unit will cost you from RM20k+ to RM30k plus depend on age and condition. If not you can try to hunt for some good condition used 1.5/1.6 Wira. smile.gif
Thanks,will check it out.

Btw,I happen to shop around the Giant in Kelana jaya.I saw a Hyundai Getz 2 doors fully imported for just RM43k plus OTR without insurans.
gkl83
post Jan 23 2007, 10:50 PM

8,377 posts

if intended to fetch many passengers AND many luggages at the same time : gen2/waja

if intended to fetch many passengers OR many luggages at the same time : savvy/myvi (can flip down rear seat for big size luggages, maybe it can fit the luggages which waja not able to fit into bcos of the rear bonnet)
Gouki
post Jan 23 2007, 10:50 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 10:48 PM)
Thanks,will check it out.

Btw,I happen to shop around the Giant in Kelana jaya.I saw a Hyundai Getz 2 doors fully imported for just RM43k plus OTR without insurans.
That cheap? You sure? ohmy.gif
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:52 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 23 2007, 11:46 PM)
if u are interested in waja, there's a waja thread in f&f. learn more about choosing the "least problematic waja batch"

obviously, pre-2004 waja are to be avoided at all cost. the 1.8 is a big no-no.

2004 and newer ones should be ok and have less probs with the power windows or door handles
QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Jan 23 2007, 11:47 PM)
I think most of the power windows problem has been rectified. Since this is so long ago. You can check more by reading this subforum there are plenty of threads also talking about waja.
I'll most probably go with either Gen2 or Waja.
So it would be great if more could help and give suggestion.
I'm open to more suggestions but prefer something similar to waja or Gen2.
wantutrifor5
post Jan 23 2007, 10:54 PM

1,191 posts

go to lancer mx lor.. year 96./. 39k oni.. convert to evo 6 tm, sure meleleh lor!!!!!
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:55 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jan 23 2007, 11:50 PM)
if intended to fetch many passengers AND many luggages at the same time : gen2/waja

if intended to fetch many passengers OR many luggages at the same time : savvy/myvi (can flip down rear seat for big size luggages, maybe it can fit the luggages which waja not able to fit into bcos of the rear bonnet)
Yeap.I do intend to fetch abt 3-4 passengers at times and travel frequently with luagages.

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 23 2007, 11:50 PM)
That cheap? You sure? ohmy.gif
I'm pretty sure.

It's written there:

Hyundai Getz Fully Imported 2 doors
RM43,XXX*

*Price OTR without insurans

Anyhow,that;s an auto.
I;ve driven a Getz 1.3 Manual in Perth,power wise is ok.Spacious and plenty of leg room.
TSTainted
post Jan 23 2007, 10:56 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(wantutrifor5 @ Jan 23 2007, 11:54 PM)
go to lancer mx lor.. year 96./. 39k oni.. convert to evo 6 tm, sure meleleh lor!!!!!
To maintain that car might be a headache lor.
Drink gasoline too.. Haha
Gouki
post Jan 23 2007, 11:17 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jan 23 2007, 10:55 PM)
Yeap.I do intend to fetch abt 3-4 passengers at times and travel frequently with luagages.
I'm pretty sure.

It's written there:

Hyundai Getz Fully Imported 2 doors
RM43,XXX*

*Price OTR without insurans

Anyhow,that;s an auto.
I;ve driven a Getz 1.3 Manual in Perth,power wise is ok.Spacious and plenty of leg room.
Then the Getz is quite a steal for that price. thumbup.gif
Kerry1136
post Jan 24 2007, 12:09 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Like it says without insurance...with insurance you won't be paying that amount already =)
NewVi
post Jan 24 2007, 12:47 AM

194 posts

if i am not wrong...gen2 very makan minyak if u do city travel rite?....and waja is along the same line as well

but frankly speaking...if u wan spacious cabin...between these two models, i would go for waja....gen2 has a very tight space on the rear...and the roof towards the back is kinda low....making passengers that are slighty or big in size quite uncomfortable...as for the driver...u really nid to get used with the limited scope of view of the rear...i tried driving my sis's car....i couldnt see the rear of the car at all from the rear mirror...well maybe its just me tongue.gif

cheers
Dannyl
post Jan 24 2007, 09:08 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 23 2007, 10:44 PM)
But the Satria GTi is a hot item for car thieves, right? For the spare parts?

Gouki
post Jan 24 2007, 09:58 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jan 24 2007, 09:08 AM)
But the Satria GTi is a hot item for car thieves, right?  For the spare parts?
I know, but does that stop anyone to buy cars such as Harrier, Storm, Frontier, Murano and etc that are most popular in car thieves list as well? For a budget of RM40k only, a good condition used unit of those is the most wise choice. The Satria/Wira are cheap and easy to maintain in the long run. Or else used Waja/Gen2/Perdana is the 2nd option which cost more.

Kerry1136
post Jan 24 2007, 10:09 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

If your considering satria then go for the new NEO then because so far I didn't hear much complaints about the NEO considering its from PROTON. Haha...

Don't have to get the H-LINE neo tho..manual one is good enough but the interior space would not fit your requirements.
Gouki
post Jan 24 2007, 10:12 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Jan 24 2007, 10:09 AM)
If your considering satria then go for the new NEO then because so far I didn't hear much complaints about the NEO considering its from PROTON. Haha...

Don't have to get the H-LINE neo tho..manual one is good enough but the interior space would not fit your requirements.
But isnt that exceeded the 40k budget? Unless the TS still got some room for his financial budget and dont mind for another 10k extra. rolleyes.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0212sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:19 PM